reviews for: listing #33298 - Amelia Island, Florida Condo rental

Oceanfront Villa, WiFi, Jacuzzi, HDTV, Pools & Tennis
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $285 - $385 /nt
    $1,850 - $2,400 /wk
    $4,550 - $4,950 /mth

sort by:

Fabulous stay at your penthouse retreat!

Review submitted: November 15, 2009   Date of arrival: November 11, 2009

We had a fabulous stay at your beautiful condo on Amelia Island. I must commend you on having one of the best rental properties that we have ever stayed at. We have stayed all around the world in many places and yours was one of the tops!

We also enjoyed Fernandina Beach and the downtown area quite a bit. I had never been to this area before, I found it fascinating. I love history and also different styles of architecture. We definitely will be back to this area again. Thanks again for such a wonderful stay at your penthouse retreat.

Thanks,
Joyce, Doug and Shelby

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 18 / 19

 

Wonderful Views

Review submitted: September 10, 2013   Date of arrival: September 2, 2013

My family and I enjoyed the penthouse. The views of the beach were awesome and the property was clean and well equipped. I will definitely recommend this property to my friends and hope to return in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

I don't want to leave!

Review submitted: April 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

We have been vacationing on Amelia for 25 years. We have stayed at every resort and vacation rental complex along the coastline. This penthouse is by far the most Beautiful, well kept property on the island; truly an Oasis. The ocean views are SPECTACULAR from every room.

Clearly the owners pay close attention to all the details, small and large. The linens, furnishings, beach equipment, appliances, HDTVs and decor are all top notch. The local Property Manager is a delight. The whole experience was splendid.

We loved watching the dolphins play in the waves from our verandahs, living room and beds. I have never slept so well, drifting into deep slumber ushered in by the soothing sounds of the waves rolling along the coastline.

Our only wish is that the penthouse had more availability as it was hard to find an open week. Please set aside the week of June 16th for our return visit. Better yet, can we just stay here for the rest of our lives?

Thank You for our best Amelia Island vacation ever!
The Kennedys

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Oasis Review -Tthere for the Concours Car Show

Review submitted: March 16, 2012   Date of arrival: March 8, 2012

Our stay was a week and this penthouse appealed to me because of the view. The large,picture windows in the living area were fogged up due to broken seals in them and the view was pretty obstucted. It was a very dissapointing first impression. The kitchen and bath areas were nice and had been remodeled but the overall decore was very dated. Sliding glass doors to the patios were difficult to open. There was also construction (installation of hurricane shutters) going on and the pool area was loud from work being done on this. There was no communication prior to our arrival regarding these issues. I actually got locked into the pool bathroom and could not get out due to really rusty doors. My husband finally heard me beating on the door and got it open for me.
The location was good for the reasons we were there. This property is just 1/4 mile from the Ritz and an easy walk to the Concours.
This condo did have a lot of electronic amenities but maybe too heavy on this and no attention to decor. The bedroom TV did not work and the 2nd BR did not have one.
We enjoyed our stay at Amelia Island and will definitely return but not to this condo.

Owners response: We are singularly focused on delighting you. Please let us know immediately, not just upon departure, if there is anything we can do to enhance your enjoyment of the penthouse. Our team is dedicated to serving your needs and exceeding your expectations.

We remedied all the items mentioned above. We replaced the subject window and upgraded all 4 sliding glass doors with new, best-in-class hurricane resistant doors. We installed a third Samsung HDTV. We now have one in each bedroom and a large 3D HDTV in the living room. The guest above inadvertently used the wrong remote control. All 3 HDTVs are in excellent working order. Although there was no detectable sticking or friction on any of the pool bathroom doors, we serviced them and lubricated their locks.

The penthouse decor is exactly as pictured with the contemporary leather couch/sofa bed and the double reclining leather love seat. The new leather bar stools under the granite breakfast bar compliment the leather dining room chairs. The oversized Whirlpool Jacuzzi tub, his & her showers and his & her granite top vanities in our spa-like master bath all take advantage of the coastline views. The decor is modern seaside with an eye towards blending the colors of the beach into our interior spaces; as nearly every room enjoys a panoramic, ocean view.

