reviews for: listing #3468 - Kailua-Kona, Hawaii Condo rental

Direct Oceanfront - Best View, Affordable, Luxurious
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Alii Villas
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $155 - $165 /nt
    $1,085 - $1,155 /wk
    $4,500 - $4,800 /mth

sort by:

Wow!

Review submitted: July 28, 2014   Date of arrival: July 15, 2014

The only problem with this condo is...we had to come home! The condo is wonderfully decorated and fully equipped, no detail was overlooked. After a peaceful nights sleep in a comfy bed lulled to sleep by ocean waves breaking on the rocks below, we started the day sitting on the lanai with a cup of coffee watching pods of dolphins race by as the sun rises. The communication before our trip was outstanding and SO helpful! Unlike other places we have stayed, all of the residents here are friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. It was truly the nicest experience we have ever had on any vacation! Thank you Gene and Charlie for sharing your island home!

Owners response: Wow! What can we say! We have the greatest guests in the world! We appreciate the kind comments. This makes our hard work and time with maintenance and upgrading the condos all worth while. Thank you sincerely,
Gene and Charlie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spectacular

Review submitted: July 3, 2014   Date of arrival: May 28, 2014

Upon entering the condo you get a fantastic view of the bay thru the lanai doors.
Any amount of time spent on the lanai is never boring with all the activity from parasails, jet skis, snorkelers and the spinner dolphins. This being our second stay we cannot say enough about the excellent taste on furnishing the condo. We are looking forward to our third stay next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Duck

Review submitted: June 10, 2014   Date of arrival: May 4, 2014

Outstanding unit-if you book it you will never regret it. It will make you want to keep coming back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much. We hope to just keep making it better for our guests year after year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Love it!

Review submitted: June 7, 2014   Date of arrival: May 17, 2014

As usual the place is wonderful. We loved it the first time we stayed and we loved it this time. The condo and the newest upgrades are beautiful. The views are gorgeous. The island has many cool things to do. (We did the night snorkel with the giant manta rays and the morning snorkel via Fair Wind- great company and a very cool experience). Saw Hilo, coffee plantations, the volcano, black sand beach, spinner dolphins, turtles, you name it! Jackie Rays is close and has great food.
The owners of this condo go out of their way to see that you have a great stay...and we did. Thanks for another year of lots of wonderful Kona memories!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for being part of our "condo family". It is always a pleasure to have your visit in our condos.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Condo

Review submitted: May 26, 2014   Date of arrival: May 11, 2014

Great view and location. Owner seems to have thought about everything. It was very clean and in excellent condition. We will stay there again when we return to the big island.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: We appreciate your comments. We hope to see you again soon.
Mahalo, Gene and Charlie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful relaxing getaway!

Review submitted: April 22, 2014   Date of arrival: April 1, 2014

This place can't be topped. Spacious, clean, comfortable -a perfect home away from home. The owners have thought of everything for your comfort . Great views from the lanai, even spinner dolphins and once in awhile a whale. A place you want to go back to every chance you get.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you. It was our privilege to be your hosts. We hope that we have the opportunity to host your visit again in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Condo

Review submitted: April 22, 2014   Date of arrival: April 1, 2014

OUTSTANDING!! Condo is amazing. Beautifully professionally decorated and simply gorgeous. Four of us stayed for 16 days and could not have been more comfortable and we lacked for nothing. This condo is equipped with EVERYTHING. Great location, beautiful view and it is immaculate. Truly AMAZING. The owners do have a knack for anticipating anything anyone might need or want. My husband is an artist who truly appreciated the beautiful art pieces in this lovely home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Many thanks. We appreciate your spending your Hawaii vacation in our condo. We hope that we have the opportunity to host your stay again in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Renter

Review submitted: March 4, 2014   Date of arrival: February 1, 2014

We have stayed here every Feb. for about ten years or more and it just gets better every year.The owners are continually updating. New surprises every year. Thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you. We are pleased that you have been our return guests year after year. Would you believe we have owned the condo since 2003? You have become a part of our condo family. We want to continue improving every year and making it just a bit better for each guest!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ahhh!--Take me to Kona!

