reviews for: listing #33375 - Marathon, Florida House rental

Carpe' Diem Heart of the Fl. Keys Specials
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  mm 50.5
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $975 - $1,675 /wk
    $3,500 - $4,500 /mth

sort by:

Missing the keys already

Review submitted: June 15, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

We are missing the keys after a wonderful week spent at Carpe' Diem.
Everything was great from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. We picked this place because it was most affordable for us but Connie and Rick did not miss a beat if we had any questions or concerns throughout the entire transaction from my very first email until the day we left.
There was plenty of parking for any size trailer at the lot 2 doors down, the hot tub had just been cleaned before our arrival and was ready for us as soon as we got there. We cooked several meals in the full kitchen and used the grill quite often.
the canal behind the house leads directly out into the ocean where the sombrero key lighthouse and reef is only a short boat ride where you can enjoy great diving or snorkeling. key west was only about an hour away where we had a great day trip, but it was nice to come home to the peaceful atmosphere in marathon. We will definitely be coming back in the future one week was not near enough

Recommended for: adventure seekers, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great deal

Review submitted: April 27, 2014   Date of arrival: March 22, 2014

my husband and two sons age 8 and 14 chose Marathon as our spring break destination. We were greeted by Connie who showed us around the house and gave us recommendations on where to eat and activities around the island. The house was spacious and comfortable. I was extremely pleased with the price we paid.
The kitchen was well stocked with pots, pans and everything needed for cooking. we enjoyed most of our meals outside over looking the canal .We also enjoyed the hot tub. location was great not far from grocery stores and shopping. Sombrero Beach very close by and not a bad drive to Key West.
we hope to come back soon.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: We have had a great season this year with lots of returning guests that
we really enjoy. It is so much fun to meet people from al around the world as we are always there to meet each and everyone of our guests with a wounderful Big Keys Welcome. Living here year around as a host we feel it is our reponsabilty to tell our guests where the best of everything is to make thier visit one to remember. We just don't rent you a house, we like to feel we help your family and friends make lasting memories. So until we meet again we'll keep the sun shining and the drinks cold as we hold your parties keys to the Keys in reserve. Thanks to one and all & see ya once again soon!
Keeper of the Keys, Connie and Captain Rick Owners/Agents

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Missing Carpe' Diem in the Great White North

Review submitted: January 27, 2013   Date of arrival: January 17, 2013

What a wonderful time we had in the Fabulous Forida Keys. In no small part as a result of our stay at Carpe' Diem. Great location. Private yet close to everything. Although we needed no assistance during our stay we always knew help would only be minutes away from our hosts,Capt'Rick and Connie.
Great deep water canal at the dock provided direct access to the Atlantic via Vaca's Cut. All shopping and dining and entertainment within 10 minutes. Perfect location for couples,families or friends
I'll be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Pilgram we are so glad you all enjoyed your stay with us in the Fabulous Fl. Keys and thank you for letting future guests know just what to expect when they visit us at Carpe'Diem. We would really like to give you all a great BIG thank you for the way you all took such wonderful care of our home during your visit and a gold star for the way you left it so nice upon your departure. Service for our guests has always been our first priority and as they like to say location, location, location. Everything you might need or want if not on hand is just minutes away. Keep eating well, boating safe and dancing to the music. We look forward to your next visit and until than we'll keep the sun out, the beer cold and the spa on!

Your keeper of the keys to the Keys,
Connie and Captain Rick @ Carpe' Diem Marathon, Fl. Keys

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Carpe Diem review

Review submitted: January 5, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

Spending Christmas in the Keys with good friends has to be one of the best ways to relax and enjoy the Christmas season. Connie and Rick had a lighted Christmas tree in the lanai and some outdoor decorations which was much appreciated. This is a spacious, well-appointed home with lots of towels and ample dishes, glasses and cutlery. This is a great location with lots to do but if you just want to relax at home the patio provides two sitting areas as well as the hot tub. We had to call Connie and Rick on Christmas Day about a hot tub concern and Rick was right there to address the issue. Now that is great service! My only suggestion to Connie and Rick to increase your renter's comfort would be to replace the queen mattress in the 2nd bedroom and give the unit a good dusting and vacuuming. Beware the "no seeums" which appeared at dusk and were quite bothersome. Bring bug repellant.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

You can't beat a bit of Carpe Diem!

