reviews for: listing #33285 - Huntington Beach, California House rental

2 short blocks to the Sand!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Downtown HB
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $130 - $300 /nt
    $840 - $2,000 /wk
    $3,000 - $7,000 /mth

sort by:

Awesome location

Review submitted: April 28, 2014   Date of arrival: April 21, 2014

Our vacation was a week long and just got back and now we are looking into renting again. Great location close to store, pizza place and taco place. Short distance to beach and Main Street. Wonderful week at a nice location. Strongly recommend it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great unit! Great owner!

Review submitted: February 8, 2014   Date of arrival: February 7, 2014

This unit is a perfect beach getaway!! Within walking distance to Main Street and to the dog beach! A very quiet area and a store, café, and food within steps of the unit.
The owner responded to any concerns very quickly and made us feel as if we were his first priority! Thanks, Mike for a great vacation!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house in a great location!

Review submitted: December 13, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

This place was absolutely awesome and in a perfect location! Everything we could have needed was within walking distance and the house was perfectly appointed. It was more than enough room for our family of four and our dog. The coffee house, taco stand, pizza place, and mini market were so convenient! The beach supplies that Mike provided really came in handy with the kiddos too because there's no way we could have brought all that stuff in our car on our road trip. The dog beach was a little bit of a walk, but well worth it, so our pooch could enjoy the beach with us. Before we even left, my whole family was planning our trip for next year. Mike was really great to work with and he even helped us out to stay an extra day with very little notice. We can't wait to stay here again next year! The whole family highly recommends this house. Thanks again Mike!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful & relaxing getaway

Review submitted: June 7, 2013   Date of arrival: May 29, 2013

We decided to do something a little different and to rent instead of staying at a hotel as we have done for the past 6 years. Mike's rental provided us with a perfect location that was walking distance to everything we needed and more. We absolutely loved the neighborhood; the coffee shop down the street where we went and paid a visit each morning and great tacos across the street. The unit was clean, well appointed and accommodated our family of 6 well. The best part, I would have to say is how accessible and responsive Mike was to our inquiries both before and during our stay. He truly made our stay in Huntington Beach a wonderful vacation. We will be sure to reserve a unit far in advance next time! Thanks for everything!! Can't wait for our next visit. :)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful & relaxing getaway

Review submitted: June 7, 2013   Date of arrival: May 29, 2013

We decided to do something a little different and to rent instead of staying at a hotel as we have done for the past 6 years. Mike's rental provided us with a perfect location that was walking distance to everything we needed and more. We absolutely loved the neighborhood; the coffee shop down the street where we went and paid a visit each morning and great tacos across the street. The unit was clean, well appointed and accommodated our family of 6 well. The best part, I would have to say is how accessible and responsive Mike was to our inquiries both before and during our stay. He truly made our stay in Huntington Beach a wonderful vacation. We will be sure to reserve a unit far in advance next time! Thanks for everything!! Can't wait for our next visit. :)

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Convenient Bungalow

Review submitted: December 31, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

This property is a very clean bungalow three blocks from the ocean and six blocks from Main Street, Huntington Beach. We came from Colorado for Christmas and stayed for a week with our two children and it had everything we needed for a great Christmas week. Kitchen was well stocked, very clean, everything worked well including the laundry and parking. Area is very convenient to the ocean and nearby shops. Sit and Stay Coffee is 1/2 block away and a great place for morning expresso. The small grocery store 1/2 block away was very helpful and the owner is very friendly. I would recommend this property to family and friends.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: So glad you loved our place. We are very greatful for customers like you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great Place to Say

Review submitted: December 6, 2012   Date of arrival: November 19, 2012

My husband and I live in Marina del Rey but when my in-laws decided to come in from Omaha for thanksgiving we needed a place to stay that would accommodate all of us and be home like. Mikes Rental did that and more. The house was clean and while I was told to ask if I needed any supplies for cooking our thanksgiving meal, I did not have to ask for one thing. I am a rather accomplished cook and except for my own knives, which I bring everywhere. I never had a problem finding what I needed for each meal I prepared. The beds were soft and comfortable. The sheets felt like satin against ours skins and even though it was late November we never really needed the heater. You can walk to the beach in minutes, there is a corner store there which is remarkable and an adorable yard for your kids or pets to play in. I know my puppies loved running around out there a great deal. There is a pizza and taco place little 30 secs out the front door. (I didn't like them but I am a picky eater). Everyone is friendly, just a great place and area. Me and my husband are even considering moving to hunting beach now because of this stay.

