reviews for: listing #33583 - Lake Palestine, Texas House rental

DP's Fishing Retreat
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Briarwood Bay
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $250 - $600 /wk

sort by:

Hidden Treasure

Review submitted: April 5, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

What a wonderful hidden treasure ! Beautiful fenced in yard full of birds & squirrels. Fire pit & Bar b q grill for evening gatherings. The channel of the lake was up , so it was like a 100 yards to back of the house. Inside of home is clean & compfortable. We had my hubby & I & young adult daughter & fiance first weekend, during the week it was hubby & I,and second weekend was girls weekend away. Everyone... had a great time ! Home owner very polite & curtious. He's only a phone call away. We visited several nearby towns with everything from antique shopping,zip lining,awesome restaraunts, movies, theatrical theaters, drive thru safari, The Tiger Refuge is a Must. Yet when you return to your temporary home away from home its such a relaxed atmoshphere. We love to travel & usually go all over, but this year we wanted somewhat local so others could come and visit too. I give this rental a definate A + & will definately be renting this local gem in the future again. Only 2 semi negatives that even come to mind while writting this review: One being there are a lot of liquor stores nearby, the second being if I review this as honestly as I have, I may have a hard time finding it available in the future lol.Good times & good memories can be made at this location. Oh yeah, and the guys will love the fishing too !!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

This was our home away from home. It had all the amenities and more (washer & dryer was wonderful). It was relaxing, very quiet and we loved watching all the birds, squirrels and we even had two raccoons visit. By far the best place to stay. Our children also loved it, ages 22 & 13.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Total Relaxation

Review submitted: November 8, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

I have known about this vacation rental for a couple of years so when my husband & I decided to take a weekend getaway, I thought that this would be a great idea, Boy was I right!!! It was so peaceful, so relaxing. The house reminded me of my parent’s old house so I instantly felt at home. One of my favorite things to do was to sit on the porch in the morning, wrapped in a blanket & just watch the birds. I can’t wait to come back!!! Did I mention the Jacuzzi…OMG!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Nature Place

Review submitted: October 21, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

I had to mark 55+ it was the only age listed! But we are younger than that! - So I recommend this for people under 55 too!!
After being in the big city of Dallas 24/7, it was really great to be able to get away to Nature there. It was so peaceful and yet it wasn't far from antique stores, restaurants and grocery stores. The kitchen was well-equipped for cooking. It was us and another couple - the size of the place was perfect for this. Our dog had the perfect fenced in yard to run around.
It was perfect all the way around! I marked romantic getaway - for those who enjoy night time stars with their special someone! As We will be going back for our Anniversary!

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very Peaceful and Calm

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 4, 2011

As a single mom and grandmother, then a director over a daycare of 100 plus children this was a God sent. The owner said to fill up the bird feeders and watch all the different types of birds. Wow, I saw at least 20 different types and 2 greedy squirrels. Going down by the lake you saw different types bird there too.

The jacuzzi was great after the drive and on the next nights too. I left extra candles for the next person, enjoy them.

Next trip I will try the fishing I heard it is great.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Weekend

Review submitted: August 8, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2010

What more could we you ask for: All the comforts of home, beautifully decorated and close to everything! Not to mention the price, can't beat it. We spent the weekend and plan on another trip to stay a week next summer. A very memorable trip for my kids and grandchildren.They had a great time fishing and swimming. Thanks to the wonderful owners for sharing their lake home. God bless you both.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Just like home!

Review submitted: March 15, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2010

This place was GREAT!!! My wife and I have vacationed all over the country and have had a LOT of different kinds of rooms and suites we have stayed in. We stayed at a BEST WESTERN IN San Simion California on the ocean and it costs me $430.00 per night, it was nice but this place is the only one I could say it was like "coming home" every night. It had EVERYTHING anyone could want in it. It was one the nicest places I think we have ever stayed. The town of Frankston was small but very friendly and GREAT food!!!! I will diffently be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review