reviews for: listing #33327 - Asheville, North Carolina Cottage rental

StoryBook-Massage Chair/Hot Tub/King/GasFP/WiFi/Kid Friendly
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $139 - $139 /nt
    $699 - $799 /wk

sort by:

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 24, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

Wonderful place to stay. I don't think there was anything I needed that hadn't been provided! The "cottage" is decorated beautifully. We visited the Grove Park Inn just for fun, and other than the view, the "cottage" was a much better place to stay! Thanks for thinking of EVERYTHING when you furnished the house. The massage chair was a great hit with us!
We hope to stay here again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The way to describe Story Book Cottage is Serenity

Review submitted: November 11, 2013   Date of arrival: October 31, 2013

I took my mom to North Carolina so she could visit her cousin. We stayed at the Story Book Cottage. It was the most relaxing week I ever spent anywhere. The cottage had everything you could possibly need plus more. The very best part was how quiet and serene it was. Not far away there was a cider mill with the best fresh cold crisp cider. The Biltmore was a short drive away. It was the perfect location to everything. I know the Story Book Cottage will see me again when I need a break from my busy life.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: November 11, 2013   Date of arrival: October 24, 2013

What a wonderful cottage. Very well appointed. Stephanie has provided everything you could want down to a backpack and picnic basket. The cottage was immaculate. As soon as I walked in, I felt at home. The back of the cottage overlooks the woods with many trails which my dog loved. Quiet neighborhood. The cottage feels secluded yet close to everything. I definitely recommend the Story Book Cottage. You won't be disappointed.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cozy, clean and comfortable!

Review submitted: October 13, 2013   Date of arrival: September 14, 2013

This is a lovely home. Very cozy. When we stay at a vacation rental, my husband is always concerned about cleanliness and bedbugs, all sorts of bugs--This home was very clean with no bugs or bedbugs! No pests of any kind! (Yippee!) It is obvious that Stephanie cares about this home and that she takes good care of it!

It is in a lovely quiet and peaceful area, with great access to grocery stores and to Hendersonville and Asheville. I would highly recommend it to anyone. The service was great. We arrived late and Stephanie made sure the lights were on and everything was ready for us. Thanks Stephanie!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved Story Book Cottage!

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

Story Book Cottage is a lovely, extremely comfortable and well maintained home. It is so well equipped that there wasn't a single thing we lacked during our week there. We were very happy with the location and felt that we received great value for our money. Also, even though we didn't need anything that hadn't been provided, Stephanie was a phone call away if we had. We definitely hope to return in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Wonderful little cottage in the woods

Review submitted: June 14, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

We wanted a comfortable base from which to explore the Appalachians and we found everything we wanted at the Story Book Cottage.

The cottage is in a quiet residential area surrounded by woods. Although it's about 20 minutes from Asheville, we enjoyed the seclusion and didn't mind a few extra minutes of driving to the Biltmore, Blue Ridge Parkway, The Great Smoky Mountains National Park and Asheville itself.

We appreciated the comfortable amenities -- a very comfortable bed, plenty of space, a full kitchen and washer/dryer. The spa was nice as well, especially in the beautiful wooded setting. There is a supermarket just blocks away, plus a variety of small eateries nearby. Once we returned from our daily adventures, we were able to hunker down and get everything we needed just a few minutes from the cottage. The property managers are very responsive.

We couldn't have asked for more.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Story Book is Dreamy!

Review submitted: June 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Story Book Cottage from 5/28-6/01/13 and had a wonderful experience. We both loved the decor and attention to detail in every aspect of the cottage. Everything one could possibly need for a perfect stay was provided. The kitchen was not only stocked with every piece of kitchenware you could conceivably need but it was also color coordinated! Our poodle Buddy also loved the place. He felt completely at home there. We did not have any two legged children with us, but if we had they would have been entertained with toys, videos, games and a playset outside. There is also a grocery store and park within minutes of the cottage. If you are looking for a relaxing adventure in N.C. this is the place to stay!
-

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

RELAXING!

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 5, 2013

Had a very relaxing and wonderful time at the Story book cottage. The house was beautifully furnished and clean and the kitchen was very well equipped. It so close by to everything fun to do. Found a few wonderful resteraunts also. We really didn’t want to leave and will definetely will be coming back again, Thank you Stephanie!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Once Upon a Time

Review submitted: January 25, 2013   Date of arrival: January 21, 2013

Once upon a time, my daughter and I traveled to the most delightful story book cottage! Everything was just perfect from the cobblestone driveway, to the interior decor, massage chair, fireplace, beautiful bedrooms and the hot tub! We loved everything! It was obvious that the owners are serious about spoiling their guests! I haven't been this relaxed in a very long time, and even my teenage daughter relaxed which is rare with a teenage daughter!

We loved the cottage so much that we really didn't want to leave it even for a minute. When we were able to pull ourselves away from the cottage, we had a blast exploring the area. We went to the waterfalls, the Moonshine Snowtubing park, and to downtown asheville. We truly had one of the best vacations ever.

I can't recommend this beautiful cottage highly enough. Stephanie was such a kind person to deal with, and she really thought of everything she could to make our stay as great as it possibly could be. Thank you so much! We can't wait to come back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Can't wait to return!

Review submitted: November 8, 2012   Date of arrival: November 4, 2012

What a wonderful long weekend escape. Upon entering story book cottage any concerns were left at the door. So clean, cozy, comfortable and well decorated. Wonderful kitchen with anything you could be looking for. After busy days exploring, we fell into the ultra comfortable beds at night. Great meeting location with family from Nashville, TN. We all left agreeing that next time we will spend more of our time at the Story Book Cottage. Thanks so much for sharing your little piece of heaven with us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our wonderful stay at the Story Book Cottage!

Review submitted: September 3, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

The outstanding Story Book Cottage was more than we imagined. The house was beautifully decorated by Stephanie. It was very, very clean with many extra touches that make you feel at home. The amenities were great and the house is equipped with many extra items that were helpful when traveling from a long distance.
We will definitely stay at one of Robert and Stephanie's homes when we visit the Hendersonville/Asheville area in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Clean and Comfy"

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a week leading up to an area wedding we were involved in. The thing we liked the most was how clean the place was. Spotless. Additionally, the owners were very quick to respond to our emails. We did not need to contact them for anything during our stay, but we felt confident that they would respond quickly, day or night. This was our home away from home for a week and we would not hesitate to return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely Get-away!

