reviews for: listing #33991 - Manhattan, New York Studio rental

The Ultra Cool Midtown Super Studio *Extended Stay Discounts
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Midtown
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $189 - $395 /nt
    $4,650 - $6,200 /mth

sort by:

Enjoyed our Stay

Review submitted: October 14, 2008   Date of arrival: September 26, 2008

My daughter and I stayed for two weeks and we enjoyed the location. Walking distance to Times Square but far enough away to be off the real Tourist area. The studio apartment was clean and neat. The kitchen was better than expected but there was no toaster or baking tray in oven to cook toast! Bathroom clean and modern. It would be too small for 4 people though. The doormen were friendly and we felt very safe. It was great that there is a laundry onsite also. Some excellant restaurants close by.
I would stay there again and recommend to anyone travelling to NYC. Thank you to Peter for his courteous emails and sending the receipt promptly. Loved New York! Great stay.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 41 / 43

 

Perfect Location * Clean * Live Like a Local

Review submitted: December 8, 2013   Date of arrival: November 30, 2013

Perfect Location / Easy access: We left our car on Long Island, took a train to the Port Authority and walked the few blocks to this apartment. 24 hour front desk, studio apartment clean and included all amenities noted. Restaurant Recommendation: Friendly residents, one of whom recommended "Mercato" (Southern Italian) - 352 W 39th & 9th Ave for dinner. Intimate and welcoming. Excellent food and wine list including Duecorti Barolo 2008 by the glass. If you're interested in buying fabric "Mood" is a 2 block walk (you're in the garment district). If you want to see "Betrayal" or "The Snow Geese" on Broadway, an 8 minute walk. Walk the High Line. Short walk to Chelsea Market. 2 subways stops to Union Square Holiday Market. A short walk to Grand Central Station to view Guastavino's tiles and arches. Enjoy lunch at the Oyster Bar (ask for the sandwich menu for the PoBoy). Food shopping - we recommend Trader Joe's (W 72nd Street) - short subway trip. Katz's wins our vote for the best Matzoh Ball Soup and Russ and Daughters have the best white fish salad. We lived like a local for a week and loved it. We live in the city in DC so we're accustomed to cars/buses/trucks honking their horns. Might be an issue for some (the apt is located at the entrance to the Lincoln Tunnel).

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

nice

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 27, 2013

good location !
perfect service !

i have my own vacation rental home as well.
we made a reservation because we have overbooking.

my customer really liked it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Nice Apartment-Good Location

Review submitted: April 11, 2013   Date of arrival: April 3, 2013

The apartment was just as shown in the pictures, nice modern decor and clean. It contained everything we needed for our week stay. Alec responded quickly when we had a issue getting internet connectivity. The building is well maintained and located centrally for travel throughout the city. It is a short walk to the subway and just blocks from Times Square and Broadway. The only negative thing we experienced with the apartment was that the AC hadn't been turned on in the building and it was very warm during part of our stay.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Good Place to Stay

Review submitted: October 30, 2012   Date of arrival: October 2, 2012

The apartment was exactly as advertised. The location is all right, convenient to the 9th and 10th Avenue buses and the 8th Avenue subway line. The neighborhood is an interesting mix of commercial and residential places. There are good restaurants and shopping within walking distance. The 24-hour deli directly across the street is convenient. We found the people we dealt with (Alec and Aida) very pleasant. We had some problems with the TV cable reception and Alec straightened them out quickly. We had a very long flight into JFK and Aida made it possible for us to check in earlier than normal.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Good choice in Manhattan

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

I stayed here for 30 days on summer and I had an excellent stay. Nice staff, quick email answers, very good and clean apartment. Nothing to complain about. I would recommend it a thousand times.

