reviews for: listing #333083vb - Playa Zancudo, Costa Rica rental

Amazing Luxurious Oceanfront House in Cabo Matapalo with pool
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • sleeps  8
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Your staff is fantastic

Review submitted: April 22, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

Ximena,
I just wanted to send you a quick note regarding our stay at Casa Marmaris earlier this month. We had an awesome time and enjoyed your house tremendously. However, we were even more impressed with the relationship we developed with Isaac, Desiree, and Andreas. They made us feel at home and treated us like a part of their family. They made our trip one to remember. We hope to visit again as soon as possible. Maybe when it is not quite as hot :-). Thanks again, John

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing place

Review submitted: April 22, 2014   Date of arrival: April 13, 2014

Dear Ximena,



My family and I just got back from your house in Península de Osa. We spent one entire week, from Sunday to Sunday, with two other families.




I wanted to congratulate you for the beautiful and well-kept house. It is a pefect house for a beach/wilderness vacation: it has all the ammenities, it is open, tasteful, private, and practical. Also, since there is someone who comes in every day to do the cleaning, one feels totally spoiled. My favorite part: taking a shower! We would wake up every day with the sound of the birds and the monkeys, and be lulled to sleep at night by the sound of the waves.




I want to report that Isaac, the administrator, and his wife, Desiret, were fantastic. She cooked homey food for us (we did not have a single meal in a restaurant) and he helped us organize excursions (Isla del Caño, Corcovado, Pavones, etc).




You must know that you own a piece of paradise, and congratulations for taking such good care of it!




Best wishes,

Dyalá

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Place for an R&R

Review submitted: February 11, 2014   Date of arrival: January 25, 2014

Lovely to getaway to Osa again with my hubby and Casa Marmaris was the perfect place to stay in paradise.
The plunge pool was perfect after a nice cool down after coming back from any excursions and enjoying the lovely view of the backwash beach. Also, our neighbors the howler monkeys kept us company all through the week with other wildlife friends that have passed through the garden.
There was only one issue which was the power outages and at least that has been worked on and as well as the owner just added 10 more solar panels which will solve the problem for any future arrivals to this gorgeous place.
Looking forward to our next visit to your beautiful place real soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Stay in Osa Peninsula

Review submitted: December 8, 2013   Date of arrival: November 23, 2013

This is a fantastic house in the beautiful and peaceful Osa Peninsula. It's a gorgeous property which manages to feel very open, but still private. It has a lovely view of Backwash Bay and is great for wildlife spotting - we saw monkeys every day passing through. Each of the rooms are beautifully appointed and it's a very relaxing place to hang out (especially in the hammock!).
We went at the end of the rainy season, so were pretty much the only people on any of the 3 nearby beaches (my personal favorite was Backwash). Incredible surfing too at the right time of day, and no one on the waves either! My husband, who is a keen surfer, said it's sone of the best surfing he has seen (and we travel a lot).
Not much going on in the area night-time wise, but we just made our own fun. I'd recommend a dinner out at the Laps Rios resort nearby, it was delicious. Isaac and Desiree, the on-site caretakers, were super helpful and friendly. They are constantly at your disposal and always smiling. Desiree was great with our friend's baby, who she baby sat for a few hours every day. She also made a couple of very nice dinners for us.
I'd say the only downside is that the pool is on the small side, more of a plunge pool - not for lap swimming! But the ocean is right on your door step so it's not a big deal.
I'd definitely recommend it for a peaceful, relaxing break for the adventurous type, and we'd love to come back one day!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Totally Incredible Oasis In A Tropical Paradise! The Best House @ Cabo Matapalo

Review submitted: September 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 14, 2013

We stayed at Osa Mamaris for 2 months and everything about the place was beyond our expectations. Its unbelievably beautiful, serene and peaceful. The staff and owner are a pleasure to deal with and be with. The location just doesn't get any better - right on the beach with little rock pools to swim in out the front and a surf break behind. And the wildlife viewing right from your loungeroom will blow you away. There are monkeys crossing in front every day and we saw armadillos feeding in the yard and pizotes and beautiful lizards of all colours and shapes. Every day was magical! The place is well taken care of and has an air of down to earth luxury. You have great walks nearby, waterfalls and wonderful adventures. You have everything you need and more. I can't wait to come back and stay again. I highly recommend this place if you want the ultimate osa experience!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Words cannot describe what a wonderful time we had

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: February 3, 2013

Hi, I wanted to thank you for allowing myself and friend to stay in your wonderful home in the Osa.

Words cannot describe what a wonderful time we had. Isaac, Jesse and Andress were wonderful.

