reviews for: listing #33676 - Keene, New Hampshire House rental

Lake Front Cottage - Windsor NH
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $100 - $100 /nt
    $700 - $700 /wk

sort by:

Hidden gem

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2013

This was our 2nd stay and if able I will continue to try and return every year. Bill's place is truly a hidden gem (my granddaughter wants to live here, lol). The weather wasn't the greatest at the beginning of the week as we had torrential rains which caused some flooding and road outages in the area, but it was pleasant the remainder of our time. Bill's place is so comfortable that whether rain or shine you feel you can relax and enjoy your time away.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

what a great find...

Review submitted: July 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

We stayed in Bill's cabin the first week of July and what a find it turned out to be! Dealing with Bill is straightforward and uncomplicated, the cabin's not fancy but comfortable and the shower (first looked at with trepidation) powerful beyond belief! We spent our days sitting by the lake with coffee or Corona, reading, playing games, kayaking, swimming, barbecuing and fishing (unsuccesfully...) and it was utterly peaceful and relaxing. The lake is lovely for swimming, clean and clear and not at all cold. This is a quiet spot and long may it last, but when it got to be a bit too peaceful for our 2 children (11 and 13 yrs of age), the wireless broadband and countless games, videos and dvd's came to the rescue. The bugs were a bit of a pain, deer fly in particular, but that can't be helped given the location so bring your bug spray, and the screened-in porch kept out most of the troublemakers and all of the deer fly. I had a clicking device that acts as an antihistamine (google "mosquito clicker", highly recommended). Also, a bit of research after returning home revealed a strategy for dealing with deer fly; google "blue hat deer fly", it'll give you a laugh if nothing else but if we are going back (and I would hope to someday) I'd probably bring my blue cups and Tanglefoot (although Williams' Store down the road probably supplies both, just ask!). Thank you Bill, for sharing your cabin... PS Many thanks too, to Bob next door who put on a WONDERFUL fireworks display!

Helpful votes: 5 / 8

 

Just a wonderful vacation...

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

To begin with Bill was very very helpful and nice to work with. We had such a wonderful relaxing time here... the cottage is clean, attractive, equipped with so much more than I thought... the grounds are also clean and so pretty. I was amazed how clear and beautiful the water was for swimming in. And the neighbors are friendly as well. I'm so looking forward to coming back next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Terri

Thanks so much for the wonderful response. Glad you had a good time. Hope to have you back soon, and thanks for leaving it so clean.

Bill Russo

Helpful votes: 7 / 10

 

Wonderful Place:

Review submitted: October 11, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

This cottage is cozy and inviting. Bill is great to work with. The cottage has everything one needs.It's secluded but yet central to fine restaurant's and nearby attractions.The view from the porch overlooking the pond is beautiful. Upon arrival the cottage was clean.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 69 / 70

 

awesome!

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 19, 2010

i had a great time thank you Grampa! The dog had a lot of fun there in the lake! We loved the kyak!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 7

 

Exceeded every expectation!

Review submitted: July 3, 2010   Date of arrival: June 28, 2010

First-Bill was great to deal with, he made renting this property a breeze!
The location is quite secluded, but a short drive into town will easily furnish you with groceries, etc.
With regard to the property, it is absolutely beautiful! The pictures on this site do not begin to do it justice. When we arrived, the cabin was in pristine condition, totally spotless, and Bill has the cabin setup with pretty much everything you would need.
(Including a WIFI network, which was unexpected, but very handy!)
The Lake is right out the back door, and is PERFECT for swimming, there is a swim platform setup, and kayaks, and a paddleboat ready for action!
If you're looking for a lakefront cabin getaway, then this cabin is for you!
Again, thanks Bill, we had a wonderful vacation here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 15

 

Amazing Cottage

Review submitted: August 25, 2009   Date of arrival: August 20, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend in August. It was everything we could have wanted. The cottage is adorable, the lake is spectacular and Bill was a pleasure to rent from. Thanks for sharing your this special place with us. We will definitely be renting again.

Thanks for everything!
Phoebe and Craig

Recommended for: pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 17 / 18

 

Adorable Cottage Thanks Bill

Review submitted: August 10, 2009   Date of arrival: August 7, 2009

What a great weekend on the lake. The cabin was clean and cozy, romantic master bedroom overlooking the lake. Cabin was stocked well with necessity’s, the lake was absolutely beautiful. It was fun fishing off the dock, and taking the kayaks out. Bill was one of the easiest people to rent from. GREAT LITTLE GETAWAY

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 20 / 21

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review