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

The Story Book Cottage was cozy and very clean. The beds were comfy and the linens were soothing. We all enjoyed the massage chair, the jacuzzi tub and the hot tub. The furnishings were lovely and the kitchen was well equipped. We felt we were truly staying in someone's well-cared for home.

On our 1st day and we chose to do the LaZoom comedy bus tour of asheville. Augusta Wind was our host and she was a hoot and a holler (and we're from Philly, so we know about hollering). Some things you should know: alcohol is permitted on the bus and while the humor was G-rated most of the time, there were a few times when augusta veered into R-rated territory.

We also went to the Biltmore Estate. We spent 2 days there, 1 in the house and 1 in the gardens. Go see the estate & take 2 days. It's huge!! My oldest daughter loved the audio tour of the house and the 14 yr old enjoyed the gardens.

Other fun things we did were to go to Chimney Rock, Bat Cave, Hendersonville for some shopping and to Smiley's Flea Market. Our favorite place to eat was Mike's on Main Street for ice cream - a real soda fountain joint with yummy ice cream. (Try the praline pecan ice cream or the peppermint milkshake.)

Our last event was to visit Carl Sandburg's house. The guide there was terrific and had tons of info to share. The house itself was a trip back into the 60's - there's even a 1960's box of Kleenex tissues in the living room! It was a good glimpse back into the era for our kids and brought back some memories for the adults.

Overall, I'd highly recommend staying at the Story Book Cottage. The owners have done a great job making it a pleasant place to stay. They also checked in with us during the week to be sure everything was fine and we appreciated that attention as well.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

A Great Place to Stay

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

We found the Cottage to be cozy and very clean. We arrived late and the owners had the lights on for us and the a/c running. There were 4 of us (2 adults, 2 daughters-20 and 14). The beds were very comfortable and linens soothing. We all enjoyed the massage chair, the jacuzzi tub and especially the hot tub. The furnishings were lovely and the kitchen was well equipped-even the dishes were upscale! We felt we were truly staying in a home.

As for Hendersonville and Asheville, there is plenty to do in both areas. We thought we would take it easy on our 1st day and we chose to do the LaZoom bus tour of Asheville. It was billed as a comedy tour and it certainly was. Augusta Wind was our host and she was a hoot and a holler (and we're from Philly, so we know about hollering). A couple of things you should know: alcohol is permitted on the bus and while the humor was G-rated most of the time, there were a few times when Augusta veered into R-rated territory. If you're looking to learn about Asheville, choose something else, but if you want something fun to do with some local flavor and lots of humor, this would be it.

We also went to the Biltmore Estate. We spent 2 days there, one in the house and one in the gardens. We highly recommend the trip and taking at least 2 days. It's huge!! My oldest daughter loved the audio tour of the house and the 14 yr old enjoyed the gardens - especially the fish in the Italian gardens. We went to Antler Hill Village and the farm on the 2nd day as well. If you're pressed for time, skip this part. It was fun, but not nearly as much as the house and grounds.

Another adventure we took was to Chimney Rock. Two of us took the 500 some stairs to the top and the other 2 took the 27 story elevator. We all then climbed to the Opera Box for a view of Chimney Rock and surrounding areas. We also went on the hike to Hickory Nut Falls.

Other fun things we did were go to Bat Cave, downtown Hendersonville for some shopping, we went to the movies and to Smiley's Flea Market. Our favorite place to eat was Mike's on Main Street for ice cream - a real soda fountain joint with yummy ice cream. (Try the praline pecan ice cream or the peppermint milkshake.)

Our last event was to visit Carl Sandburg's house. The guide there was terrific and had tons of info to share. The house itself was a trip back into the 60's - Mrs. Sandburg sold the house and all of the contents to the government and only

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A great place to reboot!

Review submitted: May 1, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

This cottage had everything you needed to relax & stay connected to the outside world. I have never slept so well - the beds were great. It was private, quiet & adorable. The hot tub & massage chair were top notch. The owners thought everything - from labels on light switches to an Ingles card to get a discount at the conveniently located grocery store. And the location is perfect - the town has great shopping, pubs, restaurants and is close to beautiful outdoor facilities. We will come again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Story Book Cottage is warm, welcoming, comfortable

Review submitted: April 11, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2012

Our stay at this cottage was wonderful! From the well-equipped kitchen to the very comfortable beds, everything was quality. Having a washer & dryer was a bonus, as was the swing & play set for our child. Little things like the picnic cooler for packing a lunch were a plus. Directions & instructions were clear. The location is ideal as it's near a very nice grocery store & close to the delightful town of Hendersonville. The price of the cottage is very reasonable, & the owners were great!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Wonderful, fabulous, fun and did I say wonderful?

Review submitted: December 27, 2011   Date of arrival: December 15, 2011

The story book cottage was extraordinarily comfortable, thoughtfully appointed and equipped with everything one would need and convenient to both asheville and Hendersonville. I was on a relocation mission and the cottage provided me with the perfect location to explore all the neighboring communities. I also stayed in most evenings with a lovely fire and homemade dinner. It's quiet, tasteful and exceeded all of my expectations. Stephanie and Robert were lovely and responsive to any question I had. Thank you for such a wonderful experience.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Truly a comfortable home away from home"

Review submitted: November 23, 2011   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

The entire process, from making the reservation, to checking out was an absolute pleasure. Attention to all the little details makes a stay at the Storybook Cottage a true delight. The Cottage is very well-located, yet has a secluded feel. You'll love the hot tub!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Wonderful, relaxing home away from home."