I have traveled around the world, stayed in many places from Africa to Bali to Europe but must say your place is amazing. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Ideal Family Vacation Home

Review submitted: January 22, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

My wife, three children, and I stayed in this house for a week and it was probably the best vacation week we have ever enjoyed. Every day was spent watching spider monkeys, squirrel monkeys, white-face, and howlers swing through the trees along with scarlet macaws and toucans before even leaving the breakfast table. Meanwhile the house is extraordinary and beautifully appointed. The owner was extremely responsive and helpful, while the caretaker and his wife took care of every detail while we were in the house. From the condition of the home, they clearly have been taking care of every detail with the house. We took advantage of the cooking service and enjoyed the best food we have had during our travels in Costa Rica with fresh seafood every night courtesy of local fisherman. The caretaker's wife and cook who made extraordinary meals along with incredible fresh juices were hands down better than any restaurant we have found in Costa Rica.

The location allows for direct access to Backwash Beach which is stunning and not bad if you want to surf or kayak. From the house you can also do a number of reasonable hikes into the rain-forest where we additionally spotted sloths, poison dart frogs, butterflies, and a stunning array of birds that you won't find anywhere else. We also went tide pooling and found crabs, sea hares, lobster, etc... Perfect for kids and adults as well.

The drive down is pretty manageable as long as you have four wheel drive, and you can also rely on taxi services if you prefer not to drive. Just be sure you stock up in Puerto Jimenez for your stay so that you can avoid return trips for extra food. You can also use this location as a jumping off for Corcovado, but know that you have a meaningful hike from Carate up into the park. We opted to do Corcovado from the north by boat later in our trip so we could enjoy more of our time in Cabo Matapalo exploring the southern part of the peninsula. Our kids range from 3-11 years of age, and all of them loved the house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely perfect

Review submitted: November 27, 2012   Date of arrival: November 18, 2012

Dear Ximena,
We are back in San Jose waiting to fly home. Everything at Osomarmaris was absolutely perfect. The house was so comfortable an luxurious and we loved the location right on backwash bay. Isaac and Deseret couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. They made the whole trip so easy and enjoyable. We saw tons of wildlife off the front porch and had so much fun surfing in the bay. We have already decided that we will definetly be coming back with our friends next time.
Thank you for everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The perfect Christmas

Review submitted: July 28, 2012   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

Please add to my review,

Cabo Matapalo is the prettiest oceanfront rental house in Mataplo. Marna

Owners response: Thank you Marna, hope to have you back soon, Ximena

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Casa Marmaris in June

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

Our stay at Casa Marmaris was lovely. The house is perfectly situated and has amazing views. We saw numerous monkeys and a variety of birds on the property daily. The house is spacious and very well equipped for cooking. We were four adults for the majority of the week and were then joined by friends and their two kids. We all fit very comfortably at the house. The caretakers, Issac and Desire, are also responsive and helpful. We were there at the beginning of the raining season and the solar power did generally go out every evening, but it did not diminish the experience.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

By far my favorite vacation in CR

Review submitted: June 29, 2012   Date of arrival: October 17, 2011

Osa Mar Maris is my best vacation ever! The place is outstanding, marvaleous commodities inside the most beautiful primary forest, incredible ocean view and beaches. I am already planning my next visit. The house is amazing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great vacation house

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

We had a great time with our friends at this beautiful house in Matapalo, Osa. The house's architecture is magnificent and goes along very well with the properties' surroundings. It is a great place to be in touch with the rainforest and the wildlife in Osa, yet it is very comfortable and has the necessary luxuries. We were very pleased with the service as well. This house is perfect for a family vacation or for some time with your friends, the social spaces are very well integrated.

We would definitely love to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything has been perfect

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

So far everything has been perfect your house is so
beautiful and everyone so helpful

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Incredible time

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

"Ximena -

We had an incredible time and everyone was so helpful and kind!

Linda"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Incredibly beautiful place

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: January 30, 2012

"Dear Ximena,
Just a note to tell you what an incredibly beautiful place you have
created. Everything blends so beautifully with the environment and I
did treasure every moment. A great unexpected gift was the parade of
monkeys that wandered through the trees down by the ocean. The
setting is lovely, with sunrise in the morning and the sound of surf
lulling one to sleep at night.. In addition every single one of the
staff was excellent and cheerfully went the extra mile if needed.
Your caretaker does everything well and his care of all of us was exceptional.
What a calm and competent man.
We heard from a variety of people that your home is the loveliest on
Matapalo. It was a joy to be there, too short a week for me, but a
memory of adventure and beauty balanced with serenity and deep peace."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dream House

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

No doubt about it, the best vacations of our life happened at this house in OSA.
The location is perfect, the beach is a dream and the house is fantastic.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review