reviews for: listing #34262 - Mount Hood, Oregon House rental

A Majestic Mountain Retreat Voted "BEST Cabin in the NW"!
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $325 - $775 /nt
    $1,750 - $4,500 /wk
    $6,750 - $9,750 /mth

sort by:

Serenity you want, Serenity you find.

Review submitted: January 22, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

The experience of staying at Serenity has left me pondering on why is it I did not discover this place sooner?
From the moment you touch base with the owners, Becca and Richard... You know you are in for a special time. A memorable time.
There is nothing I can tell you that would not make you want to stay there. ... It is... An experience that will change you, refocus your priorities and refresh your sense of being.
By all means... Let your adventure begin at Serenity.... It is magical.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fabulous Family Fun

Review submitted: January 6, 2013   Date of arrival: December 13, 2012

This was the best place that my family has ever stayed on Mt. Hood, or anywhere! The house was even better than we expected. The massive timbers and open space makes it feel like your own private lodge, not just a cabin. Each room was thoughtfully decorated with every accommodation that you could imagine, from robes and slippers to tissues and towels. The details were phenomenal! We especially loved the bookshelves, games, movies, and CD's that were offered. It made it feel like home and kept everyone happy. The kitchen was perfect for cooking family meals. We were fortunate to get some snow, and really enjoyed the sleds and shovels for playing outside. Then, of course, the hot tub was a great way to end each day. The beauty of the property is unmatched. I can hardly say enough about how truly amazing this place is. We will be back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Good for the soul

Review submitted: January 6, 2013   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

The world needs places like this. Somewhere where the accumulated concerns and stresses of work or life can dissipate in the gentle breeze through the mountain firs. I try to come to A Majestic Mountain Retreat every year for the gentle maintenance and cleansing of existence. Whether reading in front of the fireplace, or enjoying some coffee on the balcony, It seems every minute is time well spent. There is a wonderful riverside hiking trail nearby that I always try to make time for as well.

The attention to detail in the accommodations, and the almost psychic anticipation of all my needs is another reason I come back every year. While the TV never comes on during my stay, it's nice to have that option (Okay, I admit I checked my email a couple of times - because I could!). I've been in the winter and summer and find stays during those times equally enchanting.

I'm betting if you stay here, you will be a repeat visitor like me - Your soul will start making demands! :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

AMAZINGLY PERFECT!

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: January 2, 2013

So, first, you walk in and everything is perfect: a game room for the kids, their sleeping areas with their own bathroom on the ground level (so you don't hear them pitter pattering all night). The next floor has an incredible fire place. The chef's kitchen is stocked with everything we wanted. The table seated like 12 people. The balconies were perfect for overlooking the pine trees, little birds and occasional deer. Our master bedroom, on the top floor, had a gorgeous tile showered and two sinks. The bed was so nice we slept like angels on clouds. The views from the bedrooms were to die for. We all loved the jacuzzi just out the back door. These owners clearly thought of everything. And they were wonderful to deal with as me made reservations and asked for directions. We felt bad for them because it was clear that they had very "problem" guests right before we arrived. I guess some people will just be ungrateful no matter where they are. But we felt like we were treated like a King and Queen. There is a reason why this place won Best Cabin in the NW! It's not just the majestic cabin hand-built by one of the owners, its their approach to taking care of guests and their property. We will be back every year. And though we worry about making too popular, I will tell our friends with and without kids, this is the best vacation we could have asked for. The skiing, the hot chocolate by the roaring fire, the incredible accommodations with the linens, blankets, soaps, and windows all in the perfect spots.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful Family Trip!

Review submitted: January 3, 2013   Date of arrival: December 24, 2012

I spent the Holidays at this amazingly gorgeous house with my family this year and had a wonderful time! We had three little kids with us and they loved the sliding hill and building snow men out front of the house (we got 2'' of snow on Christmas day which was so whimsical and idyllic!) The adults loved being able to sip tea on the balcony on sunny days with amazing views of the Mount Hood Summit and late nights in the hot tub (with cozy robes and slippers to boot!) Christmas morning was magical with the house all decorated and the snow falling outside- the kitchen is AMAZING and we enjoyed one delicious meal after another!

