reviews for: listing #34344 - San Miguel de Allende, Central Mexico House rental

Casa Heloc - Lovely home/360degree view
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Colonia Santa Julia
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $75 - $125 /nt
    $600 - $800 /wk
    $1,200 - $1,400 /mth

sort by:

The perfect house

Review submitted: April 5, 2014   Date of arrival: March 7, 2014

It takes a while to get to know a house. As my husband and I spent more and more time in the lovely Casa Heloc, it's many charms unveiled themselves. First of all, the house is really well laid out for comfort, and very light. The fact that there are floor to ceiling windows in the living room that look out on a small enclosed garden means that you have constant sunlight downstairs -- which is not all that common in San Miguel. The kitchen has everything you need -- even a dishwasher, oh joy. On the second floor, there are two bedrooms with lovely large baths and an OFFICE. As my husband and I work and write from San Miguel, having an office with two desks was totally wonderful. And it has its own bathroom. The rooftop deck has the most spectacular view. We ate breakfast there every day and often watched the sun set as well.

I have not even touched on the beautiful artwork in the house. Every wall in every room has interesting paintings, wall hangings, or sculptures, and the walls are wonderfully colorful. So unlike houses that feel like spring break rentals --you know, with the bare minimum of furnishings-- this house is a real home reflecting the interests and personality of its owner.

Finally, my husband and I adopted a tiny puppy while we were here. The owner could not have been more kind about the fact that we were introducing a dog to her home. This has been a terrific stay and I would rent this house again in a heartbeat.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed your stay at Casa Heloc - the office space is often a key feature for writers or just a place to write out notes and postcards. As pet lovers ourselves we are thrilled when a family finds a pet to adopt in Mexico and take to a forever home in the states.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming home with spectacular views

Review submitted: March 17, 2014   Date of arrival: January 2, 2014

I spent two delightful months in Casa Heloc. This is a light filled, warm and comfortable home, filled with the owners collection of mexican folk art. This is definitely not a "bare bones" rental. The kitchen is exceptionally well equipped, the living area is a great place to cozy up by the fireplace, the beds are comfy and there is good water pressure in the showers.
Very few homes in San Miguel have central heating so I was prepared for chilly mornings. This house however, because it gets morning to mid afternoon sun,, warms up quickly.. I found using the rolling propane heater for 20 minutes was enough to rid the chill.
This really added to the comfort.
There is a lovely patio off the dining/living area and a fabulous roof top terrace with breath taking views. A great place to enjoy a cup of coffee or a glass of wine. Both terraces are filled with colorful plants and a variety of interesting cacti.
There are many options getting to and from El Central. It is a 15 to 20 minute walk or one can catch a bus (5 pesos) just 3 short blocks from the house. Taxis are 35 pesos. Getting around is easy.
I was so pleased with my choice of Casa Heloc... it truly gives you the opportunity to experience a warm and inviting home in San Miguel.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Candace,

So glad my last minute cancellation worked with your timeline, the dates meshed and you could stay at Casa Heloc. Please keep us in mind for future trips to San Miguel - it is truly beautiful anytime of the year. Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences at Casa Heloc and please feel free to reach out to me at any time for more info our lovely town.

Janis

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

San Miguel Gem

Review submitted: August 3, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2013

My husband's first words were " we may never leave." Casa Heloc did not disappoint. The gardens were unbelievable and add to that the spectacular rooftop view, beautiful Mexican decor, and amenities galore. Erica, the property manager, and Lupe, the maid, took perfect care of us. We loved the neighborhood and the colorful walk into Centro. We truly did not want to leave and can't wait to return. Casa Heloc is a San Miguel gem.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Sandy,

So glad you and your family enjoyed your stay at Casa Heloc. Please keep us in mind for future trips to San Miguel.

Janis

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A wonderful property and a wonderful vacation

Review submitted: May 13, 2013   Date of arrival: October 31, 2012

I had a wonderful time in San Miguel and would highly recommend this property to anyone. From the point of contact with the owner and introduction to the property by Erica, I felt very taken care of.

The property is lovely and full of modern amentities. It is beautifully decorated and immaculate. I felt completely comfortable during my entire stay both at the property and thruout San Miguel.

