reviews for: listing #33466 - South Padre Island, Texas Condo rental

4-Plex -1 Block to Beach - Each Condo Sleeps 4 to 6
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Hibiscus
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $50 - $300 /nt
    $345 - $1,800 /wk

sort by:

Last minute trip was a success!

Review submitted: September 19, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

We decided to take a last minute end of summer trip down to South Padre. Normally we stay in a 2 bedroom condo down the road but because it was just us, we found Hibiscus #1 on vrbo.com and booked it thru Rent on Padre. My husband, myself and my toddler fit perfectly into this condo. The parking was perfect, the location was exactly where we like to be on the island, but the best part was the backyard. Most fourplexes have tiny lap pools, this pool was AWESOME. It was shallow, it had a walking step on 2 sides, was perfectly redone! The chairs and hut style gazebo were super cute! This was the perfect backyard! The condo was clean, and well kept. It was obviously an older building but didnt bother us because it was nicely maintained. I would recommend this unit to small families. The bunks were not comfortable to grown upst because they used camping/cabin style mattresses, not real bed mattresses but I am sure kids wouldnt mind. There was not a lot of kitchenware: pans, barbecue tools, blender, so bring those along. The daily rate was great but that cleaning fee added almost another $100, ugh! But at least the condo was cleaned well for us so we know it will be cleaned up nicely for the next renter.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Nice, clean and affordable

Review submitted: August 24, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

We rented one of the upstairs condos and it was a great stay. We enjoyed EVERYTHING about it. The location was prime, it was clean, walking distance to the beach. It was nice having 24 hour access to the pool just stepped out the back door. We will for sure be renting this unit again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you very much for staying with us!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Excellent location

Review submitted: September 23, 2010   Date of arrival: June 10, 2010

I rented this 2 bedroom condo because our normal condo that we usually rent during this time was already booked. We were not dissapointed. Condo had a great balcony and it was very clean and spacious for 4 people, although, I could see 6 staying here without a problem. The check-in and check-out process was a breeze as well. The condo is about a half block from a beach entrance but the entrance is a lengthy walk to the shore, which was fine as well. There are still two other beach entrances about a block away. The best part of this place was the rooftop area where we were able to go and take pictures and had a perfect view of the fireworks on Friday and Saturday night. One last thing about the location, it is a short walk from all the entertainment area of Louie's Back Yard, D' Pizza Joint, Amberjack's and Wahoo Saloon, just to name a few. I will definitely rent again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for renting with us! We are glad you had a great time! Come back and see us again soon!

Helpful votes: 8 / 10

 

Good value for the money

Review submitted: April 21, 2010   Date of arrival: April 8, 2010

When we arrived, the lock on the front door wouldn't accept our entry code, but the very nice manager quickly drove over to fix the problem. The condo is roomy for its size and close to the beach as well as to a souvenir shop and convenience store (good for those that forget batteries, small ice chests, towels, etc...)
If you or your guests can’t wash dishes (no dish washer), suffer from a lack of agility or from back problems (the bunk beds don’t have spring mattresses and are difficult to get in & out of), or require a large, HD tv with a high end stereo, you should look somewhere else. This is a low-key kind of place for those more interested in playing on the beach and enjoying the outdoors. It doesn’t come with a great view, plush towels, or upscale interior design though it was clean and the kitchen was well stocked with glassware, plates, & utensils.
The only minor problems were these: Despite a long search, I could never find a ladder for the bunk beds so I had to resort to using a chair. Something more stable like a collapsible step-ladder would've been much better especially since I sleep in socks (slippery) and get up a lot during the night. Also, some of the towels in my bathroom had that "moldy-because-they-were-folded-before-they-were-completely-dry" smell which resulted in a second short shower (to wash off the smell) and a small selection for drying off. Luckily I brought an extra towel so I was able to manage. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay and would probably return to this property again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Clean and Comfortable

Review submitted: August 11, 2009   Date of arrival: July 31, 2009

We made a last minute decision to stay at South Padre Island. There were 4 of us, senior citizens. We found this condo on line and spoke with the managers who were very friendly and helpful. We arrived early and found a very friendly cleaning lady getting the condo ready. When we were able to go in we found a very neat, comfortable and very clean condo. We were able to take a short walk to the beach, which was convenient. We recommend this condo if you need a place to clean up and sleep.
Vee

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

family friendly S. Padre

Review submitted: August 19, 2008   Date of arrival: August 11, 2008

I highly recommend this condo for families who want an affordable, clean & safe place to stay that is close to the beach. The 2 bathrooms and the large kitchen were super convenient and the pool was a real plus. The owner and manager are very nice and easy to work with. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review