Guests have a wide variety of preferences when its comes to interior design. For that reason all of our oceanfront properties have their own designer and distinctive style. We invite guests to browse our expansive, digital photo library to select their favorite oceanfront condo; as each celebrates its own unique decor.

The resort’s hurricane shutter installations are complete. We agree that the project’s noise compromised our otherwise peaceful and restorative environment. Nearby construction activity can spoil any vacation and amplify other minor nuisances that may go unnoticed if it wasn’t for the irritating noise. We regret that these shutter installations undermined this guest’s enjoyment of the penthouse. We guarantee it will not reoccur, as the entire resort is now fully protected.

But for the anomaly above; all of our guests, including the 33 families who submitted reviews on this website, have thoroughly enjoyed the penthouse as evidenced by their 5 star ratings. We have a proven track record of providing the best oceanfront homes on Amelia Island. We are committed to making your oceanfront vacation a 5 star experience, just like theirs.

Helpful votes: 16 / 20

 

Lovely Condo -Great View

Review submitted: March 23, 2011   Date of arrival: March 13, 2011

My family stayed 5 nights (next to this unit pictured) and had a great time. The view from the top floor is awesome, great sunrises. Building was quiet and the sound of the surf at night is very relaxing. The condo was clean, well equipped and nicely decorated. It even had beach chairs and tennis racquets. The beach is excellent with tons of shells. It's a short drive to stores and downtown restaurants.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Quality is Priceless

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: December 21, 2010

So many businesses use the cliché that “we want to exceed your expectations” but your team is the first we’ve experienced that met this lofty goal! Your contractual process, your preparing us for our visit, your on-site orientation, and your accommodations met or exceeded our expectations and we thank you and your team for your thoughtfulness and caring.

As we depart the Oasis we’re acutely reminded of the old saying, “Quality is not expensive, it’s Priceless”.

We really enjoyed our Christmas in your magnificent venue!

Esther and Matt Morris
Murrells Inlet, SC

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Your Penthouse was Voted the Best!!

Review submitted: November 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

We absolutely love your penthouse! The weather was perfect - our family reunion of 80 people was a great time to remember. This is our annual reunion: part of the fun is comparing the condos - We Won!! What a great place you have. We look forward to coming back next year. Thanks for all of your wonderful amenities. You are right - it's our home away from home. I wanted to touch base with you regarding next summer. We will definitely plan on coming back to Amelia and want to stay at your place again if available. Thanks again, I could live there. Much Appreciation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

More comforts than you can dream of

Review submitted: May 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

This villa is what you are looking for. We had a wonderful time in this villa. It has more comforts than you can dream of.
It was a joy to watch the dolphin parade each morning. We even found a sharks tooth. A must for restaurants: Brett's and Baxter's. Of course, for your sweet tooth it is Gourmet Gourmet. You need to try Larry's Subs on 14th - best ever!! Be sure and visit the Historic District. The Books Plus bookstore is charming. If you seek pampering visit the full body salon called Magna's on Center St. in the Historic District. We had a wonderful 35th anniversary.

If you are looking for a great villa, look no further. Brigid was wonderful to work with, along with Raylene, her property manager. You will certainly be pampered. ENJOY!
Cindy
Cookeville, TN

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Exceptional penthouse

Review submitted: May 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 13, 2010

WOW, what a view! We loved watching the sunrise in the mornings from our beds. We came for a week of R&R and we got it. The weather was beautiful and the beach a paradise. Your condo was exceptional and every touch thought of.
Fondly, Walker family
Dallas, TX

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Serene and Peaceful

Review submitted: September 20, 2009   Date of arrival: September 12, 2009

The photos are but a visual aide describing the penthouse. Once you've enjoyed the tranquility and peace of this humble yet well appointed penthouse you'll want to extend your stay even further. The place was extremely clean, well kept and fully furnished. Not that we ate in a lot but the kitchen was equipped with more then we needed for our one week stay.
Restaurants are within a twenty minute drive going to downtown Fernandina Beach or a short 10 minute drive to Amelia Plantation. Restaurants abound with a range of prices and eclectic menus. Traffic on the Island is minimal to say the least. I think the Rat Race stopped on the far side the the Amelia River causeway. I highly advise taking a chartered trip with On The Water Adventures. Captain Carol is well versed in the local History as well as sights and sounds of the estuaries surrounding the Island. A wonderful trip and a lot of great pictures.
The grounds are well kept and constantly cleaned and maintained. Although, we only saw an occasional maintenance worker. This lack of overt activity lead to a more serene, peaceful stay.
All in all, this was good money spent and we plan to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