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 7 / 10

 

Clean, comfortable, modern = brilliant stay

Review submitted: May 23, 2012   Date of arrival: September 14, 2011

My mum and I stayed here for 10 days in September 2011. The apartment is very clean, comfortable and modern. For a studio apartment we found it spacious with plenty of room for the two of us.
The kitchen was large with an excellent range of appliances, pots, pans, cutlery dishes etc. The fridge was large and there was also a huge gas oven/stove.
The bathroom was very clean and it was lovely to have fresh towels supplied on arrival and it was great to have shampoo and soap supplied.
I stayed on the sofa bed, while at first I thought it was a little hard, I quickly got used to it but like anywhere new it can take a little while to get used to a new bed. Mum said the bed was really comfortable.
It was very handy having the wireless internet as most nights we ordered take out online from the local area. There's such a variety of yummy restaurants nearby and most do delivery! So good after an exhausting day walking around the city.
At first we thought it was a little noisy, but that's understandable it's New York and right above the entrance to the Lincoln Tunnel. But you quickly get used to it. (Very different from our quiet street at home with no traffic!)
The location is excellnt - it's in walking distance to Times Square, Macy's, Empire State Building, the bus station, Madison Square Garden etc.
Any questions we had we could easily email or call Alec and he answered really quickly. We especially liked the small welcome gift on arrival, such a nice touch.
It was also comforting to know that the building had 24 hour concierge who we got to know during our stay. We arrive late at night (11pm) and there were no hassles with getting the key or entering the apartment.
Cannot reccommend this apartment enough. I would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 

Lenore California....LOVED IT!

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

The studio and pics were so accurate, and the location was ideal. 7 blocks from Times Square, 4 blocks from Penn Station, subway 2 blocks and fantastic restaurants all around. The kitchen didn't have alot of utensils but it is NY, who eats in. Basics were there for coffee, breakfast snacks and frig was nice (with reasonable bottled water chilled!). I wouldn't stay anywhere else but here in the future, that is how great it was. The price is better than any small hotel we could have gotten. I hope it is available next time I go to new York.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Great & clean appartment!

Review submitted: March 17, 2012   Date of arrival: March 7, 2012

We booked the appartment for 6 nights & we had a great stay in New York!!
The appartment is very clean, spacious & good location. Near to 34th Herald square with the metro & all kinds of shopping facilities. Additionally, the neighbourhood is ok to stay & if you are tired of walking all day there are a lot of good restaurant possibilities around the corner.

Besides the stay, the booking, payment & communication through email went all ok and on time.
We would recommend this appartment to everybody who is searching for a clean & good place to stay.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Excellent apartment and location

Review submitted: March 16, 2012   Date of arrival: December 31, 2011

This was THE perfect apartment for my needs. The facility is fantastic, there is a 24 hr. doorman, the in-house laundry and fitness facility were awesome, and the groceries, restaurants, and other drugstore/liquor store needs were all within easy, easy access. The apartment was very clean and well appointed. The kitchen furnishings were fabulous. And Alec and his staff were extraordinary. I HIGHLY recommend this place. You will not be disappointed with it at all. Ideal location and great high quality place.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Perfect Accommodation

Review submitted: October 17, 2011   Date of arrival: October 2, 2011

Our Stay in one of Yuki's studio appartments was fantastic! It lived up to all that it promises on the VRBO listing and is true to all the other positive feedback other guests have given. The room looked exactly like the pictures on the site and was so spacious compared to other places in NYC. Despite being so close to all the action, we didn't hear any noise at all and were very happy with the location. So many of our friends recommended hotels in midtown and against their better judgement I decided to book with Yuki and I am glad I did! From the time I booked and paid to the time we checked out, everything was easy - good communication, great location, safe environment and stylish! It was perfect and I recommend to all.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Reasonable Deal