Review submitted: December 28, 2012   Date of arrival: December 15, 2012

Arrived late evening to an open door and a bubbling hot-tub! The perfect place to hang...and great driving distance to all the main Keys attractions! Here's how you do it...rent a convertible for a week, start your day (after a great night's sleep in comfy beds) with a little breakfast on the dock looking for manatee's (sadly, none showed up on our visit!). Greet the giant iguana's who roam around and will scare you when they are on the roof in the bathroom...but hey...you are surrounded by semi-tropic paradise...deal with it!
Jump in the car (delighting in the fact you have just slapped on factor 30...and it's December!), top down (ideal for two...our third was in the back and reported it was a tad windy back there - especially on the bridges! At one stage she reported she could not feel her face...we yelled "suck it up, Dorothy" from the front...because if you are not top down in a convertible in the Key's in December, then you don't deserve to be in the Keys in December!
However, make visits to the Turtle Hospital, Key West and dander Duval (better when there is no cruise ship in port - check for that or you will share the experience with 4,000 other folk!). Eat at Sloppy Joes, there and the usual guide book distractions. In Marathon, hit the The Stuffed Pig for breakfast (bring cash - nearest Wells Fargo is Key West!), Porky's for the oldest "never gonna succumb to a hurricane" bar, and if you want to club it up with the locals until "the ugly lights" come up, hang at The Brass Monkey (we did not brave the latter - our English / American NASCAR lovin' mate was too scared...)
Hit happy hour at Sparky's Landing for best shrimp and wing and beer deal on the water and the Island Tiki Bar and Cabana Breezes for a view and a good happy hour menu...and have a designated driver. Try Key Lime Pie everywhere you go and rate it...we found the best (that we liked) at Island Grill, Islamorada, but Fish Tales in Marathon did a decent job too...
Soak up a bit of coral reef at John Pennekamp Coral Reef Park and see the mining history at Windley Key Fossil Reef (closed Tue and Wed) and see history across the street at Crane Point. Have a few hot tubs, blend a few drinks in the fully equipped drinking kitchen (seriously...the Captain and Connie have you hooked up here!- there's a bar called Herbies just a stroll down the street...our bar was better (but Herbies is good too - but a walk) and you have the perfect getaway! Best value in the Keys!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Hurricane or not....

Review submitted: November 27, 2012   Date of arrival: October 23, 2012

Despite Hurricane Sandy we had a wonderful stay in the Keys. The rental was exactly what we needed. Captain Rick was great in allowing us to stay from a Wed to a Wed and was very hospitable. He loaned us dock lines when we did not have enough and checked to make sure we were comfortable. We definitely enjoyed our stay, hurricane or not!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Place to stay!! A Home away from Home!!

Review submitted: October 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 17, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Carpe' Diem. Connie and Capt. Rick was there to welcome us and show us how everything operated and where to find what we needed for our stay. They home was adorable! I love the way they incorporated the island atmosphere into the decor. Everything was clean and ready for use. We felt so at home and had everything we needed. Towels, dishes, cookware, and a grill on the patio. It was so relaxing to sit out on the deck and have breakfast. We enjoyed the hot tub, it was a plus to unwind after a long day of fun. The beds were very comfortable, we slept great! The living room furniture was comfy and cozy. Many times when renting a vacation home you're not sure what you will get sight unseen. This place was perfect for us.

Everything was close by for shopping, sightseeing, fishing, lobstering and boating. There are many restaurants close by. There is a beautiful beach area just minutes away called Sombrero Beach, it is a public beach area and great for swimming and sunning. Just south of the airport, is boat dock area with lots of parking and you photograph some of the most amazing sunsets there. Everything is close enough to enjoy a little of all the keys has to offer. Maraton is centrally located to most desired key areas.

We highly recommend this great vacation home and hope you enjoy it as much as we did. Our only regret is that we only booked for 1 week. We would have loved to stay longer. Connie and Capt. Rick are very friendly and helpful with information you may need to know about regulations and laws and places to visit.

We will be returning and bringing friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great vacation!!