I can't wait to visit again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

WONDERFUL location,weather, amenities,culture

Review submitted: January 8, 2013   Date of arrival: December 26, 2012

My stay in this beautiful Mexican style home met all my expectations and more. It was warm and comfortable and had lovely rooms and even more lovely outside living areas. I felt like I was truly having an experience in the Mexican culture. The home also had the modern emenities that are desired on a vacation...lots of hot water, wash machine, good stove, microwave,etc. My only concern was that the sinks and kitchen work area were high (I am very short)but not problem...there was a pink stool to accomadate "short people". In summary, there was a lot to do the in a relaxed, comfortable atmosphere. Would highly recommend. Looking forward to returning.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed your stay! We would welcome you back anytime we have an opening. Thanks you chooseing Casa Heloc.
Janis

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: March 27, 2012   Date of arrival: January 4, 2012

Casa Heloc has been a home away from home for 3 months. It provided a warm and inviting environment as well as having all the things needed to enhance everyday living. We loved the light, rooftop view, and unique artistic touches. Lupe, our maid, was a gem! Her work was "muy exelente" and she is very sweet. Erika, the Property Manager (Home Solutions) takes care of business! If we had a house in San Miguel, we would want her to manage it. She’s on top of everything and was proactive in making sure our stay was enjoyable. We highly recommend Casa Heloc for a relaxing and enjoyable visit.
Ivan & Kathleen

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly

Owners response: Ivan & Kathleen,

It was a pleasure having you as our guests, I am so glad the new fireplace was completed just in time for your arrival. Please keep Casa Heloc in mind for your next trip to San Miguel - you both are welcome back any time.

Janis

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Casa Heloc

Review submitted: January 25, 2012   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

I stayed at Casa Heloc for the month of November. My rental agreement was from November 1 to November 30th. I had some vehicle problems which delayed my arrival and was allowed to stay six days into December at no charge (very generous!!). The description of the property is accurate - it looks exactly as shown in the pictures. It was very well equipped. It was clean and well maintained. I only had to insinuate to the owner that something was a concern and the very professional and pleasant property manager fixed it.
It was a relatively easy walk to the centro and the bus stop was only three blocks away. I usually walked into town and bussed back. There's a little tienda a very short block away where I could get milk and other basics.
Enjoyed Walter, the neighbourhood dog, who visited regularly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wanda, thank you for the kind words. I am so glad we could accomodate your date changes without a hitch. Please keep us in mind for your next trip to San Miguel. We enjoyed having you as our guest.
Janis

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best place in 10 years of trips to SMA!

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

We spent the months of July and August (2011) at Casa Heloc and have already reserved those months for 2012 and hopefully for many years to come.

First of all, manager Erika left us a lovely vase of flowers and the weekly bi-lingual newspaper for our arrival, which was a nice surprise. She kept in touch with us during our entire stay and she speaks perfect English, having lived in the U.S. for a number of years. It was comforting to know that we had someone we could depend on if anything went wrong (it didn’t), unlike other house managers we’ve suffered through during previous stays.

The house itself is so comfortable, we felt like we were back in the U.S., except when we sat on the roof with drinks and my husband with a Mexican cigar (just as good as the Cubans!), gazing over peaceful San Miguel, with the sunset behind us, so we could view the town bathed in the setting sunlight. The plants and flowers on the roof and downstairs terraces and balconies are gorgeous – their gardener takes good care of them.

Everything about this place works well – the showers are strong, the king size bed in the master bedroom is one of the best we’ve ever slept in, including our own at home in the U.S., and there are four good pillows on the bed. We didn’t use the guest room, but that queen-sized bed looked really comfortable, also.

The dishwasher worked like a charm, as did the television (on the rare nights we actually watched anything – there are a lot of dvds there, too), the fridge, the microwave, the toaster oven, the internet phone (I talk to my daughter in the U.S. for a couple of hours every Sunday morning) and the internet computer connection, which didn’t go “down” even once, unlike at home in the U.S. The kitchen is well-stocked with dishes, pots, pans, utensils, knives, etc. We like to cook – and the gas oven was a relief – we hate electric!
Also, the washer and dryer were a welcome addition. We’ve rented in San Miguel so many times before we discovered Casa Heloc and never really missed having a washer/dryer until we rented here. Now we don’t want to stay anywhere for two months without our own laundry facilities.

I typed a much longer review that I just tried to post and vacationrentals wouldn't let me, so I'll re-enter what I had to delete in another posting.
I knew I would get carried away once I started this review!
Sue S.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

A wonderful experience!

Review submitted: May 16, 2011   Date of arrival: May 1, 2011

I visited Casa Heloc the first two weeks of May and had a wonderful time. As you can see by the photos, the house is beautiful, spacious, relaxing and most of all, extremely clean. The owners clearly know how to take care of a rental property and advised us on the area with regards to airport transfers, local restaurants and day to day things that would be of importance while staying at the house. We felt very taken care of.