Review submitted: August 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

Background: upper middle class family of three (including 16-yr.-old daughter) from a Chicago suburb on vacation for a week at the start of Aug. I value A/C on hot days, which were in abundance during our stay. We stayed in one of several units that the landlord has in a building in W. Midtown. All units are supposed to be alike. NYC is expensive & space-limited. Given that, this unit was a reasonable deal. The studio apt. was generally as pictured. All clean and fairly modern. The photos are artfully shot to make the unit appear a bit larger than it is (perhaps 450 sq. ft.), sufficient for 3 people, but not spacious. The walk-in closet near the door to the unit (shown on the floor plan) was a locked maid's closet, unavailable for use by the renter. The unit and furniture is well designed. High marks to the couch that folds flat into a full-sized, surprisingly comfy bed, suitable for one large person. Sheets are provided. The true Queen bed in the unit was comfortable if you like firm beds. The "central" A/C was a single floor unit (visible in one picture) with high and low fan buttons & a warm-to-cool dial. Our A/C did not seem to blow faster on the high setting than the low. A provided small portable fan placed over the A/C unit helped to blow the cool air throughout the unit and make it comfortable, although somewhat noisy & a bit warmer than the building hall and lobby. The living room table is small (suitable for 2 people to eat on); 2 folding chairs are OK. A wood parquet floor was nice, but creaked a bit. The bath was fairly modern with large mirrors and space for toiletries. It needed an exhaust fan for steam after a shower. Body wash is provided in two dispensers, as is kleenex and plenty of TP. Towels were newish; 4 each of bath, hand, and washcloths were provided for a week. Shower water was hot and drained well. The galley kitchen was relatively roomy. It had a full dish washer, range/oven, microwave, and coffee maker. No toaster or toaster/oven is pictured, and none was provided, despite the landlord's assurance to the contrary in an e-mail before we booked. There are pots, a small teflon pan, cooking utensils, plastic mixing bowls, and service for 6, although some bowls & silverware were missing. A vigorous exhaust fan in the kitchen helped circulate air in the unit. The free wi-fi worked great, even with 2 computers. The TV was fine. Pay laundry in the bldg. was very nice. 24 hr. concierge/maintenance men were super helpful and responsive.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 21 / 23

 

Nice apartment!

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

Our unit was on the 11th floor-very little traffic noise. Futon made a good extra bed for our 16 yr old daughter, other bed was a queen. Apt was clean, building staff friendly and helpful. Studio was about 500 SF, which is big by NY standards. Apt168 people did all that was promised. Only complaint was no toaster. AM/PM mini-mart right across the street. 3 blocks to subway at Penn Station (34th St)A,C,E line-not the best but OK to get around. Husband thought AC could be better, but temps were in the 90s.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

best week ever

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

This apartment was perfect!! Very clean. The owner was very accomodating. I would recommend this to anyone visiting NYC. Much better than a hotel and still very convenient to Times Square, Broadway, subway, etc. We stayed in a hotel last year and wanted an apartment experience this year. Will defintely stay here again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Excellent rental in Midtown Manhattan

Review submitted: February 17, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

We really appreciated the location and the features of this place. It was quite comfortable, easy walking to anywhere in midtown. We also walked to Central Park, to World Trade Center from the apartment.
We also got a baby bed for our baby of 1 year old, a late checking out...No extra charge!
Alec and Yuki are very flexible and we appreciated it. Thank you so much!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Perfect NY rental....

Review submitted: December 17, 2010   Date of arrival: December 9, 2010

Two girlfriends and I recently stayed at Hudson Crossing apartments. The apartment was in a perfect location; within walking distance to Times Square, Fashion District, incredible night life & entertainment. It was really easy to catch a cab in front of the buidling; but if you wanted to stay in there is an am/pm store across the street from the building (try the Cuban hero - it's awesome), a delish Thai restaurant (the Mojitos are great), and an authentic Italian restaurant (I recommend the chicken parm)....all just across the street (there are several others, but these are the only we patroned in the neighborhood). The building has a secured entry, with a beautiful lobby, and a 24-hour doorman. The apartment we stayed in (on the 14th floor) was very clean, beautifully furnished, and had comfortable bedding; we had an awesome view of the New Yorker hotel & the Empire State Building from our window!!!! One of my girlfriends had to sleep on the futon, which was VERY comfy!!! Of course, this is a studio apartment - small, but has everything you need. The kitchen was perfect, granite counter tops, glassware, a few pots & pans provided, and coffee pot. They provided earplugs, but I found that the traffic noise didn't keep me from sleeping (it was barely audible from the 14th floor) and was almost soothing. The other tenants in the building were very quiet, extremely polite & helpful! I would definitely recommend this apartment to ANYONE!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great Stay!

Review submitted: September 17, 2010   Date of arrival: October 15, 2009

I wanted to take my 10 year old to New York City so I looked into several places through the VRBO site...many were scams. After I spoke with both Yuki and Peter, I was happy to finally secure a place without fear of being ripped off!

While our studio apartment was tight for 4 people, it was very nice and clean. I loved the feel of being right in the middle of everything. The bus station and subway station were both within an easy walk and I always felt safe in the neighborhood. The Javitz center was within walking distance as was Madison Square Gardens.

