reviews for: listing #33522 - Lake George, New York Cabin rental

Northwoods Log Home/Private Beach
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Northwoods
  • sleeps  15
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,450 - $3,400 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful Family Vacation!

Review submitted: August 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 18, 2013

My family and I had a great time at this very spacious, clean, and comfortable home. We were 7 adults and 4 children and there was plenty of room for all of us. This house has all the amenities one could ask for, AC, large television, fire pit, grill, huge deck, back yard with playset for kids, and only a short 5 minute walk to the local private beach! We enjoyed the peaceful mornings and relaxing evenings on the deck with plenty of room to spread out indoors. You will be about a 10 minute (or less) ride to all of the area's activities including Lake George beach and downtown area, hiking, horseback riding, lazy river tubing, mini golf, water and other amusement parks (magic forest and Great escape). Fun for everyone and the owner, Joe, was a pleasure to deal with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great time

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

We had a great stay at this house. We were 3 families with 10 kids total and all had a great time. The walk to the beach was a snap (even with all those kids :) ) The kids loved swimming out to the dock and playing in the sand for hours. We were a quick ride into the village on the rainy day. We were so close to the rodeo and horseback riding which were both awesome! Jo was easy to work with. It was a beautiful, quiet and peaceful area. And we had a blast!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Happy Reunion

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2012

We once again rented the lovely home for our annual college reunion and as expected it was perfect for us. It was very clean and very spacious and of course enjoyed the fireplace. we will be returnign at least next October if not adding a second weekend in April. Thank you Joseph.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great House & Multi-level Deck,Conveniet Location

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

House was fantastic, the pictures do not do it justice. Wonderful log design, large living Room/Den, big Kitchen, super large deck with an outdoor fire pit, nice sized bedrooms and baths. Good lake fishing there for pickerel,sunnies, some bass. Lake George 5 minutes. Saratoga race track 25 Minutes. We actually had FOUR generations staying in the house and all loved it. You can't get a better, broader opinion than that!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

This is a wonderful log cabin It was an enjoyable and peaceful vacation for me and my family. The cabin is beautiful and spacious on the inside and very clean and neat. You are surrouned by beautiful woods. The private beach was an added bonus. I enjoyed my stay tremendously and would go back again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Northwoods Log home

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

Our extended family of 11 greatly enjoyed our week at this site. The house was exactly as pictured: spacious and well stocked with a huge deck, complete with grill and fire pit. The beach was a short walk away and we spent most of our time there swimming and kayaking. Actually, except for hikes and a trip to the rodeo we never left th area! Fireworks on the lake were a bonus on the 4th of July.

One problelm wa the lighting in the cabin. The main room had a few lamps and the bedrooms were too dark for comfortable story reading with the young children.
I would recommend the owner provide small sauce dishes for fruit and ice cream, and pyrex measuring cups for use in the microwave.

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car

Owners response: The Log Home lighting is Rustic. The Great room has a huge center chandelier, with fan, when turned on it looks like daytime in the Great room. Maybe they missed it.
We will add more lighting to the Bunkroom, the renter is right when it comes to reading.
We will addd some fruit/icecream dishes and microwaveble measuring cups.
Altought we have pretty much everything renters need, suggestions help.
Thank you for the review.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Find

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: April 28, 2012

This was a great find. The owner was great and very helpful. The house is beautiful and has a woodsy feel. Me and my family loved it. It was very spacious and most of my family came and we were able to all stay together. I would recommend this house for anyone with a small or large family. I can't wait to stay again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful house

Review submitted: November 1, 2011   Date of arrival: October 28, 2011

What a wonderful house, well kept and beautiful. It was perfect for our annual college girls weekend reunion. We are considering going back there again next year. The owner could not have been better and made sure our stay was what we were looking for. I would highly recommend this place to both families and friends.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

quiet location, great log house, and close to lake

Review submitted: October 19, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

It is a spacious log home with indoor and outdoor fire places. Situated in a quiet neighborhood, and is only 5 miles away from Lake George village. Plenty of hiking trails, horseback riding and shopping opportunities.

The owner is very nice and a pleasure to deal with. Our group(9 adults and two kids)had a great time there.

I would go back to this place again next time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Weekend

Review submitted: June 2, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

your review is pending
Please read and confirm your review for Property #33522 below.



Review #1509122 Fabulous Weekend
I rented this house for four couples and one child. The set-up worked perfectly for us. This house is extremely spacious and clean as a whistle, which was/is very important to me and as well as to the other guests! I really can't say anything bad. It would be nice to have spices & condiments already there for we are big cookers and needed to buy all of that kind of stuff. Great location! Liked the fact that we were close to the Lake George strip and not in the middle of it all. There was a bar/restaurant and the end of the street in which my boyfriend and I tried and had a absolutely delicious meal. I recommend this house to a family, groups of families and/or friends. Enjoy ;-)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 4

 

Weekend Stay - February 2011

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: February 25, 2011

We arrived on a Friday afternoon and stayed for the weekend. The house is absolutely beautiful. We stayed with another family and everyone had plenty of room. It is a great place to get together with friends or family and not have to worry about getting under each others feet. It is well decorated with adirondack decor. The property has all the amenities that you need. The kitchen was perfect -- several people can cook together and still have plenty of room. We would definitely recommend this property to other families. The bedrooms, kitchen and dining area are all very roomy. The living room is very cozy with a beautiful fireplace. There is also a beautiful porch that is a perfect gathering place for families. Overall, this property is very clean, spacious and very well kept. It is a great vacation place for the price. We will definitely return for another getaway in the near future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

New Years Weekend 2010

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: December 30, 2010

We were a group of 6 couples ages 24-28. The house was very clean, very spacious, and perfect for a large group. The owner was extremely helpful when needed, and we really enjoyed our stay. There was a restaurant/pub right down the street with great food and reasonable prices. We definitely plan to return for another stay this year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 10

 

Our stay.

Review submitted: July 21, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

Lets start of on the positives. This house is a beautiful place to stay. We had 10 people in our party and six of them were children. It accomodated our big party without any problems. I liked the setup of the house with having three bedrooms upstairs and the other three down. For two familes this place is ideal if you still want a little privacy from the other party. The kitchen is a great size and had everything in it, though the pans are in need of being replaced. The floorplan flows well in this house. The front porch and deck are amazing and very big. The kids really liked roasting marsmallows on the fire pit. I have nothing but great things to say about this house.

Now the negatives. The lake was not very clean. The sand itself needs a good cleaning. Though it did not impact the kids fun, for us grown ups it was disappointing. When we rented the house, though it was only a few minute walk, we thought we were on the lake itself. I think the pictures shown in the ad confused us. It does say in the ad "just a short walk to the lake".

All in all I recommend this house for big familes or big parties. For the price it can't be beat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The lake not clean? You can drink this water. All northeast lakes have high iron contant in them, that is all it is, clear as a blue sky. The beach sand is added every year.
I recommend people read the website, this way there is no confusion on the location of the rental.
Thank you for the review.

Helpful votes: 19 / 21

 

Family vacation for a wedding!

Review submitted: September 2, 2008   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

My family of 12 stayed here for my sons wedding in lake george. The house was perfect in many ways...lots of space, close to all amenities, and able to prepare for the rehearsal dinner. The fire pit was a huge plus for those relaxing evenings on the deck. Joseph was great to work with. It was perfect for all of us and I would recommend this to a large group. Another plus ,was the Sunday to Sunday rental since the wedding was on a Saturday.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review