reviews for: listing #34657 - Portland, Oregon House rental

Garden View Hideway in Prestigious Irvington Neighborhood
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Irvington
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $105 - $120 /nt

sort by:

90th birthday celebration for mother

Review submitted: April 11, 2014   Date of arrival: April 4, 2014

Location is everything and this house had the ideal location for us. It was easy to get to all our distinations from this Irvington house and then we were able to returned to this quiet and enjoyable neighborhood. The apartment had everything we needed, wonderful stocked kitchen, comfortable and clean bathroom and a nice bedroom. We had our adult daughter who used the sofa bed which work out fine, but with using this bed we could have used an additional blanket but all in all we were confortable. I was a little surprised that it was not mentioned that it was a basement apartment, but it did have plenty of outside light coming in and I did love the view of the flowers at each window. I have already recommend this property to others and will come back for another stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Visiting Our 1st Grandchild

Review submitted: January 29, 2014   Date of arrival: January 13, 2014

Our stay at the Garden View Hideway in Irvington was wonderful. The apartment had everything we needed for our week stay in Portland. We were close to our daughter and son-in-laws apartment and close to shopping and restaurants. This home away from home was comfortable and had a pub table and chairs which was great for my husband who has trouble getting up off low chairs. We will recommend this listing to our friends who happen to come to the Northwest. We will be coming back to Portland to visit our grandchild again and plan to stay here again. The caretakers of the property were accessable and answered any questions we had. We loved it!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect place to stay, especially for a couple!

Review submitted: December 26, 2013   Date of arrival: December 20, 2013

We were meeting our adult kids half-way in Portland. My husband wanted to stay in the heart of Portland. My daughter-in-law and I were drawn to an apartment, house-type of place. The more we looked at hotels, the more we were turned off! Portland does not have parking and wants you to pay daily for parking. We did not want to pay so much for two cars for two days! Then we found this basement apartment in a area very near Lloyd Center. We happened to get in on the rates right before the holiday rate change. So that made it even more ideal for us. It was private and very accessible to the mall and to transportation. We enjoyed walking, not even using our car the whole weekend. We definitely got well-needed exercise! There are a few steps to get in and out of the place, so if you have a problem with that, maybe not the place for you. But it was not a problem for us. We cooked. Everything we needed was available. They have a nice pantry with dishes, pots, pans, spices. We never spoke to management. The key was made available thru private communication. The e-mail communication between us and owners/caretaker was friendly and helpful. When we first arrived and entered the place, we were greeted by a welcoming letter and some coffee beans and a bottle of wine! How thoughtful! They even provided a paper with well-needed instructions on how to use the remotes for the TV, etc! Therefore, we never had a need to bug the caretaker. The bedroom bed was comfortable. The other bed was a sofa bed. Sofa beds are sofa beds. One person sleeping on it is best, unless you put the mattress on the floor! The place had a nice shower. Nice floors, no carpet. So it felt even cleaner! Would be especially nice and cool in there in the summer. But it was fine for the winter, too. There was heating available that was just fine! All in all, we were so happy with the place and would stay there again, probably just the two of us the next time. It is more suited for a couple or a couple with small children. The only draw back for us would be the non-refundable cleaning deposit along with the regular rates. With the $80. rate it was acceptable. The $100. security deposit is re-deposited back into your account in a day or two. Thank-you for making your place so nice for us to enjoy our stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect cozy place with great access to downtown !!

Review submitted: October 8, 2013   Date of arrival: September 19, 2013

We rented the lower 1 bedroom unit for 3 nights, it has a comfortable queen bed and a nice pull out sofa. There were 3 of us since our 22 year old daughter stayed with us. The place is nicely decorated and has all the comforts needed to make it homey. The kitchen was well stocked which made it easy to cook in if we wanted to. The backyard was a nice place to relax after a day of exploring downtown Portland by bike. We didn't rent a car until the day we left the unit for a week of traveling to the coast area. The Irvington neighborhood was a wonderful surprise, only a few blocks to a brew pub (Hop House) and many other great places to eat. The bus stop was only steps away from the house. The onsite manager was very nice. The laundry room was a nice touch since we were staying another week of traveling the state. We are from Michigan so I am not sure when we will be back in Portland, but we definitely will stay at the Irivington House again. We had a chance to check out the larger units and were surprised out how big the upper unit is. If you have a few couples or family it is like having your own house. The property was very clean and well kept.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Anniversary Vacation to Oregon

Review submitted: October 4, 2013   Date of arrival: September 21, 2013

Our stay in the Garden Apt at Irvington House was fantastic! The apt was spotless, quiet, and safe. We always found a street parking spot for our rental car right outside the house, and the apt had everything we needed for our stay. The description on the listing was accurate. The location was very close to fun neighborhoods, downtown, and great restaurants. Allie was our house manager and she was friendly and knowledgable. Both her and the listing owner were great at answering our questions right away. My husband and myself would for sure stay there again! Eat breakfast at Tin Shed, Bakery Bar, or Mother's Bistro, you will not be disappointed!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect For Our Week in Portland

