reviews for: listing #33618 - Sarasota, Florida House rental

Twin Gables
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,800 - $1,800 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely Home/Wonderful Time

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

Nancy,

Thank you, we had a wonderful time. If we're heading Nantucket direction again next year we'll definitely be in touch. Thanks for letting us rent your lovely house.

Regards, Ruth and Marco and family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoying our Stay!

Review submitted: April 17, 2013   Date of arrival: January 4, 2013

Dear Nancy,

We are really enjoying our stay at Twin Gables and unfortunately the departure time is getting closer. Thank you in advance and with best wishes,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Arrived!

Review submitted: April 17, 2013   Date of arrival: March 13, 2013

We arrived!! Absolutely beautiful home!! How lucky and fortunate we were in January to find this! Thank-you! Everything is great here!
Enjoy you week-end!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Great historic location, great house, gracious ow

Review submitted: April 10, 2013   Date of arrival: February 19, 2013

From the moment I first contacted the owner, Nancy Policastro, until today, when my deposit refund arrived, I was struck by the hospitality and helpful guidance offered by Nanacy to her charming,,very confortable home in the historic (for Florida)Bungalow section of Sarasota. In contrast to many Vrbos (and I am not complaining)at Twin Gables "everything" is provide without additional charge to you or a trip to Publix--from paper goods to cleaning and laundry supplies. Nancy, trust me, had thought of everything to take your stay out of the ordinary.
For architectural Minimalists, don't pass up Twin Gables. The cottage is decorated with Nancy's flea market finds, most all with a flower motif,and I assure you will find this scheme fascinating during each passing day.
My guests and I have not slept better in the quiet bedrooms and the very confortable beds--that, by the way, are allergy-protected.
Nancy has plans(?)to screen in the perfect porch where everyone gathers, even with a 'squito or two, and will install dimmers on a few of the lights I had mentioned to her--no big deal these !
For guests desiring a comfy house,a charming 'hood and a helpful, hospitable host,Twin Gables should be your first and only choice.
The rate (we were there 3 weeks)is on spot with other Vrbo rentals in the area, but it offers so much more in "added value."

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Delightful Stay!

Review submitted: April 10, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

We had a great time in Sarasota at the Twin Gables. The house has everything a family needs. We went to the beautiful Siesta Key beach several days and enjoyed the plentiful seafood of the area. We stayed with our two children 10 and 13 and my parents. It was close enough to everything while being on a quiet street as well. We enjoyed walks to the marina and it is also walking distance to many restaurants and Selby Gardens. Overall it was a terrific vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very Pleasant Memories

Review submitted: April 26, 2012   Date of arrival: January 15, 2012

Hi, Nancy,

I don't know if I thanked you for sending the cards and photos. They were kind of on display and I guess I overlooked them.

Again, we all enjoyed Twin Gables, and came away from it and Sarasota with very pleasant memories.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Twin Gables is a gem

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

We visited Twin Gables over a long Easter weekend with our two teenage children and a set of grandparents. It is charming and immaculate. It is nestled on a quiet street in a Sarasota neighborhood, near downtown and close to the Ringling bridge. The cottage is well stocked with everything one needs for a great week. We enjoyed sitting on the front porch in the comfortable wicker furniture. The weather was beautiful. We used the beach chairs provided and had a lovely morning at Lido Beach. We had dinner at Ophelia's out on Siesta Key and Easter brunch at Mozaic (delicious), after Mass at St. Martha's-- both less than a mile away. The beds in all three bedrooms are comfortable, and the furnishings are pretty. The only drawback is that all three bedrooms are upstairs, with one bath to share up there. But a second full bath is downstairs, and with mirrors in every bedroom, it was not a problem. The kitchen has everything for a meal at home, and the backyard has a nice table for six for outdoor dining. The owner is very responsible, and promptly answered all of our questions and sent us materials for our visit. We recommend Sarasota in general and Twin Gables in particular for a family visit. We would stay again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect neighborhood

Review submitted: January 16, 2012   Date of arrival: December 31, 2011

We stayed here in early January. Weather was a delight for biking around the neighborhood (bikes come with house) and house is perfectly located to walk/bike into town and to city parks. House was in great shape, well maintained and supplied. Descriptions are very accurate and owner is a pleasure to deal with. Huge Publix market about 6 blocks west is great for staples and Morton's market, about 8 blocks south on Osprey is a pricey but good source of soups and munchies. Otherwise we ate mostly at home with food purchased from the Saturday farmer's market in town. Beaches on Siesta and Lido Keys are within 10-15 min drives. Ringling Museum esp. Circus diorama highly recommended. Sarasota County Historic Museum has history of area and is a good source of books on local (midcentury and earlier) architecture. We would (and may) return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Twin Gables Cottage. We enjoyed having you and hope you will return to Twin Gables Cottage on a future visit to Sarasota, FL. I appreciate all the great ideas you shared with me about Twin Gables and Sarasota, Florida! Best wishes, Nancy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The House Has Been Great!

Review submitted: January 16, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

Dear Nancy,

The house has been great. We love the front porch, and the big bedrooms, especially. We've enjoyed the neighborhood, walking and biking, and even biked down to Siesta Key!
It's been fun getting to know Sarasota with this as our base. And in fact, various friends here have asked for information on the house for potential visits of other friends, so you might well have some further inquires from some of them.