Our only hiccup was the amount of snow kept us from being able to go skiing on the last day of our trip :(- we were literally snowed in! We made it out to go skiing the day before but came back to the quarter mile long driveway up to our knees with snow that evening- were weren't left any shovels at the house and were not allowed to park on the road so we had to walk with three little kids in the freezing cold in the pitch dark- not happy campers! On top of that, without being able to park on the street and not wanting to get a ticket or get towed, we attempted to push our car up the driveway which got stuck and damaged. Instead of a fun day skiing, we spent the last day at the house stressing over contacting insurance, tow trucks, and auto repair companies. After some push back, **luckily** Becca offered to pay for our damages and plowed the driveway the next day.

Also, we were thrilled and lucky to get snow as the house is actually in Rhododendron and NOT Government Camp- much further down in elevation and usually doesn't get as much snow SO if you are looking for snow snow snow, don't count on this place- but hopefully you will be as lucky as we were (minus any car mishaps!)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 24, 2011   Date of arrival: December 24, 2010

Hi Becca! I wanted to tell you just how perfect our trip to Mt. Hood (and the Majestic Mountain Retreat) was. I have traveled quite a bit with my husband, all over the country, and I am very picky about accommodations. I only the book the best, because I believe its worth it! I also have learned how sometime places can make their accommodations look really spectacular on-line, and then not meet expectations upon arrival. I have to say, when we pulled up to the property, with night settling, the ground glistening, and the lodge all aglow with Christmas lights, I was THRILLED! The lodge looks like something that you would see featured on television or in a magazine, inside and out. My kids (after a very early morning departure and hours of travel) were giddy with excitement, while Ben and I were just slack-jawed at the beauty of it all.

Our amazement did not end with the first impression either. Throughout the weekend, we were continually blown away with how you seemed to have thought of everything we could possibly need to be more comfortable. The beds were cozy! The fully equipped and perfectly organized kitchen was large enough to accommodate several people at once. We had 14 people and not once were we standing in line for a bathroom or waiting on warm water! That's amazing all on its own! Then there are the down blankets, the cozy robes and spa towels, the HUGE dvd collection (my kids loved that), the VIEW out every window, the fireplace that seemed to keep every room in the house warm but not hot. Then there was the always available hostess. Not once did we get your voicemail, not once did you hesitate to come make sure all was taken care of. I love vacations, but usually by the end of a vacation, I feel ready to go, ready for my own bed, my own kitchen, my own space... this is the first place I have visited where I feel like I could have stayed and stayed. Our families made some amazing memories on this trip, and as my six year-old said about 50 times on the long trip home, "This was the best vacation ever! I can't wait to come back!"

Thanks so much for helping make that happen.

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 24, 2011   Date of arrival: January 11, 2011

What an extraordinary experience to stay here. To arrive, travel-weary and be packed off to the hot tub, to eat an incredible dinner among new friends, to sleep in a nest of a bed and wake in the morning and make coffee, looking out to a full moon that still somehow managed to still be in the sky. And write - feeling all the space and imagination in the world just waiting, held in the walls of such a lovingly crafted place. Thank you. What a gift this was . . .

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 24, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2011

What a sense of peace and relaxation this beautiful home provides. We had a wonderful time sledding, teaching our 6 year old poker, relaxing and skiing. Your attention to detail is everywhere. This is truly a special place. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 24, 2011   Date of arrival: January 28, 2011

This has to be the most tranquil place in Oregon. Every room has painstaking attention to perfection. We loved the flannel sheets and warmth from the wood burning fireplace. On a cold rainy weekend in January this was a wonderful relaxing retreat. We played games, drank great wine, laughed with friends and enjoyed every minute at this retreat. We will look forward to our next vacation here! Thank you for letting us use this amazing home.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you!

