reviews for: listing #33859 - Cape San Blas, Florida House rental

Dune Fine - HEATED Pool; Discounts; Dock; Views; Dogs
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Dolphin Beach to Bay
  • sleeps  13
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $750 - $4,450 /wk

sort by:

Perfect location and amenities

Review submitted: April 24, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

We stayed at Dune Fine for Spring Break this year and had a wonderful time. We have been to Cape San Blas many times, and this house offers a perfect beach location, heated pool, great views, a very short walk to the beach, and a clean and comfortable house. We saw the previous review about construction, but it seems that the worst of the construction is over. We experienced no construction noise or interference. The house-under-construction is almost complete, so they must be working on interior finish work now.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the review. I was just at Dune Fine April 23rd to 26th to review things first hand. As you mention, I was not bothered by construction noise. I spoke to the builder and walked through the house being built. The majority of the outside work is complete. He is targeting the end of May for completion.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

construction!!!! Beware! - otherwise nice

Review submitted: March 15, 2014   Date of arrival: March 8, 2014

The listing gave a great impression of the place, one slight row back from beach, direct wooden walkway and private gazebo to a soft whitesand beach - dog friendly in all important ways....

Except for the fact a new cottage was being built next door.... Not told, warned or advised whatsoever.... NICE! Could have rented 2-3 other beach houses... Chose this one because I liked the way the owner replied and communicated...

When I brought it up all I was told was that the construction was supposed to be finished before we arrived, but was delayed due to weather. Well when we arrived the siding was only just startled, scaffolds and ladders everywhere, huge dumpster out front, and the pool had concrete forms erected.

The owners used a rental agency who promised to get me details of what work would be done, but I did not hear from him again... We had nail guns and saws from 8-9 till 4 or so every day, a parade of construction workers back and forth past our "private pool" and Wednesday was the real treat with a day long adventure ending off with the concrete crew showing up to spend hours spraying concrete into the new pool, with hydraulics and generators galore...

We made the best of it, but we really bargained for privacy and quiet and got neither.... I hate to say it, but I would avoid this until at least May, may be June...

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Edward,

Thank you for the nice pictures of Dune Fine and your comment about enjoying the house you emailed upon your departure.

I'm sorry you didn't have a "5 star" visit like our other reviewers. Construction is way behind schedule due to the poor weather and we never thought it would interfere with your stay when you made your reservation. We failed to follow the construction progress closely and should have contacted you prior to your visit. I understand your frustration and apologize your stay did not meet your expectations.

As a lesson learned, I'm getting weekly progress reports from the property management company to follow progress and alert any renters that could be impacted. Construction is expected to be complete in April. Anyone concerned about the construction can email me via the rental listing for the latest pictures and construction update.

Best Regards,
Gary

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peaceful, lovely, relaxing!!

Review submitted: August 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 21, 2013

From the moment I inquired about this property I was pleased. The owner's cooperation and customer service was amazing! We loved not having to drive to get to the beach. The wrap around porches on all levels was so refreshing. The beach is very family-friendly. Thank you Gary!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great vacation

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

This was our 3rd year in a row staying at this property. It was great. Will definitely be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great House

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

We recently spent a week at Dune Fine with our entire family. Very well equipped. Small things that we had questions about were answered quickly and efficiently. Great group to work with. Beautiful views, great pool ( that was taken great care of while we were there), and a lot of extras that other houses we have rented in the area didn't provide. Can't say enough good about this place and this rental company. Thanks for sharing your beautiful house with us.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: March 25, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

I can't say enough nice things about Cape San Blas and Dune Fine. The house has everything you need for a comfortable stay and more. We enjoyed breakfast on the deck with a view of the ocean every morning. Our dog loved walks on the pet-friendly beach. It was so peaceful and relaxing! We visited in March were able to swim in the heated pool(some other area renters we met were disappointed by not being able to swim in their unheated pool). Port St. Joe and Apalachicola had friendly restaurants and shops. We thought about going to Panama City but enjoyed spending time at the beach and house so much we didn't need to go anywhere else. Thanks for sharing your home with us!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Dune Fine is So Fine

Review submitted: October 25, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

This is our second stay at Dune Fine, and our 4th trip to Cape San Blas.
And if we can always stay at Dune Fine we will.
It is even better than the pictures and description. The Cape San Blas beach is our favorite, and we have been to lots of beaches.
The views are amazing, both sunset on ocean, and sunrise on bay, the water perfect, the house is just everything you could ever want or need- there are no words for how much we have enjoyed our stays.
The pool is wonderful and the grounds and everything so well maintained.
I have always had wonderful communications with the owners, and their rental management staff.

This year was my 60th birthday, and my husband and I and our dog Danny had our best Cape San Blas trip every- for ten days
So if you are going to Cape San Blas, the loveliest spot of all is Dune Fine.
Thanks to Gary and Michele for sharing their lovely home with us.

Patti French and Steve Tasman and Danny(woof woof i miss the beach)

Owners response: Thank you Patti & Steve!! We are so happy that you had such a great time at the beach. We appreciate your wonderful comments, and agree that there is something special about our house, amenities, and beach location that most other houses don't have. Happy Birthday! and we hope you can visit Cape San Blas again soon. Best wishes, Michelle & Gary

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Loved It!

Review submitted: August 20, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

Exactly the break we needed. We've gone to many places around the world, but this time we wanted to do nothing but "chill". We found it. Great house, great pool, great beach. My parents and some family met us there from West Palm Beach and we just hung out in the surf and sun (well, August, we did get some rain-who cares!). Our two yellow Labradors loved the beach but did notice the water tasted a little different from Lake Michigan. LOL. Everything we needed was in the house from cooking utensils, dishes, bbq to clothes washer and dryer and dishwasher. We had a great time cooking, eating, playing cards, watching the sun set, and relaxing with a glass of wine. Thank you for sharing your home and especially for allowing our dogs to come along!

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Loved the Beach

Review submitted: April 4, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

The house was very nice and very close to the beach. Our kids as well as our dog had great fun in the surf. The pool was great too! My husband would have enjoyed a better, cleaner grill as we ate in for all of our meals! Thanks for letting us enjoy your home. It was a very quiet and relaxing escape!

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed our home, Dune Fine. We love sharing our little piece of paradise. Thanks for your feedback. You should know that we replaced the BBQ grille and also the sofas in the family room. We are ready for your next visit! Michelle & Gary

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Georgia Erickson's Vacation

Review submitted: August 12, 2008   Date of arrival: August 2, 2008

The home was absolutely beautiful. The owners supplied everything we needed. We were very close to the beach, just across the dunes. This was perfect because we have little ones. The pool was fabulous because if you got tired of the ocean, you can head to the pool. This house was very well maintained as if it was just built. Being on the cape is very relaxing and quiet. Also, the private pier to the bay was incredible. We would go over there and catch crabs and look at starfish. I would highly recommend this home to everyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 3, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

We enjoyed staying at your home and found it to be a very relaxing vacation. Although the water was rather rough from the hurricane further south, the weather was great. We got some great photos from the house and along the coastline. Some of the ones we took up at the park look like post cards!

We enjoyed the home very much. It met our needs very well and was actually a bit closer to the beach than we were expecting. We had a glass of wine (or two) up in the crows nest a couple of nights and watched the sunset and then the stars. Very nice.
So, thanks for having us to your Florida home. We enjoyed

Helpful votes: 19 / 21

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review