Review submitted: October 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 26, 2013

As we reluctantly prepare to leave after our first visit to Portland, the good fortune of having found The Irvington House is cause for celebration. The accommodations were everything needed, with excellent appliances, sharp knives (a relative rarity for VRBO rentals), spacious and efficient floor plan, superb mattress, good HDTV, and high speed and reliable WiFi. Mark, the owner, was pleasant and made booking easy, and the caretaker Allie welcomed us warmly and made a number of fine recommendations. The Historic Irvington District is well worth a day or two of leisurely walking along the quiet streets with fine examples of distinctive Craftsman, Bungalow, Four-square, Prairie, Mission, Colonial, and Tudor architecture. And, the Irvington Home Tour website has photo tours of the interiors of a good number of the homes that one might find interesting. Irvington House is also convenient walking distance to Broadway for cafes, restaurants, and shopping---everything from Macy's/Nordstrom at the Lloyd Center to Goodwill and the Dollar Store. Of special note is Frank's Noodle House, and Petisco--both on Broadway, and the Hop House, just a block up the street. We are confident that we could not have found a better place for our 7 days in Portland, and will definitely plan to return. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay in Portland

Review submitted: September 24, 2013   Date of arrival: September 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this property for 5 nights in September 2013. The flat was well maintained and clean, and contained everything that we needed. The flat is on a nice street in a really nice neighbourhood with plenty of food and drink options within walking distance. We walked into downtown Portland on a couple of occasions and this took around 40 minutes but there is a train station 10 minutes walk from the flat if you don't want to walk all the way. Mark the owner, was very helpful and responded to our queries quickly. We would definitely recommend this property to others and really enjoyed our stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location!

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in the Garden View Hideaway. The location and neighborhood are just a great place to stay in Portland. On a previous visit we stayed in a downtown hotel, and this was so much better for us. The apartment was nicely lit for us on our late night arrival.

For those concerned about parking, we had no problem parking right out front. We used the car for our day trips, hiking at Mt Hood etc, and quick trips around the city. The location makes it easy to get on major highways. We were able to walk to many of the NE brewpubs and eateries. Convenience of this apartment for using the bus system was really great. We were able to easily access the bus for our SE pub crawl.

The apartment is just as described. The bed is very comfortable. A top concern for us on vacation. The linens and towels provided were of high quality. Everything was clean and in good condition.

The kitchen was well equipped, with a nice closet pantry with all the little extras. Spices, oil, sugar, etc. Wifi worked well. Washer and Dryer right outside the apartment door. Soap provided.

The back patio was really nice with a beautiful garden.

We would gladly rent here again on a future visit.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Beautiful!! Would definitely stay here again!

Review submitted: May 22, 2013   Date of arrival: May 15, 2013

This was our first trip to Portland, for our daughter's graduate school graduation. The apartment was beautiful! It was in a lovely, quiet neighborhood, and was an easy walk to the bus, train, grocery store, shopping, and restaurants. We didn't rent a car during our stay -- and didn't need one. The apartment was immaculate, spacious, well equipped, and well maintained. We had laundry facilities right outside our door. The backyard was a beautiful place to enjoy a sunny afternoon and just relax. The caretaker, Dana, was wonderful! She made us feel right at home, and answered each and every question wihin minutes. I would highly recommend the Irvington House to anyway traveling to Portland, and on our next trip, we will definitely check its availability first!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Accommodations!!

Review submitted: May 22, 2013   Date of arrival: May 15, 2013

This was our first visit to Portland, for our daughter's graduate school graduation. The apartment was beautiful! It is in a lovely neighborhood, and an easy walk to the bus, train, grocery store, shopping, or restaurants. We didn't rent a car -- and didn't need one. The apartment was clean, quiet, roomy, well equiped, and well maintained. We even had laundry facilities right outside our door. The backyard was a lovely place to enjoy the sunshine and just relax. The caretaker, Dana, was wonderful! She answered each and every question within minutes. I would definitely recommend, without question, the Irvington House to anyone traveling to Portland. On our next trip, we will definitely check the availability of the Irvington House first!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfort and convenience in a lovely location

Review submitted: March 16, 2013   Date of arrival: March 3, 2013

We rented this apartment for British friends who were visiting, and by all accounts it was a great choice. They were delighted with all the thoughtful touches, the immaculate cleanliness, and the convenient location which allowed them to catch the bus just outside the door for exploring Portland. They also loved walking in the beautiful neighborhood. A lovely place in a great city!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Get Away Home

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2012

What a gem in Portland Oregon! We rented this apartment for our recent first time visit to Oregon. What you see in the photos is what you get. A lovely basement apartment. Modern styling, clean, comfortable and a terrific location with complete access to every great attribute of Portland. Irvington is convenient to various Portland neighborhoods, walking distance or perfect access to the bus system to get downtown- no car needed if visiting the Portland area. We rented a car for other travel in Oregon and could easily park on the street with no problem. Great restaurants or the back patio with grill for dinner in house. A great rental. We recommend you try it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