We will definitely be going back and staying at Apartment 168!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Great self- contained apartment in Manhattan

Review submitted: June 15, 2010   Date of arrival: May 9, 2010

A well positioned, clean and beautifully maintained apartment. The amenities of an onsite laundry room, 24 hour security/concierge and gym facilities were very much appreciated by us as travellers. We would certainly recommend this apartment to friends and relatives.

Yuki responded promptly to our booking request. The personal welcome note was delightful.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: June 14, 2010   Date of arrival: May 24, 2010

Very nice studio, just few blocks from Javits Center. Very clean and comfortable. Just a little bit noisy because of traffic, but this NYC!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Place for my Father while he was in town for the Big East Tournament!

Review submitted: May 26, 2010   Date of arrival: March 9, 2010

My father typically stays at the Marriott but, when I saw the proximity to Madison Square Garden and the cost he would save, I thought he should give it a shot. He did and absolutely loved it. He's already booked there for his trip here this summer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

marsha Vayvada, joey notes

Review submitted: May 26, 2010   Date of arrival: May 14, 2010

Great location, clean and nicely decorated. I rented two studio apartments for my group. We needed to be close to the Javits Center for the National Stationery Show and we were. In addition, we seemed convenient to everything in Manhattan. I look forward to staying here again. Thank you, Yuki.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Apt is nice... but... noise is not worth it.

Review submitted: May 24, 2010   Date of arrival: May 20, 2010

the actual apartment is nice, and clean... (although there was a strange smell when first entering, possibly a pet used to live there). But, the location is very poor. From 10pm until 4am all you hear is the Lincoln Tunnel traffic. Even with the windows closed, and blinds down, there is very loud noise, and very bright light. I would suggest that the owner gets VERY heavy drapes. That would help drown out the sound and the light.

I have stayed at many hotels throughout Manhattan and all of them had better sound insulation.

I can not recommend staying here unless there are changes made.

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Owners response: All of our units are equipped with blinds and feature windows that are double paned to reduce the sounds of the city. This is one of the great cities of the world known for its hustle and bustle so not everyone is used to that.

Helpful votes: 8 / 11

 

Would rent again in a NY minute!

Review submitted: May 20, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

Husband and I rented this studio for a one week visit. It was perfect for our needs, just as described in the listing and Yuki and his team are professional and courteous. 24 hour concierge always greeted us and I think there might even have been coffee/pastries on weekday mornings.
Location-wise it was close enough to walk to Times Square w/o all the racket. It was a couple of blocks to the 34th/Penn subway but just half a block from the 11/16 line bus which we discovered halfway through our stay.
It was just big enough for the two of us and very clean and modern in appliances, fixtures and decor. Only two suggestions, a pair of scissors in the kitchen were the only 'utensil' that was missing and a clothes hook on the back of the bathroom door would have been handy for hanging my pjs.
I've already told interested friends about this place should they ever make it to NYC.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Totally Impressed!!

Review submitted: May 17, 2010   Date of arrival: April 22, 2010

We booked 2 suites with Yuki the day before we arrived in NYC after being scammed by someone else. Right away we were impressed as he helped us out and worked with us, even with such short notice. When we arrived we were amazed, the apartments looked "exactly" like the pictures, there were little welcome notes and chocolates on our beds. The place was very well kept and clean. The location was also perfect! Just a short walk to Time Square, Madison Square Gardens and the subway Anything we needed was taken care of right away. I have already recommended Apartment 168 to a couple friends, and if we ever needed a place to stay while in NYC again, this would be our first choice without a doubt!! Thanks Yuki!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

pretty accurate, though doesn't mention it's also near entrance to Lincoln Tunnel and can be noisy

Review submitted: May 17, 2010   Date of arrival: April 23, 2010

I really liked this place. it was quite comfortable, easy walking to anywhere in midtown. was disappointed I couldn't get wireless to work, but I think it was software in my computer and not the network's fault. owner was really flexible on letting me drop bags before check-in time and check out later than scheduled time. Place was really clean, simple decor (which I like). Perfect for one person - definitely doable for 2 people. would rent again, even with the noise from nearby Lincoln tunnel entrance - just part of being in NYC.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: City noise is tough to avoid in NYC and everyone's sensitivity to it is different. All of our units feature double paned glass windows to block out noise and we also have units that face the Hudson River for those needing an extra quiet experience.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great NYC place to stay!

