reviews for: listing #34154 - Islamorada, Florida Apartment rental

Diving, Beach, Canoeing, Tiki bar/sun deck
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Harris Park
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,500 - $2,500 /mth

sort by:

The Best Vavation Ever, Cant Wait To Go Back

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 5, 2013

We stayed in the two bed room apt. It was very nice fully stocked with everything you need. We had the best time ever the whole family cant wait to go back, which I am positive we will do again next summer. I think I am addicted to the ocean after our stay. Toms place is the most laid back place ever, no pressure to do anything, yet anything you may want to do is available near by. The tiki bar is awsome (I want one of my own). We tried canoeing but we wern't to good at it, we did get to see a sea turtle in the canal tough that was awesome. The diving I cant even describe it was the most amazing thing I have ever tried.(Tom is very paitent) and it was good thing. I highly recommed staying with Tom and his wife, If you have kids this has to be the one the safest places in the world to stay. There is tons to do, and if on a budget LOTS of free things around Annes beach down the road is free and really nice if your looking for the sandy white beach I highly recommed it as well.
Any way I hope you find this helpful. My oppinion it is a MUST DO.

Thanks Tom & Carol for the vacation of a life time. See you next summer

You guys are awesome can't wait till get to come back,

Todd

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you had a good time. Hope the weather is good for your next visit. If the weather is good the diving is good. And you have more fun.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Place to Stay!

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

A great place to stay and a very good value! I stayed there with three college-age boys, my twelve year old son, and my older mom. My mom loved walking in the nearby park. The boys really enjoyed the diving on the reef. We also took the canoe out twice and had a great time catching snapper in the nearby canal. We made a day trip down to Marathon (Turtle Hospital), Bahia Honda, and Big Pine (lots of key deer to see). We used the basketball court in the nearby park and found critters in the tidal pools. The apartment itself was very clean and quite comfortable to stay in (although we did come prepared to sleep one on the floor). Tom and Carol were very good hosts and treated us to a campfire one night. My boys enjoyed seeing their collection of fish and made numerous trips to his aquariums to see the new arrivals. The boys also liked to grill out at the Tiki Bar and see the stars at night (lots of shooting stars!). And there were lots of other things to do in the area that we never got to. Needless to say, we always had something to do that cost little to nothing extra, saved lots of money cooking on the grill or in the apartment, and really hard a hard time convincing ourselves to leave after one week. A great time was had by all! P.S> If you come down I-95 be sure to stop by the Brevard Zoo in Melbourne. It's the best!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thanks for the great review. Hope you get to come back some day.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Memorable Adventure

Review submitted: June 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 3, 2010

Staying with Tom and Carol was like staying with friends. After sitting around talking for awhile we felt we'd known them a long time. Tom is very knowledgable about the area and a competent "old man of the sea", and a legend with a drop net. We went on two collecting trips with him and the "souvenirs" we hope will be with us a long time (not a single loss on the trip home Tom, thanks for the excellent packing)
Like all great trips, there was so much more we would have done if there'd been more time. Well, I guess we'll start planning it now!
Thanks again Tom!

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!!!

Review submitted: April 16, 2010   Date of arrival: March 13, 2010

The property was exactly as advertised, if not better! The 2 bedroom apartment met all of our needs and we especially liked the large shower! Very clean and well stocked with the basic necessities. But what made this a truly special place to stay is Tom & Carol themselves... along with Lil' Bit, Allie, and the other critters. We found the Keys to be a magical place and are underway with preparations to pack up our lives and move there next year. We're returning for a 3 week vacation in July and will definitely stop by and say "Hi" and check out the progress on the rooftop tiki bar and the new aquarium shop!

All of us especially enjoyed going out on the boat with Tom and hookah diving. Next time I won't freak out when I see Tom pulling on the tail of a shy nurse shark. Our daughter loved the campfire and making smores with Carol. I can't give enough kudos to this wonderful couple for their hospitality and allowing us to "live as the locals do" for a short while.

Take care and see you soon,
Tammy, Tommy and the kids

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

3/27/2010-04/04/2010

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

Just a note,

We were very blessed with a safe return home and safe and wonderful vacation. It was truly a trip of a lifetime. Thank you very much for all your hospitality. The comfortable lodging, surroundings and boat time, as well as your friendship, put this trip as one of the best we’ve ever had. No hotel can come close to that! We look forward to the next trip to the Keys!