First Time Portlander

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2012

I visited Portland for the first time early this month. Two old friends and myself stayed in the garden view apartment for 4 nights and had an amazing time. The space was the perfect size for us. It was clean, cute and in a great location. The only reason we rented a car was to drive to the coast one afternoon. Other than that we walked and used the transit. I would recommend this rental to anyone hope to visit again in the future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect place to stay

Review submitted: June 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 1, 2012

I spent the entire month of May in this apartment and could not have been happier with the accommodations. The place is perfect for 1-4 people (one bed and one convertible sofa-bed), it has lots of light even though it's a basement apartment, and the kitchen is equipped well enough for most people's needs. Not only that, it is walkable to the first free zone into the city on the Maxx. The apartment was neat, clean, and well-decorated, and the caretaker, Jennifer, was easily available for any questions or helpful information. I would definitely rent there again if I returned to Portland.

Steve Briody (Atlanta, GA)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Huh?

Review submitted: May 6, 2012   Date of arrival: April 22, 2012

This rental is in a lovely home and neighborhood. It was very clean and well appointed. I enjoyed staying there and would definitely stay again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Irvington House stay - girls weekend

Review submitted: March 27, 2012   Date of arrival: March 23, 2012

Our stay this past weekend was perfect! The area of Irvington is probably one of the best neighborhoods I've stayed in and the unit was well thought out, clean, safe area, and very quiet. I would stay here again. I have one note: in the basement unit, there are 2 areas where the ceiling sits very low, so someone very tall would have quite a hazard. Other than that, it's definitely a great place to stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Location

Review submitted: February 2, 2012   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

My sister and I stayed in this apartment for one month. It was as it was described in the advertisement. It is a great location as you are near shopping, grocery stores and light rail/bus service. The owner had recently lost their care provider as they had bought their own home. This period of time meant that the apartment was not as well set up when we arrived, however, the owner was most accomodating and in the end we had a wonderful stay. The convertible bed is comfortable but the main bed is great!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Very nice apartment I have already recommended to friends!

Review submitted: January 22, 2012   Date of arrival: January 16, 2012

The apartment was clean, comfortable and very well maintained. The location is convenient and I would definitely return here and recommend the place. I never had any problem with finding parking right in front of the house. The pictures give a good representation and the description was accurate. Though I might dispute the title "Garden view", the windows were good-sized and gave a lot of light for a basement apartment (in January!). The owner answered all my questions promptly and handled the lease in a very efficient and trustworthy manner. It was a bonus having the caretaker on sight. She was pleasant and helpful and it was an added security having her in the building. All in all I was very impressed! I have done VRBO rentals before, and this is really one of the nicest. My only recommendation is to add a full length mirror. Thanks!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charming and Wonderful apartment

Review submitted: December 21, 2011   Date of arrival: December 10, 2011

The owner Mark said we would love the place. Indeed, we did. Very comfortable, very clean and the caretaker who lives in the same house is very hospitable. The location is incredible, right on the bus line, and still very close to our daughter:)

We found everything we needed in the apartment, most of it very good quality. I can't say enough about the apartment, we will be returning soon. We have always stayed on the west side of Portland, simply because we enjoy the fine dining that it offers. But I can say that I am now a convert to the east side. The house is very close to downtown, and without the parking hassles and homeless problem that downtown has. Again, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this delighful home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent location and rental!

Review submitted: November 19, 2011   Date of arrival: November 1, 2010

The surrounding neighborhood is beautiful and ideally located--short walks to shops and transportation. We enjoyed a comfortable stay and were delighted to be there during Portland's peak foliage season. It's a great place and reasonably priced.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A wonderful stay!

Review submitted: April 5, 2011   Date of arrival: March 31, 2011

We loved the apartment! The futon bed was very comfortable. The location was fantastic. The amenities met all of our needs. The spare food and bathroom items were a great, added touch!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: April 24, 2009   Date of arrival: April 24, 2009

I stayed here for a long weekend and found it really hard to leave! It' s located in a beautiful, safe neighborhood with a bus stop about two houses down the street, so getting downtown is quite easy. Accomodations were lovely and quiet. Highly recommended!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: May 3, 2008   Date of arrival: May 3, 2008

I really enjoyed my stay here in Portland, and your unit here at the Irvington House was the perfect location for getting anywhere. The neighborhood was very nice, and I really liked looking at all the houses there. I think your house looks better in person than on the website. Thanks again guys.

Tim Miralla

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: October 9, 2007   Date of arrival: October 9, 2007

We were so pleased to find that the apt was exactly as described. The neighborhood was lovely and it was easy to navigate ways to the Pearl District, Downtown, Nob Hill (and Voodoo Donuts...a must as is Andina). The apt had everythig we needed to make easy meals to fill in the gaps between visits to a foodie capital's many offerings. Chris and Amy were great and also unobtrusive which we appreciated but helpful with questions. The only thing missing was.....Kleenex :-) Four stars.

Owners response: Kleenex is being added:)

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review