reviews for: listing #345562ha - Mal Pais, Costa Rica rental

FUEGO LODGE Affordable Private Comfort, Perfect for Couples & Families
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Townhome
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 90 - $ 155 / night
    $ 1,085 / week
  • sleeps  5
  • pets considered  ask owner

sort by:

Great Vacation Spot!

Review submitted: July 11, 2011   Date of arrival: May 17, 2011

These facilities were great and the staff even better. It is a husband and wife who run the place -- very helpful with everything we needed, spoke great english. The rooms and ambiance is very relaxing and the pool is great. We'll be back for sure!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful & Peaceful Spot!

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: February 12, 2011

Fuego Lodge was a great place to stay in Santa Teresa. My boyfriend and I stayed here our first night on the Nicoya Peninsula. We stayed in the pent house suite...the place was well kept and was very quiet and peaceful. The host, Barbara, was awesome...as soon as we arrived she lugged our bags up all the stairs to our room and was there if we needed anything. Waking up to the sounds of the rainforest was my favorite part about staying here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fuego Lodge is the best!

Review submitted: January 10, 2011   Date of arrival: December 27, 2010

Barbara and Eity are the most amazing hosts! When you stay with them, you feel like family. My fiance, and another couple we were traveling with were looking for an affordable, yet comfortable place to stay in Santa Teresa. We randomly came across the Fuego Lodge and we're so happy we did! We stayed in the Penthouse suite. While it technically only has one bed, Barbara and Eity were more than happy to add another mattress so all for of us could fit. We had plenty of room, it was really comfortable and even had a great balcony with an incredible hammock (it fits two!). The pool was perfect to chill out in at night after a long day in the sun and the beach is less than a 5 minute walk away. You're also right off the main strip of Santa Teresa which has a ton of delicious restaurants and the grocery store is right on the corner. I HIGHLY recommend staying here. Barbara and Eity worked so hard to make our stay perfect, and it was! Also- Eity gives surf lessons!

Great Family, Great accommodations... all in all, The Fuego Lodge was GREAT! :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic Place to Stay! Modern, Clean, Bright Rooms, A/C, Quiet, Convenient and Close to the Beach

Review submitted: January 2, 2011   Date of arrival: November 14, 2010

We stayed at the Fuego Lodge (Orquidea) for a couple of weeks in Nov 2010. We actually stayed in all 3 types of accommodations and loved every minute of our stay. We started in the new Cottages and liked the modern design of them. They have cool polished concrete floors, A/C, lots of natural light, very nice beds (not the usual when traveling in CR), tall ceilings and a fantastic bright tiled bathroom. We then stayed in one of the 2 story Apartments and again it was a great space. They have lots of room with a sweet little kitchen, dining area, A/C, big couch and TV and a private bedroom upstairs with a really nice deck. This room was great because we had some guests visit while we were there and it still allows for some privacy from the bedroom. For our last few nights we stayed in the Penthouse and what a way to wrap up our stay! The layout is basically one huge room with a bathroom. The natural light is very bright, great little kitchen, A/C, comfy bed and super sweet deck with a view (great sunsets!). We really liked the modern designs at the Fuego and it’s a nice change from the usual accommodations around CR. We sleep in VERY comfortable beds, with A/C, and no mesquites (some of our other friends staying at other places were not so lucky). We enjoyed the location which is off of the main road just enough to be safe, secure, quiet and free of dust but it’s just a short walk to the grocery store, restaurants and the beach. The pool is awesome and looks cool at night with the lights on. It has a sweet outdoor shower and nice furniture surrounding it. We thought Barb and Eti were great and offered us just the right amount of helpfulness and privacy. We highly recommend the Fuego and would come back to stay in a heartbeat. Thanks so much!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best in the area!

Review submitted: September 10, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

This place was impeccable! The owners were very friendly and made my stay very comfortable. I recommend this place to everyone. You will truly enjoy it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fantastic Stay

Review submitted: September 2, 2010   Date of arrival: November 4, 2009

My husband and I, along with another friend of ours, stayed at Orquidea Lodge in for 3 weeks in November 2009 and loved it. Barbara and Itay were very helpful and accommodating, recommending surf spots, surf instructors, restaurants and tours. They have two dogs, China and Akiles, both of which I was afraid of when I first arrived. Barbara and Itay made special effort to tie them up if I was outside or to be outside at the same time as me (which I REALLY appreciated - THANK YOU!), but I soon learned to love both dogs and it was no longer a problem. They are VERY cute!