The house was very comfortable given the warm climate. Between the ceiling fans and cross breeze, there wasn't even a need for air conditioning. We were just completely relaxed the entire time.

I would definitely recommend Casa Heloc to anyone who wants a lovely vacation stay in San Miguel Allende.

MAS
Chicago, IL

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A delightful Easter

Review submitted: May 13, 2011   Date of arrival: April 18, 2011

Easter, what a terrific time to visit San Miguel. The days were warm and the nights cooled off beautifully. It was wonderful to open the windows and use the ceiling fan at night for cool sleeping and then close the window and drapes to keep the heat of the day out. Most comfortable even without central heat/air. The house is beautiful, well decorated with authentic local artwork, and lots of comfortable space in a quiet residential area. It was fun to hear the roosters crowing in the morning and see/hear the horses that were ridden down the street as their riders went to/from work. And the pageantry of Easter week was incredible – way beyond any celebrations I’ve seen in the USA.
Having the bottled water provided in a pitcher with a clean glass in each bathroom makes using ‘safe’ water easy when teeth brushing and taking vitamins daily. I love the shower – having it open is so nice and the water pressure and temperature were perfect. Thanks for the heads up that the hot water is truly HOT – it is how I have mine set at home and certainly saves energy and provides good cleansing when used with the soap provided.
Cab rides are always such an adventure for me when I travel to foreign countries. It is nice that there are so many drivers that understand English in San Miguel, even if they are somewhat embarrassed to talk much. The hilly landscape provides nice variety to the area and the view from the rooftop in the evenings was spectacular and the gentle breeze was relaxing after a busy day of shopping and seeing the sites. I got some GREAT sunset pictures.
The information provided in the Casa Renters Guide was very helpful with what’s going on in the area and how to get around to enjoy the activities, where to eat recommendations as well as those eateries that deliver were very nice to have.
The staff you have chosen that manages, cleans, gardens, provides the water service, and the garbage pick up were all very pleasant when I met and interacted with them. Good choices! The daily visits from Walter, the neighborhood watchdog was a special treat also, providing my "puppy fix". I was amazed at how well manner Walter is and he is incredibly smart and sweet natured. Hope he is around for many years to come – there is nothing like being greeted by a wagging tale when you come home from Centro.
It was a treat to stay in someone’s HOME and feel at home when away from home instead of at a commercial establishment no matter how upscale. THANKS!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sunny and Charming

Review submitted: May 13, 2011   Date of arrival: December 19, 2010

I really enjoyed my stay at Casa Heloc and l am already booked to go back this coming December. It is a beautifully decorated home with bright, Mexican colors and filled with crafts. It has all the amenities you could wish for. We especially enjoyed sitting on the roof, under the stars, watching the city lights twinkle in the distance.

Although we didn't have a car, taxis were readily available, not expensive and we never had to wait more than 5 minutes for one to come to the house after we called.

The property manager, Erika, is delightful and was always available to answer our questions.

You can tell that the owners have put a lot of thought into furnishing the house and kitchen. The listing description was acurate and there were no surprises.

The photos were a big help in making the decision to stay at Casa Heloc. It was great to wake up each morning surrounded by such beautiful colors.

A really nice touch were the fresh flowers waiting for us on the dining room table when we arrived. There was also a current copy of the Atencion, an English weekly newspaper that lists all the weekly activities. It was a great help in planning our daily routines.

Recommendations: Tio Lucas, where I had the biggest, most wonderful shrimp cocktail EVER! It was a meal in itself.

Bugambilia - Coconut shrimp in a mango sauce. Beautiful courtyard and sometimes live music.

It seems the only problem with Casa Heloc is that I can never stay long enough and I always leave wanting more.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Just Like Home!

Review submitted: May 13, 2011   Date of arrival: October 28, 2010

Thank you for sharing your lovely home with us! The pictures were a big help in our decision and we were delightfully pleased that the house is even better in person. Your staff, from the property manager to the gardener to the maid were friendly, professional and effecient. We would gladly stay at Casa Heloc again. I love to bird watch and I took a hike with the local Audubon Society and my wife enjoyed a cooking class and shopping in the markets and cooking authentic Mexican food in your well furnished kitchen. With all the things to do in San Miguel we still enjoyed relaxing at the house the most. The evenngs on the rooftop were the highlight of our trip. I would recomend this lovely home to all my friends and family and have!

