reviews for: listing #34458 - Lauderdale-by-the-Sea, Florida Townhome rental

New Luxury Portofino Townhome 300 ft to ocean
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Townhome
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,200 - $1,500 /wk
    $3,800 - $4,500 /mth

sort by:

Great Property

Review submitted: May 13, 2014   Date of arrival: May 3, 2014

The property was unbelievable , anything we needed was there, even items we didn't think about, until we needed them. Centrally located to restaurants, pubs, and the Beach all within a short walking distance. Everything that the rental agent sent to us about the property was accurate. The property was Very Clean and well maintained. I would Definitely recommend this property to family and friends.
Loved Mulligan's Restaurant (all wait service was so Friendly- See Fernando).
The Aruba was equally Great- ( Margit is a great bartender). Great Time, Great Food, Great Place..

Owners response: Thanks Joe!! Sabrina

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We very much enjoyed our stay

Review submitted: May 2, 2014   Date of arrival: April 7, 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay in Lauderdale by The Sea Porofino.
It was a in a great location for walking to restaurants and all the activities in the area.
Thank you,Mike

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Poor management

Review submitted: April 28, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2014

First of all I have to say that we loved Lauderdale-By-The-Sea. When we first rented this townhouse it was apparently still managed by Katy. The management and ownership changed mid contract and that's when everything went sour. When we arrived we were given the wrong address and upset the poor people next door when we said we were renting . Sabrina never admitted her mistake although our contract clearly stated the other address. It was somehow our fault???? Things went downhill from there. The townhouse was anything but clean. It is advertised as New Luxury. It is not new nor is it Luxury. Buyer Beware. Sticky counter tops and dirty fridge. We had to wipe down everything before we could put anything away. Carpets were disgusting. 1 roll of toilet paper for each toilet. One beach umbrella that was broken. Sabrina thought that was just fine for 4 on the beach under one 3 foot diameter umbrella. She did replace it with one equally as bad. We ended up buying our own umbrella and chairs and gave them away to someone on the beach when we left.Coffee pot also was broken...She did replace that but everything was a fight. Never saw her...not once. We only reached her by e-mail and text and most of the time received a bounce back that she was out of the office.The pool was not usable, Very cold. She said that solar heating meant that it was heated "By the Sun" ??? Green algae was so thick when we left it was a health hazard. No one came to clean it...no one came to do anything. And beware.The contact says you will get your security deposit back within 20 days of checkout...try 2 months and threatening e-mails. The place was 100% cleaner when we left than when we arrived. Never again. Get a new manager.... And whatever you are paying for cleaning your paying too much.

Owners response: We are desolated you feel like you had a bad experience at Portofino TownHouse. It has been very hard for us to please you. At this property we only provide beach chairs but no beach umbrella. The one that you found there was bought by some other vacationers.
We decided to buy another one for you just to please you, because you kept texting me that you wanted a bigger beach umbrella. The same day we also replaced the coffee pot like you asked, and left those items at the house while you were at the beach. The townhouse was cleaned as usual before your arrival by our expert cleaners, as well as the refrigerator. We had a check-out the same day of your arrival so we are certain of that. As far as toiletries and courtesy items we provide, they are as follows: one toilette paper per bathroom, 1 roll of paper towel, small soap in the bathroom, laundry detergent and softener, trash bags, dish soap, hands soap and one dish cloth. The pool was cleaned almost every day, due to your repeated phone calls that the pool was not clean. The pool is heated by solar panels, which do not obviously work as if they were an electrical heather. Therefore if there is a sunny day and the outside temperature is not too cold the solar panels will heat the pool , however in the night the temperature is lower, so the water in the pool will cool down again. And that what happened during your stay. Regarding the security deposit you had to wait a bit longer than usual only because the owner was out of the country. Finally you received it after one month instead of 20 days. As an information for other vacationers, the new owner doesn't require a security deposit; we invite you all to trust that there is always another side to the coin, and that anger brings people to write things that are perhaps not true. Sabrina

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Weekend!

Review submitted: November 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

We spent a long weekend at the Portofino in August 2013 and couldn't have found a nicer place to stay. The house is beautiful - spacious and very comfortable - and the beach and restaurants are just a short walk away. Katy was very helpful, answering any questions we had. We hope to return soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Location with privacy....comforts of home.

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

Thank you for doing such am amazing job connecting with your guest. The condo was exactly as advertised, the location perfect for convience, entertainment, and beach. But the one perk rarely found today--the incredible service pre and post arrival. From the initial phone call to the follow-up email notice regarding return of the depoist...Katy cerainly made the experience easy and welcoming....felt like home.
Thanks for everything...we hope to come again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location...Nice townhome....

Review submitted: June 11, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

Portifino is just as advertised. It is a well kept townhome that is within walking distance to many good food and beverage locations. A grocery store is reasonably close as well. The beach and the long pier are also close . .

The patio area has a barbeque and (4) lounge chairs. The pool is more of a soaking /jaccuzi place to relax.

If you are looking for a place close to the action,but on a quiet neigborhood street Portifino fits the bill. We would recommend this to our friends should they visit the area for sure.

Katy the manager is good to work with and returms emails propmtly with your questions. Should we return to the area we will check Portifino availabilty...

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Disappointing checkout

Review submitted: April 24, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

Would not rent again even though we come to the area frequently. Got the trash out the night before we left for early am pick up as requested and then again before we departed and followed all check out procedures. Then we were penalized on our deposit return for not cleaning the grill..... A grill we never even opened. Disappointing!

