reviews for: listing #33349 - Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario House rental

Niagara on the Lake - Canada Marrakech Mansion (circa 1870)
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (CAD) $400 - $700 /nt
    $1,300 - $3,400 /wk

sort by:

First annual family vacation

Review submitted: August 3, 2014   Date of arrival: July 30, 2014

Beautiful home with every amenity we could possible think of. The bedrooms had beautiful bedding. Towels were great too!

Lots of homey touches; pictures and books and wallhangings. The bedrooms had lovely furniture. Just a great place.

The home was in pristine condition and had a helpful binder of info on the kitchen table, which we utilized more than once.

Would recommend this home and the owner/operator to anyone. He was prompt to respond to any inquiries we had prior to the trip and everything was just as he said.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: This is our vacation home too so we decorate with things we enjoy. Many of the framed photos in the library are of my ancestors, my father on the camel in Egypt during WW2, my Grandfather and Great Grandfather in the photo with the safe. The books are mostly those my wife has read, the sailing and war history mine. My cleaning people are proud of the work they do and love ths houses as much as I do. Thank your for your vote of confidence, I hope to see you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family reunion

Review submitted: July 16, 2014   Date of arrival: July 10, 2014

Marrakech Mansion was all that was described and pictured, and more! The setting was quiet, but less than a five minute walk to the centre of town. The lovely historical home was charming, colourful and cozy, but roomy and equipped with all the amenities. It slept eight people easily, and the beds were really comfortable! The interior was spotlessly clean, with fresh linens and towels, and smallish, but very functional kitchen. The perennial gardens are a sanctuary, and there were so many comfortable spots, inside and out, to gather: the sitting rooms and dining room; front porch; back and side patios; and the lawns. The house has a central air system, as well as a large window unit on the landing of the second floor. We only used the air one of the three nights; it did not cool the bedrooms on the second floor as well as it did the rest of the house.

Don, the owner, was accommodating and helpful. He allowed us to drop our gear off early on the day we checked in. He let us know ahead of time that he would be coming to mow the lawn and put out the garbage the morning after our arrival. As soon as he heard that the toaster was out of order, he went out to replace it.

We did not explore the area too much, as we wanted to tuck in with family under one roof, but there are myriad activities in the area- kayaking, paddleboarding, biking and hiking, vineyard tours and wine-tasting, to name a few. A few of us visited the Falls early one morning, before the tour buses descended, and in the evenings, we walked down to the park on the river, right around the corner from the house. Some of us strolled the main street and window-shopped. There is a small grocery store in the centre of town, but for more selection, we went to St. Catharine's-about ten miles away. We found a fantastic bakery, Willlow, just outside town, and ordered one of the best cakes I've ever tasted! We had one dinner at Zee's, in downtown NOTL. It was fair, and the service was mediocre.

I would highly recommend the Marrakech Mansion for any group visiting the area, and hope to return there some day!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: You are right about the AC upstairs. The home was built in 1860 long before AC or insulation! There is a shortage of air returns upstairs that makes it difficult to cool. The best way to keep upstairs reasonably cool is to keep the AC on all of the time with drapes, closed and doors open. The close proximity to the lake negates the need for AC a lot of the time as you discovered. Open all of the screened windows and enjoy the cool evening breeze off of the lake. Thank you for your review and I hope to see you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Marrakech Mansion stay at Niagara on the Lake

Review submitted: June 9, 2014   Date of arrival: May 29, 2014

We brought our family here for a vacation as many of them had not been to Canada or seen the Falls. We had a great time and Marrakech is by far one of the best places to stay at NOTL. It is in the heart of town and close to all the stores PLUS just one block from the lake and all the paths!
I would recommend this place to anybody looking for a great historic home to stay in. Great yard and house layout!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Niagara on the lake covers a huge area. It goes all the way out to the new Outlet Mall on the QEW highway. If you want to visit Niagara on the Lake it is important to try and book a rental in the Historic core of the town. Both of my houses (I own Casablanca Cottage as well) are in the core of the old town. The Mansion was built in about 1860, Casablanca is much younger being built in about 1925. Staying in either house allows you to walk to the restaurants, the theatre, grocery store and most shops in just a few minutes. They are both mine and I am proud to own them. I try to keep them in the condition that we keep our own home. Clean, neat and orderly. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and your family enjoyed visiting Canada.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Marketing Retreats at Marrakech Mansian

