reviews for: listing #33988 - Manhattan, New York Condo rental

Designer's Loft in Chelsea-Fireplace--Location
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Chelsea
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $220 - $500 /nt
    $2,500 - $3,500 /wk
    $8,500 - $9,000 /mth

sort by:

Perfect

Review submitted: May 1, 2014   Date of arrival: April 23, 2014

Our first trip to New York was fantastic and we really enjoyed this lovely Chelsea apartment. Great location, very clean, well equipped, quiet and comfortable. Susanna was delightful and efficient. We would definitely recommend this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfectly located, beautiful, clean and lovely loft !

Review submitted: January 19, 2014   Date of arrival: January 10, 2014

I am reluctant to give a positive review, but only because I want to save the place for ourselves! What a fantastic gem! We had the pleasure of staying in this loft this January. This was my first VRBO, and Susanna and Christine could not have made it more simple or been easier to work with. The loft itself is lovely, very large by NYC standards. It was very clean, and well stocked with all supplies necessary, lovely linens and abundance of towels. The storage capacity was incredible, with every inch of space utilized to its fullest. Located in hip Chelsea, for a true NYC experience. Close to the subway, as well as ideally located to grab a cab up or downtown. A full and spacious kitchen means flexibility around meal planning, a working fireplace, and ample space for folks to relax and rejuvenate after time in the city made this ideal for us. There are a number of good markets close by including West Wide market and the delightful Chelsea Market to stock fridge, as well as a number of nice restaurants within easy walking distance. Enjoyed dinner at LeZie, and Grey Dog.
We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you so much Tess, we are glad you had such a lovely time & we look forward to your next visit!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great apartment

Review submitted: March 23, 2013   Date of arrival: March 4, 2013

Lovely apartment in great location, lots of shops, resturants, bars just outside the door but when you are in the apartment you are not aware of the busy outside. Bedroom in the back of the aparetment means it is really quite so easy to get a good sleep. Had all the facilities we could want. Subway stations very close by.Christine was easy to deal with. Was nice to be in Chelsea would definately use this apartment again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Chelsea Loft

Review submitted: January 23, 2013   Date of arrival: November 29, 2012

Had a wonderful time! This location is excellent! JoAnne is a pleasure to deal with. I was a novice at booking through Home Away and she was very kind and patient with the multitude of questions that I asked. The apartment is as advertised. We found it to be very clean with all the amenities that were promised. Many shops and restaurants are within walking distance as well as the subway station and we had no problem hailing taxis on Eighth Ave. (The Grey Dog on 16th serves a wonderful breakfast!) My only word of caution would be to those who have trouble navigating stairs. The loft is two flights up and the steps are a little uneven. With that said, I would definitely recommend this apartment!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous is right!

Review submitted: October 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 11, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in this wonderful loft last weekend and loved it. Great space and location.

The kitchen/living area was spacious and provided great amenities and plenty of storage space for our belongings.

The bedroom and bathroom were nice and decent in size for NYC.

Yes, you hears a little city noise in the living area (you are in a big city, after all) but the bedroom was very quiet and peaceful.

The little balcony off the back was quaint. The courtyards below are not an overly attractive view but the balcony provides a little outdoor space for coffee or a smoke.

Everyone was wonderful throughout the entire process, from making and finalizing our reservations with JoAnn, to being met upon our arrival by a very helpful Emerson.

We were sad to leave and will absolutely stay here again upon our return to NYC.

Owners response: Hi Anne,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review - it was an absolute pleasure accommodating you and your boyfriend..Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are looking forward to accommodating you again soon. I'm always happy to answer any questions you may have, and make your NY experience the best it can be. Our goal and mission is to create and provide your "Home Away From Home," that's why we have so many return guests. Warm regards, JoAnn

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Not Disappointed! It's so New York!

