reviews for: listing #34161 - Savannah, Georgia Apartment rental

Heyward House Savannah
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Victorian District
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $160 - $160 /nt
    $1,120 - $1,120 /wk

sort by:

Beautiful home, fabulous location

Review submitted: April 17, 2014   Date of arrival: April 9, 2014

This was our first visit to Savannah and our stay at Heyward House was the key ingredient to a lovely time in the city. The home is spacious, beautifully decorated, and equipped with all the amenities you would need. We were personally greeted upon our arrival and given a detailed tour of the home. The location near Forsyth Park was ideal for us as we walked and explored the city. We spent a few evenings outside on the porch enjoying the sounds of the Koi pond and the beautiful Spring weather. I highly recommend Heyward House. Thank you for a fantastic VRBO experience!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are extremely happy when guests have a positive experience in this wonderful city. Thank you for your kind words.

Cheers,
Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Wonderful "Home away from Home"

Review submitted: April 8, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

We recently returned home after spending winter in Savannah in the wonderful "Heyward House". We cannot say enough about how comfortable we were and how much we were made to feel "at home" by Michael. Since we were there for most of three months, the odd problem did arise, but Mike was on top of things immediately and couldn't have been more helpful (must be those Canadian genes). The apartment is beautifully decorated and well supplied with comfortable, quality furnishings from the cozy beds to the well-equipped kitchen. The high ceilings and big windows give a real feeling of spaciousness and the flat feels bright, even on gloomy days.

It was also nice to have a combination of "open concept" space and rooms down the hallway with doors that closed - good for people who might want to do different things at the same time - and also good that you can watch TV or read a book without having to listen to the dishwasher or washing machine.

People who aren't comfortable in an urban setting may think the area is a bit rough compared to the streets in Savannah where the rich people live :-) but most properties are well maintained and the neighbourhood is up and coming with lots of restoration going on. There are several SCAD buildings a little further south and a few SCAD residences in the area. You're a short walk from both a grocery and liquor store as well as being down the street from The Bean and Brighter Day. There are lots of great restaurants close by - Mike gave us several recommendations to places that have become favourites.

The location is ideal for getting anywhere you want to go - especially if you like walking, which we do. You're a leisurely 30 minute stroll down to City Hall and River Street, and can cover anything east or west of Forsyth Park in the same amount of time - Savannah can be walked in either direction in about thirty minutes, sort of like Paris. Of course, there lots of cabs, pedi-cabs and buses, if you don't want to walk. The off-street parking space is really convenient and there is usually plenty of on-street parking as well. You just have to remember to move your car for the street sweepers on the weekend.

Anyway, if you're looking for a wonderful place to stay while in beautiful Savannah, you cannot go wrong staying at Heyward House. Mike will take excellent care of you. We enjoyed it so much we're going back next year (and next and next...) and have already started counting the days till we're back.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the kind words. It is always easy when we have nice guests. We look forward to your return this winter.
Cheers, Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Heyward house is charming and relaxing - great location and friendly owners.

Review submitted: November 10, 2013   Date of arrival: November 5, 2013

Perfect holiday base camp for two ladies exploring lovely Savannah. Beautifully furnished, great location, and friendly hosts combine to make a memorable experience.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hello Kathy,

Thank you for the kind words. We are glad your Savannah experience was a good one. Come back soon.

Cheers,
Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Girls Getaway

Review submitted: October 26, 2013   Date of arrival: October 20, 2013

We had a beautiful stay and loved the house! Michael and Donna think about furnishing the little things to make staying here so wonderful. I can't say enough about this house and how comfortable and home your stay was. I would highly recommend staying here in savannah.

Recommended for: girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the kind words. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back soon.

Cheers,
Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

Everything was just as described. Michael is an excellent host, shared places to eat which we're great, gave ideas on places to go and was very gracious. The beds are very comfortable, the kitchen very well stocked with everything you could ever need. Fresh fruit on the table and plenty of books and games to keep you entertained on those thunderous evenings in.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you, Julie. It was a pleasure having you stay with us.

Cheers,
Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Getaway!