Review submitted: March 26, 2014   Date of arrival: March 16, 2014

It is with great confidence, knowing my clients will have a wonderful time at the Marrakech Mansion every time I book this location in Niagara-On-The-Lake. Clean, Spacious and homey are three words I hear often, during their stay. We come together to work hard on our Marketing Plans, and enjoy a weekend celebration of wine tours (with Niagara Getaways)picked up at the door, and shopping and High Tea at the Prince of Wales all within walking distance. The owner Don has thought of everything and you will not be disappointed choosing this vacation house for your home away from home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Most people rent the house for a vacation however I do have a few customers who rent for a retreat or business meeting. Whatever your reason for coming to Niagara on the Lake Marrakech Mansion should fill the bill for you. It is 1 block from Queen street where the restaurants and shops can be found and 1/ block from Queens Royal park on the river. The house was build in the late 1800s when high ceilings and big windows were the thing to do. Both of these features make the Mansion an enjoyable place for your stay in Niagara on the lake.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Easy booking, fantastic location, beautiful house!

Review submitted: January 5, 2014   Date of arrival: October 25, 2013

We rented this house for all the groomsmen for our wedding weekend. From the first email inquiry, Don was very accessible, accommodating and quick to respond to all our questions. He even offered spa vouchers which came in handy right before the wedding. On check-in, everything was as described. It is a clean, bright and beautiful house with lots of charm. The connected living and dining room areas provided the perfect communal hangout spot for everyone. Located only a 2 minute walk from the main strip of Old Town NOTL on Queen Street, it was in a prime location. Also, since we were all driving in from all over, it was great that there were parking spots to fit up to 5 cars. The absolute best part though was that this house was dog friendly! We highly recommend this to anyone looking for a vacation rental in NOTL. Thanks Don for everything.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: My wife and I have rented Vacation homes in many parts of the world and we know how frustrating it is to ask for information and wait days for a response. When traveling I take my computer and always rent places with Wi-Fi so that I can respond quickly. "The Mansion" is decorated in a Moroccan style with bright colours, lanterns and some great Architectural salvage that I bought in Marrakech. The house is big, with all four bedrooms upstairs, the main floor is devoted to social space, the 11 ft. ceilings make it feel even bigger.
Location is always key when looking for a place to stay. Both of my houses are very close to Queen street, and the river making for a largely car free time in Niagara on the Lake. Thank you for your review and I hope to see you and your friends again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

our vacation at Marrakech Mansion

Review submitted: October 9, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

My family as well as our friends spent 2 wonderful nights at the Mansion.We found the mansion and the garden clean and beautiful with flowers, picnic benches,a Barbeque etc. The inside of the mansion was spacious and comfortable with many sofas,and reclining couches, the furniture and carpets were clean and the kitchen was amazing. Don had everything that we required in the immaculate and clean kitchen like crockery, utensils, towels etc. The bedrooms and bathrooms were very clean and spacious with garden views. The den was full of interesting books, board games, movies and a sofa bed to lie down and enjoy these. Cleanliness and comfort were part of Marrakech mansion. About 5 minutes walk from the mansion we found Lake Ontario with picnic spots and a tiny beach and the main shopping centre is also very near the mansion. We enjoyed our stay and regret that we spent only 2 nights. We would definitely like to go back to spend a longer period in the mansion with our friends and family. It was a happy and enjoyable break away from the city.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: A clean property is our number one priority. I employ a husband and wife team who are the only people who clean the house. Having the same cleaning team all of the time means everything goes back into the same location and the same cleaning routine is employed. The garden is my space, since I retired I spend one day a week in Niagara on the Lake maintaining the gardens at Casablanca Cottage and Marrakech Mansion. Casablanca, my three bedroom home does not take very long as it is a smaller property but The Mansion grounds will soak up as much time as I give it! The interior of the house is painted in the colours that we enjoy and equipped the way we want our vacation home equipped. I am happy that you enjoyed the house as much as we do.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A perfect family vacation

