reviews for: listing #338863ha - Playa del Coco, Costa Rica rental

Luxury Sombras 2 Bedroom-Walk to the Beach-Playas Del Coco
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 180 - $ 200 / night
    $ 950 - $ 1,050 / week
    $ 2,049 - $ 2,450 / month
  • sleeps  4
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Great Time In Playa Del Coco

Review submitted: September 29, 2013   Date of arrival: September 20, 2013

Three of us ventured off to Playa Del Coco for one week in September and had a great time. I was a little concerned about it being "rainy" season however we only got one day of rain and a couple of rainy nights. It was quite hot actually, maybe 45C during the day with the humidity and high 20C/low 30C in the evening. We NEVER wore long pants or long sleeves - way too hot. It was great having the pool right outside the patio doors, we used it often throughout the day and evening when we weren't busy touring, fishing, etc.. Great time of year for fishing; we caught over 15 mahi mahi and had more than enough fish we were giving it away to locals. The condo itself was very comfortable and very clean. It was well equipped with most amenities however some of those mentioned on the VRBO site were not provided such as: basic soaps, paper towels, laundry soap, security system?, ice maker? whirlpool (maybe it's at another location on the grounds but we didn't see it). Only ONE roll of toilet paper was provided even though there are two washrooms. They provide beach chairs and an umbrella to take to the beach however no cooler which would have been useful. Lucky for us we met other people who were staying at Sombras and borrowed theirs when we visited playa Conchal. One annoyance was early in the morning the pool maintenance guy would use a "leaf blower" to clean up the area around the pool from fallen debris from the trees. This took place any time between 6:15/6:30 a.m. The condo itself was approximately a 7 minute walk to the main road and another 8 or so minutes to the main grocery stores (near Pacifico plaza). Lots of restaurants on the main road and vicinity to choose from. Many are closed at this time of year since it's not peak season. We enjoyed going to Le Coq (nothing fancy but great Lebanese food - simple and fresh). We of course ate lots of fish on the BBQ. The sitting area outside is great however the table is a low and not very comfortable if you choose to eat your meals outside. Note: an additional bank fee was applied to our payment when we got there and we were not made aware of it beforehand. It was around $12/$15 US in addition to the wire transfer of $30 US we had to pay initially in Canada. It's much easier when property owners use PayPal or Visa for payment since no additional fees to the customers apply and no need to go to the bank and get a wire transfer. Pillows need to be replaced; they are flat as pancakes.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Suzanne,
Many thanks for this constructive and straightforward review. It appears there are a few minor but nonetheless important things we need to re-discuss with our property managers Sonia and Hedson on site at Sombras. However allow me to comment on:
1. wire transfer charge at receiving bank in CR, for which we had informed you by email prior to you making such wire..there is always a charge applied by the receiving bank..in this case around $12 it seems. I would say a pleasant figure, considering your long-time trusted canadian bank taxed your account for $30.
2. Soaps and paper..it is the first time our property managers neglect this item..next time, if such a rare occurence manifests itself again, please advise them immediatly and they will send the maid over in an instant to supply these basic commodites - sorry this happened, I will call them today to make sure it was a one-time omission only.
3. Thank you for letting us know about the pillows, we will at the same time ask Hedson and Sonia to replace them - which they would gladly have done if you had requested of them at the time.
As for the whole of your review, again thank you, and very happy that your stay proved to be mostly a pleasant and comfortable experience. This is Costa Rica, not America..perfection is all around you in CR..and in a strange manner slowly makes its way to your soul, spirit and body.
Once again apologies for the pillows, and thank you for staying with us.
Sincerely, Paul
p.s..sorry again, forgot one item that you desired to be addressed..the ice makers. Well yes they are manual, 2 plastic molded gadgets in the freezer compartment that we had to bring from Canada because we could not find them in CR..the good old reliable manual type..finding a reliable automatic ice-making fridge in CR is a major challenge!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Fabulous Time at Sombras!