Review submitted: August 21, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

I have been remiss in providing a review of Heyward House. I stayed here in early November 2012. A friend and I came up from Orlando to run the Rock & Roll Half Marathon. We could not have asked for a better place to stay. Close to everything! Can park the car at the house and walk to old town Savannah. Owners were wonderful to work with and so very friendly. With Michael's help, we found some good places to eat and things to do while we were there. The apartment is beautifully decorated and quite comfortable. Now that I know Heyward House is there, I will certainly come back for a weekend getaway.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place to Stay!

Review submitted: July 27, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in Savannah! The accomadations at the Heyward house were excellent, the house was very clean and well maintained. Michael was an excellent host and informed us of the different places to eat and visit. will definitely stay there the next time I come to savannah! Don't waste your money on a hotel, stay here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words. Cheers, Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Perfect Trip!

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

My best friend and I stayed at Heyward House for several days and it went beyond our expectations! The house was beautiful and incredibly well stocked! We had everything we needed and the owner was very helpful in making recommendations of things to do and how to get around town. The off the street parking is very convienent and we felt safe and secure the entire time we were there. The house is close to Forsythe Park and there is a lot to do and see. The market is just a few blocks away and with the fully supplied kitchen we made the most of having breakfast there in the mornings. The porch is perfect for sitting on and relaxing and the koi pond is such a unique addition we loved just listening to the fish jump about in the early mornings. The beds were incredibly comfortable and I miss them already!! I would recommend staying here to anyone looking to enjoy a quiet getaway and a true Savannah experience in a truly beautiful home. And the owners are such a nice couple and left us to our thing and Donna even spent a bit chatting with us one evening when she realized we were from Virginia, where she used to live. We just loved Savannah and this house and it's wonderful history! We would definately stay here again!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

hayword house

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 24, 2013

loved it. would stay there again. Princess master bedroom!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fun Girls Trip!

Review submitted: June 28, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

This house is beautiful! Before I say anything else I would definitely recommend staying at the Heyward house to anyone. The house was so clean and had everything we needed. The owner also was so helpful throughout the entire booking process. He was even available for questions during our stay. I think the house is approximately 1 to 1.5 miles from River Street so you could definitely walk if you wanted to. It was also just a short (and cheap) cab ride away. There were four of us and we all were super comfortable and had a fantastic time. I really feel like we were able to experience Savannah in a much more authentic way rather than staying in a hotel.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fun Girls Weekend!

Review submitted: June 28, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

This house is beautiful! Before I say anything else I would definitely recommend staying at the Heyward house to anyone. The house was so clean and had everything we needed. The owner also was so helpful throughout the entire booking process. He was even available for questions during our stay. I think the house is approximately 1 to 1.5 miles from River Street so you could definitely walk if you wanted to. It was also just a short (and cheap) cab ride away. There were four of us and we all were super comfortable and had a fantastic time. I really feel like we were able to experience Savannah in a much more authentic way rather than staying in a hotel.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Again, we are so fortunate to be able to host nice people from all over. Please come back soon.

Cheers,
Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect, Pristine and Perfect!

Review submitted: June 20, 2013   Date of arrival: June 3, 2013

I use VRBO for nearly all of our family vacations or business trips. This is BY FAR the best gem I have found on VRBO. We stayed for 3 nights....and seriously, I could have stayed 3 months. Just a pink charming house in a quaint downtown neighborhood just 2 blocks from Forsyth Park. At first, you are always suspicious to see whether the photos are do not represent the house. But this one...WOW! The photos do not even do justice of how neat, charming, cool and relaxing this home is. The AC works great and they had it ready and cool waiting for us. The 2 bedrooms were perfect for extra space needed for our 12 year old son. I can see how this property could be child friendly, but it is more ideal for kids 9 and up. The one and 1/2 bath was just perfect. The photos of the full bath do not do justice for the space included in there. The front part of the bathroom has a laundry area, that easily is a dressing area after your shower or bath. I have to admit....I am a very difficult resident to please, but even the shower was amazing! Olgethorpe (sp) tours will pick you up right at the house! You pay less money and they pick up up at the Heyward House AND bring you home! You take a tour, get dropped off, have a few "Wet Willies" and "Naked Willies" for the kiddos. Then you call the tour group and they take you back home! WOW! Can not beat this. You MUST eat at the Old Pink Restaurant. It is divine. We did eat at Lady and Sons and the Hoe Cakes were complimentary and scrumptious. We also took a ghost tour on the Hearse Tour company. Our driver was Lunatic Lucy. It was interesting and so much fun!
The owners, Micheal and Donna were the PERFECT landlords. He gave us a detailed walk through and made sure that we felt assured that they were easily accessible if we needed them. We rarely saw each other. The only shared area is the front porch where they enter to go upstairs. They have their own porch upstairs to relax. We loved this house. I have already warned my family, if I disappear and have a mid-life crisis, they can find me at the Heyard House. And I am so serious. It was heaven. NOT A SINGLE COMPLAINT! (and that is major coming from us!)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: One of the pleasures of owning a vacation rental is the opportunity to meet nice people. Lynne, Christy, and Alston are a case in point...such a wonderful family.

