reviews for: listing #34175 - Turks and Caicos, Caribbean House rental

Etoile de Mer (Star of the Sea)
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Sunset Bay
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $571 - $1,071 /nt
    $4,000 - $8,000 /wk

sort by:

Etoile is Awesome

Review submitted: March 23, 2013   Date of arrival: January 9, 2013

We stayed at Etoile de Mer for a week last January. We had such a wonderful time we are eager to return. We were impressed at how close it was to the beach, yet it seems very private. The short walking trail that takes you to the beach skirts the private tennis court. And those two courts are in excellent condition and we really enjoyed a few sets out there!

The house is wonderful! It has verandas on all sides and is perfectly laid out. Four couples can stay there and each will feel as if they have a private suite. Yet when you want to gather for some fun, the kitchen, dining, and living rooms are spacious enough for all. We really liked the pool and Gazebo. You can relax out there for hours or take a nap on the big hammock.

The island is a lot of fun and very friendly. The restaurants are great with a lot of variety too. Taylor Bay is perfect for swimming, snorkeling, and kayaking. It is nicely sheltered so even small children feel safe there.

Overall, Etoile de Mer is an idyllic spot for an island getaway!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful

Review submitted: July 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

Thanks again Margaret, your house is beautiful, wonderfully comfortable and very well equipped. (my only confusion was the many varied blender parts with very few matching:) luckily we did find one base, container and top that matched! for the obligatory frozen drinks!) The Island breezes through the house were amazing, despite the sunny summer temps we never felt hot. Collectively we have all spent a lot of time in South Carolina (our summer vacation spot of choice for over 30 years) I think our group can all agree that Taylor Bay and your home made summers in South Carolina a distant memory. We cannot wait to come back, and are already making plans to do so. Thanks again

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Family House

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: April 16, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Etoile de Mer. The house was perfect for our group. The kids loved the pool, the short walk to the beach, and of course the tennis courts. We rented cars and explored the island and it's beautiful beaches. The snorkeling was amazing, and the people were really friendly. It was our first trip to Turks and Etolie De Mer but we will definately be back - what a wonderful spot. Thank you for sharing your lovely home with us.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank You!

Review submitted: August 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 5, 2011

We want to thank you so very, very much for sharing Etoile de Mer with our families. YOur home on Taylor Bay is very special. We made lasting memories and even got engaged in the amazing waters of the bay! Your house was a perfect place to wake up, spend the day, and fall asleep to the breezy tradewinds. Your management agent was such a delight and an extremely helpful person from the moment we met her. We will forever cherish all the memories made in Provo and look forward to making more in the future. We will definitely be back to visit Etoile de Mer!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Own Private Island

Review submitted: February 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

Sent via e-mail upon return:

Just want to drop you a note and let you know how wonderful the house was. We had a perfect time there except it was too short. We have stayed on Turks five times in different houses and yours is the winner! Everyone connected with the house was great and so helpful. I am sure we will be going back again in a year or two and we are saving your information. P.S. We loved sitting by the pool - some in the sun and some under cover (that was a big hit) - looking at the flowers - it was like being on your own private island. I am sure we will rent again. Many thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Magical

Review submitted: February 22, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

Written in House Guest Book:

Thanks so much for a magical stay at Etoile de Mer. Our family has been in paradise for the last 7 days. Lots of family tennis, snorkeling, evenings in and out and lots of cards. We ventured over to Grace Bay/Coral Gardens one day and the kids loved the snorkeling. I walked down the beach to see some of the resorts and what craziness I witnessed - we have truly been experiencing Turks in the right way (at Taylor Bay). Your home is lovely - so comfortable. I love the view from the master bedroom - so pretty. From our daughter: This house is AWESOME! I love the pool and the bedrooms - they are both amazing. Thank you so much for letting my family and I stay here for a week. I will remember this vacation for the rest of my life! And from our son: This place was pretty chill.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Beaches

Review submitted: February 22, 2011   Date of arrival: December 19, 2010

Written in House Guest Book:

Thank you for letting us stay in your wonderful home. The beaches were amazing, the pool deliciously refreshing, and the house itself was perfect. The couches are amazingly comfortable and the beds are sleep-inducing comfy.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Taylor Bay Was Wonderful!