Review submitted: March 3, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

My sweetheart and I had an opportunity to spend our 10th anniversary in Gene and Charlie's condo. Wow!--what indulgence! From our first inquiry, to our actual rental week, through repayment of our security deposit, Gene's communication was lightning fast and thoroughly helpful. The condo itself was tastefully decorated and helpfully stocked, with amenities we haven't found in a rental condo before. We especially appreciated the beach and picnic gear--mats, towels, cooler, even snorkel mask. While we loved the proximity to town and easy access to multiple adventures, it was hard to leave the lanai each day: I could have sat on that lanai watching and listening to the ocean for a full week, and that would have been a perfect vacation in itself! The dolphins were a special treat. And sleeping to the sound of the surf? Heaven on earth! If I could change one thing, it would be to remove the neighboring condo community's pool (directly below the lanai), but that is a small matter when taking everything above into account.

Aloha!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for submitting your review. We appreciate comments to learn how we can better serve our guests. It is our goal to make every guest's experience one of the best vacation rentals from the very first contact with the easy reservation process to the return of the deposit. Thank you for taking good care of our home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfection!

Review submitted: February 9, 2014   Date of arrival: December 22, 2013

Can you make something perfect even more so? If your names are Gene and Charlie then YES you can! We originally stayed in this condo two years ago and were blown away with the care and attention that was put into making our temporary home a "true home". This visit we were absolutely blown out of the water by the improvements that Gene and Charlie had made over the two years. This is truly a 5* accommodation! The new floor tiling both in the condo and on the lanai lend a feeling of class to the condo. There is new furniture on the lanai both for dining and for relaxing, life does not get any better than this!
One of our absolute highlights of this trip was getting to meet Gene, what a warm and delightful host! Fingers crossed we will get to meet you Charlie on our next visit!
Mahalo nui loa! The Drapers

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was certainly a pleasure meeting you both. We look forward to being your hosts again in the future. Many thanks, Gene and Charlie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely ideal! Stop looking...just book this condo!

Review submitted: November 15, 2013   Date of arrival: October 16, 2013

So many wonderful things about this condo, it would take too much time to list them all. Our advice: just trust all of the reviews and book this place! 5 min after you walk in the door, you'll see why you can't do better in Kona! Gene and Charlie are most gracious and thorough hosts, from initial inquiry through return home, everything was taken care of. Perfect location, easy walk to downtown Kona, right in the middle of runners/cyclists/triathletes heaven of Ali'i Drive. Furnishings top-notch, beach supplies were all there (beach chairs, towels, boogie boards, coolers, etc), and the kitchen is impressively stocked.

Cannot recommend this place enough!

Already looking forward to our next visit! Thank you Gene and Charlie!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your comments. We really look forward to your next visit. It is our intention that your next visit will be just as nice or better on your next stay in Kona. It is also our continual desire to make our condo a nicer vacation experience for our guests.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

2nd Honeymoon

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: October 25, 2013

We were so impressed by Gene and Charlie's condo. You can tell they have put a lot of time and energy into creating a comfortable and accommodating place. From the cooks' kitchen to the binoculars on the lanai every detail is covered. The lanai was our favorite place to relax. We watched the day arrive, the cruise ships come in and out of the bay and all the rest of the activities !
We look forward to returning soon ! Thank you so much Gene and Charlie for your indescribable care you've put into this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you. We are glad to have had a part in making your 2nd honeymoon come true. Wishing you many more years of happiness together and more honeymoons.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Another perfect stay

Review submitted: October 24, 2013   Date of arrival: October 6, 2013

This is our third time staying at Gene and Charlie's beautiful condo and each time we come there has been an upgrade. Last year there was new lanai furniture; this year new flooring, drapes and bedroom furniture. Gene and Charlie go out of their way to ensure that your visit is fantastic. Not only is the condo beautiful, but the location is so convenient to watch Ironman. We can walk to the start/finish (2 miles), view the swim from the lanai, and be at mile 2 and 8 of the marathon. And this year, Gene and Charlie were there to join us in cheering on the competitors. It was so nice to finally meet them; we enjoyed our visits with them. The condo is not just a rental for them; it is their home as well and you can see that they take great care and pride in it. This is the BEST place to stay in Kona!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much! We like to think we have the best guests in the world! We were very pleased to be able to meet you as well! We look forward to your next visit to Kona and hope that we are there during your visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