Lynne's words left here and in our guestbook are very much appreciated Anytime they want to disappear, they are welcome to appear here.

Thank you, again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Vacation!!!!!

Review submitted: May 16, 2013   Date of arrival: May 7, 2013

I have used VRBO many times, and this is definately my favorite place. Everything was as shown on listing, but much better! The walk to downtown was beautiful going along Forsyth Park or the side roads with all the beautiful homes. The house has everything you could possibly need to cook and feel comfortable and at home. My favorite was the koi pond and porch....peaceful and lovely. Definately recommend and will be back again soon. Thank-you Michael for lending us space in your beautiful home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Heyward House in Savannah

Review submitted: April 6, 2013   Date of arrival: January 4, 2013

Charming vintage home filled with lovely furnishings and decorating. The owners went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure our stay was wonderful

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely Home, Lovely Hosts

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

The Heyward House is a lovely property in Savannah within walking distance to most anything you would want to do. The home is beautifully decorated with top of the line linens, towels and furniture. Our host greeted us upon arrival and gave us all of the information that we needed to enjoy our stay. I would highly recommend the Heyward House to any visitors to the Savannah Historic District.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charming yet modern

Review submitted: December 18, 2012   Date of arrival: December 7, 2012

Our stay at the Heyward House was wonderful. The owner showed us around the house when we first got there and was very friendly. Everything was clean and very comfortable. I recommend anyone staying in Savannah to visit the Heyward home.

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Experience

Review submitted: November 19, 2012   Date of arrival: November 7, 2012

Great location, clean and perfectly well maintained. The owner was super. You wouldnt regret.

Regards,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

vacation in Savannah

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

An excellent vacation home for anyone looking to explore Savannah. Adjacent to Forsyth park, the Heyward house provides the luxury of being able to get anywhere in historic Savannah on foot. The house itself is a fantastic remodel with all the amenities necessary for the stay. The house is very well maintained and was very clean when we got there. The owners were also very helpful and made our stay completely hassle-free. We would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking for a great place to stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfection!

Review submitted: June 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

My mother, sister, and I stayed here for a girls' weekend. We had all visited Savannah previously at one point. This property is exquisite. The attention to detail in this property is incredible: a basket of fresh fruit on the kitchen table (the fruit was cold too), keys on cute little ribbons instead of a standard keychain, beach towels, toiletries, board games and books, and huge fluffy towels in the bathroom. This property is full of a combination of antiques and more modern pieces, with unique and attractive accessories at every turn. Their taste is impeccable. When we arrived, Michael gave us a tour of the property and showed us several items they kept on-hand with information regarding Savannah restaurants, attractions, and the like.
This property is about 1 1/2 blocks off of the back end of Forsyth Square, so it is a little far to walk to River Street, but we walked all over including Broughton Street, Bull Street and the City Market. We bought a trolley tour for $26 a person that allows you to get off and on throughout. It had a dozen or so stops that pick up every 15 minutes. It is a great way to get around without driving and to see all of the historic squares and homes.
This property has everything: great location, beautiful interior and outdoor seating area, great price, and gracious hosts. I would stay here again without hesitation. In a word: perfection!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charmer in Savannah