Review submitted: May 10, 2012   Date of arrival: March 26, 2012

My husband & I returned 2 weeks ago from a fabulous 5 week stay at Sombras. The condo is beautiful, & it's ground floor location just steps from the pool. The kitchen is very well stocked & as we ate in a number of times, cooking was made easy. The BBQ on the patio is awesome - wish we could find one like it at home, & we greatly appreciated the IPod dock. The beach is across the road & during our daily morning walks we were treated to countless monkey sightings, beautiful birds, iguanas - & lovely, friendly people. Coco is a very short walk either via the beach or road, & filled with fun little bars (Woody's was a late afternoon favourite for a beer & a plate of chili cheese fries!), restaurants (loved Andre's pizza place across from Woody's) & extremely well stocked grocery stores. Sitting at a table on the sand at Father Rooster's in Ocotal (a short cab ride) was another lunch favourite, & we enjoyed a fabulous dinner at Picante Restaurant in Ocotal. We did book a car with the help of Jeanne in the Sunset office for 2 weeks, & took ourselves to the Congo Canopy Trail to zipline (great fun!), to Palo Verde (highly recommend this boat trip down the river - so much wildlife to see), followed by a fabulous Costa Rican lunch. We visited Tamarindo (attempting the scenic route, which was a great adventure!). We also did a 2 night road trip to see the volcano at Arenal (beautiful!), & a night in Samara. While not necessary in Coco, the car gave us the freedom to go a little further afield & travel/see things at our own pace. I would like to say that the staff at Sunset were very helpful & pleasant, & dealing with Paul & Melissa was awesome. All our questions prior to booking were answered promptly & thoroughly, & we had the good fortune to have Melissa at Sombras during our entire stay. It was a pleasure getting to know her (& Sasha!), & she was always available to answer any questions or concerns we had. I will say that it was a delight to have as long as we did as were able to thoroughly relax, get the feel of the place & settle in. When we returned from our road trip, my husband commented on how good it was to "get home"! Coco was a great location, the condo perfect, the wildlife fabulous to have always present, the staff at Sombras so wonderful, from the security guards at the gate to the grounds keepers, & the Costa Rican people amongst the warmest, friendliest people we have had the pleasure to meet. Highly recommend! Thank you again Paul et Melissa!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you to both of you for this wonderful review.
It was a great pleasure to help you & assist you during your stay with us in Sombras.
It does feel like home even though you are in vacation !
We are both very happy that you had a great time with us in Coco.
All our best wishes.
Paul & Mélissa

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Vacances idylliques dans un superbe condo

Review submitted: March 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 27, 2012

Revue supplémentaire envoyé au nom de nos partenaires de voyage Madeleine et Denise à leur demande:

"Bonjour Mélissa

Quelles vacances idylliques dans votre coin enchanteur. Mélissa, merci pour ton accueil sympathique qui nous a immédiatement
fait sentir chez-nous. Votre superbe condo, totalement fonctionnel et de qualité supérieure est digne d’un ***** étoiles. Nous
avons grandement apprécié manger BBQ, prendre un verre sur notre terrasse et se rafraîchir dans la piscine à notre porte.
Playa Del Coco est le “ fun”et à proximité ainsi que le village où les bons restaurants abondent et les kiosques à souvenirs sont
sympas. Les tours furent extra-ordinaires. Nos têtes et nos cœurs débordent de souvenirs de cette rencontre avec une nature
exceptionnelle. Merci à Paul et à toi d`avoir partagé la Pura Vida.

Amicalement Denise et Madeleine (601)

Owners response: Merci à vous deux !

Grandes voyageuses ! Ce fût pour moi un plaisir de vous acceuillir dans ce petit paradis sur terre !
Vous serez toujours les bienvenues à Las Sombras.
Tout simplement Pura Vida !
Mélissa

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

What can I add to the other reviews...Part 2

Review submitted: March 22, 2012   Date of arrival: March 5, 2012

Finally, Playas del Coco is quite accessible with no more than a 30 minute drive from Liberia airport. Transfer to and from was coordinated by the owner (Paul) through the help of the property manager’s staff (Jeanne). We were awaited for upon our arrival by a friendly driver, sign in hand. As for Mélissa, the other owner, she takes much pride in hosting guests and ensuring all is to their liking. She always went the extra mile to ensure all questions were answered and provided us with a wealth of information everything from banking, shopping and touring. More than meeting an owner, we made a friend.
We have found memories of the people we met and the place itself and are looking forward to returning soonest. I highly recommend Sombras but please don’t book when I plan to rent it...Darn, maybe I should have toned down my review after all so I’m not scooped. Oh well too late now...
Mélissa, merci d'avoir contribué à rendre ce séjour si mémorable. Nous avons grandement apprécié ton amitié et espérons se revoir bientôt.