Review submitted: April 8, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

We had the wonderful opportunity to stay here on our vacation during the first week of March 2012. Although there were six of us ages 36-55 we all had the best time with plenty of room! From the moment we arrived we were made to feel right at home. Captain Rick and Connie are the best, the only time we heard from them was when we asked them to come join in our fun. Captain Rick was more than happy to help out with do's and don'ts. The house was very clean and the huge deck was very unexpected. All of the amenities in the house were very accessible. The hot tub was wonderful in the evening, while we would watch the sunset through the palms. We had nice breezes, sunshine, and the most comfortable place to relax. I was very surprised when I looked back and realized that most of our vacation was spent right at that house because it was just so comfortable and relaxing. We have been to the Keys in the past and this house was by far the nicest! For an added bonus it was also very reasonably priced. Being Centrally located in the Keys we were never bored because we were close to just about everything.

Very highly recommended. Thank you Rick & Connie!!!!

-Kathy & Nate

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Location

Review submitted: March 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

This house has everything you need for an adventure or relaxing getaway. The owners, Rick and Connie, are courteous and helpful. Because of its location in central Marathon, it is close to kayaking, beaches, snorkeling, good restaurants and rentals for bikes or boats. We visited on a research trip so were busy much of the time. This house was a perfect home base. The washer and dryer work well and that's a treat when you need a constant turnover of towels. If you're looking for a bargain in the Florida Keys, this is your rental property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

You can't beat this deal

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

This was my fourth year at Carpe' Diem and I love it. Connie and Rick did a great job with the back deck and every year they seem to improve on something in the house. I've already made my reservations for next year and I'm counting the days.I would centainly recommend this property to anyone looking to spend time in Marathon, the bed were comfortable, the house was clean and it is centrally located and no stairs to climb. I love having my coffee in the morning and watching the Tarpon roll in the canal. Connie and Rick thank you again for another great week.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

not my favorite rental

Review submitted: February 16, 2012   Date of arrival: January 21, 2012

We spent 2 weeks at Carpe Diem. My first impression was cluttered. Yes it is a great deal, but it was dusty. We were told not to use the decorative towels, they were for the guests. There are knick knacks everywhere. I don't think they ever dust them. We saw 2 roaches, one dead and one dying. Yep there is a hot tub, but it didn't get hot. There are few windows. The third bedroom was dark and musty smelling. Mom stayed in the second bedroom, it was also musty smelling. She said the bed was very old. Mom had to clean the bathtub before she could crawl in for a shower. There was so much clutter that you couldn't find the outlets. I did appreciate the new disc player, I could hook up my IPOD. The pots and pans are old and there were no paring knives, just big carving style knives. IF you are concerned about teflon issues, just plan on eating out a lot. There was a wooden board under both the love seat and the couch seats to hold you up. There are few bright task lights. Would I recommend it to someone else? Nope, I would suggest they pay just a little more, pay the cleaning fee, and get a better house. Still there are several good eating spots near here. Not to far from either Key West or Key Largo.

Helpful votes: 4 / 12

 

I didn't want to leave!

Review submitted: October 13, 2011   Date of arrival: August 15, 2011

This was an amazing house. The inside was as beautiful as the outside. Great decorations all over. Good location. The owners were both friendly and very helpful with all of our annoying tourist question. As great as the Keys are this house was one of the best things about my vacation (I was on leave from Afghanistan so that says a lot). I wanted to but the house and never leave. Words can't describe how magical the house felt. Sitting out back and enjoying the hot tub was the perfect end to a day fishing. Thanks for your hospitality and all the help you gave us with directions and stuff.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

I didn't want to leave!

Review submitted: October 13, 2011   Date of arrival: August 15, 2011

This was an amazing house. The inside was as beautiful as the outside. Great decorations all over. Good location. The owners were both friendly and very helpful with all of our annoying tourist question. As great as the Keys are this house was one of the best things about my vacation (I was on leave from Afghanistan so that says a lot). I wanted to but the house and never leave. Words can't describe how magical the house felt. Sitting out back and enjoying the hot tub was the perfect end to a day fishing. Thanks for your hospitality and all the help you gave us with directions and stuff.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

I didn't want to leave!