Review submitted: October 2, 2011   Date of arrival: September 24, 2011

My husband, toddler son, dog, and I spent a week in the Asheville/Hendersonville area and stayed in the Story Book Cottage. It was wonderful! It rained every morning of our stay, so our outdoor activities were delayed until the rain stopped. It was so nice to be able to be in a home environment while it was raining. We didn't feel cooped up at all, and we were able to relax. At first I was a little worried that the home had too much stuff for our toddler son to mess with, but he was much more interested in the blocks, books, and stuffed animals in the home. It was wonderful! It was also really nice to have some of the toddler-friendly amenities (plastic cups, bowls, pack-n-play, etc.) available so that we didn't need to pack those. We had a great time during our stay at the Story Book Cottage and highly recommend it to others.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Our stay in NC was WONDERFUL! Here's what we loved about our Storybook Cottage stay - the visits by the neighborhood cat who perched himself right under the front porch welcome sign. The back yard deck where we spent time playing Sorry & Upwords. By the way, we did see an awesome buck a few yards from the back deck & later that day, a doe who raced back & forth several times. The beautiful kitchen which saved us a lot of money since we ate all our meals at the cottage or picnicked on day trips in the Blue Ridge area. Loved the area waterfalls & hiking. My daughter loved the American Girl store in downtown Hendersonville & I really liked the Lapidairy muesem.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: May 15, 2011

This is the third time that we have stayed in a property owned by Stephanie Joy Johnson and the third time that we have been absolutely pleased! This house was spotless and comfortable, and we lacked for nothing. We slept like babies in the king size bed, and never heard a sound. We had our dog with us, and he loved the 11 acre woods behind the house. It awe convenient to stores, restaurants, and recreation. We will definitely stay with them again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 22, 2011   Date of arrival: December 28, 2010

Story Book Cottage was just perfect for our visit to North Carolina. It was immaculate, attractively decorated and well appointed with everything one needs on a day-to-day basis. I will certainly stay there again and highly recommend it as a five-star rental in the Asheville, NC area. Thank you for a great stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 7, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Story Book Cottage. The home was beautiful and the rooms were comfortable and very cozy. The home was immaculate and very well equipped. My husband cooked breakfast every morning. The hot tub and spa tub were also very well appreciated. Thanks again for the hospitality. Your home is charming.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 23, 2010   Date of arrival: December 19, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Story Book. This was a surprise for my husband and he loved it. Your home is beautiful and the rooms comfortable and had the feeling of "home." My husband and kids loved playing poker and had mean chess matches.
They stayed up until midnight to one am trying to outmatch each other. Cooking breakfast was great, since we slept until 10 every morning. We enjoyed the quiet. Even our dogs slept in. Thanks again for the hospitality. Your home is charming.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 1, 2010   Date of arrival: November 28, 2010

Our family of four stayed in StoryBook Cottage over Thanksgiving 2010. We had a great time and cannot say enough positive things about the level of service Stephanie & Robert provide. The cottage is clean, very tastefully furnished and includes just about anything you can think of. Truly. This includes a base level of household supplies that one, we have not experienced during our many house rentals over the years and two, was VERY welcoming to our late night arrival (tp and towels are always welcome). This was an incredibly nice touch on top of a charming cottage to begin with. Stephanie was also a gracious host helping with Thanksgiving suggestions and calling to make sure our stay was pleasant.

We also enjoyed the community the house was in, including a great historic district downtown and close grocercies /restaurants. The greater Asheville community also has lots to offer. Each trip to this area turns up new things! But to be honest, our kids also enjoyed staying at the cottage playing board games, hiking the woods and sitting in the jacuzzi!

We highly recommend staying at one of Stephanie & Robert's properties.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 17, 2010   Date of arrival: September 12, 2010

We stayed at this wonderful home for 2 weeks. it's just what we wanted, nice and quiet but close to so many things to do. We went to the apple festival in Hendersonville, to Lake Lure, Chimney Rock, took a ride on the blue ridge parkway up to MT. Pisgah.
Everything in the home was perfect, everything we could even think of needing was there.

This is the fourth house we stayed in and want to try everyone of them!!!

Stephanie you have wonderful homes!!!
we can't wait to try the next one!!! Thank you so much!!!!

Danny & Cathy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 7, 2010   Date of arrival: August 30, 2010

Story Book Cottage was the perfect place to stay - I brought my 4 and 5 year old boys for their first trip to the US. The cottage was an absolute home from home and we all enjoyed relaxing there. There is so much to do in the local area - we had a great time hiking, fishing, climbing waterfalls and swimming rivers - a perfect break for all of us. Thank you so much for enabling us to have a great holiday.
Jane

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2010

We had a wonderful time at the Storybook Cottage. Our 4yr old squealed when she saw the chest full of stuffed animals, the games, legos, and movies. It really made our stay much more pleasant to have a happy child--the playground was perfect too and very well made. The beds were very comfy and the hot tub was lovely. Thanks for a perfectly relaxing place to stay on our family vacation in the beautiful Smoky Mountains.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 23, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2010

We had a wonderful time in Asheville, and a large part of it was the comforts of 'home' to return to after our days out. The Storybook Cottage was extremely comfortable and very well appointed with really everything we need. Cozy yet elegant, child friendly, and a great get away for all of us. We could not hve been more satisfied with this decision.

-The Stearneys, Illinois

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 23, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

Stephanie,

I wanted you to know that being in your home for a week has inspired me to make some purchases that will continue the spoiling that I received while staying there. It was amazing. I enjoyed how organized the kitchen was so I just spent the last three grueling days in my kitchen reorganizing, de-cluttering and scrubbing my kitchen. I even bought some fresh flowers. If we decide to visit that area again, I will stay in one of your homes for sure. Couple of questions if you don't mind: What is the model number for the iJoy massage chair that is in Storybook Cottage? I am seriously wanting one of those, but I want to get one similar if not the same. Also, who makes those awesome fuzzy throw blankets, and where can I get my hands on a couple of them?