Owners response: Thank you !
Pleasure was all mine !
Looking forward meeting with you guys the following year !!!
Anytime, it will be a great pleasure to welcome you again at Las Sombras.
Enjoy and disfruta de la vida !
Pura Vida, Costa Rica
Mélissa

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

What can I add to the other reviews...Part 1

Review submitted: March 22, 2012   Date of arrival: March 5, 2012

Can I really add anything to what's been said in the other 9 reviews...well, I can at least try?
Let's start with location, location, location. Sombras has everything one may need to live comfortably in a condo, all within walking distance. From where the condo is located you can walk anywhere with no significant challenges (i.e. no hills, etc...). You can reach the town core (gift shops, restaurant and bar area) with a 10 minute walk and you can easily access a fully stacked North American style supermarket (auto Mercado) along with the San Jose bank which is located in the same complex, with a 15 minute walk. If you’d prefer, you can always take a cab to auto Mercado whereby it’s easy to flag one at the complex’s entrance which will bring you to there for 2USD (1000 Colones). Finally, you can access the beach by simply crossing the road at the complex’s entrance and within 5 minutes, you’re there.
In regards to banking, my ATM card worked fine but my wife’s did not, seemingly because our bank (Royal) deactivated hers concerned that, since we had not advised them of her intent to travel, they saw her withdrawal attempts as potentially fraudulent. Mine was fine as I regularly travel abroad. I suggest you check and advise your bank before leaving. Note that we were advised that it was preferable to use the San Jose bank (near Auto Mercado) when using the newer chip cards. It can provide you with an English interface and will issue money in either Colones or USD.
Now, for peace, quiet and comfort, this place comes second to none. With only 24 units and two separate pools you definitely won’t feel overcrowded. Being that this is a gated community, one cannot feel any more secure, not that you should be concerned though as everyone we met were friendly and Costa Rica is known for its political stability and peacefulness. But, more importantly, the condo has all the required amenities and is tastefully decorated. We even hooked up my laptop using an HDMI cable (bring your own) and watch pictures of our excursions or streamlined TV shows. The BBQ is where we cooked most of our meals and although I needed to adapt to how hotter it seemed to cook, I was able to master it, if I may say so myself.
Part 2 to follow

Owners response: Thank you Jacques.
Pleasure was all mine !
Anytime.... Yes, we did had a good time !
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us at Las Sombras.
It is a wonderfulf place to relax and "disfruta" !!!
Nosostros dicimos aqui "Pura Vida "
Au plaisir de vous revoir !
Mélissa

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Awesome, awesome, awesome!

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 6, 2012

What an amazing place! We had a fabulous time, with two boys aged 7 & 10. There are a number of retirees (Canadian) who rent in the Sombras over the winter. They are great and knowledgable about the area, and were happy to see the kids liven things up. They were super helpfu,l as were the owner and everyone we encountered in Costa Rica.

The Sombras was in the perfect location close to the beach, village and grocery stores. We couldn't have enjoyed our stay more! OK we could have but it would mean staying forever and alas retirement is a long way off. You will not be disappointed renting this condo!

Sara & Brent

Owners response: Thank you Sara & Brent..for the fine comments and for staying with us..truly I agree with you..a wonderful place to unwind and enjoy..the tyco way..manana...o la semana proxima..nothing is urgent..la pura vida de costa rica..hope to see you agan in playas del coco sometime soon..take good care...
melissa

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Great condo, perfect location

Review submitted: February 23, 2012   Date of arrival: February 13, 2012

We just got home after spending a week at Playa del Coco in Sombras. It's a beautiful property right across from the beach. The location is simply terrific - across from the beach, short walk to the town (our 4 year old could do it without any problems) and even shorter walk to the supermarket and a couple of nice restaurants. The property is incredibly well maintained and very secure. We absolutely loved it. The condo is nice and clean and nicely decorated. It has everything you need for a relaxing vacation. The property manager Sonia and the owner Melissa were helping us every step of the way with car/transfer arrangements and tours. Thank you both for your hospitality. I highly recommend this property - for a condo rental it doesn't get any better than this.

