reviews for: listing #33265 - North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina Condo rental

Great Condo - Great Location - Wide Beach Area
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Waipani Resort
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $100 - $100 /nt
    $520 - $800 /wk
    $700 - $800 /mth

sort by:

Beware of unit location!

Review submitted: May 3, 2013   Date of arrival: April 18, 2013

It's on the third floor with no elevator and 6 flights of stairs.. In fact the lighting was so bad in the stair way my partner feel and we had to cut trip short to get to dr. The unit dishes and kitchen utensils, pots and pans were filthy and scares. Master bath has SMALL sink and little shower, very dark and can't put on makeup in there due to poor lighting. Carpet dirty and unit smelled bad and I bought a candle to help with the order. Front screen door off wall, carpet on stair ways was ripped off with lots of pieces hanging to trip on. Wallpaper peeling off walls, dirty table and chairs on porch!! Owner request we keep a blanket on the couch so it wouldn't get dirt. But the blanket was dirty. Remote in 2nd bedroom didn't work properly, no hangers in closet, oh you have to take your own bed linens, bth towels, kitchen towels, soap, paper towel, napkins and toilet paper. But like the saying "YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR" I rather pay a little more next time and get a unit that is comfortable and in good condition. PS didn't mind being across the street but the unit did not live up to description..and I felt deceived by the pictures. The owner communication was good and had no problem communicating but the unit was not up to a minimum standard. sorry, Lynn , Charlotte,NC

Owners response: Having just received another positive response from a recent guest, we were surprised to read this negative response. I did respond to this with a direct contact as well as respond here on our website. Our condo clearly states a 3rd floor unit and we were never made aware that stairs would be a problem. This is something we do not keep secret along with the fact that we do not provide linens. The entire community is being upgraded with new carpet and screened in porches and our building is the last to be done. We try very hard to stay within a reasonable price point and the amenities and features are clearly pointed out. While we cannot please everyone we welcome all responses and hope to make a difference with the next guest. Our cleaning service is a wonderful group of individuals who will make every effort to keep our unit clean and in order for each guest. It is important to receive feedback so that we can continue to improve our unit and getting new dishes and pots and pans is an easy fix and it is the first we have heard of any dissatisfaction with the kitchen items provided - Thank you - Yvette and Gary Caiola

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

DIVA half marathon

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

I rented this condo for three nights with a few of my girlfriends. We were there to run the Divas half marathon. The location was great only 6 short blocks from the start finish line. The condo was very comfortable and relaxing for us and close to everything we needed. We had a great time. I would stay here again next year for sure. Thank you! Crystal O.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Location, Quite Place and Great View !!

Review submitted: May 5, 2012   Date of arrival: April 21, 2012

Great place for a single, couple or small family. Condo is just as described, comfortable bed and furniture. Very tastefuly decorated. Great screened deck for morning coffee or gazing the sky a night. Easy walk or drive to everything you need !! Close beach access as well. Thanks much for your home away from home.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Comfy..Cozy ...Just like home!

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

My family had a great vacation at this condo. Discription is very accurate & owners were always helpful with any questions I had before arriving. It was very clean & welcoming..better than I expected. It was so comfortable that it almost felt like home!! Washer & dryer was a added bonus. The pool was very clean. We vacationed at the end of May, so we had it to ourselves a lot! Would definitly stay again & recommend! Second row was not at all a problem, the beach access was right across the street! Barefoot Landing & The Giant Crab are so close..two of our favorites!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad to read your comments, Heather. We just replaced the carpet, sleeper-sofa and a large chair a month ago as things were becoming worn. We do our best to keep it neat, clean and it good working order. And we hope our guests will be the kind of folks who will respect its condition, keep it looking nice, and want to come back and stay again. We are glad you felt at home and hope you come back and stay with us in the future!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nice Place - Convenient to Everything

Review submitted: June 24, 2009   Date of arrival: June 13, 2009

My family, two adults, two kids and a babysitter enjoyed a very fun, comfortable vacation while staying at this property. The complex was quiet and family-friendly, with easy access to anything you could want while staying. We enjoyed nights out with the kids at Logan's Roadhouse and Duffy's Seafood Shack, and without the kids at Pirate's Cove.
The weather was gorgeous throughout our whole stay, and the easy access to the beach made it super simple to come home for lunch for a break from the sun and sand, and the pool was a great alternative to braving the waves in the afternoons!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Relaxing, quiet and convienent

Review submitted: May 21, 2009   Date of arrival: May 2, 2009

This was our first family trip to N. Myrtle Beach and the condo was great. It was in a great location, close to the beach and all surronding attractions. The property was very clean and well-maintained. The owner provided excellent customer service and made sure to follow up before and after the stay. We would recommend this condo to anyone looking for a quiet relaxing/family friendly place to stay. We enjoyed going to the Dixie Stampede and would highly recommend eating at Ginos Pizza - they had the best pizza outside of New York!! There is also a great park for children not far from the condo which provided extra entertainment for our kids. Would recommend doing the Deuce Bicycles to ride on the beach - What a BLAST!!
Thank-you.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

What a Blast!