Owners response: A full return of all security deposits is always our goal at the Portofino. Retaining a portion of a deposit only causes grief for those involved. A less than 100% satisfied vacationer hurts us in the long run. We must insist on following the check out guidelines for all who call our home "their home" for the time they are here. We do provide a copy of our rules and regulations with our rental agreement initially to prospective guests. A copy of our house rules is posted conspicuously for everyone's inspection with the notice for the home to be inspected upon arrival. We encourage any deficiencies to be reported to the office with in 24 hours. A follow up email is forwarded as a gentle reminder of important check out guidelines to follow. Everyone deserves an immaculate and well maintained property in which to enjoy their vacation. This is our number one goal!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

great family vacation

Review submitted: January 27, 2013   Date of arrival: January 12, 2013

The best thing about this town home is its location - it is in a good and quiet neighborhood, and yet so close to the beach and parties and restaurants if needed - no need for a car, just a few minutes of leisurely walk to everything we needed for a good vacation.

We loved the beautiful and spacious house, and felt very comfortable and cozy in it. We had everything provided for us: lots of good quality bath and beach towels, linen, blankets, kitchen supplies - everything to make us feel at home and travel light.

We came with a 6-months old baby, and loved that it was very comfortable in the house for a family with small children.

We also knew that the area is great for snorkeling and diving - unfortunately we could not snorkel this time, but would really recommend tourists to do it.

I would recommend breakfasts at Gilligan's sub (very cheap and tasty) and at the Country Ham N'Eggs.

I loved the house and the area overall - much cozier than South Beach or Sunny Isles or Hollywood, where we used to stay previously. Would love to come back to this place again and again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Portofino Townhouse - #34458

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 8, 2012

GLADYS in PA --Stayed at this townhouse a week ago and am already reserved for next year at the same time. The location was great and there were many fine restaurants of every type available within walking distance -- no car necessary. The townhouse was immaculate and Katy was just a phone call away to answer any questions that we had. We were there for a girls' getaway to relax, play cards, soak up some sun and have a great time. We did it all!!! And already know that we want to repeat the experience again next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Our biggest compliment is when our guests are already planning their return stay before they have even checked out. We welcome each and everyone to make those plans and come see what others are talking about. Convienience, (within walking distance) relaxation,(peaceful and private pool and garden) sunshine,(miles of sandy beach) beautiful accomadations,(clean and modern) Thank you Gladys for choosing the Portofino and for sharing your opinions. See you next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sun And Fun At LBTS!

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

We booked Portofino for the week of july 29th, for a vacation with friends. What a beautiful villa, the pictures really do not, do this house justice. We had 6 couples all in their fifties ad sixties and everyone loved the place. There was a bathroom and shower on the 1st floor. 2nd floor had the master bedroom/bathroom , and 2 queen size bedrooms with a shared bathroom and a vanity in the other bedroom. We only used the kitchen for breakfast and lunch, a minor complaint was that the pots/pans are dated and need to be replaced. The pool is a dunking pool with jacuzzi, with a backyard that looked like paradise. We rented a minivan for the week to take in the sights , although I would say that we only needed to rent the minivan for 3 days Lauderdale by the sea has everything within walking distance. The beach is beautiful and is a short walk from the house. We tried breakfast at Delacaseas, right at the corner. Ham and eggs , a short walk from the house or beach had specials for $5.00 [try the pulled pork]. We tried 101 and village grill and the beach cafe all great food and ice cream at kilwins. To venture outside we had dinner at Catalinas a Cuban/Spanish venue, and Houstons steak house on the water. We drove to Los OLas and walked among the quaint shops.

My only real complaint is that the house should stock some beach umbrellas, since the sun is brutal.

In closing Katy the managing agent was a pleasure to work with, and responsive to all our needs. If you have a question she will answer it asap.

Rent this villa with family or friends , you will not be disappointed, we intend on returning next year.

Owners response: Thank you Andrew for the wonderful insights to the area. I completely agree that the dining is fantastic in and around our home. Most all within walking distance and such variety. Something to please any appetite. Thank you also for a couple new recommendations.
I know when renting a home everyones expectations are different. I love to cook and appreciate a well eqipped kitchen. The recommendations we receive from our guests are genuinely appreciated. Its what makes us even better.
I am always happy to help with any questions that I may answer. If I don't have an answer off the top of my head, I will do my best to get that information for you.
I love the way you put it"You will not be disappointed!"
Your group was a joy to have and I look forward to your return visit.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Roomy, comfortable, clean and convenient

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

Very roomy and comfortable. Short walk to the beach. Although we had no issues, we heard from Katy several times during our 4 nights. Highly recommended.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Fabulous Family Vacation spot !

Review submitted: June 26, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

Our family recently stayed at the Portofino townhome from May 25th to June 1st, and had an incredible vacation.! Our 3 children (in their 20's) , oldest son's fiance and another close friend were blown away by the lovely and spacious accomodations and the proximity to the beach and many restaurants and little stores. We rented vehicles for the week but truly everything we needed was within walking distance.

The townhome is absolutely beautiful, lacked absolutely nothing and was exactly as described in the outline. Having read all the reviews it seemed too good to be true, but was just perfect for our group! We all agreed that having our own private pool and outdoor patio was a huge plus after spending some time down at the ocean. I can tell you that I miss the beautiful ensuite bathroom!