Thanks for your time :-)

Diana

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 28, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed the Storybook Cottage. I cannot stop raving to family and friends just how pleased we were with your place. It was just perfect and the amenities were above and beyond. There was absolutely nothing missing or that we could need. My kids fell in love with your many soft blankets and it was summer! Massage chair was a hit, hot tub was the best and the setting was perfect too. Downtown Hendersonville is very nice place to just walk and shop and look. We even caught an old car show while there with live music on Fridays. We will be back and will stay at Storybook Cottage again or will pick one of your other properties. Thanks so much for your hospitality!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 4, 2010

Comment rating: Positive - Comment copied from on our on-line Guest Book

Comments:
My daughter and I and her three year old son had a
relaxing totally comfortable time. Everything was
just right and you seemed to predict what we might
need. All the furnishings were top of the line.

We really appreciated that the kitchen had
everything and, unlike, many places we have
stayed, everything was in excellent condition and
was top quality. We ate in every night and my
daughter was able to fix scrumptious meals.

The toys and play set were such thoughtful
additions. Most people don't seem to encourage
bringing children and my grandson had a grand
time. Thanks, too, for all the accurate information
about the local activities. The model train exhibit
on Sat. mornings was a huge hit.

The setting was great; we felt like we were in the
woods--it was so shady and quiet--but the
supermarket was only two minutes away, and the
center of town with all the fun shops and cafes, less
than five. We will definitely be back in touch about
a return visit to the cottage or one of your other
properties.

Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: March 10, 2010   Date of arrival: March 10, 2010

Hi Stephanie, What a wonderful welcome we received at StoryBook Cottage. We arrived late and were welcomed with a nice warm house and the lights were on. We had a lovely time and wanted for nothing. The cottage decor was lovely and we felt right at home. Laura has been telling everyone about the lovely time we had. Mary Burke

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 8, 2010   Date of arrival: March 8, 2010

I stayed at the storybook cottage for 8 days.we planned on eating out alot,and we only went out to dinner once. The ambiance was so nice that you just loved being ,there.lots of snow on the gorund was beautiful, and the gas fireplace was not only very waming, but beautiful as well.be it busineess or pleasure (ours was a bit of both)i reccomend to both. Why would you want to stay in a hotel and have none of the comforts of home? I have recommended the sbc to my peers who travel up to the area often, as i would like everyone to share this great place. Bring nothing bur your clothes and toothbrush as everything right down to Blender and elec. mixing bowl, is provided, and do not forget your bathing suits for the HOT TUB. Thank you Stephanie and Robert, we will be back!!! ken and laura

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: November 20, 2009   Date of arrival: November 20, 2009

We found story book cottage to be as charming as its name. The house is nicely furnished with nature trails immediately behind but is still be a short drive to restaurants in town.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 10, 2009   Date of arrival: November 10, 2009

We LOVED our stay at SBC! I had researched many properties and was looking for something affordable, with a good location that had the amenities we needed (a full kitchen was a MUST) We could not have been more pleased!

Every single amenity one could think of was there and few we hadn't thought of either! We came to NC to spend parents weekend with our son who attends a nearby boarding school. We didn't plan to do a lot of "things" in the area (we've done those on previous trips), we just wanted to feel like we were home and be a family. SBC was the perfect place to do that!

We cooked, played, hot-tubbed, laughed, cried, the whole 9 yards. It was a true home-away-from-home. The beds were to DIE for! So very comfy and the throws on the beds and sofas were delightful. We felt a little guilty staying inside so much when the weather was perfect, but we did exactly what we needed to do.

Thanks again for a lovely stay at SBC. We hope to stay again in the spring!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: November 4, 2009   Date of arrival: November 4, 2009

Thank you so much for the use of your beautifully decorated cottage. I normally spend hours, day, weeks and sometimes even months if I book ahead trying to find what I consider the best vacation home to suit my families needs. Other than the fact that your cottage was not a log cabin or deep in the woods.... My family was very pleased. ( and that are not easy to please ). First thank you for the Halloween Candy. We got rained out trick or treating and my son was so content with the basket that you left, he didnt shed 1 tear. Oh about the house where can I start...... First the bedding, linens and decorations throughout are wonderful. The beds and blankets are so comfortable. The massage chair... well that was an every day fight between us all who got it first.......Oh how great to have that to come home to after a long day of hiking.. or should I say climbing since the elevator was out at Chimney Rock and we had to climb to the top. The hot tub was a great asset. We only used it once for a very short time because we were so exhausted. It was nice to have the back yard is so private. Ok... what is the most important part to a vacation rental to my family... a great kitchen because they like to eat their meals at home. You kitchen had everything that we needed to cook complete meals, unlike so many other rentals. I loved everything and how easy it was to find. Ingles and Fresh Market were both so close that we utilized the great kitchen often. The games, the movies, the bathroom towels, the picnic basket, the fireplace, the pens, the pads, you thought of everything. I will highly recommend your home to anyone who asks and I hope to come back soon.. maybe around the holidays so I can get the feeling of Christmas.. You know winters in Florida just dont feel like Christmas to me.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 1, 2009   Date of arrival: November 1, 2009

October 17,- October 24, 2009

The Story Book Cottage was a great place for us to spend a wonderful fall break. It is a very cute cottage, with a lot of comforts. We especially enjoyed the nice kitchen, the fireplace, and the hot tub. Also, the mountains are great. There are a lot of fun trails, for hiking, around here. Some very beautiful trails are the Looking Glass Rock Trail and the trails at the Graveyard Fields. Overall, this is a very great, little home for a couple of days,and there are so many things you can do around here. We loved the Story Book cottage, and we would love to come again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 21, 2009   Date of arrival: October 21, 2009

We loved our stay at the cottage. You know how sometimes you book a getaway and the description says "luxury, be pampered" and then when you get there it's a disappointment? I've kind of taken that as inevitable after staying in many places. What a wonderful surpise to come across this cabin that actually lived up to the promise!!! It is nicer than our house, we wanted to just move in. Everything was perfect from the decor to the fully equiped kitchen to the comfy beds, the hot tub, a video library for relaxing in front of the fire in the evenings, the woods out back, even the neighbors were friendly, it was everything we hoped for and more. We would definitely stay there again the next time we visit Asheville. The location is also central to everwhere we wanted to go. Downtown Hendersonville itself was fun with art galleries and restaurants, and the apple farms were only a few minutes away. Thank you for going the extra mile with this space!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 14, 2009   Date of arrival: September 14, 2009