Review submitted: April 20, 2010   Date of arrival: April 6, 2010

We've stayed in various places over the years while visiting NYC. This was the first time at one of Yuki's places. It was an excellent choice and a great find through the internet site. Yuki was extremely helpful and acommodating. The entire booking and payment transaction was via the web. Yuki communicated with us through email which he always responded to within minutes. Check in was smooth with the on site staff person who was very accustomed to the process. The building has primarily full time residents and well maintained. The studio was about 450 sf with a queen size bed and brand new convertible euro-style sofa that configured into a very comfortable full size bed for my eleven year old. Any adult would fit fine. There was a fully equipped kitchen. Bathroom was bright and clean. The studio was furnished with a small sound system, LCD/DVD player, and basic cable TV service. The view was a decent city view with a peek-a-boo view of the river. The very best feature of the property was it's location. It was two streets and one avenue away from Penn Station so it made our transit from JFK to the apartment an easy Airtrain/Metro and 5 minute walk. We were able to go everywhere through the Metro. Times Square and great restaurants / markets/ shops were within 2-3 avenues and streets north and south of the location. It was 10-15 minute walk to the Javits Convention Center, Intreprid ship and local cruise services at the river. Overall, this property was great value, convenient, comfortable and well located. I look forward to another stay soon. Thanks Yuki!

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Holiday Haven

Review submitted: April 7, 2010   Date of arrival: March 14, 2010

We were delighted when we stepped into this apartment. It was clean and modern, just as described, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The location was very convenient - short walking distance from the main bus station (Port Authority), Penn Station, Madison Square Garden and Times Square, but was at good distance from all the traffic so we didn't need earplugs to sleep. There are also a few good local eateries nearby and a 24hr deli just across the road.

Will strongly consider staying here again if we ever have the chance to visit New York again, and have already recommended it to family and friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful and affordable stay at NY!

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: March 26, 2009

Wonderful, clean, lighty and cool appartment very near to Times Square.
Nice buiding with all facilities: 24h door-man, laundry, terrace... very safe.
Yuki is a great professional always available on-line and very kind.

I would definitively come back to these appartments when I come back to NYC!!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved it!

Review submitted: February 19, 2010   Date of arrival: February 11, 2010

The apartment was fantastic - with all the advantages of a hotel,(security, concierge) and so many others - a VIEW!, modern kitchen, refrigerator etc, plus access to a washing machine - especially handy when you're on the go) and none of the many disadvantages. The team was terrific, very helpful and responsive. While the aprt is not in the most happening of areas, is close enough to get where you need to be - either downtown or midtown/uptown - and the facilities and ther view make up for that anyway. Wonderful set-up that we will definitely want to use again. F&R

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had a great time!

Review submitted: February 6, 2010   Date of arrival: December 4, 2009

By: Christina C

This is the first time I have used Airbnb. I was very skeptical and hesitant but I decided to give it ago. It was the best decision I made on my whole trip. The apartment was excellent in everyway. It had all that we needed, a clean bed to sleep, a clean bathroon and a clean kitchen. We couldn't have asked for more. It was also quite stylish and nicely furnished. The location was brilliant, it was so close to times square and the sub way. There were also many nice little resturants all with in a short walk. Finally Yukimark was excellent to deal with, he was easily contactable and answered all our questions. We had a brilliant time in New York and this apartment was part of it. Thank you so much Yuki!

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had a great time

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: January 10, 2010

#

Searched around for a place in NYC. I typically stay in trendy hotels and still wanted that feel, but for a 6 night stay, I wanted something less stressful than a hotel. I found Yuki's place and I am glad I did. From the very beginning, Yuki was prompt, professional, helpful and speedy, very speedy with his responses on airbnb. I was totally blown away (in a good way), as I did not know what to expect. With everything set, I arrived in NYC and the apartment building which was super nice!! Doorman, safe, beautiful, everything one wants when arriving to a big city. I easily received my key to the very Mod apartment. I opened the door to TONS of light, an amazing view overlooking Manhattan, a clean modern studio apartment. I looked around the place.. Notes. Kitchen-everything you need to cook a full 6 course meal for 4 people. I kid you not they had tons of cooking items, not food, but bowls, plates, silverware, glasses, pots, pans, ect.. the list goes on. The frig is big and super clean. Livingroom area- Clean, beautiful couch/fold out. I swear it was brand new as with everything in the apartment. One thing that I thought was perfect was a map of NYC, a tube of toothpaste, beacsue we all forget ours!! and a tin of Altoids (breath mints) a nice touch!! bathroom- again.. SUPER CLEAN!! And the touch of Apt 168 labeled products- body wash and lotion! Super cool! I felt like I staying at a super high-end hotel with the small items that Yuki has in apartment I rented. Pros- close to all the subways, theatres, movies, museums, restaurants-tons. Cons- hmmm. None! Thank you Yuki !! I will return every time I travel to NYC!!!

