reviews for: listing #34562vb - Montezuma, Costa Rica rental

Luxury Ocean View Spanish-Mexican Villa W/Private Pool.
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  5
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 350 - $ 1,000 / night
  • sleeps  12
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Luxury overlooking the bay.

Review submitted: January 13, 2014   Date of arrival: December 27, 2013

Yes - this place really does exist! The rental agent could have been a bit more prompt in returning e-mails, but her suggestions and help were spot-on. The owners rep, Peter, lives right across the road and was there with a big smile every morning after sunrise (which occurs over-looking the bay as you sit by the pool) and was full of information on where to go, what to do and who to see. It seems like he knows everyone and is always making sure that everything is right. There were 9 of us, spanning 3 generations, and we still had a bedroom left over. You do need a car, but it doesn't HAVE to be 4WD unless you're there in rainy season - it just needs to sit up higher than a car depending on where you're going. The roads are a joke, so speeding isn't something you have to worry about. Most of the roads are dirt and so poorly maintained that an old cow path might be easier to traverse, and the number of motorcycles and ATVs are about the same as cars/trucks, so be careful when moving to avoid a hole in the road as you don't want to hit a motorcyclist trying to pass you. I would highly recommend the Saturday morning market if you're looking for produce. We did the Zip line tours with Sun Trails, and they were great, as was Zuma Tours for snorkeling and Tortuga Island. Peter recommended some great restaurants, and some of the fun was just strolling around and eating at a place that just happened to be there when we got hungry. The locals are all very friendly and most speak some English. Everyone takes American $$. Make sure you take enough so you don't have to use the ATM. Half of our group has already had their bank accounts hacked after using the ATM in Playa Carmen. Can't say enough about the Villa. It was the PERFECT spot to spend the Christmas/New Year week.

Owners response: Congrats to a wonderful experience at Villa Montezuma Hills!!! You were smart to book this Villa 10 months in advance for the 2013 New Year period and yes this did amount to a lot of emailing back and forth within that time frame but I was happy to do it and I am glad my suggestions were spot on!! Just for clarification, I represent the owner directly and Peter is the friendly on-site property manager. And as for our roads here.. let's just say its part of the jungle Costa Rican experience! You and your lovely family are welcome to come back anytime. Best wishes, Kristine Cook

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Paradise

Review submitted: May 1, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

Our party of 12 stayed at the villa for 8 nights. We absolutely loved it. Thank you Kristine and Peter for everything along the way. We had a family group of 6 couples. This property is very spacious, comfortable, private and secure. We love to cook and were amazed by the amenities of the kitchen. The view is breathtaking. We enjoyed fishing, snorkeling, zip lining and hiking. We still miss the sounds of the howler monkeys at dawn and dusk. We would return in a heartbeat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Spectacular!!

Review submitted: February 4, 2011   Date of arrival: January 19, 2011

This property is truly one of the kind. Aerate, superb architecture, breathtaking view, and perfectly fit for families with children. I highly advise renting a 4X4 car as the road leading to the house is not asphalted. The house is fully equipped, which is a blast for those who like to cook. The manager is very helpful and most amiable. A 10-14 days stay will be ideal, as the week we spent there seemed too short.
Will come back anytime. 10/10

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 19 / 19

 

Memorable and Remarkably Rewarding Experience

Review submitted: January 20, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2011

Our party of 6 included grandparents, parents, and grandchildren, all of whom were happily accommodated in spacious, well designed, modern, comfortable, and impeccably maintained rooms. The house itself, even more beautiful than pictures suggest, is ingeniously designed for both sleeping/reading privacy and group dining/relaxing/entertaining, etc. The beautiful two-tiered pool is perfectly integrated into the living space and shares with its terrace the magnificent eastern view of forest and sea. After 7 days we were still discovering beautiful nuances in decor, design, tile-work, and garden design, and still noticing fresh vistas. When nearby beaches, (many well-worth visiting),and Montezuma itself, (just 8 minutes away by winding, rough road--not bad by CR's standards),were hot, humid,and airless, the house high above enjoyed a refreshing breeze, both inside and out. Every single morning, Manuel, the gardener and pool-tender who lives in the out-of-sight gate house, and the housekeeper, Mercedes, discreetly appeared to do all the chores which included daily laundry service. Kristine, the house agent, a native American and long-time CR resident fluent in Spanish,met us in Montzuma and personally guided our car to the house. She was personable and helpful by phone and in person throughout our stay. Peter, also an American and resident in a nearby but out-of-sight house welcomed us in his role as on-sight manager,and was kind and helpful, though seldom needed. We had spent the previous week in the beautiful Monteverde cloud-forest area well to the north, and were impressed in general by all of CR's beauty and hospitality, but we all agree that this house, its setting, its gardens, its superb maintenance and management, was in itself, the high-light of our visit. We plan to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 20 / 20

 

Fantastic

Review submitted: November 11, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2009

My wife and I have traveled the world and Costa Rica extensively. We always rent private homes and this house was spectacular. The view, the expanse of the home is a must see.
We will without doubt stay here again on our next pass through Montezuma.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 20 / 20

 

the perfect place for the tropical vacations

Review submitted: July 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 24, 2010

The Villa is fantastic, beautiful and comfortable, the well maintain property is a pleasure to explore, the kids loved the private waterfall in middle of the jungle, the pool and the monkeys!!!! The crew made our stay absolutely memorable. We booked the private chef few dinners and it was a great choice, the food was amazing, delicious and healthy, the italian cook, surprise us every night !!! she prepared variety of delicatessens from sea food to traditional italian dishes. Peter, the manager, was always ready to answer our questions or help us booking excursions.We absolutely recommend Villa Montezuma Hills!! we will be back...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 21 / 21

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review