Happy Easter,

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

08/31/2009

Review submitted: February 6, 2010   Date of arrival: August 31, 2009

Tom & Carol, Thank You for allowing us to stay at your unit . Very clean & Quiet. Thanks for taking me diving, it has been a long time & I enjoyed it very much. We had a wonderful time visiting & though we may be moving to Ft. Lauderdale in a few months, we would love to come down & take the both of you to dinner. The buffet was fantastic at Whale Harbor & then we had all you can eat crab legs at a place down the road. The Key's are beautiful & you were so kind having us feel welcome here. Debrah & Mike

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

08/09/2009

Review submitted: February 6, 2010   Date of arrival: August 9, 2009

this house is very color coordinated. - Julia P. S. keep it going, great hospitality! Thank You for an excellent Vacay. diving w/Tom was very exciting! We went to the Ripley's Believe it or not museum in Key West and ate at the Islamorada Fish Company which was very entertaining. The G's Tom & Carol, I was a little skeptical renting an Apt. off of the internet but it turned out wonderful. We really appreciated the laid back atmosphere. The diving was awesome! We are truly glad to have met you and hopefully we'll meet again. Bruce, Megan, Lucas, Julia, & Jake G

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

07/01/2009-07/10/2009

Review submitted: February 6, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2009

Dear Tom & Carol, We had such a great time here and with you. We enjoyed staying at the apartment, going out and having dinner with you and spending time on the boat. You have become great friends and made our stay fun and memorable. We will miss the Keys and you guys (and Alley, Fargo, Tiger, and Little Bit). Great Places to eat: Whale Harbor Buffet, Islamorada Fish Company. Fun things to do: Theater of the Sea. Jessica & Jim

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

06/27/2009

Review submitted: February 6, 2010   Date of arrival: June 27, 2009

Dear Tom & Carol, We sincerely appreciated you letting us stay here in your wonderful home. Thanks for the diving trip and showing us the aquarium. We loved it all. Steve, Reina, & Kada

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

06/15/2009

Review submitted: February 6, 2010   Date of arrival: June 15, 2009

Tom & Carol, Thank you for the awesome time. Andrew can't stop talking about the hookah diving. We felt like we were on an expedition dive collecting sea creatures. The kids really enjoyed seeing and learning about the sea life. Although it was hot the smores hit the spot. The proxemity to the creeks for kayaking was ideal. Not to mention your hospitality and help on the boat. Thank You. The Tarpon feeding at Snapper's was cool. We got some good photos. All in all it was a great week. Can't wait to do it again. We'll give you a call. Paul, Marie, Andrew, & Erin D.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

06/07/2009

Review submitted: February 6, 2010   Date of arrival: June 7, 2009

Tom & Carol, Thank you very much for letting us stay at your place this weekend. Your fish are Beautiful, Diving was amazing & your hospitality supurb. We all hope to come back again soon. We will let family & friends know about ya'll down here in the Keys! Colin M., Garret M., Robb A., Stacey M.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

05/29/2009

Review submitted: February 6, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2009

Tom & Carol, first time Sean was on Keys. I used to live here.1980-1986. Your place was a great place to bring my family. Tom you were the best. Sorry we couldn't stay more, but weather wouldn't permit. This will be "Our" place from now on. Would recommend it to anyone. Thanks and may God bless your house and you as a couple from now on. Gene, Kay, Mandy, & Sean

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

05/26/2009

Review submitted: February 6, 2010   Date of arrival: May 26, 2009

Tom, Thank you for allowing us to stay for the weekend. We had a great time. The diving was amazing, and everyone was very friendly. We definitely will be recommending the place to family and friends. Take Care and again Thanks for everything!! Chris A

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

04/27/2009

Review submitted: February 6, 2010   Date of arrival: April 27, 2009

Tom & Carol, We want to Thank You for letting us stay at your wonderful place. We felt right at home. Terry and Heather had a great time using the canoe. Heather loved it!!!! Heather can't wait to come back to go diving. Thanks for letting us use the grill & roasting marshmellows by the fire.That was fun. We ate at Snapper's for dinner one night. That was great!!! We visited the Theater of the Sea. Had a great time. Then we took a day and drove to Key West. So as you can see we tried to do it all. But we didn't get to go boating because of the WIND!!! Next time. Thanks so much!!!! Paula,Jerry, Heather, Wanda & Delvin D.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