Review submitted: August 8, 2013   Date of arrival: July 25, 2013

Marrakech Mansion was a super choice for our family. We, 4 seniors, could walk to restaurants, Treadwells a new and delightful addition, to the park by the lake, to the fabulous theaters of the Shaw Festival, to shop for groceries and also for Canadian made goodies, both apparel and food, to take home. Our children and grandchildren could visit and run and play on the extensive, well maintained lawns and gardens. There was a barbecue and an outdoor table, especially good for children and a large dining room fitting 10 adults comfortably. We spent pleasurable time on the porch reading, watching the people and the horse driven carriages. My husband biked along the Niagara to the Bridge and back every couple of days, my sister and I walked enjoying the huge shade trees and lovely homes and gardens of the city. And then there are the wonderful vegetable and fruit stands. . The children biked too.

The house was extremely well maintained and comfortable, with high ceilings and lots of space. All the appliances worked and were clean and easy to use. Lots of sitting areas, a large enough kitchen for food prep and eating in.

We loved being at Marrakech and highly recommend the experience. Best thing? The plays of the Shaw Festival within walking distance and sitting on the porch to discuss them or read the programs afterwards. The house and its lication couldn't be better for a family vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you for your comments. The location really is a big part of an enjoyable holiday. Both of my houses (Casablanca cottage is mine as well) are located within a block of Queen street where all of the shops are located. Marrakech Mansion is only 1/2 block from Queens Royal Park at the mouth of the Niagara river and about the same to the golf course club house. The gardens were one of the deciding factors in buying Marrakech Mansion. It had good "bones" but needed a lot of work. Now that I am retired I spend more time in the two gardens and enjoy maintaining them making them as pretty as I can.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Marvelous Weekend

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 14, 2013

Our group of 9 ladies have stayed at many places in Niagara-on-the-Lake over the last 20 years and we voted this our favorite. This spacious house is clean, beautifully maintained and furnished and the décor adds to the warm and welcoming feeling of the house. We really enjoyed relaxing in the large private grounds surrounded by the lovely gardens. The "Mansion" is located in a quiet, peaceful area yet we were an easy walk to the shopping, theatres and the lake that we so much enjoy. Homeowner was very helpful. To sum up, this was an excellent weekend and we look forward to returning.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words. I think it it is important that when you visit Niagara on the Lake you stay in the old town. A place where you are in the heart of things, where you can walk to the store, pub and theatre and that's what you get with both Marrakech Mansion and Casablanca cottage. They are located within a block of Queen street and the lake. My goal has always been to keep my houses in manner of our own home and to decorate them in a style that we enjoy and hope guests do as well. My cleaning staff take pride in keeping the houses clean and orderly. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you and your friends again soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sue's Sweet Sixteen (+44) bd weekend without Sue

Review submitted: June 1, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

We rented the Mansion to celebrate a 60th bd and were to be a group of 10 ladies. When the bd girl had some problems following surgery, the 9 of us decided to go ahead. We had a great time and did many "cheers" to Sue throughout the weekend. We have been to NOTL many times before but the Mansion is definitely the nicest place we have stayed for many reasons. The gardens are AMAZING with several different sitting areas. The house is big and colourful and nicely decorated. The kitchen is more than adequately stocked. The house was clean with sufficient towels and linens. The location is the house is wonderful - close to the water and to the main street. We didn't drive anywhere all weekend as everything is within walking distance. The grocery store is at the end of the street. Some of us rented bikes and some scooters to tour out to some wineries and to ride the streets of NOTL and see some of the other incredible gardens.