Review submitted: July 23, 2008   Date of arrival: June 28, 2008

This condo is everything the owner describes and even more. If you are looking for a convenient place to stay in a quiet location, then look no further! Condo was kept up very well and we loved the decor. The kids loved eating on the screened in porch twice a day at least. The pool is spectacular! Easy access to the beach and close to all activities and attractions. There wasn't a place we couldn't find or get to quickly. As a single mom of 4 young children, this was a HUGE bonus. Preston's is a GREAT all you can eat seafood buffet to eat and very reasonable. The condo is very close to everything -- gas stations, grocery stores, shopping, attractions. You also have your choice of a putt putt on nearly every corner! The owners worked very well in keeping in contact with last minute details and info. I was very pleased to receive a follow up e-mail regarding our stay. I would recommend this spot to anyone looking for a fun, relaxing, family vacation. Like the other review, the only downfall is not having an elevator being on the 3rd floor. With 4 kids, we had a LOT of baggage (especially leaving) but we managed. When 4 children kiss the door and cry upon leaving..... I think this says an awful lot for what a wonderful stay we had! We will definitely be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

We loved it!!!

Review submitted: June 9, 2008   Date of arrival: May 31, 2008

This condo was just like the pictures and then some. We loved the set up. The kitchen and laundry room were a big help on saving money and time! We were able to have privacy when needed and a living room where we all came together. Two bathrooms are great with 3 girls and 2 boys! It was very clean and well maintained. The balcony was nice. It was nice to have it screened in so the bugs stayed out. Parking was a little weird but we could always see our car. The condo residence/renters were very polite and it is a quite little area.
The beach access was wonderful and had a shower and restrooms which is hard to find on any part of the beach (North or South).
The owners were wonderful and completely helpful when we locked ourselves out of the condo (car keys and all) on the 2nd day.
The condo is really close to just about anything you are looking for; gift shopping, grocery shopping, gas stations, restaurants, putt putt, post office, bars, etc. I don't think that there was anything that we couldn't find when we needed it.
I would definately recommend this to a friend and would definately go back. We met some of the residents and they were very friendly and helpful by suggesting some places to try out and how to get to them.
I would say that the only down fall that I found was that it was on the 3rd floor without and elevator but it sure did not stop us from having a good time!!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 11

 

Beware of this Myrtle Beach property!

Review submitted: June 8, 2008   Date of arrival: July 8, 2007

We had a very unpleasant experience at this property in Myrtle Beach. We arrived to find the condo in a poor state of cleanliness -- dead bugs, unclean toilets and showers, etc. Most dismaying was, in the kitchen -- on the counter, hidden beneath a heavily veined marble slab -- decaying meat juice that had been left to fester in the un-air-conditioned environment; a very real health hazard. To make things worse, our toddler suffered several cuts to his legs thanks to a sharp piece of metal sticking out from one of the chairs in the living room. Then, when we attempted to use the land line to call for medical attention, the phone was broken -- it cut in and out, preventing us from making our emergency calls. The owners did not refund our money or make satisfactory efforts to address our concerns. Our first vacation as a family was ruined. This property, in our experience, is not family friendly.

Owners response: The guests called us on a Sunday evening with concerns. It was a complete surprise, as we'd never had any issues with guests. As we don't live near the condo, we couldn't drive there quickly. The condo phone service did later fail, & guests had no cell phone so it was hard to communicate with them. This was frustrating for both parties.

We were on the phone for hours arranging for cleaning & phone service appointments. As it was Sunday night we could get neither scheduled until the next morning. Meanwhile, I offered to pay for their stay at a local hotel, but they refused. The phone was fixed before 10:30 the next morning (wire damage OUTSIDE the unit), and cleaning personnel knocked on the door shortly after 9am, but the guests--who claimed the unit was filty--turned them away! We were really confused. Later that day, the guests left the condo. Shortly afterwards, the cleaners came back, cleaned the unit, & confirmed they had missed the spot under the cutting board.

The next weekend, we personally inspected the unit for the other issues. We removed the cutting board completely from the unit. It was rather large and heavy and we felt this prevented cleaners from cleaning under it. We also hired a new cleaning service starting in 2008.

Furniture had been rearranged in the main room. We don't know if those guests or previous ones had done this. But when a cloth chair was moved, a 3/4" piece of aluminum binding the cloth tight to the bottom of chair, pulled away from it. We repaired it. Sadly this scratched their child presumably, although they didn't send any photos. I had asked them to do so, only because they claimed there were scratches "all over his body", which concerned us. We felt bad about this but there was nothing we could have done to know it was there.

As for "dead bugs", our complex has had pest service for over 7 straight years, with all condos in the complex getting monthly treatments. It is possible to find a dead bug or two within the unit. That is a result of the treatments, and a far better option than live bugs in the walls of the building.

In summary, we bent over backwards to please these guests. It was very stressful for all involved. But they were unwilling to let us remedy their concerns. We feel they have exaggerated an unfortunate situation.

But we hope you will not let 1 negative review prevent you from considering our unit.

Thanks for your consideration,
Gary & Yvette

Helpful votes: 20 / 20

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review