RITZ CARLTON OF CONDOS

Review submitted: September 27, 2013   Date of arrival: September 11, 2013

We stayed here last year and feel in love with the condo and came back again this year. To our delight the owners Gene and Charlie were staying here in their other condo in the complex so we got the pleasure of meeting them. They are two of the nicest guys you will ever meet, who did everything possible to ensure we had a great time staying in their condo. This year they had new flooring, lani furniture and drapes in the condo when we arrived, which are all beautiful. When in the condo most of the time was spent enjoying the great view from the lanai and watching the spinner dolphins putting on a show for us, and In low tides we could see tropical fish in the water. Another favorite spot was the benches at the end of the parking lot while we waited in the evenings for the beautiful Kona sunsets. We took advantage of the outdoor community BBQ/ kitchen area, to BBQ the local fish we purchased at Bite Me Fish Market along with the fish hubby caught on his fishing charter. The condo is first rate, has everything you could possibly need, pack a small bag and enjoy a piece of paradise.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you sincerely! We enjoyed meeting you and spending a little time at the pool getting to know you. We have great guests and wish we could meet each and every one of them. I am glad we were here to take care of any problems that arose. We hope we have the privilege of being your hosts again in the future. Mahalo

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Million Dollar View and Condo

Review submitted: August 22, 2013   Date of arrival: August 12, 2013

Dear Gene & Charlie :-)

A german family say THANKS !!

Thank you sooo much for staying in your incredible and beautyful Condo. This was for us the first time on "Big Island". We had 3 different Hotels on the other Islands, but your Condo was the best. Words really don't describe how much we enjoyed our nights stay in this beautiful condo. All was clean, fantastic view, new updated and stylish. We all enjoyed the time every minute :-) Thanks a lot for your friendly, quickly service and contact.

We come back !!

PS: For us was the experiment "Condo" the first time, and we did it again ;-)

Axel, Britta & Lea <3
Lenhart

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words. By the way, your deposit is in the mail. FYI, so far, we have never had to hold a deposit from any of our guests. Everyone has been very respectful of our home and have treated it like their own. Thanks again. We look forward to another visit from you in the future. The Big Island has so much to see and do...or nothing at all. It is a very special place. Mahalo, Gene and Charlie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Kona Lovers

Review submitted: August 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2013

Gene and Charlie, you truly do have a million dollar view! We love Kona and had a great time there. The condo was so pretty and we loved having our fruit and coffee on the lanai each morning and going to sleep with the sound of the ocean. My only regret was that we did not have enough time to make use of everything, but it was there if you wanted it. We tried new things this trip and found the Waipio Valley wagon trip to be fun along with Flumin' Da Ditch with Kohala Adventures. Lava Java was a great breakfast place. Loved the papaya and granola. The condo was very comfortable and can't wait to come back again. Even made some friends while there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your comments. We enjoy being the host for our guests and look forward to many repeat visits. Our goal is to keep making a better vacation experience for our guests. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Million Dollar View

Review submitted: April 17, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

Words really don't describe how much we enjoyed our 16 night stay in this beautiful condo. The owners are telling the truth when they say a million dollar view. What a joy it was to see the water from most rooms in the condo. The unit is wonderfully appointed and tastefully done. It has been completely remodeled and was exceptionally clean and comfortable.

The condo has everything you could possibly need during your stay. We made use of the beach chairs, towels and boogie boards on every trip to the beach. The lanai view is spectacular. We spent over 2 hours one morning watching scores of spinner dolphins performing right out in front of the condo. We miss the comfy beds and lovely linens. The grounds of the condo complex are landscaped with amazing trees and flowers. The location was convenient to Kona town and our favorite snorkel beach. The unit is away from the noise of Alii Drive.

From the moment I made my first inquiry on VRBO Gene was an absolute pleasure to deal with and all questions and emails were answered fully and promptly. We can't wait to return and were truly sad to leave. Mahalo Gene and Charlie for use of your home. We made the most wonderful memories on our trip.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: What more could we ask for! This is what we strive for! I can't say we hit it 100%, but we give it our best shot! Thank you for allowing us to be your hosts!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Couple x 2

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

We just returned from our second visit to The "Big Island" and return stay in this fabulous condo. It was even nicer than out first visit. The reno's added so much to the comfort of a home away from home. Close to Kona restaurants and shops, a nice walk. The view from the lanai is breathtaking. Very clean & comfortable for 2 couples to share with seperate bathrooms/bedrooms and privacy. This condo offers everything you need and more!! Whale & dolphin sightings at breakfast..WOW. Will definately stay again when we return to Hawaii!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you. Our goal is to just keep making the experience of our guests in our condos better and better!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Six-Star Property, but Sadly Only a Five-Star Rating System

Review submitted: November 29, 2012   Date of arrival: October 8, 2012

Gene and Charlie...We and our guests had a wonderful time at the condo. It is a high-end, resort-style experience with the convenience of a personal residence.

