reviews for: listing #33318 - Marco Island, Florida House rental

Wide Water Views in Olde Marco...Dock....Pool....WiFi
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,100 - $1,100 /wk

sort by:

Dolphins every day

Review submitted: February 26, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

This is a comfortable house with the usual amenities. AC worked especially well. Our kids enjoyed the pool and the dolphins that swam nearby regularly. (No fence around the pool and channel, so watch out with small children.)

We all loved the view of the mangrove bushes and the boaters passing by.

You need a car to get to the public beach which is a shell lovers' paradise...

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 11 / 13

 

Best Family Vacation!

Review submitted: July 21, 2014   Date of arrival: July 2, 2014

This home was wonderful. Everything was perfect. Having small children and a baby, the Sunroom with such close proximity to the pool was my favorite, made it easy to sit with baby and still watch the others. The fishing was ok (not the best time of year). Watching the dolphins swim right next to the dock every afternoon was amazing. This place was the best. I hope to visit this home again next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

perfect stay

Review submitted: March 13, 2014   Date of arrival: June 2, 2013

Dear Lynn,
what a wonderful place to stay for a big family like us with mum, dad, 5 year old son, grandpa and grandma and AuPair.
We saw real Manatees swimming around the dock, of course a lot of Dolphins, we catched a lot of fish and had a great time seeing the parade of ships passing by. Our son loved the Pool which was perfect for him because he could stay at the front side and can improve his swimming skills. Even the wether was not so good it was a great holiday.
Thank you for your very helpful informations and the easy access to everything.
Marion, Malte, Peter, Werner and Bine from Germany

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Good, but wish it was better

Review submitted: June 29, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

My family enjoyed this house a lot, but there are some issues that I hope they fix before someone goes to this home again.

I will begin with the bad.
When we arrived the house was so hot that we had to stayed outside for a while to let it cool, this tells me no has had oocupied the house in a while, it was still 11PM when we where able to be confortable in, this most likely has to do with the air unit that is old.

Then we dealt with the all pans, utensils, plates, glasses, they were all dirty, my wife had to clean the entire kitchen as it was definetly not clean, and if they did then a poor job was done.

There was a car in the garage, that did not let me keep the Jet Ski in the house, I had to pay storage for it, then there was a boat on the lift, I was never told about this so my boat had to stay in the water all week, not a big deal but wish I knew before hand.
Now to the contraction next door, this was the killer, there is a home being build next door, they have trucks working from the early morning up until 5PM, not quite the silence I was expecting.

Pool was dirty up until Monday when a crew showed up to clean it, two days after.

Other than that, the house is comfortable and spacious, beds are nice and firm and it has all you need, just wish they cleaned it and advised of whats going on during a particular stay.

Owners response: I'm sorry that the house was not as expected, but I would like to address some of the concerns. There is absolutely no construction next door. There are no plans to build a house, now or in the future. I believe seawall repairs were performed next door. The work is complete and the construction equipment is gone. The hoist is not for guest use, but there is plenty of space to dock a couple small boats or a large boat. The garage is full with the owners cars, so I'm sorry there is no room for guest use. I can confirm that the house was empty for the week prior to this stay. In the future, we will need to lower the air conditioner early in the day to provide a comfortable temperature at check in. The pool is not enclosed in a screen cage because that would block the view. Consequently, leaves and other debris occasionally fall into the pool. We provide a pool net to help in between weekly cleanings by our pool company. I can't speak to the condition of the kitchen at check in, but most of our guests comment about how clean our crew presents the house. If the guests had communicated with me, I would have sent my cleaners out right away to correct the situation. Unfortunately, I didn't hear anything from the guests until this review was posted. Some nice updates were done to the kitchen shortly after this rental. I'm glad that the family enjoyed their stay despite the problems they encountered. The house really is a special place with great fishing, comfortable outside space and fantastic views. In fact, we have two sets of repeat guests who have stayed at the house five times each, and counting. I'm confident that we provide a fabulous vacation spot at a great value. I hope you will consider it for your next getaway.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect location and great dolphin watching

Review submitted: July 29, 2010   Date of arrival: July 15, 2010

We have vacationed in Marco Island many times, but this is the first time in a private home. The location was wonderful with just a 2 minute boat ride to the Gulf or a 2 mile drive to the public beach. Everyday we watched manatees and dolphins from the dock. The house an older, Florida ranch style, which was comfortable and clean with many amenities. The extra large lanai gave great relief from the hot sun. It was great having a laundry room to use. I wish they had a gas grill available at the house, otherwise we had a perfect vacation and were sad to go home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

FANTASTIC FAMILY VACATION!!!