Review submitted: October 13, 2011   Date of arrival: August 15, 2011

This was an amazing house. The inside was as beautiful as the outside. Great decorations all over. Good location. The owners were both friendly and very helpful with all of our annoying tourist question. As great as the Keys are this house was one of the best things about my vacation (I was on leave from Afghanistan so that says a lot). I wanted to but the house and never leave. Words can't describe how magical the house felt. Sitting out back and enjoying the hot tub was the perfect end to a day fishing. Thanks for your hospitality and all the help you gave us with directions and stuff.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

A wonderful time for our entire family

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

Previous reviewers have it correct - this is a great place to stay, and Connie and Capt. Rick (as well as the furry sons) were just wonderful and perfectly accomodating. They even encouraged us to bring our dog and it worked out great. Everything you could possibly think of was provided and we saved a ton of money by not having to eat out all the time. Connie and Rick are great resources as well and really did know of the best places for shopping, eating, touring, etc. The decor was cute and eclectic and there was always something new to discover. You can dock a boat along the back seawall which was a neat feature. Things were SO QUIET in the neighborhood, which was a wonderful thing. If you are expecting 5-star amenities, views, and decor you will be disappointed - but then again, you'd have to pay well over $500 a night to get that in the Keys. If you want a quiet, comfortable, roomy home with wonderful hosts, this is it - and the price just can't be beat. Keep up the good work, Connie and Rick - we'll definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Island Home Away from Home

Review submitted: April 14, 2011   Date of arrival: April 3, 2011

Our visit came during our 30th wedding anniversary, and it couldn't have been a more enjoyable time. Our son and daughter-in-law spent part of the time with us, and enjoyed themselves,thoroughly. Our dog was a last minute guest, who was completely welcomed by Connie and Captain Ric. Everything we needed to be comfortable was there, and any other items we thought of were available at the nearby shops and markets. The "eclectic" decor was a real hoot, and we soaked in the "island atmosphere" the owners took great pains to create. Marathon is located perfectly to explore the other keys, and is beautiful, to say the least. If you come, you can stay as busy as you want, or just chill out, and enjoy the peace and serenity. The owners are fine, thoughtful folks, who are much into true Florida hospitality. I'm certain we'll be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Time

Review submitted: February 23, 2011   Date of arrival: February 12, 2011

Just got home to another snowstorm and God how I wish I was back in Marathon lying in the lounge chair in the sun! Six of us stayed for a week and we all had a great time. The house was in the perfect location in regards to all the activities in the area -Sombrero Beach, the Turtle Hospital, The Keys Fishery, The Marathon Lady Party Boat, the dog park, Publix, Crane Point, and Tildens dive shop are all a few minutes away in either direction. We did not see much of Connie and Rick, the house is a duplex but very private, but the two times I called they were right there to answer questions. All the small extra items I always have to purchase, like dish soap and paper towels were already in the house. The kids did not want to leave and even the dog had a swell time. The canal is right off the back porch, making us a little uncomfortable with a 2 and 4 year old but there is a gate to keep them away and when they were on the patio we made them wear life jackets as a precaution. I can't say what was better the sun, the key deer, the palm trees, the snorkeling, the trip to key west, the beach, the helicoptor ride, the fishing, the food, the hot tub, or just not having to wear socks and shoes! I recommend a day trip down to Key West- stop in Big Pine key along the way and see the key Deer (you really can pet them). Mallory square has really good live street performers from magicians to fire eaters. A drive up to Robbies Marina in Islemorada for party boat fishing-only $38 and caught lots of fish and right when you get off the boat the outside patio restaurant will cook your catch for $12.00! A dive or snorkeling trip at Tildens at Somberero lighthouse is a great adventure. The tiki hut at Keys Fisheries at sunset, no one under 21 -$1.25 crab claws, 3.00 shrimp and tuna appetizers, dozen clams or oysters for $6 and a free shot if your there at sunset. We left there stuffed. Also took a 20 min. helicopter ride over the 7 mile bridge, pricey but well worth the $50. Connie has coupon books in the house for almost all the activities - we saved about $100 for the dolphin research center, party boat fishing, and other stuff with these coupons so take advantage of them. Can't wait till the day I can be back in the hot tub looking up at the stars with a cold drink in hand. Thanks for everything!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We always enjoy both new guests and our old returning guests. When selecting our home we wanted it to be close to everything but still atucked away so you get that wonderful relaxing safe, quiet island feeling. Our location is perfectly located for our guest to do just that. We also are owners that are there to make your island experience everything you wished for when making your reservations with us. We truely do what each and every member of your group to seize the day at Carpe' Diem Vacation Hide Away and we are there to assists you with what ever you may need and we ask our guests when they check in to call us if there is ever any problems with anything at our home and we will be right over to do our best to fix it or assist them with finding who can help them with them with that boat that just doesn't want to start or where to get that rod respoiled or repaired or who can fill that dive tank and repair that regulator as we have lived down here for 30 years and that is the differance in being a good host for our guests, when you stay with us we are the locals. We want you to feel like you know the island people and who will assist you without any problems and as economically fast as possible to get you back on track to fun and relaxzation. With the economy the way it is these days we try to offer all the specials our local business owners have to offer our visitors and we make every effort to have their offers available to guests on arrival but we also ask that if you find something we have missed please do let us know so we can pass it on to our next guests to enjoy. We hope to be able to offer special rates throughout the year so as many people as possible can come down and enjoy our home in the Fabulou Fl. Keys. I would like to thank one and all that have come to visit and we truley look forward to your return! As always your keys to the Fl. Keys await you at Carpe' Diem!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great location and authentic island getaway