Owners response: Hi Julia & Cie... and welcome back home. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and truly enjoyable to spend good times together. Very grateful for you taking the time to write this review, your comments are most appreciated. Hopefully we will have the pleasure to meet again at Sombras next year. In the meantime, may you all have a fine '012 Year! Mélissa

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Incredible vacation / le meilleur site de Coco

Review submitted: January 20, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

Nous avons été enchantés et même surpris de la propreté et tranquillité.
Décidément un endroit pour ma retraite.
J'ai tellement aimé que nous planifions retourner l'an prochain.
Nous avons visité environ 6 autres unités de location et rien n'égale Las Sombras

Merci Paul pour tout

Owners response: Merci a vous, vraiment..sans votre présence et votre apport il me serait difficile de continuer a proposer cet endroit magique..je vous suis reconnaissant d'avoir pris un moment pour partager vos impressions sur Sombras et souhaite le plaisir de vous y recevoir de nouveau prochainement. Alors a une prochaine! Paul

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Fantastic!

Review submitted: December 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 12, 2011

Well here we are back in New Brunswick Canada after spending 3 terrific weeks at Sombras. This condo is beautifully decorated, well equipped and located close enough to the beach and town so we did not need to rent a car or even take a taxi. We enjoyed the pool right outside the condo and spent many afternoons reading quietly by the pool. We took some tours through CR Unique and Coco Adventures: Congo ziplining, Heliconias rain forest hike, Palo Verde tour where we fed the monkeys. We also went with CR Unique to Nicaragua, a truly amazing experience.
We had a perfect day sailing with Ferit on his new sail boat. Valerie was fantastic with lining up transportation from the airport and the sailboat ride.
We were so surprised by the number of Canadians that we met during our stay. The people in Costa Rica are so friendly and never once did we feel intimidated or in danger. We took flashlights with us for the after dark walks back from town. We were pleased to get to meet you, Paul, during our stay and enjoyed the drinks and music (CCR) around the pool. We highly recommend Costa Rica and as well Sombras to anyone looking for a memorable vacation. I am sure we will be back.
Thank you so much Paul for the use of your condo, we had a great time and will be in touch.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hey Carol and John...was my pleasure..all the way. TY for staying with us. We had a wonderful time. Excellente time. May the spirit of life be with you forever. Thank you!!

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Highly recommended

Review submitted: April 19, 2011   Date of arrival: February 7, 2011

Melissa & Paul, the location of yor property was right on. We could almost throw a rock to the beach from the security gate. Your condo is absolutely gorgeous. It was clean & well maintained. It's so beautifully decorated you could use it as a show room. We loved our morning & evening walks on the beach. Often we'd take our morning Baleys & coffee to the beach with us to sit & read or people watch. The monkeys were also a pleasue to observe just across the from the condo & we'd often see them downtown.
All the conveniences of home were at our fingertips. It was great to have the option of cooking or barbacuing. Not that we did that much in the 5 glorious weeks we were there as there was so many great places to eat in Playa del Coco we kinda got lazy.
If we had chosen to vacation in Playa Hermosa, Panama or Ocotal we would've been bored silly as we really didn't see anything there to do. We would've needed a car or spend a lot of money on taxi's. Playa del Coco has everything and all within a short walking distance.
Melissa & Paul, thank you so very much for everything. We have recommended your condo and Playa del Coco to our family and friends. We'd also recommend both to anyone who is looking for a wonderful relaxing or fun short or long term vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Jeanette,
Thank you very much for this excellent review, and for choosing to spend your holidays at Sombras. We are grateful for the time you have spent in sending us your comments and hope to have you again next year. With our most heartfelt regards, Melissa and Paul

Helpful votes: 24 / 24

 

Fantastique!! Magnifique séjour!

Review submitted: December 1, 2010   Date of arrival: November 12, 2010

Mélissa, Paul
Un petit mot afin de vous remercier pour tout..quel bel endroit, calme et serein, empreint d'une quelconque "magie" que nous ne saurions définir en quelques mots. Bref un magnifique condo totalement convivial dans une petite communité intime et luxueuse.
Magalie aimerait souligner l'extreme propreté ainsi que la disponibilité de toutes les commodités souhaitables dans votre charmant condo. De mon coté, je vous mentionnerai le charme unique et la beauté des lieux a Sombras..vraiment un endroit de reve!
La magnifique plage de Coco a 3 minutes de marche, les 2 merveilleuses piscines, le soin et l'attention portés aux jardins qui nous entourent, le plaisir de ne rien faire sur la terrasse du condo..un petit blanc, un bon livre, une petite baignade..et le BBQ pour nos excellentes grillades de boeuf et de poissons frais...vraiment parfait!!
Merci encore pour votre chaleureuse hospitalité et votre attention aux petits détails qui font toute la différence! Excellent séjour, a répéter autant de fois qu'il nous sera possible!
Magalie et moi vous souhaitons un merveilleux hiver dans votre merveilleux coin de paradis.
A une prochaine bientot,
Magalie et Louis
ps.. un gros merci a tout le personnel de Sombras, les jardiniers et les gars de la sécurité. Des gens tout a fait adorables!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Bonjour Magalie et Louis,
Ca fait plaisir de vous lire..merci pour vos commentaires, fort apprécié. Nous sommes heureux que votre séjour vous aie plu, c'est notre désir le plus cher et la raison de notre présence ici.
On essaie de se revoir au Québec pour une bonne bouffe dans quelques semaines? On vous appelle sitot de retour.
A bientot,
Mélissa et Paul