I have now rented both of the owner's houses and highly recommend both of them.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you Jill for your comments. I like nothing better than to hear about friends getting together to reminisce and enjoy Niagara on the Lake. The Mansion is just right for a get-together like yours. The bedrooms are all upstairs leaving a huge main floor to enjoy, the 11 foot ceilings add to the spacious feel of the indoor areas. My wife and I love the outdoors so we made sure that when we renovate "The Mansion" that there was a sunny and shady spot available at any time of day. I hope that you and your friends return for a follow up and bring Sue this time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Girls weekend in NOTL

Review submitted: May 27, 2013   Date of arrival: May 16, 2013

Great hous for a group, plenty of indoor and outdoor gathering spaces! House was very comfortable and well appointed. Great location, you can walk to town for shopping and dining, location was good for early morning workouts too! We highly recommend and owner was easy to work with, he made our stay quite pleasant,

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you for your review. The location of the house is as you said perfect for walking, one block to Queen street, 1/2 block to the river. The property measures 230 by 110 feet so is large by most standards and huge by "old Town" Niagara on the Lake standards. There is lots of grass to work out on and lots of perennial flowers and shrubs to enjoy. The parking area has room for several cars so there is no worry about finding on street parking. Thanks again and I hope to see you and your friends in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Winter Break Niagara on the Lake

Review submitted: April 10, 2013   Date of arrival: March 17, 2013

Had a fantastic time staying at Niagara on the lake , we stayed in Marrakech Mansion a fantastic property within close proximity of the main street and the water. House had everything we required . Would highly recommend this property .

Broadband and Free calls was a bonus and very handy for a overseas visitor .
Thanks for your hospitality .

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you John for your comments. I am happy that you were able to enjoy your winter vacation in Niagara on the Lake. The free long distance was installed just for people like yourselves. Guests can make free calls to the USA, Britain, France, Canada and about 40 other countries.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Mansion In Every Sense of the Word

Review submitted: January 23, 2013   Date of arrival: January 11, 2013

This is the second year our family has celebrated Christmas-in-January at Marrakech Mansion. It is a wonderful place for a family gathering offering the ambiance of a bed-and-breakfast with a kitchen equipped well enough to meet the needs of the serious gourmet cooks in our group (plus a gas grill available all year for the b-b-q lovers among us). Owner is responsive and accommodating and location just a few blocks from both the river and downtown Niagara-on-the-Lake couldn't be more perfect. We hope to be back next year.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you very much. I am in the Vacation Rental business to give people a great place to stay and me too on occasion. This week was one of those occasions, I have been working on my two houses (Casablanca Cottage as well) this week. I have been painting and rearranging. New furniture and a flat screen TV for the "Lake-view Suite" at the Mansion, and one for the Casablanca too. Last night I removed wallpaper until 12:30 am, today I was painting. Tomorrow i will go home for a rest. Thank you again for your kind words and I do hope to see you again next January.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

DCB

Review submitted: December 11, 2012   Date of arrival: November 23, 2012

Slice of heaven! Everything you need is here! Need to get away? This is the perfect spot. Comfy, clean and big enough for the whole family. Walking distance to EVERYTHING! We rented bikes for the weekend. Nice way to see the local wineries! Patio is fabulous with grill and beautiful yard. Kitchen has everything you need. It's better than being at home! Innkeeper is fabulous, accomodating and has thought of everything! The house is rich with history, inviting and warm. The Marrakech is beautifully furnished and well taken care of, makes you feel like royalty! This is the only place we will ever stay when visiting Niagara on the Lake.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for choosing to return to Marrakech Mansion. I think this is the fourth year in a row that you have stayed in the mansion at least once. Thank you for your continuing vote of confidence.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Weekend at MarraKech Mansion at NOL

Review submitted: November 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 20, 2013

Staying at the Marrakech Mansion for three days for 6 women reunion was fantastic. We loved the house with each room so comfortable and painted in great vibrant colors. We felt so at home. The house has so many fun details with cosy couches, lovely lamps, and a kitchen with everything we needed. The gardens were glorious. The roses were stunning and smelled like real roses from our childhood. Each morning we sat outside to have breakfast and talk for hours over coffee. The same was done with a glass of wine later in the day. Don, the owner, came by and was just as kind as he could be. If we needed something, he was right there with the help or answer.
I would recommend Marrakech to anyone. The location was perfect, a two block walk to the stores and a half block to the water. A memorable weekend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just Perfect!