Thanks Mike, you made the in-laws stay wonderful. I hope to stay again and would refer you to anyone!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Colleen and Jim! Thanks so much for staying with us. I am so glad the place was well enough equipped for cooks like you! I always worry around the holidays as we hope that those that plan to entertain and cook will have what they need. Glad you found the location suitable and most of all how exciting to hear that you would consider moving to Huntington Beach. Hope you return soon or find a permanent place here one day :)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful HB Vacation

Review submitted: September 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 25, 2012

My family of five (3 boys) had an amazing time in Huntington Beach and this rental property helped in so many ways. We have rented several vacation homes in the area over the years and this is the place I will remember the most. We had a smaller unit and it wasn't fancy but the place was perfectly modern and very clean and really the only problem I had was I didn't realize we were connected by a wall and shared a yard with other renters. I thought it was going to be a separate backyard house and sometimes you hear talking and kids bumping walls but I got used to it really quick and ended up enjoying seeing the other families and finding out where they were from. The owner was very accommodating and provided everthing we could want to have a good time on the beach. We had bikes available for all of us, which we absolutely loved and ended up not needing our rental car very much. He also had body boards, surf boards, and wet suits which we took advantage of daily. We would of spent so much money if we had to rent all of these things and of course the free washer and dryer is always a great thing to have with kids. The final reason why I would highly recommend this place is for the location. So easy to get to and from the beach, the pier and Main Street and during US Open time this is so important because parking is hard to come by. We walked and biked everywhere and didn't even need our rental car very much. I would stay here again and I don't say that too often.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great property/owner

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 22, 2011

I booked this at the last minute and couldn't have had a better transaction. The owner and his family live on the property and couldn't be nicer or more helpful. I brought my dog and expected friends to watch him when I was out but that didn't work out. Mike's kids helped me out with dog sitting for several hours on a few days. The property is very clean, close to everything and quiet. Plenty of parking on street. I will recommend to friends and would definitely stay here again. Thanks for the great stay Mike!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks So much Mike! We really enjoyed having you and my kids loved Kasay. Hope to see you back soon! We don't live next door any longer but are about 1 mile away so I can try my best to respond to needs quickly.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Rental!

Review submitted: August 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

My family of 5 + 1 travelled to CA for a girls volleyball tournament. We decided to stay the whole week and enjoyed this rental very much! The home is beautiful and the location was great for walking to the beach each day. There were two restaraunts almost next door and a grocery store just around the corner. The owner provided beach chairs, boogie boards, bikes and a washer & dryer! There was plenty of bedding, towels and a full-sized kitchen. The HB pier is close-by and my kids even fished off of it! The only complaint(s) that I have is that it is only a 1-bath (but I knew that going in) and there was no child-size bike (but we made the best of it). The owner was super friendly and helpful and we definitely recommend this rental.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We now have extra bikes! Up to four beach cruisers, a bike with childseat and two sizes of kids bikes!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

fantastic

Review submitted: May 14, 2011   Date of arrival: April 14, 2011

living on the other side of the world we were relying on the website a lot, but were,nt let down, mike was a great help. the villa was brilliant, homely, had everything we needed and more. it was clean on arrival inside and out, beach and town center close by. also eating places in abundance. corner shop was great for all the bits you might need and opened late. would definitly recommend this to friends and family, we would use again on our next visit. thanks mike!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We loved every minute and wouldn't change a thing

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 3, 2011

We were able to check in a few hours early which was a plus. The location couldn't be better. It's centrally located to everything and the 3 bikes that are available for use made it fun getting around for both the adults and teenagers. The house is very well maintained and "rental" friendly which added to our comfort level. The owner of the property was very accomodating and was always prompt in getting back to me with my questions/concerns both before and during our stay. I was concerned about taking our labrador but we strolled to Dog Beach every morning and tired him out by having him fetch sticks into the surf and sand and in the evenings we walked to the dog park up the street. We spent most meals on the deck either barbequing or making our own meals in the kitchen. When we did venture our to eat, we just strolled to Main Street which had more than enough to choose from. Thanks Mike, for making this an enjoyable stay for family (and Montee too)...I've already started recommending to friends..