Review submitted: September 30, 2012   Date of arrival: September 23, 2012

My 24 year old daughter, a friend of mine and myself, just had a 3 night stay in Chelsea. I do not understand the poor reviews of this loft. Yes, it is an older place; yes, some of the rooms are small; yes, it has a two-flight walk-up(wasn't bad at all); yes, there is some street noise in the living area. Is that not all part of the NYC experience? The loft is cute as can be - exactly, like the pictures show. It was clean and well-maintained. The bedroom and bathroom are somewhat on the small side (but again, is that not expected and the norm for NYC?), but the living area and kitchen are good sized. The sheets and towels and kitchen wares were up to expectations. Emerson was there to meet us and to help us get settled in. The owner, Christine, and the manager, JoAnn, were very accomodating(with arrival and departure times, etc.) and provided a list of: eating places, transportation(including a car service, that we used more than a taxi), and area attractions, etc. The location was fun - within walking distance of: the Wendy Williams Show(fun), Chelsea Pier(very unique market place), an outdoor market(fun; just a few blocks from Chelsea Pier), the "High Line", food markets, resturants, pharmacies, and subways. The loft was much enjoyable, than a hotel room. I would recommend this property to friends and relatives, and I would stay there again. I had never used vrbo.com before and was a little skeptical (afraid it may be a scam), but I was not disappointed or scammed. Not nearby the loft, but, certainly, worth a subway or Hop On - Hop Off bus ride or car service ride for a meal is: Joe's Shanghiis in Chinatown, Vincent's in Little Italy, Daniela (fantastic breakfast) at 728 8th Ave.(near Times Square) and Juniors (best NY cheesecake we had, and we had some from several places; also, had great fried chicken) near Times Square. Thanks for a memorable experience!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi Cindy,
Thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed the apartment and the fantastic location. We do our very best to ensure that everyone is well cared for and that the apartment is always in perfect condition. We look forward to your return.
Warm regards,
JoAnn

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Awesome Place!

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

We loved this apartment!! Located in central Chelsea this place is a cute 1 bedroom apartment, much more intimate and quaint than staying in a hotel. The furnishings were very modern (the airplane fan was great!) and the linens were top of the line and comfortable. I would definitely recommend this rental, and plan to use again if we need to stay in NYC!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Apartment!

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

We loved this apartment!! Located in central Chelsea this place is a cute 1 bedroom apartment, much more intimate and quaint than staying in a hotel. The furnishings were very modern (I love the airplane fan!) and the linens were top of the line and comfortable. I would definitely recommend this rental, and plan to use again if we need to stay in NYC!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Truth in Advertising!

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

Lorraine & I stayed at this lovely appartment early in the year & are planning a new visit this fall.
I can say I have read all the reviews posted & they are all accurate & reflect our own experience except for "Think twice". We have travelled extensively
usually booking "self catering" villas,cottages or B&B's as we find Hotels a very sterile experience. Most hosts & owners are proud of their properties &
go out of their way to make your stay wonderful,this one is no exception.It is the perfect location to explore NYC. If you have any concerns "Don't think twice,it's allright".

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Love this place!

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: May 9, 2011

I have stayed at this fantastic downtown loft apartment several times and would highly recommend it. The apartment has everything you need and want in downtown NYC including a beautifully renovated kitchen with slate countertops, high threadcount sheets, a wonderful bathroom plus funky decor. And the location can't be beat - walkable to amazing shops and restaurants or to the subway. I noticed an earlier review about noise from the restaurant but I can confidently say that is not an issue. The bedroom is very quiet and I've never had problems sleeping there. I would definitely come back here!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

think twice

Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

it didnt start well when on arrival you are asked to ring, 25 calls, 8 messages, 0 responses. a stressful start to our holiday not knowing if anybody would be at the appt to let us in. Still have not had a response 3 weeks later.
the pictures are decieving, not as large as it looks and in poor condition both in terms of state of repair and cleanliness. It really does need refurbing. Crockery and cuttlery are mismatch items. Various bits of clothing etc left in wardrobes etc. General state of repair poor, couch needs replacing, router broken etc etc
Their is a restaurant downstairs which closes up between midnight and 3am depending on what day it is, it is very noisey and makes a good nights sleep very difficult.
The positives are singular, very good location for exploring new york, everything is at hand in walking distance, metros easy to get to.
Overall, for the cost i would recommend you book into a hotel (5*).

Owners response: Anybody who has stayed with us knows that Emerson is ALWAYS at the apartment to greet you, even if your flight is hours late. On this occasion, Emerson's cell phone battery ran dead, so he didn't answer. It takes about 30 minutes to arrive at the apartment from most airports, so I think the guest need not have been so concerned, Emerson was of course there when he arrived. The loft is 800SF, or 75 Square Metres, a generously proportioned one bedroom by US, Canadian or European standards. The restaurant garden by LAW must be cleared by latest midnight or risk heavy fine. The restaurant uses the garden floors below the loft only seasonally and under most circumstances it is vacated early. Heavy drapes, A/C and triple paned doors block out 99% of any noise, and it is on general a VERY quiet apartment, especially considering one is in the center of NYC. I respectfully disagree with the other comments, we constantly restock, revisit, and change out items in the apartment to ensure our guests' comfort, and take any feedback seriously. The guest shared with me that he found New York City AND its people in entirety an unpalatable place. I am sorry he did not enjoy his trip, but I'm afraid he chose this website as the venue to express his disappointment in the city at large. We offer a great apartment, we can't control the rest of your travel experience!

