reviews for: listing #3388 - Kailua, Hawaii House rental

Secluded tropical cottage/pool/steps to Kailua Beach
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $125 - $125 /nt
    $875 - $875 /wk

sort by:

CANC

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: January 9, 2012

Great location, clean, quiet, lovely,reasonable! Sandy and Missy were very nice and offered to help in any way. I would recommend for almost anyone. My only hesitation would be if you are looking for total privacy. The studio was right up against owner's home and windows are always open to catch the cool breeze. We were asked not to use the a.c. (didn't need it), but had to leave the windows open all the time.

Owners response: Guests were asked not to use AC, due to lack of use by about 95% of our guests and parts were frozen.AC was in the process of being replaced. The unit does have two ceiling fans plus a floor fan if needed. As guests indicated, weather was very cool, winter time you know, so none was needed. All the windows are quite high and one cannot see into the unit. Most guests never close them,for they love the feel of the trade winds and like to wake up to the sounds of the palm fond's and birds. Though unit is close by, our home is quite large,the unit is at the front of the property and we live mostly on the opposite side of the house. AS written by many
of our guests in pass reviews, very seldom do we ever see or
hear each other even when they are enjoying the outside with or without their guests. So all in all, I would
say, property is very private as shown by 12 years of renting it with many of our guests returning year after year and honeymooners love it!
Aloha, Sandy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Oasis in the Sun

Review submitted: December 6, 2011   Date of arrival: November 24, 2011

The cottage was a perfect way to relax and celebrate Stan's birthday. Sandy had great recommendations for restaurants (Mokes for breakfast was our favourite) and places to see. The cottage has everything you would want or need and the pool and surrounding yard are absolutely beautiful.
Kailua is a beautiful place to kick back with a wonderful beach, great places to eat and shop and the people are very friendly. If you go don't miss the Thursday night market in the parking lot behind Long's Drugs. You can have a great dinner for an inexpensive price as well as pick up some items to take back to the cottage.
Thank you Sandy and Missy for making our stay all that we had hoped for and more and thanks for the pineapple and papaya (I did share a bit with Stan) and the cake.
Hope we can meet again.
Stan & Tammi

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Stan & Tammie, you are the best!
It was nice having such lovley guests and am so happy that
you enjoyed your stay and all that Kailua and Oahu had to offer.
Will keep you posted on my future plans.
Aloha, Sandy & Missy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kailua like a local

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 9, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this property. Having spent a good deal of time on Oahu in the past, we knew Kailua was the place to be for a non-touristy, laid back, relaxing time with the best beaches around (sshhh, don’t tell everyone and keep it that way). This rental provided a perfect place to crash in a quiet neighborhood as well as beautiful retreat to relax by the pool between afternoon and night adventures.

Sandy, the owner, was very super friendly, provided fresh fruit and cinnamon rolls our first day along with some macadamias and even a bottle of wine! She also was quick to provide directions/advice as necessary and proactively did research on questions she couldn’t answer and followed up with us the next day. Thanks again Sandy for a wonderful week!

One last thing to note – while the rental is private, keep in mind it is a separate building on Sandy’s property in close proximity to her house. Wasn’t an issue for us – we barely saw eachother and rather enjoyed it when we did cross paths, just good to know depending on how much privacy you’re after.

If you decide to go with this place (which you should) here are a few nearby activities I suggest in addition to everything else the island has to offer
1) Get up early and watch sunrise from Lanikai beach (we did nearly every morning)
2) Grab sandwiches/snacks/drinks from the Kalapawai Market, pack the cooler Sandy provides and hit Kailua or Lanikai beach (this place is the greatest and opens super early so you could even do this on your way to watch the sunrise and stay at the beach all day)
3) Kayak – lot’s of options for renting, even one on your walk from rental to beach that provide a little cart. If you have a car, rent a Kayak, strap it to top, drive to Kaneohe Bay and do short paddle to the sandbar in the morning.
4) Bring your snorkel to Lanikai beach – not overwhelming, but decent
5) Nearby restaurants we tried and suggest: Boot’s and Kimos, Tokoname, Uahi Island Grill, Tokoname

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great location, price and owner!

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 9, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this property. Having spent a good deal of time on Oahu in the past, we knew Kailua was the place to be for a non-touristy, laid back, relaxing time with the best beaches around (sshhh, don’t tell everyone and keep it that way). This rental provided a perfect place to crash in a quiet neighborhood as well as beautiful retreat to relax by the pool between afternoon and night adventures.

Sandy, the owner, was very super friendly, provided fresh fruit and cinnamon rolls our first day along with some macadamias and even a bottle of wine! She also was quick to provide directions/advice as necessary and proactively did research on questions she couldn’t answer and followed up with us the next day. Thanks again Sandy for a wonderful week!

One last thing to note – while the rental is private, keep in mind it is a separate building on Sandy’s property in close proximity to her house. Wasn’t an issue for us – we barely saw eachother and rather enjoyed it when we did cross paths, just good to know depending on how much privacy you’re after.

