reviews for: listing #33484 - Manhattan, New York Townhome rental

$199 SPECIAL Large Clean Townhouse- Garden Apartment
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Townhome
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Upper West Side
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $199 - $400 /nt
    $1,500 - $1,750 /wk

sort by:

Great Apartment, Perfect Location

Review submitted: October 7, 2013   Date of arrival: September 16, 2013

This apartment was very clean and functional. It had everything we needed for our stay. The yard was a bonus as a place to relax at the end of the day. The size was a comfortable fit for four adults.
The location is very convenient being handy to transport, restaurants and convenience stores. It made our stay in NYC trouble free and enjoyable.
Thanks Michele.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutely Brilliant!

Review submitted: September 17, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

Look no further....this is a perfect place to stay while visiting New York City!! Safe, comfortable, spacious, clean and quiet, this beautiful modern apartment is located three blocks from the north-west side of Central Park, on the subway line. Enjoy easy access (by subway or bus) to all the major attractions, including a variety of local shops and restaurants. With exceptional hospitality, owner Michele makes you feel right at home in the Big Apple while providing helpful tips and information you may require during your stay.
Having green space in New York City is rare, so there's nothing like enjoying a glass of wine in the back garden after a day of walking along the busy streets of the city. The neighbourhood is full of character and charm with a beautiful park only steps away from the apartment.
A perfect getaway for a family, a girls weekend, a business trip or an excuse to experience the exciting energy of the city.
Thank you Michele for making our stay a magical experience and wonderful memory!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

manhattan rental 33484

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 27, 2013

The apartment was spotlessly cleaned and all ammenities were provided. The location was fantastic. Two blocks from the subway. The owner Michelle made our journey to New York City exceptional with all of her information and kindness. She provided us with maps, restaurant suggestions, shopping areas etc. I would reccommend this apartment to anyone and will do it...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great value!

Review submitted: April 2, 2013   Date of arrival: March 27, 2013

The garden apartment was not available, so Michele told us about her B&B style room. It includes a private bath and use of the kitchen. Her home is immaculate as was our room. The room (as well as the rest of the home) was newly remodeled in a very tasteful manner. Her home is one block from the subway which was very easy to use for those of us who never used the subway system. Michele and Yves were very helpful. On arrival, Yves carried our suitcases to our room and Michele helped us get acclimated. I would definitely recommend this accommodation to friends and family. If you don't need to be downtown, this is the place to stay. I would never stay in a hotel again after experiencing this lovely home.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great, family friendly stay

Review submitted: April 1, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Michele was great promptly answering any questions we had. The area is VERY safe. We would walk home after midnight ( with 3 school aged children) and never felt threatened or scared. The house is very spacious and clean with everything that you might need readily available. I would absolutely recommend this place and if I am ever in NY again I won't hesitate to try to book it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

All that you need for a comfortable stay

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: December 16, 2012

Geoff B (Australia)
We are a family of 2 adults and 2 teenage boys who stayed in this apartment in mid December 2012.
The apartment was as described and had all of the facilities and items we required. Has a nice fresh feel and plenty of light. The kitchen was of good size and not lacking in utensils and equipment. The adults slept in a king size futon style bed in a large rear bedroom which gave plenty of room to spread out luggage etc. The teenagers slept on two sofa beds in the living area which folded down to a futon style arrangement and they were reasonably comfortable. It was also relatively cold for us during our stay and we found that the heating system worked very well and we were comfortable at all times.
The location is at the top of Central Park and we found it a very quiet area to return to each day after the rush of Downtown. We often went to the nearby supermarkets and eateries at night and felt safe at all times. In fact, we found the local folks to be very friendly and happy to help if asked. There are some places to eat nearby and some a bit further up in lower Harlem with the majority approx a 10 min walk over on Broadway.
The subway is close by and we used it extensively to travel Downtown. Takes approx 15 mins to get to Times Square.
One thing to note is that this apartment is what is called "garden level" which means that the entrance is below street level at the bottom of the building and the owners reside on the floors above. This wasn't an issue for us but just something to be aware of, if like us, you come from a country where this is not seen or you would prefer windows that look down on the sidewalk..
The owner, Michele, was also very prompt in replying to our emails and was waiting for us on arrival to show us around the apartment and explain the workings. She was also very willing to help at any time during our stay.
So to sum up, this apartment was very clean, comfortable, quiet and reasonable value for four people for that time of the year. Would recommend if you are happy to stay out of or nearby the Downtown area and don't mind some subway travel each day to get to the usual tourist places.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Enjoyed our stayed - great value for money