Katy was fantastic and was so prompt in answering any questions we had about the LBTS area ! The whole experience was terrific and we hope to vacation here again.

Thanks again Robert and Katy!

The Owens , Brockville, Ontario

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Vacation Spot!

Review submitted: June 10, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

This was our first stay at the townhouse, but it won't be our last! The home was wonderful-lots of space for everyone and the home had everything we needed! Katy went above and beyond to ensure we had a good experience, recommending places to eat, etc. She delivered an extra tank of gas for the grill before we ever had need of it.

The photos don't show the actual beauty and roominess of the townhouse. Everything was clean and well maintained. The home is in walking distance to many restaurants and shops, including both the ice cream/candy store and the frozen yogurt shop, which we frequented daily. The beach is a short walk away and includes a beach cafe as well as the Aruba Cafe.

The pool isn't large, but was plenty big enough for us to enjoy and our 2 1/2 year old grandson loved it! We plan on returning and we would highly recommend the property!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: So great to hear from you Donna. We would be glad to have your family again for a visit. Just one thing, you have to bring your lil swimmer, grandson. Your family was a joy to have in our home and we look forward to your return visit. After all, pretty soon you will start to need that daily yogurt stop.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Incredible

Review submitted: April 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 18, 2012

We just spent 10days in Porttofino and we LOVED our stay! Truly the place to be.... Clean, well kept, we truly felt home. Katy was incredible and very helpful. Great location.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful home, convenient to everything!

Review submitted: March 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

This lovely home was perfect. It is super clean, and had every convenience. We were three couples, and we each had a bedroom on the upper level of this townhome. The master bedroom suite had a huge bathroom with two double sinks, a large tub, and a large walk-in shower. It also had a large walk-in closet. The other two bedrooms were a good size with queen beds and shared a jack and jill bathroom. There is also a washer and dryer on the upper level. Downstairs was a large updated kitchen, breakfast counter, kitchen set, then dining room and living room. Sliders opened to the outdoor covered patio with comfortable furniture and a small pool/jacuzzi. The only downsides were the jacuzzi really didn't get hot, and the TVs were not updated in the living room and upstairs bedroom. There was a flat screen in the master. You can walk to everything. Just a couple of blocks brings you to all the restaurants, shops and the beach. About 7 blocks in the other direction brings you to Publix and some small shops. This home was an absolute joy and we would highly recommend it.

Owners response: We have just completed installing new flat screen tv's in all of our bedrooms and main living area. Watch your late night programming before falling off to sleep and wake up with the news and overnight happenings at your fingertips.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Vacation!!! Exactly as explained!

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: March 8, 2012

The house was exactly as described...The owner and the property manager were very easy to work with. We loved the place and will definitely be back again..HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!! A-LIST PROPERTY!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

PERFECT PLACE

Review submitted: March 4, 2012   Date of arrival: February 27, 2012

WOW..this property is wonderful..photo's are accurate(better in person)..very spacious..well-maintained..neat and very clean..a/c is cold..beds are comfortable..high quality linens and towels..master bedroom is fabulous-huge walk-in closet-master bathroom is gorgeous,soaking tub and huge glass shower..great kitchen..fully equipped..everything in working order..easy to live in home.
The fenced private outdoor space is great to barbeque, to swim, to sun, to have an evening drink in the jacuzzi....sooo relaxing!!
This safe location is close to the beach, restaurants, grocery store, shopping, gas stations, banks...all within walking distance. Aruba's is a must for lunch, dinner, drinks..Kilwin's for ice cream and chocolate(the BEST). DelacaSeas is a small cafe right down the street-delicious food for breakfast and lunch---on Friday evening they host a reservations only 5 course gourmet dinner...BYOB...great experience

Katy, the property manager, is adorable and a sweetheart, always available..she is a delight to work with..made the rental process easy.......THANK YOU Katy
We will definitely return and highly recommend this property to all...ENJOY!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Each time we have guests in our home, I am amazed at the new things they discover in our area that are so unique. Charlyce I am ready for your return visit. I was happy to hear the house met and exceeded your expectations. We love the relaxing atmosphere that surrounds the entire property. And from one chocoholic, you are so right about Kilwin's.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Absolutely Wonderful Christams Vacation!! Dec 2011

Review submitted: January 7, 2012   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

My family was looking for a 3 bedroom vacation rental in Lauderdale By the Sea at Christmas and we found the absolutely perfect place with this townhouse! I knew what it looked like from the pictures and from GoogleEarth but as each of the other family members walked in they all said "Wow- this is great!" It truly felt like a home even for the short time we were there. The ground floor was comfortable and we actually had Christmas breakfast outside in the garden basking in the sunshine! The bedrooms are very comfortable and the master suite gave my husband and me whatever privacy we wanted. I wish my bathroom at home was as nice as is the master bathroom here. Having the washer/dryer was a godsend for washing towels. The beach is a very short and very pleasnat walk away. My son really enjoyed the 5 minute walk to the restaurant on the beach where he would go for a quick lunch and my daughter still dreams of BurgerFi (2 mins away) which really does make the best burgers in the world.
Katy, the manager, was a treat to work with and responded immediately to the only tiny concern we had during our stay.
If we are lucky again to have another family reunion I will DEFINITELY try to rent this place. My only concern with writing this review is that too many people will know of this place and beat me to it! If thay do, they will truly enjoy themselves!! Thanks Robert and Katy.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Another Great Vacation at Roberto's Beautiful Villa

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 16, 2011

Once again, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in your villa. The short walk to the beach and convenience to everything is great as well as the pool to relax after the beach. Will definitely be hearing from us again next year. Wish we could stay longer.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing Stay!!!