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

We loved your home (let us know if you ever decide to sell). We had some friends from Provo over and they loved it also. We loved the architecture. We loved the bathroom counter tops! The apartment was really neat, the gazebo was wonderful, the pool a delight. We had stayed at Chalk Sound and had been to Sapodilla Beach but Taylor Bay was wonderful! We had lobster four times and my husband enjoyed your grill so much I fear we will need to get one soon. You are very fortunate to have Etoile and we are very lucky that it was available for our two-week vacation. I really love Provo in the summer. Florida is hot and very humid. Provo is hot but hardly any humidity and the constant trade winds…just paradise.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Something Beautiful

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

We enjoyed every moment in this beautifully appointed house. You have created something very beautiful.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Best Vacation We have Ever Had!

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

I am sorry to be back home! We had a ball! The house was fantastic and exceeded our expectations. I have to admit that we were skeptical about renting over the internet but it turned out to be better than we ever expected. The setting for the porch, gazebo and pool were my favorite things. I felt like I had truly gotten away from it all! As my daughter wrote in your guest book at Etoile, “It was the best vacation we have ever had!”

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Prettiest Place on Earth

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

We enjoyed our vacation very much. Provo was like no other place I have ever been —life is very simple and relaxed. The bay was nothing short of remarkable. I think it might be the prettiest place on earth. You are very lucky to own a place so close. Your pool was wonderful and a big hit with our grandson. All in all, our trip couldn’t have been much better. We did have a few days of rain but no one seemed to mind and you had board games to pass the time. We left a message in your book and really want to thank you for everything!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Turning 30..."

Review submitted: January 1, 2010   Date of arrival: November 24, 2008

On behalf of the four of us who stayed at your lovely house, we want to say Thank You! We absolutely loved it! It was paradise and not a bad place to turn 30. The pictures of the house didn’t do it justice. We made so many wonderful memories there and on the island. The four of us have promised each other to do the trip again, and I know we will all rave about it to our friends and hope to send you some more renters

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Honored to be a guest..."

Review submitted: January 1, 2010   Date of arrival: May 6, 2007

We just wanted to take the opportunity to tell you how wonderful EVERYTHING is! Your home is beautiful, and I am honored to be a guest here. Thanks so much. We are talking about making this an annual trip. (e-mail sent from Etoile during the stay)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Perfect and beautiful...:

Review submitted: January 1, 2010   Date of arrival: November 21, 2009

hi from the turks and caicos
it is amazing how you designed a home just for our family.
the place is perfect and beautiful. couldn't have picked a better place
denish and her crew are awesome
going kayaking now
sign us up for next year!
best

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Words can't express..."

Review submitted: January 1, 2010   Date of arrival: November 7, 2009

I can't put into words how special the week was...I just don't know what to say."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"The house exceeded our expectations..."

Review submitted: January 1, 2010   Date of arrival: March 17, 2008

We had a great time at Etoile de Mer. The house was both beautiful and comfortable and exceeded our expectations. Our friends who live on Provo said they had never seen such a nice home on the island and these are friends who work on a lot of the high-end estates! We enjoyed waking up every morning and sitting in the sun room drinking our coffee. We would then play tennis or float in Sunset Bay. We often walked through the neighborhood. Sunset Bay is one of the features that we loved the most. The beautiful sunsets were a perfect way to end each perfect day. We went to T&C to relax but we have never come back from a vacation so rejuvenated. We were all so relaxed that even the New York traffic didn’t affect us! We will definitely be back to Etoile de Mer and Sunset Bay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"The most beautiful water ..."

Review submitted: January 1, 2010   Date of arrival: December 18, 2008

We absolutely loved our vacation at your villa! It was the most relaxing vacation we have ever had...and we still were busy. My husband and I, especially, really loved your house and if I ever had one in the Caribbean, it would be just like yours! We have a picture of your house on our cell phones...to remind us how beautiful it was. I really loved the layout of the house and the breezes were wonderful. I would come back every year if I could! We all loved the privacy of your community. The water was the most beautiful we have ever seen.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review