If someone is looking to stay in the real Mexico in a comfortable home not an impersonal hotel then is house is ideal.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our experience at Casa Heloc last winter

Review submitted: May 11, 2011   Date of arrival: December 28, 2010

On the plus side, the house is attractive, plants and decor are beautiful, and the amenities are plentiful, yet I would never recommend Casa Heloc. There were multiple health and safety issues! Too many to mention here. While the house manager was quite helpful, the owner balking at making any improvements.

We stayed at Casa Heloc, San Miguel Allende for 2 months -- Jan & Feb 2011 -- and it was a terrible experience. The property had many many problems! It was a very cold house (nearly freezing). Imagine a spacious, 3 bedroom cement house on the top of a hill on the corner of the street. Cold winds blew through it. Winter temps in San Miguel go down to the 40s and 50s at night. Only 2 very mimimal heaters were provided, and only one worked when we arrived. Since they are gas and give off fumes, you can't leave them on at night. To get warm you have to stand right next to them. The rooms never warmed up. It was freezing! We were very cold for 2 months. Two of the bedrooms are very dark all day, there was a sewage smell in some of the bathrooms, the house was very dusty as the high winds drove the dust through all the windows and doors, and wood smoke drifted in every morning. As I stated earlier, part of these problems were due to the house's location on the corner of a street, on top of a hill. The courtyard was off to the side, so it didn't help in muffling the sounds. To call this place noisy would be an understatement. It was like living
at O'Hare airport. (Then, three days a week, the water and garbage people would bang on the door at 8 am). It was a very long, very hilly walk to Centro, so you'd have to take cabs every day to go anywhere. Worse of all the tap water was UNTREATED. That means bacteria and parasites on your skin everytime you wash or clean -- a very dangerous situation. The home's system had never been treated. The house cleaner was hardworking but hadn't a clue about sanitation, or the need for disinfecting surfaces. My partner and I became very ill while living there.

Little pieces of paper were pasted all over the house, with the "rules" for the house and plenty of "advice" yet basic safety considerations had not been addressed, such as warning the tenants of three foot drop from the kitchen courtyard to the cement. sidewalk below. No warnings whatsoever, not a word. There are several better options for lodging in San Miguel Allende

Owners response: This review is completedly at odds with this email sent to me by these guests.

Sent: 1/15/2011 11:27:37 A.M. Hello, Casa Heloc is everything we hoped for and more.It's beautiful and full of conveniences which we really really appreciate.This rental house is just a perfect spot for visiting San Miguel! We've really enjoyed the patios, art, kitchen and beautiful furniture.Now for the unhappy part.Fred and I have been sick almost since we arrived. The dust and dryness caused us to have allergy problems.Then I caught cold during the first week, when we only had one heater.Then for the really bad part:Fred got a digestive "bug" and is under doctors care.I contracted salmonella and was seriously ill and was hospitalized for 3 days and am still receiving antibiotic injections.I have not been this ill in many years.This is all in the first 2 weeks.We hear that that these diseases are VERY common in San Miguel.We tried to be very careful,but it still happened.The bad part for us is San Miguel itself.It is not what we hoped.We find that getting the most essential services is a hassle, shopping is extremely limited, there's no gym nearby,and every little errand is a MAJOR challenge.The steep bumpy roads not too pleasant to navigate by foot or by car, and now I am literally afraid to eat out.For health reasons, and for everyday living,we need to live in a more modern area.So for health reasons we feel we have to leave by the end of February and move to a more modern, convenient location.If you want to keep our $500 deposit that's up to you.However we are writing this now so you will have additional time,1-1/2 months,to find a renter.The extra time should make up for any inconvenience.We will make sure the house is in shiny, tip top condition before we leave!I'm sure you'll have no problem re-renting as this house is exceptional.We would be glad to write a glowing review on VRBO for you.

This couple claimed to know San Miguel well. Many homes in San Miguel are not centrally heated,and propane heaters are the common form of heat.The propane heater was repaired and a third unit purchased and provided for them. We provide bottled water for drinking and tap water is used safely throughout Mexico for showering and washing dishes. Odors in the home may have been caused by these guests repeatedly backing up the toilets. We offered them a complete refund for the remainder of January but they declined, choosing to stay until the end of February.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Just perfect

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

Casa Heloc is everything we hoped for and more. It's beautiful and
full of conveniences which we really really appreciate. This rental
house is just a perfect spot for visiting San Miguel! We've really
enjoyed the patios, art, kitchen and beautiful furniture.

RW

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review