We'll be back

Review submitted: November 19, 2008   Date of arrival: June 21, 2008

WE LOVE AMELIA ISLAND
This is our second year at the Oasis penthouse. Once again the penthouse was Fantastic….very well appointed, extremely comfortable and relaxing. The beach was outstanding.

Restaurants that we visited:
Salt at the Ritz - fantastic! A true fine dining culinary experience.
Joe’s 2nd street Bistro - Excellent
Moon River Pizza - Excellent, cash only.
Barbara Jeans - yum….comfort food.

Carriage Ride through Historic District- Highly Recommend, but bring bug spray!

Can’t wait to return next year!
The Short Family Bill, Michelle, Tori and Brad. Clearwater, Florida

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

What a wonderful week we had.

Review submitted: November 19, 2008   Date of arrival: June 21, 2008

What a wonderful week we had. Perfect weather and a perfect penthouse! The ocean view can’t get any better. We had a great time exploring the island and sitting by the ocean. We really enjoyed the pool. We had fun visiting with our son and his friends who are down here on Fernandina beach for the summer doing an internship with the local government. What a great time they are having. Thank you for sharing your “Oasis at the Beach” - it definitely is!
. Berea, Ohio

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Enjoyed the penthouse thoroughly!

Review submitted: November 19, 2008   Date of arrival: May 22, 2008

Enjoyed the penthouse thoroughly! Beautiful views. Great ocean sounds. Well equipped kitchen was also appreciated, enjoyed some great meals in the penthouse. Appreciated the two large binders with all the information on the Island and the penthouse. We look forward to returning. Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Your Oasis is Perfect!

Review submitted: November 19, 2008   Date of arrival: April 12, 2008

Your Oasis at the beach is perfect, and Amelia Island is beautiful! On my 1st trip to Florida I did not expect low temps - fortunately the penthouse’s heating system works great! I hope to come back next year, with more beach time. Thanks for all the extra care you put into our stay here. Your How-To manuals are great and having the onsite Property Manager available added to the total package.
Thanks!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wow, Wow, Wow!

Review submitted: September 27, 2008   Date of arrival: August 2, 2008

I wanted to let you know that we had a wonderful time and thoroughly enjoyed the penthouse. It is beautifully decorated and very well appointed. I couldn't believe I found an apron :o) I tend to spill on myself while cooking, so I was very pleasantly surprised. It was very comfortable, and the view...wow wow wow!!!!!

I am going to keep your penthouse in my "Do Again" file. We loved it! Thanks so much.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Your penthouse has the best oceanview on Amelia!

Review submitted: September 27, 2008   Date of arrival: September 3, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay. Your penthouse has the best view of any that we have used at Amelia. The bank I worked for owned another condo at the same resort for 20+ years and we used it several times a year. The bank was sold along with the condo. We enjoyed Amelia so much that we continued coming. We have been to Amelia Island Plantation, Summer Beach and a lot of different condos at Amelia Surf and Racquet Club. Yours is # 1!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 22, 2008   Date of arrival: March 22, 2008

Thanks for another great Fall break trip to Amelia Island. We loved our week here so much last year with my husband, daughter and his parents that we all came back again and brought my parents too. Even though tropical storm Tammy took a couple of sunshine days from us we still had a great family vacation. Thanks Again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 22, 2008   Date of arrival: March 22, 2008

Our family comes to the Island every year, and it serves as a brief space of quiet in five hectic lives. For two years we have been able to indulge in this place, and it has made ALL the difference. We stay in some nights and get to enjoy a "home - away - from - home." It is always so beautiful, clean and welcoming. Thank you for sharing it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 22, 2008   Date of arrival: March 22, 2008

Love the place!!!! We are having a wonderful time. Absolutely love the decor. It is very family friendly!!! The kitchen cabinets are really nice and all of the tile work is beautiful. Thank you so much and hopefully we can rent again.

