reviews for: listing #3465738ha - Dominical, Costa Rica rental

Waterfall Villa - Private Waterfall & Pool, Gated Community
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Bungalow
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 65 - $ 100 / night
    $ 400 - $ 474 / week
    $ 695 - $ 894 / month
  • sleeps  2
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Beautiful tranquility. Highly recommend

Review submitted: June 11, 2014   Date of arrival: June 4, 2014

Looking at the pictures and reviews made me very excited for my stay at the waterfall villa,but when I actually saw the place my jaw dropped!!! About a 10-15 min drive up the hill, the neighborhood is wonderfully isolated. Everything was clean and in order when we arrived and the property is beautiful. After having visited Costa Rica for years I can confidently say this is the most unique spot I've stayed. But I won't lie it was a bit uneasy sleeping with no walls around you in the middle of the jungle. It's just part of the experience though. You are fully surrounded by nature but with all the amenities of home. Including hot water which worked almost too well sometimes!! The onsite waterfall was relaxing and the pool was a treat to swim in. Just 10 mins from nauyaca falls which i also highly recommend. Have fun with those stairs!! Pura vida

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nature lovers paradise

Review submitted: May 19, 2014   Date of arrival: May 9, 2014

The property and the surrounding area were a blessing to find. It was absolutely amazing! It had a camping feel, but fancy camping since we had a really cool shower that looked into the jungle and everything is screened in really well (the whole house is made of screen) a giant beautiful moth hung out with us for a long time on the screen. We are a little more of an adventurous couple and we love the outdoors and nature so this place was perfect for us. Yes, there were some bugs and spiders. But you are in the middle of the rainforest so that's to be expected.
Waking up and falling asleep to the waterfall and the beautiful noises of the forest was great. The steps down to the villa were no joke but a nice way to get your work out in. Great experience overall, look forward to returning!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Costa Rica paradise.... private and secure....

Review submitted: October 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 24, 2013

You have to visit Cascada Azul to see the difference staying there , then a normal hotel room ....worth every dollar spent.... minutes from the beach and area's to visit... I will re-book again with my family and return to costa rica paradise....next time I will stay longer and enjoy the private community they offer...

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise in Jungle!!!

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I spend 1 week at the Water fall Villa, it was one of the best experience in my life!!! I have to be honest and say that at begining I was not really sure about what expected from all this but as soon as we arrived to the Villa I falled in love with this amaizing place!!! I have to say a special thanks to Chris, that was so nice and helpfull with us during our stay!! Hope to go back in the nearly futur!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Private Jungle Retreat

Review submitted: July 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in the "jungle house" july 4 - 11th. (now my fiance :). Our first night in was a little worrisome ...heard so many disturbing stories etc.

Bryan was very prompt in both email responses and answered every call we made during our stay. He even sent his son Chris (very nice) to change out our fuel tank within minutes.

The "house" is very secluded. About a 5km up hill drive (4 wheel drive required if it is raining) and the reviews about the stairs are no joke (97 to be exact). The water fall(s) made our evenings and the lack of real walls were actually very impressive (gave a free feeling - screened - so no worries about critters).

There weren't a lot of "extras" as most rentals I have utilized have (wine opener was broken...no microwave...very few towels etc) but it was lovely.

The views were fantastic (no monkeys or sloths etc in July...) and the sounds were amazing. Def a haven from all the hustle and bustle from San Jose.

Would def stay again - Lovely spot - very safe and private!!

Thanks Bryan for a lovely oasis :)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Jungle Retreat was AMAZING

Review submitted: May 6, 2013   Date of arrival: April 17, 2013

My girlfriend and I arrived to the designated area not sure what to expect. When we got there, all we saw was a soccer ball printed mat and a light pole and miles of jungle. We parked and went over to the mat, and peered down the 95 stairs. That lead us to out Jungle Retreat.
We cautiously descended the steps and immedietly noticed a lizard and several exotic insects scatter as we approached. When we got there, the retreat was everything we imagined and more.
Shaped like an octagon and having no walls only screens, we were right smack in the middle of a jungle! What an experience to go to sleep to the sound of cicadas and to wake up to the sounds of birds.
The air oxygen rich air cleared my lungs, and the 95 steps were a great work out every day.
The internet did not work in the retreat but worked consistently in the parking lot, which made the experience even closer to getting away from it all.
The owner and his daughter were very helpful and friendly and made us feel truly welcome.
Well worth the price.
It was a fantastic experience and we will certainly try to visit this spot again next year if the timing all works out.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutely Beautiful

Review submitted: December 23, 2012   Date of arrival: November 11, 2012

This was an amazing experience! I love nature, and absolutely loved being so close to the jungle, and literally surrounded by waterfalls and beautiful primary rainforest. The steps were not a big deal at all. We loved the exercise and loved the seclusion and privacy. The owners, Bryan and Tracie, were a wonderful help and went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. They had a wealth of knowledge about the surrounding area and knew all the great restaurants and activities to do. If you truly want to experience Costa Rica in all its beauty and enjoy some peace and quiet, this villa is a wonderful choice.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

One In A Million Experience

Review submitted: December 21, 2012   Date of arrival: December 15, 2012

We loved the Jungle Retreat. The setting is one in a million with your own private waterfall and natural swimming pool right out your front door. It is super private and you truly feel you are on a retreat, yet the beach and lots of excursions are within 15-30 minutes including zip lines, horseback riding, surfing, whale watching, waterfall repelling, quads, mangrove kayaking, etc. The hike to and from the home was just the right workout for us, but you would need to want a little exercise built into your vacation with the 97 steps. The weather was perfect under the shaded jungle canopy during the day and slightly cooler for sleeping at night. The open air design made you feel you were in the middle of nature, yet completely screened to keep the insects out. The home came with all the amenities, was clean and comfortable, and the owners were super responsive to all of our needs. We highly recommend this home for a memorable vacation.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Jungle Retreat

Review submitted: December 17, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

The jungle retreat was a fabulous experience, i'd definitely recommend it to others. However bear in mind that the steps are really hard work. My husband and i were out of breath by the time we reached the top, carrying suitcases up was a nightmare. The washing machine was broken when we were there plus all of the chairs broke thanks to the damp.
It really was wonderful though to be so close to nature, it's a once in a lifetime thing to do - a must for everyone.

Advice to owners: clean the retreat before guests arrive, it wasn't dirty due to jungle life - you hadn't bothered to clean it. We scrubbed mopped and cleaned everything and had the place looking great after an hour but not the best start to our holiday. Carry heavy gas bottles for your paying guests when the gas runs out - we had to carry our daughter plus the gas bottle down 92 steps in the tipping rain at night. fix the washing machine.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Paradise in Costa Rica

Review submitted: December 14, 2012   Date of arrival: November 18, 2012

Initially when my wife asked to go to Costa Rica, I was skeptical. I'm more comfortable with all my electronic gadgets than I am in the middle of a rain forest. I'm so glad I gave it a chance! Visiting Costa Rica, and especially Dominical, was such a relaxing and rejuvenating experience. Wondering weather, breathtaking views, and easy access to incredible beaches made this the best vacation I've had.

Cascada Azul's jungle retreat was the highlight of our stay for my wife and I. From the flower-lined walkway, to the open air construction, to the waterfall that is literally a stone's throw away, these accommodations were the perfect way to relax (and quite romantic as well!). My wife and I enjoyed relaxing in the pool at the base of the waterfall as we took in the jungle sights and sounds.

I definitely recommend this incredible venue, and I'm counting the days until I can return. As the locals say "Pura Vida!"

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review