As far as location goes, the lodge is in a great spot. It was a fairly easy walk to the beach (just make sure you wear flip-flops because the road leading up to Orquidea is quite rocky) which was fantastic because we surfed twice a day while we were there. The waves were amazing and we found that there were waves for all different levels, depending on what beach you went to. I can't say enough about how much I enjoyed the surf. Also, the lodge is close to some really delicious restaurants (I still crave the fish I had at Burger Rancho!!), a very good surf shop (Kina) and a grocery store.

Orquidea Lodge itself was exactly what we wanted. We'd been traveling for 4 months prior to arriving in Santa Teresa and the lodge really felt like a home. It had all the amenities we required: the beds were comfy, the shower was powerful and had hot water (a nice perk!), it was cleaned every day by a very friendly cleaning lady, there were beautiful balconies to relax on, and there was satellite TV. I would highly recommend Orquidea Lodge to anyone staying in the Santa Teresa area.

We were told that a swimming pool would be going in shortly, and from the looks of it, Barbara and Itay have put one in! Our stay at the lodge was already incredible, and a pool would make it that much better. I'm hoping that I'll have the chance to stay there again sometime in the future, and if not, I'll be recommending this location to all of my friends! ;-)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Lia!!
Thank you a lot for this great review and so much information you provided..!
(I can't tell you how happy the guys at Buger Rancho were when I told them about your fish cravings... :D )
We have been working really hard since last January, to get the pool and the 3 new units done, you'll love them!!
I'd like very much to have you over again, I hope you choose Santa Teresa for future holidays... :)
Will try to send you some pictures with the updates to your old e-mail address, I hope you still check that one, otherwise, please get in touch with me so we can catch up for all this time.
Lots of love from the whole family, take care...
Barbara

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Heaven on Earth !

Review submitted: August 11, 2010   Date of arrival: July 8, 2010

I stayed here for 2 weeks and absolutely loved it! Very comfortable and clean rooms with kitchen and A/C, 2 steps from a beautiful beach with great surf, and the absolute best hospitality we had in Costa Rica. Very highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Mitch!
It was very nice and fun to have you around. :)
See you soon for more great surfing and some fun pool days, too!
Stay in touch,
XXX
Barbara

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best Place to Stay in Mal Pais

Review submitted: August 4, 2010   Date of arrival: March 11, 2010

My husband and I stayed in one of the apartments for a month in March 2010. While we were there the pool and cabinas were being built. We have been coming to Mal Pais for 8 years and have stayed in many different hotels from Santa Teresa to Mal Pais. The Orchidea Lodge is hands down our favorite. The location is perfect, close to the beach and yet away from the main cross roads which is more popular with the backpackers. We loved the neighborhood feel around the property. Great restaurants, grocery store and shops are a few minute walk from your front door. Barbara and Itay are great hosts and are so helpful with info and suggesttions for their guests. We loved the security of being set back a bit from the road. We really felt more like guests in a family home than just paying tourists. We will be back in 2011 and this time will be bringing more of our family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Laura and Andy,
It's so nice to hear from you again..!
Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers, is the most effective way of helping people know about Orquidea Lodge, and far the most important for us. :)
I wish you all the best, and I will meet you and your family again next year..!
Talk to you soon, Barbara

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: February 12, 2010   Date of arrival: February 12, 2010

Just arrived home from a glorious 3 week vacation
in beautiful Santa Theresa, Costa Rica, where my 3
friends and I had the pleasure of spending 10 days
at Barbara and Itay's awesome lodge. The house is
spacious with modern amenities throughout, and
very clean. It is situated in one of the best area's
around, walking distance to everywhere, and is in
the process of having a pool added, and 2 more
cabana's. Out of all the places we stayed it was our
favourite, and the concern and generosity of the
proprietors is impressive. I would highly
recommend booking a rental at this property, you
will not be disappointed.

Owners response: Thank you Jane!
And please thank your friends as well, you have been great guests yourselves, I can't wait to meet you again this Summer..!
Much love, take care!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review