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: February 4, 2010

Searched around for a place in NYC. I typically stay in trendy hotels and still wanted that feel, but for a 6 night stay, I wanted something less stressful than a hotel. I found Yuki's place and I am glad I did. From the very beginning, Yuki was prompt, professional, helpful and speedy, very speedy with his responses on airbnb. I was totally blown away (in a good way), as I did not know what to expect. With everything set, I arrived in NYC and the apartment building which was super nice!! Doorman, safe, beautiful, everything one wants when arriving to a big city. I easily received my key to the very Mod apartment. I opened the door to TONS of light, an amazing view overlooking Manhattan, a clean modern studio apartment. I looked around the place.. Notes. Kitchen-everything you need to cook a full 6 course meal for 4 people. I kid you not they had tons of cooking items, not food, but bowls, plates, silverware, glasses, pots, pans, ect.. the list goes on. The frig is big and super clean. Livingroom area- Clean, beautiful couch/fold out. I swear it was brand new as with everything in the apartment. One thing that I thought was perfect was a map of NYC, a tube of toothpaste, beacsue we all forget ours!! and a tin of Altoids (breath mints) a nice touch!! bathroom- again.. SUPER CLEAN!! And the touch of Apt 168 labeled products- body wash and lotion! Super cool! I felt like I staying at a super high-end hotel with the small items that Yuki has in apartment I rented. Pros- close to all the subways, theatres, movies, museums, restaurants-tons. Cons- hmmm. None! Thank you Yuki !! I will return every time I travel to NYC!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 7, 2009   Date of arrival: July 7, 2009

clean and comfortable, very modern facilities

would definitely recommend and use again when
necessary

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 29, 2009   Date of arrival: May 29, 2009

Our stay in the studio apt. at 400 W 37 St. was very pleasant. The building is handsomely decorated, with courteous 24-hr. security at the front desk.The hallways were clean and quiet. The apartment, which was on a high floor, had two very large windows facing south and was very bright. The decor in the apartment was stylishly simple, befitting a small space. The bed was very comfortable. The small kitchen had new appliances, and was quite adequate for our purposes. The only suggestion we would have concerns the shower pressure, which we feel could have been stronger. The convenience to the theatre district and chelsea were plusses, and the neighborhood had quite a few small restaurants. It was a few blocks to either 42nd St or 34th St. subway stations, and cabs were easily available. We felt quite safe in the neighborhood, as there are people on the street most times of the day. We had a good experience, and have already reserved for our next trip to NY.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

a place which is not what expected

Review submitted: May 14, 2009   Date of arrival: April 21, 2009

The description and the photos were not accurate. That what made us very disapointed. Even if they tried to find another room for us they did not recognised there was a difference between what they showed on websight and what we found.
They offer one queenbed, one coach, one table with two chairs. That was not what we had, even when they changed our room.
In the first room the beds were very hard and "sort of destroyed", the room was not clean (sheets with hair on it) and table accecible for only one person (one chair). In the second room it was cleaner and closer to what we could expect regarding photos on web-sight. But we had only one bed, the other was a camping bed or an inflatable single bed.
If you are not regarding about all that and about the price you can go there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 24 / 25

 

Great alternative to hotel

Review submitted: November 18, 2008   Date of arrival: November 3, 2008

Hardly the "coolest" apartment, but very pleasant all the same. The owner appears to have several / many apartments in the block and the one you stay in may not be the one pictured. Great for two people, a little small for any more.

Superb location for access to activities, attractions and transport. Area is just a few minutes walk from main tourist / shopping area and is a little run-down but generally safe and pleasant. Good local shops, restaurants and bars close by.

Well equipped, generally clean and well maintained, although signs of wear beginning to show.

Friendly and efficient service from owner, and friendly lobby service also.