I chose the Story Book Cottage as a home away from home for myself and my family during our trip to N. Carolina. It turned out to be a fabulous choice! The Cottage has so many amenities, charming decor, and was very clean. We would certainly wish to stay there again in future!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 1, 2009   Date of arrival: September 1, 2009

My husband and I spent 8 days at the Story book cottage and it exceeded our expectations. The cottage is truly a delight and so well supplied with anything we may have needed. We cooked most of our night meals either in the kitchen or on the grill and were very pleased with all of the cooking utensils. We would definitely recommend the cottage to anyone looking for a get away with all the comforts of home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 14, 2009   Date of arrival: August 14, 2009

We loved the cottage decor and all the appliances! The cookware was fantastic as were all the ammenities. We actually did not need to take anything except our personal belongings. The woods behind the property has a spectacular view and the BBQ grill and cooking utensils were great. We have never stayed in a cabin so well equipped and we have stayed in several cabins through the years. We will certainly come back when we can and highly recommend the cabin to all our friends and anyone looking for a cabin in the NC area. My husband said the cabin looked like it was set up for a family to move right into. Thanks again for allowing us to enjoy your beautiful cabin!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 7, 2009   Date of arrival: August 7, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Storybook Cottage for our 15th anniversary. We loved the interior decorating. The Cottage was clean and had everything that we needed. It was close to all the special attractions, and was a great place to relax.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 28, 2009   Date of arrival: July 28, 2009

Our family enjoyed our stay at the Story Book Cottage. It was decorated wonderfully and our children enjoyed the outside play set! The house is well-equipped, you've thought of everything! Thank you for sharing your home with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 6, 2009   Date of arrival: July 6, 2009

Dear Stephanie and Robert,

We so enjoyed our stay in your Story Book Cottage! Not only was it a great location that allowed us to easily travel to so many sites offered within the Hendersonville/Asheville area, but it was the cabin itself that was nicely decorated, clean and cozy, private,and relaxing.

Our boys really enjoyed exploring the backyard's eleven acres, and also the nearby mountain bike trails. Jim and I really appreciated the hot-tub after hiking, and a long day at the Biltmore Estate!

Thank you again, and we'll definitely be back.

Sincerely,
Deb Solinsky

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 12, 2009   Date of arrival: June 12, 2009

We very much enjoyed our stay at SBC. The home was very cozy, and we had all the privacy we needed. We had a great time hiking in the Dupont Forest and seeing the waterfalls that are close by. We have traveled to the mountains many times, and visited several of the surrounding area attractions such as Biltmore, NC Arboretum, and Hickory Nut Gorge. We were looking for the comforts of home while away as we are not the camping type! We especially enjoyed the added pleasure of a massage from the chair and soaking in the hot tub after hiking all day. Would recommend this home to anyone looking for some peace and quiet on their trip!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 30, 2009   Date of arrival: May 30, 2009

We chose Story Book Cottage for its charm and close proximity to the Biltmore Estate in Asheville and area waterfalls. We were not disappointed. Story Book has virtually everything you need to feel at home.

We especially enjoyed the kitchen for our omelets in the mornings. Although breakfast was the only meal we ate in, I took a look through the cabinets and we could have literally cooked anything we wanted. I couldn't think of anything I would have needed that wasn't supplied.

The jacuzzi tub was great for a good soak after our long days of hiking in the mountains looking at the areas beautiful waterfalls. We slept great in the very comfortable king-sized bed. Everything smelled clean and fresh and I wasn't afraid to walk around bare-footed :) Story Book is beautifully and comfortably decorated and peaceful. We will definitely be back.

Thanks Stephanie and Robert for making our 24th Anniversary trip a great one!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 2, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

Loved Storybrook, so peaceful and serene! Not to mention the gorgeous waterfalls we fell in love with! Thank you for everything!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 28, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at SBC. It is very well furnished. The bed and sheets are very soft and comfortable. The couch was very cozy in front of the fireplace and the HDTV with all the movie channels was a huge bonus. We would stay there again. Thanks Stephanie!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 30, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

Our recent Christmas stay was our second trip to the Storybook Cottage. The property is lovingly and immaculately maintained. It was amazing to us that EVERYTHING we needed was there. For example, we needed a screwdriver for the infamous new Christmas toy, and we found one in the handy tool kit. We made all of our Christmas cookies at the cottage and found all of the tools necessary. My daughter needed a band-aid, and we found one in the well stocked First Aid Kit. It is rare to find such comfy beds with high quality linens in a rental property, too. We will be back again and again...or at least until we can buy our own property in the area! :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 1, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

We loved our visit at the Story Book Cottage. It was extremely well equipped and the beds were super comfy! And it was very clean, too. The gas fireplace added a nice touch on the chilly, post hot tub evenings. We are coming back in a month!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 31, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

Andy and I joyfully celebrated our 10th anniversary
while staying in the more than fully equipped Story
Book cottage. We were amazed at all of the little
touches and thoughtful planning that went into
producing a peaceful and pleasant ambience. The
king size bed in the master bedroom, overlooking
the hot tub on the deck nestled in the woods was
extremely comfortable. Sleeping in and enjoying
our morning coffee while soaking in the hot tub in
the midst of the beautiful fall foliage was a
pleasurable daily event . The location is extremely
convenient for all of the many local attractions. Our
two week stay helped solidify our decision to make
Hendersonville our home in the near future.
Thank you Stephanie and Robert for the wonderful
provisions we enjoyed during our stay at the Story
Book Cottage.
Andy & Roseann Meyerson, Fort Myers, Fl

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 9, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

We've stayed at many cottages and condos, but as far as comfort, cleanliness and "extras," Storybook was the best. You two could make a career of setting up a household for people! We felt instantly at home and were glad to come back each night to a comfortable bed in a nice quiet setting. Our first trip to western NC was beautiful. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 29, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay. The cottage was very comfortable and felt like home while we were there. Cooking for my family was a joy. The kitchen was well equipped. Our 18 month old son loved all the stuffed animals and enjoyed playing outside. We wouldn't change a thing.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 24, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

The Story Book Cottage met all of our expectations. We found it to be very clean upon arrival, and we felt that the furnishings
and supplies met all of our needs for our one week stay.