Review submitted: June 9, 2011   Date of arrival: June 2, 2011

Upon first entering this house, everyone's reaction was oo's and ahh's: the interior was gorgeous. Very spacious, light, and open. Everything was kept very neat and clean. There is lots of closet space, as well as multiple bathrooms including a jaccuzzi!! The pool and patio outside added to the relaxing, laid-back atmosphere. We enjoyed swimming and grilling with lots of privacy. We also enjoyed the close proximity to the beaches and downtown area. Rosemarie was very kind and helpful in assisting our needs.We HIGHLY reccommend this as a nice retreat for anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Exactly what's written on the cover

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: May 24, 2011

Just returned from our second stay in two years at these villas.they yet again did not disappoint they are as stated by all reviews i have read I cannot think of anything to complain about thanks for the late checkout Robert it helped us great deal with late flight times, looking forward too stay number three.Once again thanks Robert and Rosemarie your property manager.Oh just to mention I stayed with my partner our 25 years old daughter, and My 75 years old mother.A great time was had by all!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Bellissimo by the Sea

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: May 19, 2011

It’s been a long and exhausting day and you have used up all your resources and reserves, you pull up to this executive beautiful villa and walk inside and discover that all the open sunny, lovely, charming delightfully appealing,clean,welcoming space is all yours. Your bags drop to the floor……There is no place like home!
No more stress, it melted away !!
This is exactly how my family felt when we walked in the front door.
Your good mojo is everywhere! We have all cooks in the family and we all fit perfectly, the space was plentiful all throughout, the pool area was comfortable, relaxed and stylish.
We needed no vehicle, there was so much to do with out one,300 meters to the ocean and live entertainment and fishing on that magnificent pier is the short list. The older kids rented a car to visit Miami and South Beach, to mix it up a bit. Your location is perfecto!
We played in the ocean everyday and got plenty of exercise and rest as well.
Thank you so much for the care you put into the property, it shows and we felt it.
We will be back……only next time for a much longer stay!
Mille Grazie,
Rose & Patrick and Family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Home abroad!

Review submitted: May 13, 2011   Date of arrival: April 10, 2011

We visited beautiful Lauderdale by the Sea in April and had never rented a house via homeaway before. Everything went smoothly with the rental and the townhouse was just like Robert had told us and what we could see in the pictures. In fact, it was even better. Very clean, homelike and spacious. I travelled with my husband, his parents and my mom, and there was plenty of room for everyone. Pool area was very nice and the house is about 300 metres from the sea. Robert, his wife and the manager were all very helpful. The Lauderdale by the Sea area is very beautiful, safe and quiet. (Except one night, when we had bad luck, because there were some all-night-partying students in the next house but next day they were gone). From Robert´s other townhouse, we could not hear a thing. We had some problems with the deposit, because I got a check from Robert and we don´t use them in Finland, but Robert sent me the money later. All in all, we were very pleased with everything and highly recommend this house for everybody, especially for those (Europeans) who are renting the first time. Nothing to be worried about with this rental! We had great experience and hopefully we can come back someday!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

LBTS's Secret Gem

Review submitted: April 27, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

This was an exceptionally clean and spacious rental.The owner lives nearby and
was very accomodating and freindly. The location was excellant...just a short walk to the beautiful beach,great restaurants and lively bars. Some nights we
cooked in,( the kitchen was large, beautiful and well equipped. Also the large gas grill came in handy for a quick lunch.The private pool with its jacuzzi area
was refreshing and welcoming. Our family has been renting in LBTS for many years,and definately would love to return to this townhome next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lauderdale by the Sea Vaction Stay April 10 - 16 2011

Review submitted: April 22, 2011   Date of arrival: April 10, 2011

Robert and his Wife are super great people and I enjoyed visiting with them when we got a chance. We throughly enjoyed meeting them in person and staying at their incredible Townhouse. Robert and his Wife stopped by several times to water plants and visit the area themselves. That shows me they care about the property and are actively maintaining it as necessary. We had a great time visiting with them during their visits. The property is ideally located as it is so close to the ocean and all the attractions at the Lauderdale by the Sea area. It was so easy to leave the rental car in the driveway and simply walk to all your choices of restaurants, pubs, shopping, fishing pier and awesome beach. The Townhome was very, very clean. It is very large as it was my Wife and I only but we really loved it. You could easily fit more couples. The pictures are very accurate and the property was meticulously maintained. We had and awesome time enjoying the back yard pool. I also enjoyed spending time watching the local wildlife chasing each other around the pool. We had a great selection of lizzards (Geco's) to watch running about the pool and in the lush tropical plants. One lizzard was particullarly large, maybe 6 to 8 inches in length, he seemed to run the place. He spent alot of time chasing smaller lizzards away from his personal resort..... I can't blame him as it is soooo nice.!!!! We often had a hard time deciding if we should go to the beach, go shopping, ride bikes, visit A1A in Fort Lauderdale.......? The location is so good that we could easily do many of those things in one day. We also used a local bike rental service named M-Cruz Rentals. They delivered bikes to us at the Townhome and picked them up so those of you that want to ride while there, it can be done easily. I would highly recommend this property to anyone. My wife and I visit the area frequently and we will definately be talking to Robert about renting for our next stay. I don't see a need to stay anywhere else. The only bad thing is when you have to leave.....
Robert, Thanks again for having such a great property to stay at...!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We'll see you next time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