A little disappointed to find "extras" added to the price in the original quote compared to the price on the website, and even more disappointed to find that there is now a substantially lower "special" price on the website, covering the period during which we rented.

Overall, if you are looking for an apartment in Midtown instead of a hotel, this is a good option.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Well-located place for max 2

Review submitted: October 14, 2008   Date of arrival: September 21, 2008

This small but modern, clean, well-kept apartment is perfect for tourists after hectic city life. Described accurately though photographed more enticingly than reality with a glazed corner dining area, which doesn't exist, the unit is in a new block amidst a mixed, changing neighbourhood with a variety of shops, restaurants and an enormous traffic, which can only be tolerated with closed windows and the air condition on. That and the ventillation, however, are quite noisy as well. Staying in two apartments of the same kind with a short break in between, we found that while the kitchen is rather spacious, the living area and the packing space are really small. The lights are meant for ambiance, reading after dark is actually out of the question. As to the service, a nice doorwoman was really kind and helpful but a doorman proved brusque and curt.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Nice apartment for young couples

Review submitted: August 5, 2008   Date of arrival: July 19, 2008

It is quite well situated near the Chelsea distric and just a quick step of theater area.

The customer service that we got from the doorman was excellent and help us to find simple but very useful sites like supermarkets and pharmacies (both are wallking distance of the apartment)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Neat place!

Review submitted: July 13, 2008   Date of arrival: June 9, 2008

My husband, daughter and I stayed for a week and would definitely return. I would say its best for 2 because of space, but we really only slept there, so it was OK. The front desk staff was always friendly and helpful, especially with a recommendation for the Skylight Diner. It's only 2 blocks away and we had a fabulous breakfast there every morning! Everything was clean, and well maintained. It's within walking distance to Times Square, Macy's, B&H, etc. But, there's a nice little strip of shops right across the street with a deli, grocery store, package store, and restaurants. Very convenient!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Great Location Really Nice Accommodation

Review submitted: January 21, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

I would totally recommend this apartment for anyone wanting somewhere clean and central, handy to Time Square, which is 5 minutes walk away. We stayed for 8 Nights and loved that there was a laundry onsite. The apartment is small. Plenty of room for 2 people but if there was 4 staying together you would need to not have much luggage. It would be a very tight squeeze. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Made our stay great!

Review submitted: December 21, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

This unit was great! It was a little smaller than we expected, but then again, what apartment in NYC isn't? It was wonderful having our own space and the feel of the whole trip was totally different than our typical hotel stays have been. I would highly recommend that anyone traveling to the city consider staying in an apartment, and, with its great location, helpful doorman, great view and full kitchen, this is a great choice.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Better than we expected

Review submitted: December 18, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

This apartment is clear and clean. All new and very confortable. Confortable because there was "sound proof" windows, no noyse inside, a very good air conditioning, a good bed with white and pour cotton sheets, a confortable sofa, a kitchen no better a cuisine, a very good shower to have an excelent shower, soap and shampoo incuded, a well iluminated bathroom, hair drier too. All you need umbrella, iron, television, wall clock, telephone, sound equipament.
It is located in the middle of Manhattan. A doorman building, 3 larges elevators, a locked bagagge place, a laundery, easy to park in front of the building, easy to arrive by car from other city because it is near Lincol Tunel.
A kind welcome card.
Our stayed was excelent.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 20 / 20

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 27, 2007   Date of arrival: June 27, 2007

We stayed at the apartment from June 18th - June 24th, 2007. Just wanted to say that my wife and I were really enjoying the studio apartment that we stayed at Hudson Crossing number 9K. From the contemporary look of the apartment , cleannes of the apartment, to the full amenities provided shows a good quality of your hospitality management. We couldn't pick a better place than where we at. So thanks for making us feel comfortable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 21, 2007   Date of arrival: June 21, 2007

Just returned from NYC and had a wonderful time, thanks in large part to APT168! The apartment was beautiful, modern and surprisingly spacious. Great location and very helpful staff!! Can't wait to return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 4, 2007   Date of arrival: January 4, 2007

My wife and I stayed for four nights Nov. 30 - Dec. 4, 2006. The apartment is located very midtown with easy access to all of New York. We used the subways a great deal and also walked and used a few cabs. The apartment was very clean and comfortable and the people were easy to work with and very accomadating. I would stay here again and would reccomend it for one or two people.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review