We appreciated the restaurant recommedations and the literature that was supplied regarding interesting sites and attractions. We particularly enjoyed our day trip to Blowing Rock and Grand Father Mountain and our short trip to Castle Rock. For nature hikes, we found the Pusgah Forest to be very convenient and it offered many interesting things to see.

Hendersonville offers a nice selection of restaurants in the heart of town, and the opportunity to dine in Asheville and other surrounding communities is readily available.

Many thanks to Joy for our enjoyable stay.

Barbara and Jim

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 8, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

I loved staying at the Story Book Cottage. Everything the other reviewers have said is true. The cottage is in an older neighborhood at the end of a mountain "cul-de-sac." The little house is back from the road nestled against the woods.

My Yorkie dog came with me. I could open the door and let him walk out. I did not have to carry him, keep him on a leash, or worry about him being run over (or stolen). We walked the trails in the woods behind the house. The first day he was nervous, but after that, he felt at home and loved running the trails. I hate staying in a hotel because I have to be so careful about him.

I slept on the queen bed. That bed is heaven. I took the sheets off so I could see what kind of mattress it was. It is a Serta Perfect Sleeper. While there, I slept better than I have in a long time.

The furnishings in this house are so well done, you would swear they had hired Nate Berkus to decorate. Oh. . . . and check out the curly willow tree by the parking area. I've never seen one. I went to B.B. Barns, described it, and they told me it was a curly willow.

Anything you need is in the house. There are some spices, cookbooks, and a few condiments in the refrigerator. There are even umbrellas and a flashlight by the backdoor. I absolutely would recommend staying at any of the locations owned by Stephanie and Robert. They obviously love what they do.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 10, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

We had a fabulous time at the Storybook Cottage. We felt very welcomed and have nothing but great things to say about our stay. Very comfortable and clean atmosphere....including soft sheets and towels...something you don't always get when staying away from home! We are already talking about a return trip! Thanks for everything....We will treasure the memories of our great trip.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 30, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

We stayed at the Story Book Cottage for our Honeymoon and loved every minute or it. The Cottage had everything that you need to just stay in all day we had a great time and will definitly book another stay there.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 24, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

We stayed in Story Book Cottage for our honeymoon. It was a lovely cottage with all the amenities of home. We enjoyed how relaxed the home made us feel and we absolutely loved the comfortable king size bed and hot tub. The area was centrally located, but the back porch provided privacy. It was a lovely place to spend our honeymoon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 9, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

We can't begin to tell you how wonderful our visit to Western North Carolina was the last week in May. We felt enveloped in a canopy of green wherever we went: Chimney Rock, The Biltmore Estate, Grandfather Mountain and many waterfalls with beautiful drives on the back roads. Then to top it off, coming home to the exceptional Story Book Cottage, made a perfect ending to a wonderful day. You provided for every need we could possibly hope for .... and in such luxury. Thank you for sharing your cottage. We hope to return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 5, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

The Story Book Cottage was very comfortable and cozy. Bed, linens, furnishings, etc. were the best; we wanted for nothing during our stay. So convenient to many things too!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 27, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

Well Stephanie and Robert,

There are no words to express our thanks for opening your lovely, comfortable, cozy, etc. home to us. It was all we were looking for and more! I would have to say ditto on every positive comment that has been made aout the cottage. The message chair was so relaxing and we are thinking about purchasing one. We most definetly will be back and telling many others about our "experience" at the Story Book.
Also, it was a pleasure meeting your maintenence man for he was kind.

Thanks Again!
The Lewis Family
Atlanta, Ga

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 16, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

We stayed at the Storybook Cottage for a week in April, 2008 and loved every minute of it. It is amazing how you provide atate-of-the art "everything" for your guests and yet still manage to keep a cozy, cottage feel. The location made the perfect base for our short day trips in the area. The jetted tub, the rocking chairs on the porch, the woods in the back yard, and the super comfy beds welcomed us home every evening. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Storybook Cottage to anyone. Be prepared to relax, enjoy, and experience a little slice of Western NC heaven.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 28, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

Dear Stephanie,

We moved to Georgia 2 years ago from Southern California, with remodeling our home and adding an apartment for my mother, this was our first chance to get away. We thoroughly enjoyed and needed the time to relax. We typically always stay in 4/5 star hotels but we found your cottage a very pleasant and relaxing change. I have to say the bed was the best. We have NEVER slept in a bed so cozy and comfortable, we agree with everyone else it was VERY hard to get out of and go home. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer we checked online, if it had been available we would have extended our stay. The only detail we could see for your improvement that we have at times enjoyed, is white cotton robes, because ABSOLUTELY every other detail was perfect. We look forward to staying at other similarly equipped rentals of yours. Thank You for your lovely home, so well equipped.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 27, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

We arrived from UK and had been visiting family in NC. Just wanted a week by ourselves and certainly found the most relaxing cottage that had everything to offer and more! Very impressed with the level of furnishings and equipment - nothing was left to chance.

We will certainly be telling our friends in US and UK all about Story Book Cottage!

Thank you

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 27, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

Dear Stephanie,

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay the Story Book Cottage. Your attention to detail did not go unnoticed and all of the extra luxurious amenities were very much appreciated. For future guests I would definitely recommend taking advantage of the walking trails behind the cottage and then unwinding in either of the fabulous tubs! Thank you again for all of your thoughtfulness in making this such a great getaway spot!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 9, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

The story book cottage was fabulous. Stephanie and Robert were wonderful to work with and I will stay there again if I am in the area. It was very cozy and charming. It was well kept, nicely decorated and very comfy!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 23, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

Oh, Stephanie!