david p michigan

Review submitted: April 16, 2011   Date of arrival: March 31, 2011

After 28 years of Spring Breaks we have found a place that was very comfortable and meet our needs for a perfect vacation. This place was perfect for the beach group (wife and daughter) and the golfers (son and son in law) We were a short walking distance to beach and stores as well as located to some very nice golf courses. Robert and his wife were very friendly and helpful. They had put together a welcome notebook that let us know everything we needed to know about the area. The townhouse was very clean and very spacious with a nice little pool in back to relax after golf and beach. we spent 10 glorious days this year and hope to spend 2 full weeks next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise at Portofino

Review submitted: April 16, 2011   Date of arrival: March 7, 2011

This is one of the nicest properties we have ever rented. The first few days were a bit too cool and windy for the beach, but perfect for the beautiful backyard pool. Robert is extremely attentive and helpful; when I expressed concern that the gas tank for the BBQ might possibly run out, and my Floridian cousins were coming for a BBQ, he quickly brought over a spare just in case (we didn't need it, but it was nice to know it was there). He was kind enough to lend us a beach umbrella, in addition to the sand chairs which were there. Lauderdale by the Sea is a wonderful, walkable vacation area, filled w/ great restaurants, but thankfully devoid of those horrible high-rise buildings which plague other parts of Florida. There was a slight delay in getting back my security deposit, but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect vacation rental!

Review submitted: January 20, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

We stayed at this property in January 2011. The location was perfect. A couple blocks to the beach, a block from restaurants and shops, 15 minute drive to the heart of Ft Lauderdale beach. The house was spotless and was exactly like the pictures. Robert was a wonderful host and very helpful. I would highly recommend this property!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Delightful and charming

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: October 2, 2010

This location provided a perfect stay for the family and our long awaited vacation. We found the proximity to the beach, stores, and restaurants to be a plus. We won't even rent a car next time; we didn't use it. Our eighteen month old granddaughter especially loved the park, which was right across the street. The spacious bedrooms gave us all privacy, and the living area provided plenty of space for games and family time. After a long day at the beach , it was nice to return home and cool off in our lovely little pool. The fully stocked kitchen allowed us to eat many meals at home, when the myriad of restaurants weren't pulling us out to dinner. Everything was clean, comfortable, and extremely well maintained. We are planning on returning next year...and for many years to come. Robert provides a lovely venue for many happy memories.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

You will LOVE this beautiful townhome!! Perfect!

Review submitted: December 22, 2010   Date of arrival: November 4, 2010

We stayed 3 nights in this townhome for a girls weekend away. It is just lovely and every room is sparkling clean. It is a short 3 minute walk to the beach. Along the way you will pass some fabulous restaurants as well as a delicious ice cream & candy shop. This 3 block area has everything you will need for a wonderful vacation!! We parked our car in the driveway on Thursday when we arrived, and did not get back in our car until Sunday when we had to drive to the airport. We had delicious dinners & great fun in this little town.

It was a pleasure to meet Robert. He was kind and helpful. He takes great care of this villa and everything was in good working order.

The pool area is so tranquil and tropical. We ate lunch outside each day & enjoyed the sunshine on the patio. There is a grill and beach chairs, umbrella & toys.

The layout is great, the rooms are spacious, and there are plenty of bathrooms. Every room is decorated nicely, and everything is clean, clean, clean!!

We would love to visit Lauderdale by the Sea again, and we would definitely stay in Robert's townhome again. You will not be disappointed!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great location

Review submitted: December 15, 2010   Date of arrival: December 4, 2010

Nice and clean large fully stocked home, great location with a quick walk to the beach, lots of restaurants and a grocery store.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

WARNINGS FOR THIS RENTAL

Review submitted: October 12, 2010   Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

We recently stayed a week at this property and it was handled very unprofessionally. First as soon as we checked in his management company called and asked for additional money for the 5th person in our party. A charge that we weren't aware of, is not mentioned on his site, and is not in his contract. So that was our first impression. Then we discovered that many items in the home didn't work: the jacuzzi tub, the fountain in the pool, the heat for the pool, there were lizards on the walls, etc. We have pictures even. And to top it all off when he sent our deposit back he shorted us money and said we broke 2 lounge chairs because we were "pretty good size". We never sat in a single lounge chair at his townhouse (only used the metal patio table chairs) and I am 5-9" and weigh 145lbs....so handled very unprofessional. Be warned to stay here.

Owners response: When a Contract is signed, it needs to be followed through, if any changes occur, I need to be aware. In this situation, Contract was signed for 4 guests at a discounted rate.

When guests checked-in, Manager noticed 5 guests. Contract was not followed through.
So Manager notified me and I thought appropriate to charge $100 additional for the whole week for the extra guest. Ms ( ) refused to pay.

When guests checked out, Ms. ( ) sent an email saying: "Thank you for letting us use your home. It was beautiful and we had a great time !" along with address to mail deposit.