Review submitted: February 10, 2011   Date of arrival: January 27, 2011

This has to be the most tranquil place in Oregon. Every room has painstaking attention to perfection. We loved the flannel sheets and warmth from the wood burning fireplace. On a cold rainy weekend in January this was a wonderful relaxing retreat. We played games, drank great wine, laughed with friends and enjoyed every minute at this retreat. We will look forward to our next vacation here! Thank you for letting us use this amazing home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you Becca!

Review submitted: February 10, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

Hi Becca! I wanted to tell you just how perfect our trip to Mt. Hood (and the Majestic Mountain Retreat) was. I have traveled quite a bit with my husband, all over the country, and I am very picky about accommodations. I only the book the best, because I believe its worth it! I also have learned how sometime places can make their accommodations look really spectacular on-line, and then not meet expectations upon arrival. I have to say, when we pulled up to the property, with night settling, the ground glistening, and the lodge all aglow with Christmas lights, I was THRILLED! The lodge looks like something that you would see featured on television or in a magazine, inside and out. My kids (after a very early morning departure and hours of travel) were giddy with excitement, while Ben and I were just slack-jawed at the beauty of it all.

Our amazement did not end with the first impression either. Throughout the weekend, we were continually blown away with how you seemed to have thought of everything we could possibly need to be more comfortable. The beds were cozy! The fully equipped and perfectly organized kitchen was large enough to accommodate several people at once. We had 14 people and not once were we standing in line for a bathroom or waiting on warm water! That's amazing all on its own! Then there are the down blankets, the cozy robes and spa towels, the HUGE dvd collection (my kids loved that), the VIEW out every window, the fireplace that seemed to keep every room in the house warm but not hot. Then there was the always available hostess. Not once did we get your voicemail, not once did you hesitate to come make sure all was taken care of. I love vacations, but usually by the end of a vacation, I feel ready to go, ready for my own bed, my own kitchen, my own space... this is the first place I have visited where I feel like I could have stayed and stayed. Our families made some amazing memories on this trip, and as my six year-old said about 50 times on the long trip home, "This was the best vacation ever! I can't wait to come back!"

Thanks so much for helping make that happen.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

absolutely fantastic

Review submitted: August 26, 2010   Date of arrival: June 22, 2010

we were 5 girls in our 40's and we had an absolutely fantastic time! the cabin is even better than the photos. the accommodations are luxury down to the very last detail, but manages to be quite comfortable and inviting. Becca, the owner, started our vacation off right by leaving us with truffles and an enormous bowl of delicious, local fruit. The kitchen is grand as are the decks where we spent countless hours drinking coffee, wine and talking. the beds and bedding were fabulous. i believe we even had some kind of lavendar/olive oil soap in the shower!
hiking is very close and there's a pizza restaurant and a store across from that that sells a number of things, but also has a small hot deli when you're not in the mood to cook. i believe there's a chef that will come to the cabin if you really want to bail on cooking. ask becca! she was wonderful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you again!

Review submitted: August 26, 2010   Date of arrival: January 22, 2010

Richard and Becca; You are such a blessing in our lives and we are counting on you as dear friends after our 3rd stay here at Serenity! Your love, warm hospitality, creative minds and compassionate hearts are unforgettable. You continue to share what God has given you with others ... we are so thankful for you. Serenity ... as always ... was amazing. We are refreshed and inspired! Our family had a blast and Mike and I felt like we were on our 2nd Honeymoon! Loved your truffles. Take care

M,J,A,M,K,K,K,K
Dalles, Oregon

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 23, 2009   Date of arrival: February 23, 2009

Thank you so much for letting us stay in your beautiful Majestic Mountain Retreat! It was so nice to be able to sit back by the fire or in the hot tub after a long day at the mountain. The boys especially loved playing chess and poker late into the night! Although the boys were convinced that, with no cell service we were caught in a horror film. Thank you so much.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 14, 2009   Date of arrival: February 14, 2009