Best,

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Terrific Time!

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

Hi Nancy - we had a terrific week and are just now finishing loading the car. Twin Gables was fabulous - everything we needed was readily available - thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Terrific Time!

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

Hi Nancy - we had a terrific week and are just now finishing loading the car. Twin Gables was fabulous - everything we needed was readily available - thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 18, 2011   Date of arrival: April 18, 2011

We really had a good time in your beautiful home! Thank you!
Your house was a great reunion spot! Thanks!
Your immediate responses to my calls, and the replacement of the refrigerator earned an A+ from all of us. Plus we. Loved the fluffy towels and the kitchen was a dream, beautifully equipped. Jc

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Immaculate Home in Great Location

Review submitted: April 14, 2011   Date of arrival: April 5, 2011

Twin Gables was perfect spot for our 3 couples reunion. Bedrooms spacious and comfortable. Whole house spotless. Well equipped new kitchen. We had brunch on the patio and cocktails on the front porch. Shops, restaurants, grocery stores, historic downtown, Selby Garden all within minutes. When the 'fridge died the owner had a new one out next morning. It could not have been better and I would highly recommend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We are very happy to hear that your group enjoyed your stay at Twin Gables Cottage last week! We hope to see you again on a future visit to Sarasota, Fl! Best wishes, Nancy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful old-style Florida home perfectly laid out and meticulously stocked

Review submitted: March 24, 2011   Date of arrival: March 13, 2011

The home is much better than the videos. More spacious. Every item I could need was at my finger-tips. The house is in perfect order, fabulous home for entertaining, and a loving feeling for our family stay. We enjoyed the back patio for breakfast and visitors, wi-fi for my college-age daughters, front porch for cocktails, many windows to feel the bay breeze, and a modern kitchen with all the amenities. The dining room was ideal for our wine dinner.The sun rises to splash light on our faces as we wake in the master bedroom. Bike or walk to all the local attractions from this welcoming neighborhood.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Christine, We enjoyed having your family at Twin Gables this month! We hope you return on a future visit to Sarasota! Nancy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 18, 2011   Date of arrival: March 4, 2011

From our guestbook:

Nancy,

Thanks so much.

I would be more than happy to write a review. We had a great time and the house became a home as soon as we walked in. It is a very comfortable house and appreciate the effort you put in to keep it immaculately clean and well appointed.

We are already discussing returning next winter.

Best,
greg

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 18, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

From our guestbook: "Nancy, We enjoyed our stay in Sarasota and had a great month. The house and location and weather were great. Thanks! The "W" family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Getaway in January

Review submitted: January 17, 2011   Date of arrival: January 8, 2011

We rented Twin Gables for our guests since we do not have enough extra bedrooms. We all spent some time at the cottage, cooking in the well-equipped kitchen and sitting on the front porch. Very relaxing! From the house, we walked to Selby Gardens, along the waterfront, and over the Ringling Causeway bridge. The location was great for all of our activities - trips to both Lido and Siesta Key beaches, brunch at the Ritz-Carlton, a day at the Ringling Museum, a symphony at the Van Wezel, visitng the manatees at Mote Marine, shopping downtown, ETC. It was a great vacation. Our friends were extremely impressed with Sarasota, and they loved the house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Lisa, we enjoyed having you and your friends at Twin Gables Cottage! We hope to see you in Sarasota, again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic!

Review submitted: January 6, 2011   Date of arrival: December 31, 2010

Perfect location--secluded, but walking distance to downtown & harbor. Great accommodations and many extra touches that exceeded our expectations. It DOES have WiFi. Modern kitchen fully loaded with everything imaginable. Very clean. We hope this rental is available the next time we visit Sarasota. The online photos of the property are accurate--actually, the house is larger that we expected from the photos. There are many good places to eat within a mile of the house (we walked). Citrus street is situated in a beautiful, safe neighborhood.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: We very much enjoyed having your family as our guests at Twin Gables Cottage and look forward to your return!

Best wishes,
Nancy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 15, 2010   Date of arrival: January 1, 2010

Guest Review from e h Nov 5, 2010
"Immaculate, thoughtfully-appointed with great location"

We are well-experienced vacation renters. This is not a "fancy" home but it was furnished perfectly for guest convenience and comfort. Can walk from this location to town, Selby Gardens and the harbor. We were met by the owner who gave us a tour of the house and its features. It is located on a quiet dead-end street. We had a great two-month stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 15, 2010   Date of arrival: April 17, 2010

Guest Review from td
"Awesome Sarasota House in Great Location"

Twin Gables is in a great location, situated near downtown, Siesta Key, and St. Armand's. Great neighborhood to stroll around. This was one of the nicer houses we have rented. The decor is neutral and stylish; it didn't feel like a rental at all. The kitchen is nicely stocked with everything you could want. We even had family over for a sit-down dinner. The beds are extremely comfortable. The bathrooms have all been updated and are stocked with nice linens. Would definitely recommend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Two Month Stay at Twin Gables Cottage

Review submitted: September 15, 2010   Date of arrival: January 1, 2010

Hi Nancy!

I just wanted to let you know how much we are enjoying our stay at Twin Gables.

The house suits our needs perfectly and we love the location. Thank you for so thoughtfully supplying the house as it has made settling in so easy.

Cheers!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review