When deposit was returned, Ms. ( ) was notified we would deduct $100 for extra guest, two “pretty good size” lounge chairs were found damaged but we didn’t mention because it wasn’t necessary, we were already deducting $100 for extra person.
Only then did Ms. ( ), not agreeing about $100, started claiming fountain, heater did not work and lizards on the wall. In the summer, the temperature reaches 90 deg.+, we shut off solar heat because the pool will get too hot and the heater is mainly used for winter. Written rule to ask manager to turn on the fountain for the pool and Florida has many lizards, something I unfortunately cannot control.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Fantastic Vacation!!!

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

This was the first time my family had ever rented a home for a vacation. We were so pleasantly surprised with how easy Robert made the transaction and how wonderful the rental was. It was immaculately clean and very well maintained. Everything listed on the description was available for our use, right down to the sand chairs for the beach and sand toys for our kids. There is a grocery store right down the street and restaurants and shops are all within walking distance.

We had four adults and two small children in the house and it was plenty big for us all. The master bedroom is huge and beautiful and having three bathrooms was awesome! The owner takes pride in his place and even stopped to check to make sure we had everything we needed. He and his wife were very friendly and helpful. They obviously want to make sure their visitors have a pleasant vacation.

The pool and back eating area is gorgeous. My 2 and 5 year olds had the most wonderful time swimming and eating at the outdoor table. If we have the opportunity to visit Lauderdale by the sea again we would definitely rent this property again. It was everything we had hoped for and more! Thank you Robert--we had an amazing time!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A Very Good Choice for Us

Review submitted: March 26, 2010   Date of arrival: March 6, 2010

We found the Portofino House to be an ideal vacation rental for our family; it was pristine clean, modern with spacious rooms and closets, and had an excellent overall living area/room layout. We used one of the two dining tables for an exclusive "computer desk" as we often had four people on the internet at once catching up on emails and business projects.
The location was ideal - located on a side street to the main avenue we were a short walk to the beach, A1A, shops restaurants, and the supermarket. For small children a playground across the street was a special amenity. It was quiet at night, and especially during the shoulder seasons when the FL weather is perfect, it was great to be able to open the windows for a lovely breeze. Most of all we appreciated the cozy, private, tropical patio setting in the back - great for breakfast or lunch outside and perfect for our 2 year-old granddaughter who loved playing near the plunge pool/jacuzzi.
The owner, Robert, was immediatley responsive to any request and demonstrated genuine concern to ensure ultimate comfort and satisfaction for his guests.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great vacation rental property

Review submitted: March 25, 2010   Date of arrival: February 28, 2010

We vacationed with another couple from Feb 28 - Mar 7, 2010.
The house was exactly as promised in the website. Very spacious, clean and comfortable. All the conveniences of home. Robert was very helpful. We arrived early, but were able to drop our luggage off, and check in as soon as the house was cleaned.
The location is excellent. Close to the town centre, restaurants etc. Publix was down the street (within walking distance), for groceries, the liquor store, and pharmacy. The beach is a couple of short blocks away, and it looked beautiful.
The week we visited, the weather was quite cool, so we did not get to the beach, but the backyard is very sheltered, so we were able to enjoy some relaxing in the sun.
We would definitely recommend this property.... we had a great vacation!

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Portofino is sheer vacation perfection!

Review submitted: March 21, 2010   Date of arrival: March 12, 2010

Our family has enjoyed many spring break vacations headed south to Florida - both coasts - and Mexico in the past. However, this villa in Lauderdale by the Sea fit our needs so perfectly! We traveled this year with our 19 year-old daughter and two of her best girlfriends. So we wanted something safe, but within walking distance to the beach, restaurants and fun shops for the girls. Portofino was the most glorious place to stay! The inside is much more spacious than the photos can show and everything was clean to perfection. The master suite was huge and lovely with a full walk in dressing room in addition to a spectacular bath and huge bedroom. The girls had two bedrooms and the Jack and Jill bathroom setup down the hall with a door between our suite and theirs. At night we could savor the ocean breezes in our bedroom and not hear their late-night television or movies - it was quiet and so relaxing! The kitchen is simply beautiful and ready for family meal preparation. Although with so many restaurants within walking distance, it was a tough choice to eat in. We did use the beautiful outdoor gas grill, which appeared to be brand new. And the upstairs washer and dryer made keeping up with wet or dirty clothes a breeze! The covered patio and back yard were beautifully landscaped, as was the entire villa. The small, but very clean pool was perfect for a dip after the beach. Robert, the owner and gracious host, was simply amazing! Before we even arrived he assisted in giving advice on rental cars, scheduling, and answered so many of my questions before we traveled. He lives just blocks away and is extremely attentive to his guests. We could not have asked for more gracious hospitality. I feel that he is not only a wonderful vacation villa owner, he is now a friend. As someone who has rented many vacation rentals, I can not recommend Portofino highly enough! It is a perfect blend of location, design and beauty, cleanliness, and truly warm hospitality. Enjoy peace of mind by reserving a vacation with Robert!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 19 / 19

 