Review submitted: January 18, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

We had a great time during our one-week island getaway in the keys. The house is in a great location and close to shopping, dining and local attractions such as the beach, state park, 7-mile bridge, turtle hospital and crane natural museum. We took day trips to Key West and other major keys. We went for snorkling by the light tower. My father (74-year old) enjoyed the fishing trip on Lady Marathon party boat and caught over 10 fishes that basically fed us the entire stay. My 9-year old daughter loved the kayak at Curry Hommonk state park. The view was just beautiful and breathtaking. The house itself was not that stunning at 1st sight looking from outside comparing with other vacational rentals we used to stay such as the ones at Orlando area. But once we settled in and we found it had everything we needed to make our life comfortable and feel at home in an authentic island style that you won't get from staying in a star-rated resort. The extensive and rusty island decor was very interesting to us who came from the New York area. Connie and Rick were very warm and helpful to show us things and give us suggestions. We had the best sleep there as it was very quiet at night. We enjoyed our lunch at the patio overlooking the canal. Although we filled our days with activities and sightseeings, we felt very much drawn into the laid-back atmosphere that you could only experience at the keys. No wonder even after we came back to the Northeast, we often talk and laugh about our trip at keys and sometimes we watch the videos we taped there. We miss our stay very much and wish to go back to the keys, the true paradise, again!

Owners response: Our home is not one of those large rambling homes but what is call an original conch house located on the water and as such we really consider our front yard with the drive as our back yard. The show side is on the water side or what is considered your back yard up north as that is where everything happens,out on the patio and dock area. First time guest are always shocked and pleased when they come in the front door as it is a surprise that I never get tired of watching. I just love the remakes and joy they have as they look around at the open floor plan,tropical decor,wonderful baths and new kitchen with every thing you could ever need. After they have been here a day ot two they always tell us about the coolness they feel when in the home during the day and the warmth and cozy feeling it admits in the evenings. Our home is ground level and that was one of the reason I loved it because after a full day of activity you just have a couple of more steps to walk up and you can relax and enjoy a wonderful evening on the dock or in the spa. Once you settle into island time you find the home has everthing you need right at hand. All our wonderful neighbors are always so nice to our guests and the neighborhood is a quiet,restful retreat, after a day of exploring the island chain. So if you are looking for that 5 star resort or that rambling house where you climb 150 steps to get in we are not the place to stay but if you are looking for that old time enjoyable, relaxing conch home that waits quietly among the swaying palm trees for your return day arter day and year after year calling you back to the wonderful time you had in the islands, you have found it. We plan to enjoy your reactions for many years to come. We also want to thank one and all for your visits, be it your first year our your fifth, we thank you all and await your return. As always your keys to the Fabulous Fl. Keys await you and until we meet again, Carpe' Diem!
Connie & Captain Rick

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review