reviews for: listing #34360 - Gloucester, Massachusetts House rental

Stunning views, wall-to-wall windows, 4BR oceanfront
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Briar Neck
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $250 - $250 /nt
    $1,100 - $3,400 /wk

sort by:

So this place is amazing

Review submitted: February 7, 2014   Date of arrival: January 30, 2014

The views and the proximity are breath taking. You completely forget about your troubles listening to the rhythm of the ocean. The sunsets are beautiful, so are the sunrises. Best yet is the sandbar that appears at low tide so you can walk to the Island.
The house is quite comfortable, there is ample parking, and our every need was met. I also love the fact that the owners have a professional house manual that explains everything about the house and the area.
Good Harbor Beach is right down the road, an easy walk. We enjoyed watching people with their dogs playing on the beach in the winter, from the warm house. On a cold winter day, the solar gain in the sunroom brought the temps up to a whooping 80 Degrees!! Between the ocean sounds, the ocean view, the sunrises and sunsets, not to mention a crackling fire in the fireplace, this house just can't be more wonderful!
We had a wonderful visit and the owner is just a delight to work with and a great communicator, arranging a last minute vacation for our family. We highly recommend this rental.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Salt Island Beauty

Review submitted: November 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

I longed for a vacation spot where the sounds of the surf hitting the shore could be heard. What a gem! Four Winds is a wonderful home with spectacular views and outstanding location. The sun room along with the deck off the master bedroom were the two stellar highlights of Four Winds. What more can be said of a place which met all my expectations and more. Good Harbor Beach is a short walk. It is a nice sandy area which is worth exploring. Rockport is close by and the music theater is fabulous so be sure to check out the summer concert schedule. I hope to have the opportunity to stay at Four Winds again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Oh, that sunroom!

Review submitted: February 23, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

We were 6 women (extended family) looking for the perfect spot for a winter weekend getaway - and we certainly found it here. We were lucky to have warm February weather, making walks on the nearby beach very enjoyable. Thanks to the fabulous sunroom, we could be warm and comfy and still feel like we were outdoors. At this time of year, you could watch both sunrise and sunset from the same room.

We had plenty of space and the location is gorgeous. Four Winds would be a wonderful place to be in the summer, too, no doubt! Then we'd settle in on the spacious deck above the sunroom.......aah.

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Four Winds is a "forever" vacation spot

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2010

There is something magical about a home by the ocean, and this lovely "cottage" does not disappoint. Nestled close to the rocky coast, the views are majestic, overlooking Salt Island, Good Harbor Beach, and the Atlantic. We spent most of our time in the sun room addition, with its huge windows and fine assortment of comfortable furnishings. The kitchen was incredibly well-stocked, and, with linens included, we didn't have to bring anything else with us except personal items. The back yard is, as billed, a bit precipitous ... but the front yard and the deck off the master bedroom gave us all the outdoor space we needed. Erica is a thoughtful host, providing lots of local information, details about living in the house, and lots of extras, including binoculars to view the ever-changing sea and its creatures. Payments were easy and we received our deposit back without delay. My only fear in writing this review? I don't want anyone to know about this slice of paradise so I don't have to fight for reservations next time.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 16 / 17

 

Want a relaxing vacation?

Review submitted: June 10, 2009   Date of arrival: May 23, 2009

My wife, two teenage daughters and I just spent a week the end of May '09 at Four Winds. The house was everything the owner said it was and more. Very clean and spacious with magnificent views. My wife enjoyed her coffee every morning on the deck taking in the beautiful view of the Atlantic and the sound of waves crashing onto the rocks below. The location was perfect for our day trips to Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Rhode Island, Plymouth and into Boston. The days we stayed at the house were relaxing with the local communities of Gloucester and Rockport a treasure to explore as well. The women loved the shops at the Rockport wharf and found some pretty good deals (shoes and clothes of course). If you want great lobster (prepared for you or for you to prepare) you've got to go to Roy Moore Lobster Co. also at the Rockport wharf. Friendly, very helpful service, good prices, excellent quality. You also have to try the ice cream at the Dairy Bar just about three blocks from the house. Fortunately (or unfortunately if you're diet conscious) you go past it every time you leave the house. But the price is right and the size of their servings is extremely generous. We will definitely rent this house again anytime we will be in the New England area and highly recommend it to any of you that might be considering a trip to this area. The owner was fantastic to work with - so nice and accomodating with all my questions by prompt email communications. I would echo the owner's warning about small children. If they are not well behaved or you're not watching them all the time, the trade off to this beautiful view is a sheer drop off just beyond the retaining wall.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

Incredible vacation home with great ocean view!

Review submitted: April 5, 2009   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

Our vacation in Gloucester was a splendid week, due mainly to this fabulous house. The house is situated on a quiet street, is clean, comfortable, charming, and has everything you need.

We were pleasantly surprised at how comfortable the beds, and other furniture is.

The view from the deck and from the large living room windows is breathtaking, you can see the ocean, just as far as the eye can see, and if that's not enough, there are binoculars. Lots of really cool bird activity to watch, too!

You will see lobstermen navigate their boats close to the shoreline to hoist up, unload and reset their lobster pots.

The house is only a few minutes drive time from the center of Gloucester were there are many excellent restaurants to choose from. There is super fresh seafood everywhere. Rockport is just a bit further, but still a nice drive. After dinner, make sure you save room for ice cream. There is an ice cream stand only a few blocks from the house. Ice cream lovers **DON'T** miss it!

The owners are honest and friendly to deal with, and this house delivers as advertised.

We look forward to vacationing at Four Winds again, and would recommend it to the most discriminating of travelers.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 21 / 21

 

Our holiday in Gloucester

Review submitted: March 29, 2009   Date of arrival: May 30, 2008

My friends and I had a wonderful week in Gloucester at Erica's house on the cliff. The house was exactly as described and was immaculately presented. My bedroom with the magnificent deck outside had the most beautiful view over the Atlantic Ocean. A highlight of course was our boat trip whale watching - so close to the whales - something that doesn't happen for us in Australia. Thoroughly recommend this property for a great getaway - can be whatever you want to make it! Thanks Erica.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 1, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

I am surprised no one else has commented on this lovely place! The pictures do not do justice to the sunroom, which is very large, with a full dining room table. Located right on the ocean, you cannot help but relax the moment you sit down in this sunroom. The home is very comfortable, kitchen is well equipped, and all the beds are VERY COMFORTABLE, especially the king bed in the lovely master bedroom. This bedroom has a sliding glass door to the upstairs deck, which makes for wonderful sleeping. I rented this home for a week, coming from Minnesota to visit my daughter in Boston, and was not sure what to expect. It was wonderful, right down to listening to the Robert Shaw Chorale on the stereo system! You are near a full service grocery store, and the drive from Gloucester to downtown Boston (if not in rush hour) is between 35 and 40 minutes. I am renting this home again in May when my daughter graduates from college. Thanks, Erica, for an enjoyable and relaxing week. And don't forget to visit Lobstaland...great food.

Owners response: Thanks Linda--Yes, I haven't figured out how to get a really good picture of the sunroom for our webpage... Thanks for the feedback!

Helpful votes: 20 / 20

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review