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: September 5, 2012

Absolutely wonderful! Our stay could not have been more comfortable or enjoyable. The owner maintains this lovely rental flawlessly. The location suited us perfectly.....walkable to all three theaters and many restaurants. We would recommend this property without hesitation and look forward to staying here again.

Owners response: Thank you for your very positive review. It is my goal to maintain my properties to the very highest standard. I stay in them as well and will always keep them up to a standard that I would expect when renting. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your vacation and am happy to hear you will consider staying in one of my houses again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reunion Weekend

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

We had a group of ladies to accommodate in Niagara on the Lake for a weekend reunion of university friends. The Marrakech Mansion was the perfect place for such an event. The sleeping arrangements worked out perfectly. All were comfortable and had a great place to sleep. With three bathrooms there was no waiting for the "loo"-very important when we were all trying to get ready for the theatre, dinner out etc. at the same time.
The house has such an amazing history and we enjoyed reading about how it came to be a vacation property. We felt the charm of the place as soon as we walked in the door. The common areas were roomy and well furnished. We spent lots of time visiting in the cozy living room. You can tell a lot of thought and care has gone into the establishment of this guest house.
All amenities were appreciated. The place was spotless and fresh. Our host was gracious and helpful - replying to e mails quickly and with necessary details. All listing information was accurate. I would highly recommend this vacation property. As a matter of fact, this is the second time I have stayed there. I look forward to returning in the future.
Nearby shopping, wineries, theatre and restaurants as well as historical sites were all appreciated.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful family home away from home

Review submitted: January 31, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

This is a wonderful place for a family or group of friends to spend a week or a weekend. The house is bright, cheerful and well maintained. It is tastefully decorated and comfortable to be in. The kitchen is amazingly well stocked for those wanting to cook either simple breakfasts or gourmet meals. Large dining room table allows space for everyone to be seated together at meal time. Couches and chairs provide comfy places to curl up with a good book or sit and listen to music or talk to friends. Parking is more than adequate and location is ideal. Grocery and liquor stores are both within walking distance as is "downtown" Niagara on the Lake. Yard was beautiful even under a layer of snow and ice. Owner is available by phone and very helpful and accommodating. I highly recommend Marrakech Mansion

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

?

Review submitted: August 27, 2011   Date of arrival: August 10, 2011

This house was almost perfect for the 9 friends from Canada and abroad to meet for a few days around a wedding at NOTL. The grounds were marvellous - beautifully designed and tended with pergolas for large group breakfasts and barbecue dinners, and tables and chairs in other areas of sun or shade as well. The interior kitchen, dining and living rooms were sufficiently spacious and well equipped to allow us all to live in harmony for 5 days. The bedrooms were all right but three had to share a bathroom. A superb feature was the quietness of the street combined with access to the lake at the end of the block and the buzz of beautiful Queen Street only 1 and 1/2 blocks away in the other direction. What a location!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charming house, great location, lots of room

Review submitted: July 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 26, 2011

This is the second year we stayed at Marrakech Mansion so we could attend all the Shaw Festival shows. We've been coming to Niagara-on-the-Lake and staying in rental cottages or houses for the last 13 years and Marrakech is the nicest one we've stayed in. We are a family of six adults (including a son in law) and we also hosted a nephew and his family of five (only four of whom stayed with us, with the other staying a block away at the Blue Lion with her grandmother).

The rooms are comfortable, with basic furnishings. The 'master bedroom' has an ensuite bathroom with a very small shower. The queen bed is close to the wall on one side and there is no night table or reading light on that side of the bed. There is one large hall bathroom and a powder room off the kitchen on the first floor.

The kitchen is large, with a round table seating 5 or 6 for casual eating, and there is a large table in the dining room seating 8. The kitchen is well furnished and there is a new propane grill outside. My 29 year old son enlisted his 8, 10 and 13 year old cousins to help prepare a feast for the 15 of us, baking bread and a strawberry, cherry and rhubarb crumble (with fresh rhubarb from the garden), preparing a seafood risotto, and spaghetti served with a pesto prepared by the kids' mother. I did the grilling (trout, steak, and sausage) and we set up outside on the delightful patio.