Review submitted: September 18, 2009   Date of arrival: September 12, 2009

I would recommend this property highly! Our family had an excellent vacation. There are many ammenities in the vicinity to enjoy. There is something for everyone! We spent many hours fishing from the pier. The kids really enjoyed seeing real dolphins and manatees swim right past the dock every evening. We made a short drive to the Everglades and to Miami to see their many sites. The beaches in the area were great for shelling and great for the children to swim. If you are a surfer this area is not the best. The location is easy access for anything. The property was very well cleaned and presentable. It was home away from home. I would definitely rate the stay a 5 star stay for our family. We will definitely be back again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

GREAT HOUSE

Review submitted: September 11, 2009   Date of arrival: August 29, 2009

This was our 1st time to Marco Island and we were so pleased with the house - it has all you need for a great holiday and the bonus parts are the location, wildlife and boat deck for the fishing. We also loved the pool not being enclosed and being able to wave to all the passing boats. It kept the kids amused for hours! Very comfortable home indeed and great to be able to walk to restaurants & bars in the evening.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 6, 2009   Date of arrival: July 6, 2009

06/13/09 - 06/20/09. What a great week my family had. The home was very comfortable and had everyting we needed. My granddaughter especially enjoyed the pool and with my husband and son being avid fisherman, the hugh dock was an added bonus. We are all looking forward to renting again next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Location / Great House

Review submitted: May 18, 2009   Date of arrival: May 9, 2009

My family and I had a wonderful 10 day vacation here on Marco Island. Our extended family (ages 55 - 3) each found the location and amenities perfect. The dock worked great for our boat, the location, just off the Marco River and a quick left to the Gulf of Mexico was perfect and the wildlife was abundant. Relaxing in the pool after a day on the boat / beach was just what everyone was looking for. The house has everything you would need and is both nicely furnished and comfortable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: April 30, 2009   Date of arrival: April 30, 2009

Dear Lynne,
We wanted to let you know what a wonderful time we had at your rental house. The house was clean, comfortable, and well equipped. We enjoyed fishing from the dock and enjoying the beautiful sunsets. The house was perfect for our 1 year old...plenty of space for him to run around, and plenty of wildlife to watch. We saw dolphins and manatee everyday. It was also nice being within walking distance to restaurants. We can't wait to come back!
Thanks again!
John, Amy, and Jack

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house in fantastic location

Review submitted: February 24, 2009   Date of arrival: February 7, 2009

The house was wonderful and was a good value. It had so much more space than a condo would have had and is in a nice private location away from the crowds. The natural habit makes for unbelieveable viewing of birds and animals. It is centrally located with easy access to Naples and the Everglades. It has a great kitchen and several spots to sit and enjoy meals. If you don't feel like cooking, there are many good restaurants close by. A real plus is having the many extras such as beach chairs, towels, and cooler available.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Home with a great view...

Review submitted: December 23, 2008   Date of arrival: December 5, 2008

The view and the frequent wildlife vists make Collier Bay one of the best locations on Marco Island. The home had all the kitchen utensils, towels, beach accessories and other extras you could need.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 29, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

We really enjoyed our week on Marco Island in this property. We are a family of 5 (with 3 girls aged 13, 11 and 8) and the house was perfect for our needs. It is a comfortable house with all the amenities you will need with useful extras like beach chairs, umbrellas and high speed internet. The BIG draw is the location - overlooking the mangroves means you have non-stop wildlife action - birds (many types)all the time and dolphins daily. It also means you feel very secluded even if Marco Island is nearly all developed; and you can watch all the action from the pool!

The Snook Inn being nearby is also a great draw and Marco Marina is good for boat rentals.

Having been involved in house rentals myself, I know how fussy some can be, so if you're looking for a new/modern house with fancy interior design this won't be for you - for the rest of us, it's perfect.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 12, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

My fishing buddy Roy and I could not believe how lucky we were to find your comfortable family home. It ticked all the right boxes for our 10 day vacation.After spending most days on a small fishing boat that we hired from Marco river marina trying to catch Tarpon & Sharks, It was so nice to come back & relax in the pool & watch the sun go down with a beer in hand. This was our 4th visit to Marco Island & I must say the location of your villa is absolutely perfect for holiday makers & fishermen alike. We came a long way from the UK to fish/ watch nature & take in the splendid view's, We were not disappointed.Thanks for renting out a great family home. Warm regards Bob.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 9, 2008   Date of arrival: July 9, 2008

Dear Lynn,
We had a wonderful vacation. The house was perfect and we were reluctant to leave. Please thank the owners for providing the high speed internet access. It was definitely a plus and enabled us to search for restaurants and places to go.
We also enjoyed the quiet location of the house and the fact we could walk to several restaurants of differing cuisines.
As to Marco Island, it was our first time there and our impression was that, with the exception of the house, it doesn't live up to its prices, especially in the restaurants. The meals were generally good but for the price I would have expected excellent. In general it was the presentation that let us down. The Olde Marco Restaurant was an exception. It's an expensive restaurant but the food was excellent and well presented and the service exemplary. I have to admit we didn't verture far from the area we were staying in.
That said, we will go again. We loved the island and will explore it further next time, and for longer.
Many thanks for your help.
Sincerely,
T and B

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Location, Location, Location

Review submitted: December 21, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

The house is fine, with plenty of room, but the view is the big talking point. During our stay we saw dolphins several times every day from the dock, and on a couple of occaisions, they swam within a few feet of where we stood. We also saw manatees both singly and in groups, it was just breathtaking. Add to that ospreys, ibis, pelicans, racoons, it was like a wildlife documentary but without the sound.
Yes there are bigger and better houses, but to be this close to nature is something not many of us get to see.
It is also close to some great eating places as my waistline confirms.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 11 / 13

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review