reviews for: listing #33432 - Emerald Isle, North Carolina House rental

One in a Million-6000 sq ft.waterfront home w/ private pool
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  The Point
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $4,500 - $7,500 /wk

sort by:

Amazing Views

Review submitted: August 15, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2013

We spent a week with my wife's family in July. 8 adults and 6 kids ranging in age from 11 to 17. We coud not have asked for more. I had high expectations of this house and from the minute we arrived, our expectations were exceeded! The dock and kayaks were in constant use. Fishing, crabbing, jumping off the dock to swim in the bay. The kids were in constant motion. The beach was a short walk away, huge, and practically deserted. The kitchen was used extensively (a second dishwasher would have been nice). The bedrooms were perfect for the extended family (no sharing between families). The pool was also a welcome addition, great to cool off after a hot day. My Father-in-Law discovered clams on the little island across the bay and we had fresh steamed clams for lunch. Oh, and the swing on the deck was enjoyable. My Mother-in-Law and I competed for the spot daily to read and admire the views of the cean, bay, and beyond. We had several family vacations in the Outer Banks (Duck, Corolla, Pine Island, etc) in earlier years, and decided to try Emerald Island this time. We were extremely happy with our decision. We ave already started talking about a return to "One in a Million" in 2015!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: This is the reason I do what I do with this home. It has, and always will be, my pleasure in helping renters such as you experience why this home has been named, "1 in a Million".

Thank you for taking the time to write this review:)
God bless you always and do come back:)

Carolyn

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect family getaway

Review submitted: June 16, 2013   Date of arrival: June 9, 2013

This is our families second time at this beautiful home. the first time my mom booked the house for after my wedding and we took a family vacation for my honeymoon. unfortunately our time was cut short from a hurricane and evacuation. every moment of my honeymoon was perfect till it was time to go. after a year and a half we gave it a second try because of how much we loved this house. this time with a new addition to the family, my 15 month old loved the house the dock the hot tub and the pool never a dull moment. Several discussions were made this week how no other house could be as perfect as this one for our family there were 10 of us all together, with plenty of room for more. we did a lot of fishing. we caught red drum and after dark a lot of sharks small sharks but definitely a good fight reeling them in. There were so many other fish like stingrays and a few things we were not so sure of. We took the kayaks out pretty much daily it is a beautiful way to see the sound in a whole new way. The ocean is a close walk and not very busy in this area during the week. On Saturday the sound was full of boats but with your own dock they weren't a bother. There was a storm one night which was beautiful to watch from the decks and the huge upstairs window once it started raining even when stuck in the rain this house is still perfect. There are so many more things that I could add I don't want it to be over it went too quick if u have a large and are looking for the perfect house I highly recommend this one. There is something for everyone. Thank you so much for such a memorable week! ~ Julie

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind review.
We take pride in our house and providing our guests (friends) with memorable experiences. We strive to make changes every year so that your experience improves every year. We hope to se you again next year and thanks again for staying with us.

Marty

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Time

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2011

Every year we plan a vacation for our entire family. I guess you can say a reunion. The key for us this year was to get a place that fit our budget and on the beach with a pool. When I saw this house I knew that it would be perfect fit. It had more then we could imagine. All of my kids who are under 9 were able to go kayaking for the 1st time, swim and go fishing,crabbing and got to play ping pong with Grandpa and cousins. The inlet provided us with many different things to do and the walk to the beach was short and nice. The fire pit was great hit with the kids! My wife got to relax and read on the porch swing, while over looking the sunset, and the ocean. I could go on and on. It was a perfect vacation for our family and many thanks to the owners of the house. We will have a life time of memories from this trip. I highly recommend this house. David

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you David for your kind words. We do try very hard to develop a relationship with our renters and show them we want their stay to be one that they will enjoy and have fond memories for years to come. Please stay with us again! It's renters like you that make what we do such a joy! Carolyn

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The name fits! Truly "One in a million"!

Review submitted: May 26, 2011   Date of arrival: June 13, 2010

My entire family spent an incredible week here last year! It was the best vacation I can remember in a long time! The owners were incredibly easy to work with and the house was perfect (and comfortable) to accomodate all of our 16 person crowd. The house is super spacious and very clean. The kids had a great time fishing off the dock and swimming in the pool. We brought our boat and kayaks and had great fun on them as well. The lift was also very helpful for loading and unloading the boat. The beach is just a short walk/golf cart ride away and the beach was amazing! Soft white sand and LOTS of it. I would come back every year if we could get together that often. We will most certainly be back! There is much to do on the island but you can spend a whole week not leaving the house and have plenty to do!! By the way, the sunsets are the best I've ever seen from the back porch swing! It doesn't get much better.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for taking time to write this! We really care about making sure guests are completely happy with their vacation here. Please stay with us again and see our updates!

Carolyn Waff

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: November 26, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

This is our 2nd year at your home we love the location it is great for fishing, walking on the beach and watching the sunset on the swing. We enjoyed the use of the kayaks as well. It is enough room to go and hide when you need to. Thanks again for a great time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 6, 2010   Date of arrival: June 27, 2010

We had a great time at this location. The house was beautiful, great accomadations, easy access to beach. We loved using the kayaks and just lazing around at the pool. My favorite place was the swing on the deck. It was very peaceful and the view was incredible. Everything was perfect. Hopefully we can stay again next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your feedback on your stay at this home in June of 2010. Please feel free to contact me as soon as possible if you would like to reserve a week in 2011. I will be happy to work with you.

Carolyn

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

The Name Fits!!!!!

Review submitted: June 30, 2010   Date of arrival: June 6, 2010

Thank you for sharing your home with us! Our family (there are 14 of us!) have been coming to Emerald Isle every summer since 2001 and I must say that this is the most beautiful house that we have ever stayed in!!!! There was something for everyone and lots of room to rome! The whole family enjoyed the awesome pool and the kids really enjoyed jumping off the dock and going over to the island!! The hot tub was a big hit too! There was so much to do that there was no need to leave! We can't wait to come back again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you so very much for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your most recent vacation with us. We are currently making even more updates to our home and would love to have you join us again in 2011. Please contact us to book your next trip as 2011 is booking now!

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Another beatiful week in paradise !

Review submitted: June 16, 2010   Date of arrival: May 30, 2010

This was our second time staying in this beautiful home. The first time was with a rental agency, this time renting from the actual owner. The home is absolutely beautiful with great views and sits right on the water with its own personal dock! Our family had a blast swimming in the pool and fishing from the dock. Also you have a great view of the beach and is only about a two minute walk from the house. We will definitely come here again and would recommend this home to anyone with a large group or family to come enjoy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! So happy you came back and stayed with us! Look forward to having you be our guest again and again! It is guests like you that make everything worthwhile!
Doreen

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review