We had such a WONDERFUL time. It was so peaceful, relaxing and comfortable. I was literally taking the sheets off the bed with Cubby still in it on Monday. He SO didn't want to get out of bed. I think he even said, "Call them and tell them we're never leaving!" If we could have stayed, we certainly would have. The cabin had everything we could ever need. We cooked, ate, drank :) and hot-tubbed. He even got a little work in. In case anyone asks, Tamera from Appalachian Spa Ventures came to the cottage and did 1-hour massages for each of us, complete with chocolate-covered strawberries and some other goodies. It was wonderful! She has rental properties as well, and even remarked at how "sweet" the cottage was. Thank you so much for letting us in on such short notice, and I have no doubt we'll be staying with you again in the future.

Thank you again,

Stacy Lewis

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 7, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

My husband and I had a great time at Story Book Cottage! We just moved to the Carolinas from Boston and wanted to make this Christmas a special one for us. SO, we met our best friends at Story Book Cottage and celebrated the holidays with them! The cottage had all the amenities of home and was just a cozy! We really enjoyed our down time. Story Book's central location also catered to our active lifestyle. We were 45 minutes from Chimney Rock State Park where we spent Christmas Eve Day and about 50 minutes from Catalochee Ski Resort where we spent Christmas Day - Skiing was great!
We'll definitely come back!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 7, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

We stayed a week at the Storybook Cottage and it
became home. Charming, well equipped and
comfortable. Bravo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely, small house

Review submitted: December 19, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

This cottage is really very, very nice. We spent two weeks at this home during the summer months. It is convenient to grocery stores and about 5 minutes drive to downtown Hendersonville. The house has been totally redone beautifully. We only had two complaints. The description makes this cottage sound like it is the heart of a very upscale neighborhood, or out in the mountains, with space between the homes. In reality, it is right next door to a mobile home/trailer park and right up against another home on the other side. It is still very quiet, and there are some other cute little houses near by, but this house is directly next door to the trailers. The other issue may not bother some people, but, because the house is very small, there was A LOT of furniture in it. The furniture is beautiful, fine, gorgeous, but there is hardly room to move around in the living areas. So we wound up having to rearrange some of it, pushing some of it off into a corner, so we could feel a little freer to move around. For example, it was very difficult to get to the dining room table because it is literally about a foot from the back of the living room sofa. But this is really a great place otherwise - the landlords are wonderful and did everything they could for us and were very flexible. We had a great trip.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the great review! We do love this cottage we personally restored to its original 1940’s charm including original heart of pine floors. We are delighted that you enjoyed your vacation with us!

The very well maintained mobile home park (owned by a close friend of ours) is one block away (not next door!) just outside of the neighborhood and has nice families living there. Regarding your other point, to be clear, the home is NOT right up against another home on the other side! The driveway to our house passes the cute cottage next door and our house is set off the street, away from neighbors. The Story Book Cottage faces 11 acres of woodlands that our guests are free to take their walks. The home actually enjoys a great deal of privacy away from any neighbors.

We are often complimented on our quality furnishings because many vacation rentals are sparsely furnished or poorly furnished. Everyone has their personal taste. The home is about 950 SF and we try to include items that our guests request. We brought in a round table for 4 because of requests for a place to play the various board games that we provide. I can understand that you may have found it in your way. I guess in trying to please one group, it may not please another. The photos displayed on this website are very thorough and accurate as to the home’s furnishings and placement.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 13, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

This was our 18th Annual Shopping Trip and The Storybook Cottage made it extra special. Your home was lovely and we wanted for nothing, it was as though you anticipated our every need. We would most definitely stay with you again in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 12, 2007   Date of arrival: December 12, 2007

Dear Rob and Stephanie,You have totally spoiled us with this cozy and family friendly cottage. Your attention to detail and responsive service really touched our heart. We greatly appreciate Rob’s timely help in resetting the hot tub though we found the detailed instruction in Welcome book afterwards. Our in-laws had lots of fun playing cards and other games you placed in dinning room shelf. Our 1.5-year-old boy loved the toy box and the children’s books. The beds are very comfortable; the kitchen is convenient and fully equipped. You even left the grocery discount card in the Welcome book! Even though we did not get the chance to use it, we greatly appreciate your thoughtfulness.The highlights of the week are the Chimney Rock, Mt. Pisgah hike, Grandfather Mountain, and NC Arboretum. The Biltmore Estate was a little disappointing because of the weekend crowd and limited area that’s opened to public. Every night, we returned to the cottage with a home cooked meal, relaxed massage, and hot tub in the private deck. We like this place so much that we are already planning on returning to the cottage in the next fall season.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 12, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

Dear Rob and Stephanie,

You have totally spoiled us with this cozy and family friendly cottage. Your attention to detail and responsive service really touched our heart. We greatly appreciate Rob’s timely help in resetting the hot tub though we found the detailed instruction in Welcome book afterwards. Our in-laws had lots of fun playing cards and other games you placed in dinning room shelf. Our 1.5-year-old boy loved the toy box and the children’s books. The beds are very comfortable; the kitchen is convenient and fully equipped. You even left the grocery discount card in the Welcome book! Even though we did not get the chance to use it, we greatly appreciate your thoughtfulness.
The highlights of the week are the Chimney Rock, Mt. Pisgah hike, Grandfather Mountain, and NC Arboretum. The Biltmore Estate was a little disappointing because of the weekend crowd and limited area that’s opened to public. Every night, we returned to the cottage with a home cooked meal, relaxed massage, and hot tub in the private deck. We like this place so much that we are already planning on returning to the cottage in the next fall season.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 9, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

i wouuld like to thank you or the story book cottage. the cottage was fully equipped from the kitchen with everything that the cook needed, to the hot tub. the cottage decorations, furniture, was like being at home.... thanks for a great place to relax and enjoy.....