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

We were a family of 3 women who stayed in this apartment for a week and really loved it. Michelle, our landlord, was lovely and responded to all of our needs and questions promptly and effectively. A real pleasure to deal with.
The apartment itself is spacious, clean, and very well equipped with nearly everything you could possibly need. Although we were initially worried about the location being near Harlem and far away from midtown, we were pleasantly surprised at how safe the neighborhood is and because there's a subway station only 2 short blocks away, getting to midtown or anywhere else in NYC was very easy. There were also lots of little cafes, restaurants and convenience stores nearby. Some minor improvements would be to have sharp knives for cooking and better beds. The futon like beds and sofa beds got a bit uncomfortable after a few days, particularly if you're used to softer mattresses. Overall though, highly recommend this apartment as it's great value for money.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay. We always appreciate our guests suggestions, as we strive to provide the ultimate apartment rental experience. Your suggestions are taken very seriously and we have added a set of sharp knives to our "now complete" kitchen.

We also appreciate letting potential guests know how safe,and well situated the apartment is with easy transportation to midtown - thank you!

We understand that everyone's mattress preference varies from soft to firm. The livingroom futons are the highest quality and thickest mattresses that we could find. They have been chosen with great care to try and accomodate a majority of people. Most of our guests have commented about how comfortable they are. However, we do sincerely apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced, and we're so glad that you had a wonderful time anyway!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very comfortable and clean apartment

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

The three of us stayed in this apartment for a week and really enjoyed our experience. Michelle, our landlord, was lovely and responded to all of our needs and questions promptly and effectively. A real pleasure to deal with.

The apartment itself is spacious, clean, and very well equipped with nearly everything you could possibly need. Although we were initially worried about the location being near Harlem and far away from midtown, we were pleasantly surprised at how safe the neighborhood is and because there's a subway station only 2 short blocks away, getting to midtown or anywhere else in NYC was very easy. There were also lots of little cafes, restaurants and convenience stores nearby.

Some minor improvements would be to have sharp knives for cooking and better beds. The futon like beds and sofa beds got a bit uncomfortable after a few days, particularly if you're used to softer mattresses.

Overall though, high recommend this apartment as it's great value for money.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: October 20, 2012   Date of arrival: September 3, 2012

Loved the apt, and Michele was so helpful with everything :) She even helped us order pizza when we arrived. Close to a lot of places to eat and to Starbucks and Dunkin for those who like that :) Close to the subway to. Thumbs up!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

ohio

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 13, 2012

I was one of seven women renting this condo,words can't describe how fabulous it is Michele has the property fully stocked for move in condition. You only have to bring your family and friends without worry pictures do not do this property justice. Every thing is within walking distance you can enjoy a quite night out in her lovely garden or on Manhattan's front steps and feel safe. We couldn't of asked for more on a 5 day stay with 7 females. Michele is a wonderful women and ready to assist you with anything you need. God bless her and her family would love to return to her condo at a later date. Thanks Michele for making our experience wonderful Bless you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Excellent Apartment

Review submitted: November 5, 2011   Date of arrival: November 1, 2011

I was somewhat nervous about what I'd encounter at my first rental through Vacation Rentals and my first visit to New York City. However, as soon as we walked into the apartment, all my concerns vanished. The apartment was extremely clean and well equipped. The owner, Michele, could not have been more helpful or accommodating. The apartment is in a very safe and convenient location and was perfect for 2 retired couples visiting New York City for the first time. We were a short walk from 3 subway lines, which we used extensively during our visit. There are shops and restaurants nearby, and Central Park is 3 blocks away. We had a wonderful time and, when we return, we will only book this apartment. Many thanks, Michele.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

New York, New York!!!

Review submitted: October 23, 2011   Date of arrival: October 12, 2011

We spent a wonderful week in New York with this apartment as our home
base. From here, we could go anywhere in Manhattan using a one-week,
unlimited-ride Metro pass on the subway system that we accessed just 3
blocks away. One day we used that pass to go all the way to Staten
Island on the ferry! Michelle and her husband were very helpful in
explaining the transit system and layout of New York as well as
offering other useful information. During this vacation, we walked a
lot, too. Central Park was a short 3 blocks away, and Riverside Park,
which runs along the Hudson side of Manhattan island, was close, too.
The soaker bath tub in this unit was much appreciated after some of
these walks! Lots of lovely little restaurants, many offering ethnic
foods, were close by, and the Central Market - again 3 blocks away -
gave us access to any groceries that we needed. Clean, close to many
amenities, helpful hosts, reasonable cost - who could ask for anything
more?