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Huntington Beach Bungalow

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 10, 2011

This beach community bungalow was awesome! Holistically, working with the owner of the property made for a relaxing, worry-free vacay! The transaction was smooth and hassle-free, and I didn't have to wait to receive my security deposit!

The property was awesome, just as described in the ad. Rooms were comfortable, updated, and provided all the amenities of "home". Having access to a full-size, high capacity washer & dryer, as well as beach cruiser's were added pluses. Chronic Tacos, literally across the street, provided awesome authentic tacos with the best, coldest, draft beer in the area! The pizza place a couple paces away was like a slice of NYC but without the attitude. It was also nice to walk a couple doors down to replenish the champagne supply! Lol! The HB Pier was less than a mile away (beautiful, scenic walk) and the shopping area was bustling with nightlife, festivals and no shortage of activities. The neighborhood was clean, safe and folks were extremely hospitable.

I didn't bring my dog, but know she would've loved the beautifully landscaped and fully fenced yard!!!

I'm definitely recommending this house to friends & fam, and will give Mike a call the next time I require accommodations in HB.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing!!!

Review submitted: February 24, 2011   Date of arrival: February 13, 2011

This property was exceptional - even better than advertised, and it came with super friendly owners and a lovely location. Huntington Beach was wonderful, and the property was only a few blocks away from both the beach and Main Street. I could not think of a single thing that could be improved on - we will return again and again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

FUN, FUN, FUN! :-)

Review submitted: December 20, 2010   Date of arrival: November 30, 2010

WOW is all I can say about our stay! The house was PERFECT for our needs: comfortable beds/bedrooms, safe/fenced yard for our dog to enjoy, convenient kitchen, relaxing deck for gatherings and SO MUCH MORE!

It was GREAT having everything so close ~ liquor store, Chronic Tacos, the pizza place, comfortable walk to the beach/main street, etc.

We have already recommended this property to friends & family. The owner was friendly, helpful and quick to return deposits. I hope we have the opportunity to stay here again in the future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Enjoyed our Spring Break!

Review submitted: June 26, 2010   Date of arrival: April 27, 2010

I wanted to stay here for over two years and finally made it happen this year. My son and I truly enjoyed our time here, it just went by too fast as it was great. Each morning I would walk across the street to the quaint coffee house and then head to the beach for the day. We enjoyed the bikes and toys provided too. It's centrally located to everything. The house is great, exactly like the pictures and the landlord was very friendly amd helpful to all our needs. I plan to stay here every year from now on instead of pricey hotels nearby to enjoy the great location.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Location With Everything You Need

Review submitted: June 23, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

This property is only 2 blocks from a sandy Huntington Beach and only a few more to the main street. There is private parking for one car which comes in handy. The beds are nice. Our favorite place of the house was the deck. There are places to eat near the house for those days you are not willing to cook. There is small corner store a hop skip and jump away. We enjoyed the beach bikes, sand toys, and wagon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Location - Family Friendly

Review submitted: May 2, 2010   Date of arrival: March 13, 2010

We chose this place because of the location. We are so happy we did. We have two children and we were only 2 short blocks to the beach. The location was great. The house is very well maintained and looked exactly as it did in the pictures. The owner was very friendly and lives right next door. If we had any questions, he was there to help. The place was perfect for our two boys. We were close to the beach, Disneyland, and Aquarium of the Pacific. The house had everthing we would need. All you need to bring is your food and clothes. There are two great restaurants right next door (Italian and Mexican). Can't ask for anything better than that. One of the perks for me was that it was just a short 5-6 block walk to Starbucks every morning. That was a great plus for me.

We are looking forward to staying again.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Super Place

Review submitted: January 26, 2010   Date of arrival: November 19, 2009

This two bedroom home is just super. Very clean, great amenities and everything there. The beds were just great! So close to everything and a great little coffed shop just across the street. You won't be disappointed when you stay here!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review