After reading this guests review, another renter expressed concern, but rented the apartment nonetheless. Here's what that couple had to share about their experience;

Hi! I just want to let you know that this past week we had the pleasure of renting your apartment in Chelsea and it was great. The apartment was very clean and in wonderful condition despite the comments that we spoke about that were left by one reviewer. I particularly loved the luxury of the Egyptian cotton linens, everything looked very new to me. It is a beautiful apartment! My biggest concern was the remark about the noise since we were there with our 2 year old and believe me he wakes up at the least sound. I’m delighted to say that he slept like a baby ;) as did we. Especially since the restaurant is two floors below us and appears to close between 10 and 10:30pm! Also, was wondering if we wanted to rent it again if you had any availability for Oct 21-28th when we will be returning to New York on business. Thanks so much! Chloe & Ethan

Helpful votes: 9 / 17

 

Excellent property - have your own NYC apartment for a week!

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

My friend and I are just getting ready to end our four-night stay at this apartment and say goodbye to NYC. I can say, without equivocation, that I will very likely end up renting this property when I am back in town later this year. It is a perfect mix of luxury, that come-home-after-a-long-day feel, and that NYC ecclectic vibe.

No problems with noise, everything was clean; kitchen, internet and everything else were great! I highly recommend inquiring about this property - the owner and agent are very nice and will make sure you have a pleasant stay.

Recommended for: tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Perfect place to stay in NYC!

Review submitted: August 22, 2010   Date of arrival: June 30, 2010

Me and my two teenage daughters stayed in th is Chelsea loft for 8 days of vacation beginning of July, 2010 and the loft made our stay in NYC perfect! Before arriving there we were a bit worried that the traffic noise would be a problem but the loft was very quiet. It was clean, with a nice open design and especially the full kitchen and bathroom were beautiful and seemed to have been renovated recently. It was great comfort to have both a washing machine, tumble drier and dishwasher in the loft and the wireless internet made it easy to follow interesting events in the City on a daily basis. Even if the temperature during our stay were very high, up in the 90’s, the air conditioning worked fine. It was easy to get in contact with the owner or her assistant and all arrangements mentioned in the rental contract worked out just as decided. We also got a lot of advice from the owner about restaurants, galleries, shopping etc. in Chelsea, Soho, Greenwich Village and Meatpacking which was really value added to us. But best of all was the great location of the loft – really in the heart of Chelsea, close to subways, restaurants, supermarket, banks, coffee shops, walking distance to Meatpacking, Soho, Greenwich Village, Times Square, Broadway, even East side and Central Park. The loft was indeed a perfect place to navigate the City from! We’re already longing to go back to NYC and when we do we hope the loft will be available for us! Maria, Felicia, Agnes

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Maria,
Thank you so much for the fabulous review. We are so pleased that you and your daughters had such a great stay in the apartment. We are looking forward to your next visit.
All the best to you and your family,
JoAnn

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

We had a wonderful time..

Review submitted: May 20, 2009   Date of arrival: May 5, 2009

We stayed in this beautiful apartment with our two teenager kids and had a wonderful time for 6 nights. It is very spacious, the kitchen is well equiped, the bedroom almost always very quite. The owner was nice and helpfull.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 2, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

My friend and I stayed here in May 2008 and we had a great time experiencing NYC in the heart of Chelsea. The location is central to most Metro lines and also provides plenty of spots to eat. The loft itself was very cozy and beautifully decorated. Staying here definitely provided a more "local" NYC experience we were new to!

Helpful votes: 14 / 15

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 3, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

I stayed in your loft in Chelsea with my sister and brother-in-law in April 2008 for 10 days. We absolutely loved it and we felt more than comfortable - a home away from home. It's in such a great location - we LOVE Chelsea! It was real pleasure staying there.

Helpful votes: 29 / 29

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review