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 9, 2007   Date of arrival: October 9, 2007

What a wonderful little cottage in the hills of Western North Carolina. The cottage is so well appointed and decorated you should be very proud of what you have accomplished! We have had a wonderful vacation and will have to call upon you again when heading this way.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 3, 2007   Date of arrival: October 3, 2007

The Story Book Cottage is clean, cozy, comfortable and exactly what I was looking for and more! The location was great for us. We return to Hendersonville every eight weeks, hoteling gets old and difficult with children. The cottage is very much like home with better weather. We hope to return again if you have the availability. Thank you for all the special touches and sharing your talents.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 3, 2007   Date of arrival: October 3, 2007

The Story Book Cottage is clean, cozy, comfortable and exactly what I was looking for and more! The location was great for us. We return to Hendersonville every eight weeks, hoteling gets old and difficult with children. The cottage is very much like home with better weather. We hope to return again if you have the availability. Thank you for all the special touches and sharing your talents.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 2, 2007   Date of arrival: October 2, 2007

Your cottage is wonderful! This is our 3rd time staying in one of Robert & Stephanie’s homes and every visit has been completely relaxing. We totally felt at home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 18, 2007   Date of arrival: September 18, 2007

Dear Stephanie,
We have returned home from our trip and I wanted to
thank you again for the use of your cottage. It was
perfect. You have really out-done other rentals with
decorating and providing a fully equipped kitchen.
You have anticipated the needs of your clients even
down to the flashlight and an emergency kit. The bed
was very comfortable and we felt safe in the
neighborhood.
It is our hope to return to Hendersonville again and I
will definitely look you up when that time comes.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 6, 2007   Date of arrival: September 6, 2007

8/23/07 – 9/6/07 We have never stayed in a vacation cottage that was so splendidly equipped! Thank you for a wonderful two weeks. We explored the area from Black Mountain to Chimney Rock, Flat Rock and the Pisgah Forest (among other places)—all wonderful. The hot tub was fun but the jetted bath was even better! We enjoyed the annual Apple Festival and found everyone so friendly. Don’t miss the Flat Rock Village Bakery—their pizzas are matchless delights. Also the Flat Rock Playhouse—very professional. Thank you for so many great memories!P.S. You promised we’d be “outrageously spoiled” and we were! We hope to return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 20, 2007   Date of arrival: August 20, 2007

Everything was great. I can’t recall one thing that we needed that was not in the home! My wife and I needed this getaway and everything was perfect. We will return soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 19, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

The cottage was everything that was printed on the website. (You never know these days). My husband, son and I had a wonderful time. Would rent again in a heartbeat. I enjoyed most, sitting on the deck, and drinking my coffee in the AM.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 1, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

What a wonderful week! So much to see & do in this area, and then to come back to the cottage was so very relaxing and more! Don’t miss the boat tour on Lake Lure, music & dancing on the square Mon & Fri evening, Pisgah Forest, Sliding Rock and the endless food selections at the Fresh Market in Hendersonville. The hot tub was a great added touch, especially after climbing Chimney Rock. The people in the area are so friendly!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 26, 2007   Date of arrival: July 26, 2007

We came to NC to escape the Dallas heat and congestion. Although it rained and was cloudy during our stay—we didn’t expect the level of “JOY” we experienced! For two Type A personalities, the pace of your wonderful friendly and down-home town slowed us down to appreciate the quiet and peace this place offers. Be sure we will return to our new “home.” You truly spoiled us. I took many pictures of your home to duplicate in my home in Dallas. I may email you for the paint colors! This cottage is perfectly appointed. It was all good!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 22, 2007   Date of arrival: July 22, 2007

We are sad we have to leave. The house is beautiful, cozy, comfortable, the decoration is perfect! It was hard to get out of bed in the morning because it is so comfortable!The cottage is close to many things (Biltmore, the Parkway, shops & restaurants…) yet still close to nature. You can even hike in your own back yard. The NOC White water raft trip was awesome. We enjoyed our stay here very much! We wish we had more time here, so we can enjoy the house even more! Thank you for sharing the house with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 6, 2007   Date of arrival: July 6, 2007

What a wonderful cabin and a wonderfully relaxing get-away! You have done a fantastic job with the rehab of this cottage. Our souls, bodies & spirits have also been “rehabbed” by our stay here. Thanks for making it available.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 11, 2007   Date of arrival: June 11, 2007

June 4 – June 11, 2007The Story Book Cottage has been a wonderful retreat for 3 high school friends to take a break 30 years after meeting. We thoroughly enjoyed the beautifully decorated home and the quaint peaceful surroundings. What a blessing this has been.Karen Musser, Lafayette INThe Story Book was the best part of the Girls Road Trip 2007. For 30+ years we’ve shared so many memories and now this will join the fondest memories. The house and all the amenities were a perfect setting for our getaway. Thank you for opening your home to us.Sandy Cureas, Edwardsville INDitto what Karen and Sandy said. It’s been a good week—the home is decorated beautifully and truly felt like home! I love the paintings and all the special touches.Beck Cohen, Granite City IL

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 4, 2007   Date of arrival: June 4, 2007

I came in search of peace and tranquility...and I found it all here. What a wonderful place to relax the big city stress. I also came with my daughter who’s leaving to college in August. We wanted to spend some time just to ourselves. The Story Book Cottage made it the perfect place to stay. Just as beautiful, clean and pleasant as her other houses I’ve stayed in. Thanks again, Stephanie!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 30, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

The Storybook Cottage was a wonderful little getaway for us. Its location was perfect for setting out on daily adventures in western North Carolina. The evenings were relaxed and secluded from the rest of the world. The kitchen provided everything to make full meals. The outdoor table on the deck surrounded by the trees and wildlife was very relaxing and pleasant. The inside decorations, dotted with flowers and foliage, followed through with the storybook theme. All very lovely. We had a perfect stay. Thank you.

Jo and Tom
Missouri

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 13, 2007   Date of arrival: May 13, 2007

Our stay at your Story Book Cottage met all our expectations! I’ve enjoyed the kitchen and all of the state of the art cookware! My husband loves the comfortable furniture and the King bed gave us a great night’s sleep. We love this area and enjoyed the shops on Main Street as well as the hikes and waterfalls in Dupont Forest. God has blessed us during our stay and we pray His blessings on Robert and Stephanie as well as those who come to stay in the future!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 22, 2007   Date of arrival: April 22, 2007

From our first guest there to write a book during a 3 week stay: "Everything is designed to live within an environment. The Story Book Cottage has been the environment that allows a person to refocus and develop a winning game plan. Thanks again for the environment. In His Service. Dr. E.B. Herman"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review