reviews for: listing #343896ha - Dominical, Costa Rica rental

Casa Artistica - Retreat and Spa - New Discount Pricing
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • sleeps  4
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Paradise

Review submitted: February 22, 2014   Date of arrival: December 4, 2013

First time to Costa rica. You don't even have to leave Casa Artistica to have a wonderful and fulfilling vacation but there is much to do. Buck and Joann are the best possible hosts and the food and accommodations are outstanding. Do it now while you can. ( :

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Casa artistica met all our needs and more

Review submitted: December 1, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

We stayed 6 days at Casa artistica, and of course hated to leave. The owner was hospitable, and now a new friend. My wife who can be picky, was quite please with the accommodations. The kitchen was large and had everything to make our great meals. There was plenty of room for my two boys to enjoy the place inside and outside too. We loved swimming in the pool and walking around the property enjoying nature. Toucans flew next to the house on a daily bases, and a sloth spent several days just outside our window. Buck, the owner of this fabulous place introduced us to a new family friendly beach just down the hill from the house. We look forward to coming back here again soon.

The klein family-

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Casa Artistica

Review submitted: January 16, 2012   Date of arrival: January 5, 2012

Incredible accomodations at Casa Artistica. Very peaceful, clean and comfortable. In addition the owners are very knowledgeable about the area and its many attraction. They are well connected if you seek their advice.
Cant recommend Casa too strongly. If you are going to Dominical it is THE place to stay. Beautiful and tranquil. Nice pool. Great bed. Thanks Buck and Joanne

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ernst and Elisabeth, blumulbrich@yahoo.de

Review submitted: November 5, 2011   Date of arrival: October 20, 2011

We had 6 wonderful days at casa artistica with lots os parrots, tucans, frogs and the cat "sky" who takes care of the property garden and the owner`s home.
The swimming pool was very nice with toads hopping arouned, bats and butterflies and the birds singing
their songs................................................................

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relax in the canopy above ocean!

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 8, 2011

JoAnn and Buck have a wonderful property set high in the canopy above Playa Guapil. Dominical is mintues to the south, Manuel Antonio 20 minutes to the north. The casa was spacious and well equipped, and the sounds of the jungle at night are a real treat. Toucans and parrots fill the air with their sounds each morning and evening and watch for the monkeys moving through the property. We were treated to a group of Spider monkeys on our last morning! It was fun getting to know Buck and I went with surfing one morning to photograph the action. Simone's a cat person and Sky really got her attention, he's a pretty cool cat as they say!

Can't go wrong staying at Casa Artistica. To see some highlites of our stay, goggle Dana Holm and follow the Pbase links to Costa Rica 2011 - Pacific Coast, Pura Vida!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: June 22, 2009   Date of arrival: June 22, 2009

We stayed at Casa Artistica in January 2009. It is a
wonderful place to relax. We enjoyed getting to
know Buck and JoAnn and their big gray kitty. We
had several meals together which JoAnn cooked for
us. A great alternative to restaurants or cooking
yourself. JoAnn gives a fabulous massage! The
birding and the pool were much enjoyed.
We hope to return.
Stephanie and Bill

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 6, 2009   Date of arrival: January 6, 2009

We spent a glorious week at Casa Artistica over Christmas. We enjoyed everything from the perfect weather, the gorgeous accommodations, the hospitality of Buck and Joann, the swimming pool, watching the wildlife & the list goes on. We had wonderful dinners that Joann prepared. We went with Joann to Movies in the Jungle -- a special treat. We'll be back!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: October 6, 2008   Date of arrival: October 6, 2008

My husband and I took our first trip to Costa Rica several months ago; we were lucky enough to get to stay in Buck and Joann's casita, "Casa Artistica". It had every amenity I could wish for being so far from home. Joann even cooked for us during our stay. The pool is absolutely gorgeous, the landscaping is beautiful, the house is cool and bug-free :) They even have a good 'ol fat cat that greets you when you arrive. Buck took my husband and I surfing, as well as to the local market to get the best bananas and pineapples I've ever eaten. I am definately going to make another trip (hopefully for a month-long stay!) and I highly recommend visiting Casa Artistica. The location of the home is amazing - nestled in amongst the jungle, where you will see monkeys, toucans, and other creatures unfamiliar to us Californians. It was hard to say goodbye to the casita, but alas, we had to fly home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 6, 2008   Date of arrival: January 6, 2008

My husband and I spend seven days at Joanne & Buck's incredibly beautiful and exquisitely decorated "casita". They were so helpful and genuinely lovely, I cannot compliment our hosts enough. Although it is quite a trek to get to their place, it is definitely worth the effort.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 28, 2007   Date of arrival: September 28, 2007

My wife and I had the pleasure of a memorable visit to Costa Rica, December 2007 including 4 nights at Casa Artistica. The hosts Jo Anne and Buck have created a slice of heaven in the jungle. Mornings are greeted with a bird symphony followed by nearby surfing and uncrowded beaches. Afternoons were spent wading in their deep blue inviting pool with margaritas and pupus. Add a stunning sunset and it doesn't get much better. Jo Anne joined us on a zipline tour just minutes from their Hacienda and an awesome horseback ride to a refreshing waterfall. Top notch accomodations that I'd highly recommend away from the crowded tourist centers like Tamarindo. Dominical and Casa Artistica has it all! Bruce and Betty Trubo

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: September 3, 2007   Date of arrival: September 3, 2007

"Casa Artistica" was the home base for one of our best family vacations. The setting was spectacular with convenient access to the beach and backing up into the rain forest. It was very close to the town of Dominical which has maintained its true Central American charm unlike some towns to the north.
We enjoyed its close proximity to the Hacienda Baru Park, where we enjoyed hiking and the ziplines. After surfing, hiking and all the other activies it was very enjoyable to return to Casa Artista and listen to all the birds of the rainforest after taking a dip in the refreshing pool.
This is an outstanding B&B and I look forward to our next return visit.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 26, 2007   Date of arrival: August 26, 2007

Casa Artistica is a little slice of heaven on earth. I
stayed there with my 18-year-old brother as a
graduation gift (I'm 34) and we had the time of our
lives. Honestly we never wanted to leave the
premises; the pool was magnetic, the house cool
and inviting, and Jo Anne's gourmet cooking would
rival the finest restaurants in Costa Rica. When we
were able to pry ourselves away from the pool,
Jo Anne and her husband Buck had infinite
recommendations, from horseback riding to a
gorgeous waterfall (do NOT miss this) to surfing
lessons to massage... life is just so good there, for
all ages! I highly recommend staying outside town
and up in the hills above the ocean (ok, at Casa
Artistica) because the air is cooler and fresher and
monkeys and toucans are plentiful and there are
fewer bugs! Do not miss this place!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review