4/9/06 Additional comment: Thank you so much for allowing us to stay in your condo for the weekend! The view of the ocean is BEAUTIFUL! We had a relaxing and restful weekend. Your condo is incredibly beautiful! Hopefully we will be back soon. God Bless. Thanks Again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 22, 2008   Date of arrival: March 22, 2008

Thanks for the wonderful villa. It was a joy to watch the dolphin parade each morning. We even found a sharks tooth. A must for restaurants: Brett's and Baxter's. Of course, for your sweet tooth is Gourmet Gourmet. You need to try Larry's Subs on 14th - best ever!! Be sure and visit the Historic District. The Books Plus bookstore is charming. If you seek pampering visit the full body salon called Magna's on Center St. in the Historic District. Brigid, we had a wonderful 35th anniversary and thanks for the special touch.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 22, 2008   Date of arrival: March 22, 2008

Thank you for making this such a special place to come to. We enjoyed all your special touches and we can feel all the hard work you put into this home for all of us. We look forward to sharing this special place with you for many summers to come. Thank you again from all of us.

It is even more than you said - just wonderful - THANK YOU! Can you put us down for 10 days next summer if it is still open for rent? Raelene was just super. Thanks for helping us have a great vacation. USMA '75 Go Army!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 22, 2008   Date of arrival: March 22, 2008

Great condo - one of the nicest we've rented on vacations.
Lucked out on the weather too. Snuck in between Ophelia & Wilma and enjoyed 80+ degree days. Lots of great restaurants - Crab Trap and Downunder offered local atmosphere and great prices. Enjoyed lolling on the very quiet beach and relaxing on the balconies with a cocktail or two.

Great views, top-notch accommodations and relaxing ocean sounds filled our week. What more could a vacation offer? Will take our memories of Amelia Island with us, back to the blustery Northeast - which will hopefully last through the winter, till we return again. Thank you Amelia Island.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 22, 2008   Date of arrival: March 22, 2008

We celebrated our 15th year wedding anniversary at Amelia Island. Your villa has spectacular views and the amenities are awesome. We enjoyed our weeklong stay and will be back to visit soon. The activity binder was a nice touch. We played golf at the Fernandina Golf Club and later discovered Royal Amelia Golf. Fort Clinch state park is a must! Diner at PLAE in Amelia Plantation is superb! Most of all, we enjoyed staying at the villa with the great view, beach and pool. Thanks for making this such a great place to stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 22, 2008   Date of arrival: March 22, 2008

The Nagel family salutes the Captain and crew of this penthouse. Our voyage found calm seas, gentle breezes and sun filled days. The night time electrical show, thunder storms, were enjoyed from the front row seats of your spectacular window view of the sea. Our one day trip to Universal studios was well worth the effort. All guests are encouraged to make the trip. Visitors are also encouraged to take the Budweiser beer factory tour as well. Farewell crew, this Bud's for you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 22, 2008   Date of arrival: March 22, 2008

Brigid your home is lovely; it is everything you promised it to be, and more. The sunrises are spectacular - the view, the best here on Amelia Island. We enjoyed some awesome food at the Beech Street Grill and Brett Waterfront Cafe. The music and laid back atmosphere at DownUnder was fun. What a joy for us to share some time here at the beginning of the week with our beautiful granddaughter. We will always have great memories of them playing in the sand and all the seashells we collected. Our son and daughter in-law enjoyed their lovely guest suite.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 22, 2008   Date of arrival: March 22, 2008

We had a marvelous time in Amelia and your home was a perfect retreat. The weather was spectacular and we were treated to a wonderful fireworks display (wedding at the Ritz) on our last night. Deah was great to work with and the overall experience exceeded our expectations! Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 22, 2008   Date of arrival: March 22, 2008

What a wonderful place to stay! Your condo is gorgeous with beautiful views and the amenities are fabulous.

Loved the Jacuzzi and all the state of the art appliances. We made waffles for breakfast a couple of times. Very nice that you provide beach chairs and umbrellas, etc. Also thank you for having a pack-n-play for our daughter. Loved Joe's 2nd Street Bistro, excellent dinner. Also Full Moon pizza was really good. Yoga on the beach was great and getting a Spa treatment at the Plantation was definitely worth it.