Review submitted: June 1, 2012   Date of arrival: May 23, 2012

While looking for a place to stay in Savannah, I came across Heyward House. It looked charming with its porch and koi pond. I did not want to stay in another hotel. Boring... The Heyward House lived up to our expectations. The rental has been beautifully redone. The kitchen is fully equipped and the hosts provided fresh coffee and cream. There are many comfortable spots to read or just to chill out. The two bedrooms are beautiful. The hosts have provided materials about Savannah. We took their recommendation to go on an Oglethorpe tour and we very pleased. They picked us up at Heyward House..the tour was fun. After a brief tour through the house, we did not see our hosts but knew how to reach them if needed. Overall our first trip to Savannah was great and more special because of Hayward House.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Missy

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

My husband and I took our son, daughter in law and 5 month old grandbaby to Savannah and stayed at the Heyward House and loved it. I would definately stay there again. It was a great location and Donna and Michael were great to work with. I highly recommend staying here. It was beautiful too!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A home away from home!

Review submitted: May 2, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

What a delightfully cosy refuge to return to after sightseeing! We felt at home from first minute we walked in. Loved the 14 foot ceilings & nice furnishings. The kitchen was well-stocked & the house genereally spotless. Enjoyed having our coffee on the porch overlooking the koi pond. Even our teenagers asked if we could always stay here when we visited Savannah. The owners are so friendly & accommodating, you will not want to leave! Especially happy we were walking distance to the park & squares where everything is located.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great choice!

Review submitted: February 6, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

We spent the month of January here and found it exceeded our expectations. The location was great; close to Forsyth Park, restaurants and in a safe, pleasant neighborhood. The house was exceptionally clean and well-maintained. Michael and Donna, our hosts, were friendly and available when needed. I would heartily recommend this spot.
Definitely try the Crystal Beer Parlor(within walking distance from Heyward House); the peach cobbler is superb. Savannah Dan will also give you a wonderful walking tour! We would stay here again if we return to Savannah.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The warmth and hospitality of a homeowner

Review submitted: December 3, 2011   Date of arrival: November 30, 2011

The hard car ride to Savannah was greatly eased when we arrived at the rental. Out host was ready and waiting for us and welcomed us warmly. He showed us around the property, briefly told us the "rules" and showed us where everything was located. After that we had almost bno contact with them ezcept to ask where to leave one of the leys upon leaving.

The house was gorgeous and emaculate and we were so comfortable. Just a wonderful experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nice place to stay!

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 24, 2011

The apartment was very cozy, clean, neat and very comfortable! :-)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Old Charmer

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

Our stay at Heyward House was wonderful, and we enjoyed staying in a piece of "Savannah's history". Beautifully decorated and very well equipped, everything we needed for a weekend family get together.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

GREAT GET AWAY...

Review submitted: November 17, 2011   Date of arrival: November 10, 2011

HEYWARD House was a wonderful home base for our visit to Savannah. The house was beautifully decorated & equipped with every need one might have during their stay. We appreciated how clean everything was & comfortable !!! This was our first visit to Savannah...and would love to return to catch all the sights we missed. Donna & Michael....thank you for sharing your lovely home with us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place and people to rent from

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: October 28, 2011

Great place, great renters/customer service. Cleaner than most any hotels or condo's we've stayed in. Just all around great place. We will definatly be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sweet Savannah Stay

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: May 15, 2011

How amazingly wonderful this home is. We wanted for nothing. Fresh flowers upon our arrival and real cream in the fridge. Location is central to all you could want to see and do in Savannah. Peaceful and quiet location allowed for a wonderful place to unwind. We will definately recommend this location to any friends and family that want to get away to Savannah. Thank you!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We endeavor to let our guests be "owners" during their visits. We are so happy that we have such great guests. Welcome all!!!

Cheers,
Michael

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Southern Charn

Review submitted: October 17, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

I had the pleasure of staying at the Heyward House a this month and can only give praise to Michael and Donna for such a beautiful and peaceful place to stay. I was a little hesitant at first with the location, but found it great because it was on the main route for a trolley service yet far enough out that you were in the local community vs the tourist community. Michael met us at the door and was so nice in showing us the home and explaining where to find anything we might want. There was information about the area and a small map on where to go for food and the park. The home is exactly as you see it in the pictures and the history of the home is very interesting. I would definitely recommend this home and plan to visit again next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review