Our Holiday Ski TripThis house is awesome – I Loved being here.The weekend was perfect. We loved the home. It was perfect in every way! We skied, played games, fixed wonderful meals, laughed a lot, got to know each other better, merged two families .. . we will be back!!A Special Valentine Weekend

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 5, 2009   Date of arrival: February 5, 2009

Debs 60th Birthday Retreat
Thank you so much for creating such a beautiful mountain retreat. We all feel so blessed to be here. Your amazing truffles sustained us the entire weekend. What a luxurious, comforting and life-affirming experience!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 20, 2009   Date of arrival: January 20, 2009

What a wonderful house! We had a blast! We hope to come back next year.Mobleys, Browns and GildersleevesSkamania CountyThank you for everythingWe had a great timeThe Weather was greatAs I wrote this rhymeWe skied for 3 daysAnd ate some great foodWe hope to come backSo thanks a bunch dude!Browns, Mobleys and GildersleevesLoved your place . . . we just wish it was for sale! (won the lottery Friday night, had some extra cash) K JakkieWe laughed, we cried M O’TooihanI slept in the hot tub! J “Huds” Huddleston

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 12, 2009   Date of arrival: January 12, 2009

Becca and Richard,WOW! Thank you – it was a grand 8 days. The sled run was amazing for the first two days until it melted! The fireplace was cozy . . . thanks for the great firewood. The hot tub is a hit with all ages . . . we enjoyed the beauty and luxury but most welcoming was your special homey touch. You have a special gift for making us feel special! We love it . . . it keeps us coming back. We are already talking about being here next year. Your photography skills are great . . . you have great ambition! May the Lord Jesus Christ bless you with peace and joy.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 9, 2009   Date of arrival: January 9, 2009

Thank you for the wonderful opportunity you’ve made available to us … a place to share, a place to view Gods magnificent creation, and a great place to make wonderful memories! And pictures – if we remember our camera tripod! ? God has blessed you with a lovely place in a peaceful and ‘serene’ setting . . . a great place to hear His still small voice and experience a little of His peace . . . Thanks for opening your home and sharing this with others! May God continue to bless you. It was a great Christmas!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 9, 2009   Date of arrival: January 9, 2009

Such a lovely place to spend our family “Christmas”. Beautiful scenery, gorgeous house and much thought has gone into making our stay very pleasant ? May God bless you for wanting to share your passions with others!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 9, 2009   Date of arrival: January 9, 2009

Thank you for the use of your lovely cabin! We enjoyed out time relaxing, sledding and feasting! The kitchen was especially enjoyed – along with the appliances and seasonings. Gods blessings amid his awesome creation!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 25, 2008   Date of arrival: December 25, 2008

We truly had a Christmas to remember here! Thank you so much for the amazing memories . . . family, food, snow, fire, hot tub and music.Ps – the sled run is fantastic!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 25, 2008   Date of arrival: December 25, 2008

We had a wonderful time. I just moved out to Oregon and had yet to see Mt Hood and the hills. This was the perfect place to do so. THe hospitality was great and it was nice to spend time with my boyfriend and his great family. This is definitely a Christmas to remember!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 14, 2008   Date of arrival: December 14, 2008

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful home for our Family Holiday get together – and the beautiful snow made it even more magical!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 25, 2008   Date of arrival: November 25, 2008

Serenity is the perfect word. Being here is serene. Beauty, nature, friends and fun – what a great way to give Thanks! The love and care you have out into this amazing home is evident at every step. We felt so taken care of and it was a wonderful week of relaxation. Thank you so much! Can’t wait to come back! Here’s to M & H 09!Jaime, John, Mark P, Nick and David

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 10, 2008   Date of arrival: November 10, 2008

“Two wonderfuls” in one week. Obama wins and now this! It is indeed majestic, comfortable and so close to nature. We had a great hike up Romona Falls trail today. Saw a Great Blue Heron up on the power lines near the beaver pond yesterday. You have a great relaxing home. Thank you for sharing with us (and our kids ? ) I wish it never had to end but that’s what makes it so special. Take care

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review