If you decide to go with this place (which you should) here are a few nearby activities I suggest in addition to everything else the island has to offer
1)Get up early and watch sunrise from Lanikai beach (we did nearly every morning)
2)Grab sandwiches/snacks/drinks from the Kalapawai Market, pack the cooler Sandy provides and hit Kailua or Lanikai beach (this place is the greatest and opens super early so you could even do this on your way to watch the sunrise and stay at the beach all day)
3)Kayak – lot’s of options for renting, even one on your walk from rental to beach that provide a little cart. If you have a car, rent a Kayak, strap it to top, drive to Kaneohe Bay and do short paddle to the sandbar in the morning.
4)Bring your snorkel to Lanikai beach – not overwhelming, but decent
5)Nearby restaurants we tried and suggest: Boot’s and Kimos, Tokoname, Uahi Island Grill, Tokoname

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise Awaits

Review submitted: February 25, 2011   Date of arrival: February 9, 2011

Thank you so much Sandy and Missy for our fabulous stay for two weeks. We enjoyed ourselves. Hope to see you again soon. I have already recommended you to others on our flight home. Miss you both. Craig and Joanne

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: You were here at a good time for me, thank you!
Sorry I missed your leaving, did not know you would check out so quickley.
I'll freeze your leis and save them for your return,
Craig and JOanne , take care and Craig watch those sand traps
aloha, sandy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Week in Paradise

Review submitted: January 28, 2011   Date of arrival: January 18, 2011

Mahalo to Sandy for a wonderful week in paradise! We were greeted with an “aloha” and a warm hug which made us feel very welcomed. The property was beautiful and the cottage was clean and comfortable, so much more personal than a busy hotel. Sandy also provided fresh pineapple for us! I would recommend staying with Sandy and Missy without any hesitation and we hope to stay again in the future.

Thank you again for a really wonderful vacation.
Sherrie and Lenny from Minnesota

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: January 9, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

"Thank you so much Sandy and Missy for a fabulous stay. Your secluded cottage was the perfect place for David and I to spend our vacation. Every day walking to and from the beautiful Kailua and Lanikai beaches was so pleasant, we felt like locals, everyone we met was so friendly. Enjoying cocktails each evening on the lanai right outside of our cottage, listening to the trade winds, was priceless. Thank you Sandy for providing great suggestions for places to eat and tour. Best wishes to you in 2011 and Mahalo!"

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: You are so welcome! You were wonderful guests to have and it
gives me much plesure to know how much you enjoyed you stay with
us.......come back soon, Aloha, Sandy

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Pleasant stay!!

Review submitted: December 15, 2010   Date of arrival: December 6, 2010

My husband & I were very pleased with our stay at this location. We would highly recommend it to anyone. We are avid renters through VRBO, and if we have business in Oahu again, we will see if this place is available. Charming, very private, close to beaches & shopping area. Very clean & comfortable. Owners are the nicest people!! Mahalo Nui Loa, Sandy & JB!! ~Keiki & Chris

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peaceful Haven

Review submitted: October 22, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

This lovely cottage and beautiful lush landscaped grounds, the private pool and all of the extra beach equipment there at Sandy's place was truly a dream come true! We thoroughly enjoyed the quiet and slower pace on the eastside of Oahu. Kailua and Lanikai beaches are only 2 blocks away, and they have any activities there to check into. The cottage and pool were a peaceful haven for us to come back to after our daily adventures. Sandy and J.B. are wonderful hosts. MAHALO!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sandy's Cottage

Review submitted: September 6, 2010   Date of arrival: May 15, 2010

This cottage was the perfect option for my wife and me. We wanted to stay out of the night life and the thousands of hotel rooms of Waikiki, however remain within a reasonable driving distance. Brief walk from the beach and nice restaurant. 2 minute drive to starbucks, beautiful quick trip into Honolulu (usually...traffic). Highly recommended for those (like us) that have way too much to do on vacation. We had a lot on our itinerary and this was the perfect place for us to unwind each night. Beach nearby had good waves for boogieboarding. The description and pictures are exactly what you should expect to see when you arrive.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Nice stay, well stocked w/ beach equipment, and comfortable.

Review submitted: July 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 22, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay... relaxing and quiet ending to our anniversary trip. Waikiki by the marina was too noisy w/ siren and constant traffic, in my opinion. I had planned our trip around the availability of this unit -- and wished we had more time here in secluded Kailua.

great location, clean unit with nice fluffy towels and soft bed. Internet access was a major plus. the amount of privacy was great, pool is alway clean upon our return. w/ dogs at home.. Missy is a pleasant addition to our experience -- friendly poodle w/ a cute personality.

Not sure if it was operator error but the DVD player may be faulty as the disc played fine on our laptop. the player would shut off after a few chapters. no matter though, decent book choices on shelf. no complaints here.

hope to one day be back. Mahalo plenty!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great unit, location and hospitality.

Review submitted: June 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

The room was clean and comfortable. The pool was wonderful. Sandy's hospitality was unbeatable with fresh cinnamon rolls, pinapple and juice in the morning. It really was a beauiful setting to come back to. The location is great in nice quiet neighborhood an easy walk from Kailua Beach with Lanikai Beach just a little further down the way. Easy 3 min drive to everything in town. Highly recomend it!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 17, 2010   Date of arrival: April 30, 2010

Dear Sandy, JB. & Missy Bell
It sincerely was a pleasure spending time with you.THANK YOU for all the hospitality.
We hope to be back. Love, Annie & Bob

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 17, 2010   Date of arrival: February 17, 2010

Thank you! We had a great time staying at your house You guys were the best hosts we could have had.
Next time we come we will definatly stay with you again. Mahalo, James & Janis

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 17, 2010   Date of arrival: April 20, 2010

Thank you so much,Sandy! Tim & I had a wonderful time & are sad to leave your beautiful oasis. We
really appreciated all you did to make us comfortable & at home. Hope you have a wonderful trip to
the mianland & hope to see you next year! Mahalo Heather & Tim

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful, cozy, afordable luxury!

Review submitted: April 27, 2010   Date of arrival: April 20, 2010

This is a beautiful, quiet cottage with a serene, lush setting. Your hostess Sandy has everything you need to enjoy the beach and really makes you feel at home. I hope you will get a chance to enjoy this little hideaway in the relaxed town of Kailua.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review