The location is ideal - a block from Queen Street, a couple of blocks from the golf course and Lake Ontario, easy walking to all three Shaw theaters - so everything is walking distance. We bicycle every morning and can go from the house to a very quiet street that takes us to the bike path that runs along the Niagara River. It's a beautiful ride.

My only qualm about this house is that the air conditioning is supplied by one very powerful window unit in the second floor hall window. When we stayed last year it was uniformly warmer - we were lucky this year that evening temperatures were in the 60's (Fahrenheit). There are fans in each bedroom and they can be used to blow the cool air into the bedrooms but this is not as comfortable (and a lot noisier) than central air. On very hot days, the first floor can get warm, and if its humid it gets uncomfortable.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I can now speak with authority after spending the hottest week in several years in Marrakech Mansion during July 2011. The temperature peaked on Thursday at 37C or 99 degrees Fahrenheit Monday to Friday saw heat over 32 C degrees every day. We kept the blinds closed, and the central AC on, the upstairs window unit off most of the time. The temperature on the main floor stayed at about 25 degrees Celsius. With the window unit on it cooled down upstairs. It felt like a refrigerator when you walked inside and a furnace when you walked out. Certainly not as cool as a modern home would be but this one was built in 1880 and has no insulation in the walls and single pane windows with screens for cooler days. I was happy with the AC it sure felt good to get inside, but you need to follow the rules. Windows closed, blinds down and AC on all the time!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best time ever!

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2010

My husband and I have vacationed in NOTL 10 times in 25 years. This year we celebrated our 60th birthday and stayed at Marrakech Mansion. It was our best trip ever--and mainly because of our stay at this lovely property. The interior and exterior Moroccan theme was carried thru beautifully. It was better than described, inside and out. The three separate outdoor venues were enjoyed by all. The location was perfect--near lake, town, theater, etc. Definitely recommend this for a vacation treat.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Truly lovely

Review submitted: August 15, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

We first came to the Mansion during the summer of 2009 and happily returned again in 2010. The grounds and the house are beautifully designed and maintained, providing an atmosphere of comfort, relaxation, and character. The neighborhood is close to the water, shopping, and theater. In short, everything is perfect, and Don is an excellent host. After decades of coming to NOTL and staying at various places around town, my family has finally found a home!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Marrakech Mansion

Review submitted: July 21, 2010   Date of arrival: July 14, 2010

Marrakech Mansion is fabulous. The owner, Don, is a superb host. He has thought of everything (yes, everything!), and he takes great care to make sure that you are well taken care of, but he does not hover. Besides that, he's a nice guy.

The house is wonderful. It's absolutely beautiful to the point of inspiring (I think I'm going to paint my study the color of the living room at MM), including the landscaping. It's gracious and elegant without being pretentious. We had a family group that included 6 adults, 1 college student, and 2 small children, and it worked for all of us, singly and jointly. We didn't worry about the kids breaking anything. The house is pretty much childproofed but you don't really notice that immediately. It's extremely well situated (1 block from the lake, 1 1/2 blocks from the main part of town including grocery store), but on a quiet street, with a big yard so that small children can run off some of their energy. It is, hands down, the best accommodations I've ever stayed in, and I've traveled a lot for both business and pleasure.

I'm already plotting a return trip. Thanks, Don!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Marrakech Mansion April 16 - 18, 2010

Review submitted: April 21, 2010   Date of arrival: April 16, 2010

This was not our first stay at the Mansion, but the first with our children and grandchild. The Mansion is a great place to stay and it allowed us to stay with our family in one spot. It is a grand place, clean with all amenities. Don George always makes sure we have everything we need and everything is in working order. The surrounding gardens and lawns allow all to enjoy the quiet of Niagara-on-the -Lake. It is centrally located with walking distances to theatre, shopping, golf and spas. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review