Helpful votes: 28 / 28

 

Most enjoyable!!

Review submitted: October 5, 2010   Date of arrival: October 2, 2010

Valerie,
We are still here, the 4 of us. Our 3rd day here. Thought we would surprise you with a short "review" while we are still enjoying.. loll
4 more days to go. It is around 8:00 am, John and myself just came back from a nice walk on the beach. The wifes are still sleeping. John is preparing coffee and I am on the patio with my faithful laptop writing this.. looking at the pool, the flora, and all the magnificient morning birds. We had BBQ last nite, ate outside, went for a little night swim, and a couple of drinks in the village at Zi bar..little costarican live band, a few couples on the dance floor..very nice, indeed. Walked back around 11:30, took us 8 minutes to the condo door. WE SIMPLY LOVE IT!
Did not even rent a car..no need, and what a healthy tinng to do, just walk..today we rent bicycles and are going to the monkey trail. A "live" review"!!
Have a great day, Val.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks to you, friends, for this much appreciated "review". Very happy that you enjoy your time amongst us. Have a Fine Day!!

Helpful votes: 36 / 36

 

We'll be back!!

Review submitted: September 29, 2010   Date of arrival: September 25, 2010

Hi Sonia,
Sasha and myself wish to thank you both for the fine weekend we just spent at your wonderful community. We arrived from Quebec saturday at Liberia Int'l airport, and your representative David actually found us in the crowd, such a nice young man. Felt good from the start..20 minutes drive, and here we were, at Sombras!!
What a fine little unique place this is..The condo also immediatly felt like home..Great job, all is there, nothing missing..even the Safe and ..the IRONING BOARD!! Wow!
And the 2 pools..So tasteful, so relaxing..the mature trees, flowers and luxuriant vegetation everywhere the eye looks. And the Fauna..birds. birds and all sorts of birds singing to us all the time, little friendly and colorful "geicos" full of curiosity, and the 2 baby girls Golden Retreivers..words are simply words, but "enchanting" could come close to try and summarize our experience at Sombras.
We will be back from the Volcanoes and Rain forests trip in about 7 ou 9 days..and will definitely be happy to rest for another 2-3 days in your enchanting little corner of paradise.
TY for suggesting we take a moment to write a "review" on VRBO. Although we had not found you on this site, well, for all the lucky ones to find you here, ENJOY!!
All the best,
Mélissa

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Have Fun on your adventure journey, and come back to us to rest well!! TY for your time in writing a "review" on VRBO, sharing with all..Très apprécié!! Merci

Helpful votes: 35 / 35

 

SUPER...IOR!!!

Review submitted: September 24, 2010   Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

My wife and I just spent 4 days in this wonderful little portion of Paradise, leaving for Panama city yesterday. Sonia and Hedson, I had to write this short note, if only to thank you for the wonder of it all.
In a few words....charming, enchanting, extra clean, tastefully furnished and decorated, and above all totally peaceful and intimate.
Ericka and myself also felt totally safe..I mean by this surrounded by well-intentionned people and of course your most respectful security staff on site, who were always "protecting" in a respectful and most discrete fashion. After 2 nights, we decided we could sleep with our patio room door open, only the screen door..sound of the waves breaking up, the birds singing in the morning. And so much more..the pools!! Humm..very Nice! And the walk to the beach , 2 minutes..and to the Coco village center..8 minutes!
Finally, in one word.. PERFECT!!
Thanks again, and see you again sometime in December.
With our kindest regards and appreciation.
Erika and Paul
ps..Sonia, my wife says TY for the pinneaple..totally tasty!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are the ones Thanking You! It was a pleasure to get to know you, and as we say, A bientot!
Safe travels!!

Helpful votes: 36 / 36

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review