4/18/2009

Review submitted: February 6, 2010   Date of arrival: April 18, 2009

Dear Tom & Carol, This is our second trip here, and we love it. You both are the best and very caring people.You have shown us a great time and it is more like visiting relatives rather than just a vacation. Weather was great, diving awesome as always, and the speed boat ride was great. This is going to be a yearly trip for us. Thank You again and see you again soon. Ron, Nicki, Tonya, & Tiffany A.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

04/10/2009

Review submitted: January 21, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2009

Dear Tom & Carol, We had quite possibly our best vacation ever. It was so nice to have your guidance & yet be able to come & go as we pleased. We all truly enjoyed our stay. Appa & Little Bit helped us with our pet withdrawal. Thanks to Appa & Little Bit. We really appreciate the pic of Ashly diving. The whole stay was absolutely priceless. P. S. The accomodations were absolutely very comfortable. We would not change anything. Thank You! Dotti, Bobby, & Ashly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

04/01/2009

Review submitted: January 21, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

Dear Tom and Carol, I would like to thank you for your hospitality and kindness. My family and I enjoyed our stay here very much and would love to come back sometime and stay again. We all had a blast when you took us on your boat to Snapper's. Also both my brother and brother - in - law had big smiles on their faces when you took us diving. That was their highlight of the whole week. I was so happy that the weather got better and you were able to take us diving. Good luck with the construction of your new garage and hopefully I will be back to see it completed. I most definitely will stay here again the next time I visit the Florida Keys. Take Care Tom B.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

03/20/2009

Review submitted: January 21, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2009

Tom & Carol, We had a great Time! Thank you for taking us out diving - it was awesome! We enjoyed eating breakfast at Doc's Dinner and Lunch at Mrs. Mac's To future guests - If you have time definitely go to Key West. It was well worth the trip! Ali, Jesse, Maureen, Tim, Boris. Valdesta, GA.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

03/03/2009-03/10/2009

Review submitted: January 21, 2010   Date of arrival: March 3, 2009

Tom & Carol- Thank you for a wonderful time. You have such a nice place here. We felt so comfortable and right at home! The fish in the pond and the room were fun to see! We loved the location near the park and beach! We also fell in love with the canoe! We loved the trips thru the mangroves! The only thing lacking was not being able to go out on the boat with you Tom - Darn wind! Maybe next time! Keep up the good work you guys are great! Great beaches: Bahia Honda, Sombrero, Smathers, Anne's Great restaurants: The Island ? in Marathon great water front location We saw great sunsets and a nice sunrise! Loved it! Thanks! Bryce & Allison

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

02/01/2009

Review submitted: January 21, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

Dear To & Carol Lida and I had a wonderful time, weather was great, not a drop of rain. The boat trips were a bonus and our ride over to Snapper's was a plus, Thanks Your location is great, near most things and a safe area to walk about. Loved the lizards, another added plus. The restaurants, Snappers for dinner is always a plus, Harriette's and DJ's for breakfast and the Country Gull down in the Winn Dixie mall is a nice lunch. Thanks again for hospitality and you'll see us again. Pete & Lida S., NY

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

01/17/2009

Review submitted: January 21, 2010   Date of arrival: January 17, 2009

Tom & Carol We had a wonderful time this week. It was full of special once in a life time experiences. Best of luck in the coming year. We'll try to get back soon. Love Baby Joey, Becky,Lessica, & Stephen

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

01/05/2009

Review submitted: January 21, 2010   Date of arrival: January 5, 2009

Dear Tom & Carol Wow the time went fast and we wish we could stay longer. You both are such and inspiration to us. Your giving attitude helpfullness to everyone you meet and your expertise of so many things. If we don't make it on the 22nd give Adreina a hug from us. She is also making great strides. Anyway, We love you & will always remember your kindness & love our prayers are with you Love Dad & Joan

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

1 January, 2009

Review submitted: January 21, 2010   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

Happy New Year! The past few days have been filled with magic, joy, perfection, adventure and many " firsts". I look forward to swimming with the fishes again and again. I thank Mother Nature for the perfect weather, God for the lovely tapestry, and you two for the perfect hospitality! You created a fabulous week, and made everything look effortless. Love and Blessings, Penelope P. S. I'll be back ASAP!
Tom & Carol Thank you for getting this beautiful unit ready for us last month I know it was a lot of work and I can't tell you how amazed I am in your abilites. Thanks for the absolutly FAB week of boating on the cigarette w/Gary, diving twice, Snappers and best of all the fireworks with Joe & Susan, Barbie & Ken! We both needed a break before the new year and this week really HIT THE SPOT Can't wait to come back Scott

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review