Also nice walking trail in front of the property to get to the Ritz, easier with a baby carriage then carrying her on the beach. The shops at Palmetto were great, located right past Harris Teeter going to the Plantation. Really cute stuff in the shops. Thanks again for a fabulous place to stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 22, 2008   Date of arrival: March 22, 2008

What a great place! You thought of every special touch to make time here more comfortable and complete. The view is spectacular. We hope to make the island a regular part of our vacation plans. Thanks for sharing your lovely home with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 22, 2008   Date of arrival: March 22, 2008

Thank you so much for allowing us to enjoy your wonderful home! We had a very short visit but we will be back! We enjoyed a wonderful evening on the beach where I found my very first (of many) shark's tooth! We also visited Historic Downtown Fernandina which was wonderful. The carriage rides were a really great way to explore the town’s history! There is so much that we did not get to do that is a must for us to come back! Your activities binder was a great help! Thank you again for sharing your lovely home with its spectacular view!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 22, 2008   Date of arrival: March 22, 2008

Just wanted to let you know how exceptional our stay was this week. We really appreciated how you thought of everything. Your home is so well appointed and combined with the views it was a slice of heaven. Thank You for an incredible experience.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 22, 2008   Date of arrival: March 22, 2008

After much deliberation we decided to make Amelia Island the site for our honeymoon, and we couldn’t be happier with the decision. We loved waking up to the sounds of the beach and the beautiful views from the condo. We had massages the Plantation. We went horse back riding on the beach with Kelly’s Seahorse Ranch. We went on an amazing day trip with Kayak of Amelia. Our favorite restaurant was Luigi’s Italian Trattoria in Fernandina Beach. We had a blast and can’t wait to come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 22, 2008   Date of arrival: March 22, 2008

We very much enjoyed our stay here to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary. Our favorite memory is breakfast on the balcony in the morning and gazing at the stars in the evening.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 22, 2008   Date of arrival: March 22, 2008

A great place to celebrate our love and relationship after 38 years of marriage! It was wonderful place to decompress from pressure of the outside world. We relaxed and enjoyed the quiet beaches. Awesome surf – spotted dolphins and observed a whale sprouting his spray in the ocean right before our eyes. Turtles were nesting in the dunes along the walk in front of the beach while rabbits were playing in the dunes in front of the condo! Found other guests and locals to be very friendly and helpful!Condo is very clean and beautiful! Highly recommend it!! Shops at Plantation are cute and fun. Had a wonderful meal at Embers Restaurant on Ash St. in the historic district, She Crab Soup is to-die-for and Havana – Banana (like Banana’s Foster) just delish! Baxter’s restaurant was a disappointment. Thanks for sharing your beautiful condo! We will take many pleasant memories back to Missouri with us. The view from the 7th floor made even better by your thoughtfulness in providing binoculars!P.S. Forgot – We really enjoyed visiting a very old, quaint cemetery behind St. Michael’s Catholic Church in the Historic District. If you like history, take a few minutes and wander among the headstones + read + reflect.The historic district has some really fun shops – loved Go Fish and the Pineapple Shop’s fun, inexpensive sandals. Hope to come back someday :-)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 22, 2008   Date of arrival: March 22, 2008

What a wonderful condo! We have been in awe of the views! The first time we came to Amelia we got engaged, and promised ourselves we would never go back so the memory would be preserved. But we loved it so much here we couldn’t resist. This time we brought our son. It’s been such a joy to see him discover the ocean. I expect we will be back many times, and we would look forward to returning to the condo. It has been a total pleasure. Thank you for all your hospitality!5/17/06...Additional note: We had a wonderful time staying at your condo! We really appreciated how much thought you put into making that a great place to vacation. We hope we’ll have a chance to visit again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 2, 2005   Date of arrival: July 1, 2005

This villa is what you are looking for. We had a wonderful time in this villa and has more comforts than you can dream of. The view of the dolphin parade each morning and the horses along the beach (even a horse drawn carriage along the beach awaits you). If you are looking for a great villa, look no further. Brigid was wonderful to work with, along with Raylene, her property manager. You will certainly be pampered. ENJOY!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review