Review submitted: March 21, 2010   Date of arrival: March 21, 2010

Our family has taken many spring break vacations
to many places, but our recent stay at Portofino in
Lauderdale by the Sea was the most glorious
vacation rental of all! This beautifully furnished and
decorated two-story villa is designed with a perfect
vacation in mind. The space is much larger than
the pictures can portray and the entire villa was
immaculate. The fully equipped kitchen made
family meal preparation so easy and the outdoor
gas grill created barbeque options, as well. The
master suite is simply huge with a spectacular
master bath, a full walk in dressing room and a
very spacious bedroom. Down the hall are the
other two bedrooms with the Jack and Jill
bathrooms, which creates a wonderful separation
between the two upstairs living areas. Our 19 year-
old daughter and her two girl friends shared the
bedrooms with connected bath which meant we had
lots of peace and quiet to enjoy the evening ocean
breezes while they stayed up later watching TV and
movies downstairs. The outside was beautifully
landscaped and the pool and patio area created a
splendid place to read or take a nice dip after the
beach. It truly was the very best of both worlds,
blending the beach activities with a wonderful,
quiet and spacious place to come home to each day.
Also, the village of Lauderdale by the Sea is perfect
for strolling with numerous restaurants and fun
shops within a block or two of Portofino. Robert,
the owner and very attentive host, was extremely
helpful even before we arrived by providing us with
rental car advice and other travel assistance.
Because he lives just blocks away, Robert is very
available and attentive to his guests. In addition to
finding the most wonderful place to stay in Florida,
we also now have made a new friend. Robert
creates the perfect blend of warm hospitality and
fabulous accommodations. We will return many
times!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 16, 2010   Date of arrival: March 16, 2010

Robert we throughly enjoyed your Portofino Townhome you rented to us for the week of Feb 27th to March 6th.I was impressed that the townhome was within walking distance to restaurants,grocery stores and of course the beach. The condo had all the conveniences of home, very clean, spacious and well equipped with everything you need except beach towels for a relaxing vacation. We look forward to staying with you again when we come to Ft. Lauderdale because the condo was great! Nancy

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Rental

Review submitted: February 22, 2010   Date of arrival: February 7, 2010

I rented this beautiful home for my family to get away for a week and it was amazing. The beach,shopping,bars and dinning are just a short walk down the street. This is by far the cleanest and most accommodating rental property I have ever rented in Ft. lauderdale. the neighborhood is quiet and charming, and there is a park with a playground for children close by. The pool area is beautiful and it has plenty of furniture, a grill and a bar area. I will definately rent this property in the future. The owner provided great and timely customer service.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect rental home

Review submitted: October 27, 2009   Date of arrival: September 28, 2009

We stayed 3 weeks in October,2009 and enjoyed it very much.The house is bigger as it looks on the pictures and the rooms are spacious.
Everything was clean.The management was very helpful,it responded promptly to our needs.
The location is perfect,just 5 minutes walk to the beach and to nice restaurants.
We plan to come back again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

neglected

Review submitted: October 5, 2009   Date of arrival: August 22, 2009

The property location, furnishings and cleanliness was very good apart from patio/pool area which looked neglected.But the real problem was the ants, They where everywhere.(no exaggeration ).In the living room, kitchen, work tops where you prepare food,in the bedroom and on and in the beds.This all happened on our first night,the next morning we planned to leave, very upsetting particularly to the two girls. After talking to management/owner they convinced me to move next door to their other semi detached townhouse and promised that there where no ants.I inspected the house and it seem ok. Later that night we noticed ants in the bedroom above the garage. I notice the ants coming through a electrical socket and cracks in the plaster into the room.I bought powder and spray from supermarket and sealed what I could.This was one of the girls bedrooms, she ended up sleeping on the sofa downstairs.In the morning I inspected outside and noticed two busy channels of ants into the garage.Visitors have no access to garage as its locked. This is definitley one of ways the ants are gaining access into the inner walls.Third day we decided to stay as with the spraying/sealing etc... they stopped comming into the bedroom and we only seen a few downstairs in the toilet by the garage.But the next day we started to notice a smaller ant, in the wardrobe and on the clothes also in the bedroom on the beds also in the toilets.They where alot smaller and hard to see ,we got rid of what we could see and said nothing to the girls ,and stuck it out for the remainder of our stay. Robert the owner was difficult and made out that we where overacting and not use to nature of the climate.Sleeping in the same bed with ants is unacceptable and robert needed to be convinced by his management company over the phone (He was in Italy) that there was an infestation.Again I liked the location and the accommodation and would return but I would need a impartial guarantee that the property was clear of ants.Hence I would not recommended this property

Owners response: We deeply regret the issue of ants that William and his family experienced at the attached townhouses. Days before Williams arrival, our area had experienced several heavy rainfalls, which caused the ants up and out of the ground. This is an ongoing issue for homeowners in Florida and not neglect of the property. We responded to Williams concerns in a timely manner.

Also, William never mentioned anything to Robert, the owner, or
the site manager about the pool, patio or the weeds in the flower bed areas being unsatisfactory, so question why he considered it neglected in his letter received on September 2,
2009. Also, the stay must have been somewhat satisfactory because William said that he would consider coming back in the future.

We pride ourselves on vacationers who want a home experience that is not only comfortable, clean and convenient, but satisfying in all aspects. We responded as quickly as possible and regret this experience that William and his family had.

Helpful votes: 4 / 8

 

Review submitted: July 22, 2009   Date of arrival: July 22, 2009

House was exactly as descibed. This house had plenty of space and all of the ammenities you need. The house is close to the beach and also had a park for the kids across the street. The owners were very easy to deal with and very accomodating.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

First experience rental

Review submitted: May 6, 2009   Date of arrival: April 25, 2009

Overall the property was very modern and convenient to our experiencing Ft. Lauderdale for the first time. My disappointment in the property was the advertising of features that were not available to us during our stay. Advertised was a jacuzzi which had been shut off from our use. Secondly the master bath whirlpool tub was disconnected so that it could not be used. I felt both were features of the advertised property to attract guest into renting. Many of the light bulbs within the facility were burned out and had not been replaced, limiting the use of light throughout the property. There was one single drinking glass within the kitchen and limited plates for preparing a meal. Sometimes it is the details that make a difference in whether a party will return to rent again. All of these items will be questioned prior to renting a second home within the Ft. Lauderdale area.