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect place, extremely clean, lots of extras

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 26, 2011

We were wary about renting sight unseen from someone in NYC but our fears soon disappeared as soon as we walked into this amazing apartment! The owner is the sweetest, kindest person and her attention to detail is the best. The pictures do not do this apartment justice since it is comfortable, super clean and well equipped with anything that you would need. It was extremely quiet for NYC and you could easily catch a cab or use the subway nearby. We are recommending her place to our friends in Texas and we will soon be back as well.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Bright and Spotless!

Review submitted: March 25, 2011   Date of arrival: November 16, 2010

This Suite is lovely,Michele has a wonderful personality.She and Ives are there to help your with your needs. I consider my self lucky to have found this Suite!I stayed 9 days this past November,2010. It is located in a good neighborhood,near public transportation and walking distance to shops,restaurants and beautiful churches! I Highly recommend this apartment!you will not be sorry.:-)
Riga K.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Birthday-- Girl's trip for 5!

Review submitted: December 10, 2010   Date of arrival: December 2, 2010

What an amazing first trip to NYC! This apartment was exactly what we needed. It was in a wonderful,quiet, and convenient location. The subway was so fun and easy to figure out. It was just around the block to get on and go anywhere we wanted in the city. We only took 1 taxi the entire stay...and that was mainly for the experience. The owner was so helpful and dependable. She really went above and beyond to make our trip even more enjoyable. The apartment was extremely clean, well stocked, and cozy after busy, fast days in the city. I can't say enough, ...can't wait to go to go back to NYC and this great apartment. Five mothers of young children in NYC....what a great time...and much needed get-a-way!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

a NY welcome

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: October 2, 2010

This is a lovely apartment with good access to subways. It is extremely clean, spacious and well equipped. The full kitchen supports flexibility around meals, and there are also many take-out restaurants nearby. Our host, Michele, was superb - not only providing arrival and departure assistance, but also neighbourhood information and orientation. Highly recommended, especially for anyone visiting Columbia University.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great apartment, great location, wonderful hosts!

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

Beautifully refurbished apartment on Upper West Side/Morningside Heights - great deal! Our group was 2 parents w/3 teens/early 20's from Las Vegas. We appreciated having an apartment vs. a tiny NYC hotel room(s) - king-sized bed for the parents, futons for the kids, and the kitchen & washer/dryer were fantastic! The back yard was great for morning coffee/breakfast. Easy walk to subway station at 110th/Cathedral Pkwy. Michele and Yves were extremely helpful and friendly - they've posted a nice list of close-by attractions (our favorite for groceries and take-away meals was the nearby and excellent Westside Market at 110th St/Broadway). Pin-drop quiet neighborhood made for a great nights sleep.

Wholeheartedly recommend this place - thank you Michele & Yves!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful NYC Experience

Review submitted: July 8, 2010   Date of arrival: May 31, 2010

Our family of 5 stayed in this apartment for 4 nights as we took in the sights of NYC. The accommodations were exactly what our family needed. The owner was very attentive to our needs and provided every possible amenity. The neighborhood was quiet and very safe. The short walk to the subway station was quite pleasant. Central Park and Morningside Park were both nearby as were markets and other stores. The owner provided us with city information and tips for sightseeing and purchasing tickets. Our trip to NYC was incredible and these accommodations could not have been better for our family!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful NYC Experience

Review submitted: July 8, 2010   Date of arrival: May 31, 2010

Our family of 5 stayed in this apartment for 4 nights as we took in the sights of NYC. The accommodations were exactly what our family needed. The owner was very attentive to our needs and provided every possible amenity. The neighborhood was quiet and very safe. The short walk to the subway station was quite pleasant. Central Park and Morningside Park were both nearby as were markets and other stores. The owner provided us with city information and tips for sightseeing and purchasing tickets. Our trip to NYC was incredible and these accommodations could not have been better for our family!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing apartment

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: April 28, 2010

I had been looking for a few weeks for an apartment in NY and came across this one. I must say I was more than pleased with the apartment. It was extremely clean with every imaginable amenity present. You can see that everything was carefully thought of and the apartment itself had a lot of space. There is a lovely garden adjoining the master bedroom and was just a pleasure to look out on a sunny day. I was really lucky as the weather was incredible whilst I was there and had the most amazing company as well, so all in all, I can say that this was the best experience I've had in New York. Thank you Michele and I will definitely rent this apartment again..

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review