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: We regret that Bruce had some issues during his stay at our townhouse. Most of his complaints would have been resolve right away if he bothered to call us. We received just one phone call from Bruce and it was about the pool and the wireless internet access code. We gave him the code during his call, and the pool issue was resolved the following day.

The pool jacuzzi was off but was working, and we had a sign that says to call us for instruction if our guests wanted to use the jacuzzi. Bruce never made a call about the pool jacuzzi. The tub jacuzzi we admit was not working, and we have taken it off as a feature in the general description, but it still showed in the sub-description. We missed it, but we had taken it off completely since then. We have repaired the tub jacuzzi several times but unfortunately our guests keep on breaking it so we gave up repairing it. There were 4 lights that were not working when we checked the townhouse, and 3 of them were in the dining room chandelier. We suspect that the 3 got shorted when they were turned on since they are all on one side. The other was in the upstairs hallway, which is well lit even with the one bulb not working.We have since then completely replaced all of them. Again Bruce never called us about these busted lights. It took us 5 minutes to change all the bulbs. The complaint about one drinking glass and limited plates really perflexed us, so we took an inventory of the glasses and plates and these are what we found....... 8 drinking glasses, 6 high ball glasses, 8 wine glasses, 6 dessert glasses, 3 margarita glasses,12 shot glasses, 8 regular plates, 8 salad plates and 8 soup bowls.

We also regret that we could not accommodate Bruce's request to cancel his reservation a week before his arrival when 3 of his friends backed out and he was left shouldering all the expenses. We offered to give him another week if we got another client to take over his reservation. Unfortunately, we did not get anyone. We even went to the extent of advertising it on Craigslist.

I hope his bad experience with friends does cloud his impression of Lauderdale by the Sea. We pride ourselves in providing the cleanest and best accomodation in the area, and our cleaner and manager work as a team to accomplish this goal. Our efforts were rewarded by the 5 out of 5 stars reviews we got from each and everyone that had reviewed our townhouses.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Review submitted: April 30, 2009   Date of arrival: April 30, 2009

We were pleasantly surprised that the townhome more than lived up to the photos. It is conveniently located near everything and an oasis when you return from the beach. My son loved having the pool in back to dip into in the afternoon. It was everything you could want from a vacation rental and more. We will definitely be returning again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 17, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

We had a great time in Robert's townhome. It had all the amenities you would want on a luxury vacation and more. My son loved coming home to a private pool at the end of the day. The spacious bedrooms and living room provided more than enough room for our family of four. And it was located near everything in walking distance - beach, restaurants, shops. We will definitely be back.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Florida vacation

Review submitted: April 8, 2009   Date of arrival: January 10, 2009

The description of property was accurate.

The property was very clean -- so clean in fact my wife walked into the patio window thinking it was an open door.

The owner was personable & pleasant to talk to -- very helpful.

I would recommend this propety of a friend.

We nver had a bad meal -- we grilled mostly.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 2, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

April 2008 visit

What a wonderful place to spend your vacation. Everything was so clean and inviting. The outside pool patio/pool area was very private and perfect place to while away the day. The king size bed in the master bedroom was very comfortable. Easy walking distance to the beach and restaurants. Everything was first class. We are hoping to go back again next year. Rating 5/5.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great place to stay with your family

Review submitted: October 28, 2008   Date of arrival: September 13, 2008

This house is the oasis for everyone! We went there right after our wedding with our parents, so basically there were three families under one roof! Can't imagine that!?
Three spacious bedrooms, huge livingroom, well-equipped kitchen, clean bathrooms provided w/towels, paper tissue etc. And of course that beautiful patio w/ pool. Everyone could find their sweet solitude, without being bothered by someone else.
The beach is minutes away from home, so we didn't actually need a car to get there.There was a lot of walking and admiring. We loved visiting nearby souvenire shops and restaurants with good sea food and live music where we could dance.
Honestly, this is a place where you can get rest.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

A great spot with your grandchildren

Review submitted: October 21, 2008   Date of arrival: October 11, 2008

My wife and I met our son and daughter-in-law with their two children as they travelled from Texas to Europe. This spot was perfect for a beach vacation! The house is clean, bright and spacious. The upstairs has a "Jack and Jill" bathroom that worked perfectly for our son's family with children 5 and 7. We had the master suite with a little luxury and privacy, but were readily accessible to our grandchildren all the same. The little pool in the backyard is not for swimming laps, but great for cooling off with the little guys. The kitchen is fully equipped, and there are stores, restaurants and attractions nearby. The backyard is an oasis, with lush palms separating you from all the nearby structures. It's a five minute walk to the ocean, and the beach is nicely maintained. We would come back here again in a heartbeat!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 18 / 19

 

April 2008 visit

Review submitted: May 1, 2008   Date of arrival: April 19, 2008

What a wonderful place to spend your vacation. Every thing was so clean and inviting. The outside patio/pool area was very private and a perfect place to while away the day.
The king size bed in the master bed room was very comfortable. Easy walking distance to the beach and restaurants.
Every thing was first class.
We are hoping to go back again next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review