We particulary appreciate the easy access to Kailua town, local restaurants and the Ironman route. The location is really ideal for us as we like to walk instead of drive when possible.

We also love the sound of the crashing surf so close to the unit. It lulls us to sleep each night. The trade winds and fans make the unit extremely pleasant day-or-night.

We are repeat visitors and hope to be able to use the condo when we return to the Big island.

Thanks for providing a clean, well-appointed and stylish accomodation.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow! Thank you for allowing us to be your hosts once again. We couldn't ask for better advertising than the comments from our repeat guests. We look forward to your return visit. Many thanks, Gene and Charlie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

AWESOME CONDO IN KONA

Review submitted: November 27, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

We stayed at Gene's condo for 10 days at the end of Oct and I could only say it was a very positive experience from the beginning until the very end. The condo is clean, very nicely furnished, well appointed from beach toys to umbrella and sun hats. The view from the lanai is the best and I snorkelled right in front of the condo. We are looking forward to rent from them again soon. I would rate our experience 11 out of 10! Well done Gene!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind, unsolicited response. We really appreciate our guests and look forward to their return. We have had one couple return every year for over 25 years; they were repeat guests before we purchased the condos and they have watched the transition and improvements we have done over the years. Repeat guests receive a discount and priority reservations. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kona condo

Review submitted: October 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 30, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. The condo is beautifully appointed, comfortable and has a great location. Each morning we would sit on the lanai and watch the ironman athletes during their swim practice with the dolphins all around them. Can't wait to return. Thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you. We look forward to your return in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Book this Condo Now!!!

Review submitted: October 1, 2012   Date of arrival: September 18, 2012

Gene and Charlie have a beautiful condo with a view to die for! We enjoyed sitting out on the lanai every morning and evening watching the cruise ships coming in and out of port, the canoe paddlers and ocean swimmers. They have thoughtfully placed two outdoor ceiling fans (on timers) in the lanai area adding to the comfort of their guests. Our bed was very comfortable and we kept the two sliding doors to the lanai open each evening for the peaceful sounds of the ocean and breezes.

The kitchen was well appointed, with everything we needed during our stay...just picked up some fresh fish and fruit and we were set! They have an ample amount of bath towels (and beach towels too.) Plus beach chairs and an umbrella that we used when we went snorkeling.

Gene was very helpful by emailing us ideas on visiting the Big Island and we took full advantage of his recommendations, We drove to the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park one day, Hilo another, up-country to the free tour of Mountain Thunder Coffee Plantation and enjoyed several beaches. We went to the Island Breezes Luau at the King Kamehameha Hotel which was very entertaining. Da Poke Shack, Jackie Reys, Bite Me Fish Market were some of the restaurants that we went to for lunch or dinner.

All in all, it was a fabulous time, and the only regret we have is that we only stayed one week! Next time (God willing) we'll be back for a longer stay at Gene and Charlies "Million Dollar View" property! Mahalo!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you. It would be our pleasure to be your hosts for a longer visit on your next trip. Thank you for taking good care of our home. I hope we get the opportunity to meet you as well.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Can Hardly Wait to Return!

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: September 13, 2012

It depresses me to even log on to this site & see all the pictures of the condo again...I was so sorry to leave! We had a fantastic time! Gene & Charlie's remodel work of this condo came out OUTSTANDING! They've thought of everything in the kitchen & bathrooms/bedrooms, the lanai and beyond (all kitchen & cooking needs, lots of towels, and beach/pool towels too!). We liked coming "home" after a day out too, and not to a crowded hotel full of strangers. Residents of the complex (the few that we saw) were very friendly. We went to the pool one day and a nice lady resident there let me borrow her water barbels so I could do a little water exercise. We did the Island Breezes Luau at the King Kamehameha Hotel (Courtyard Marriott) at the beginning of Alii Drive, less than 10 minutes from the condo -- highly recommend! Very organized, but not a huge amount of people. Ate breakfast one day at the Island Java Lava (?) or something like that, on the main strip in town, and also did a dinner at Huggo's in the same area. Both highly recommend. The only thing I would mention, and I ONLY mention this out of consideration for people who might have a sensitivity (allergies/asthma, etc.) -- the condo is not air-conditioned, which I knew, and I go to an un-airconditioned cabin in Maine every summer, and the friend who was with me can lay out at a pool in Vegas in August, so we were o.k., BUT, if my husband had been with me, we would have had to move to a hotel. It was THAT hot when we were there, and the condo remained VERY warm the whole 5 days we were there. We had every ceiling fan going & every window/door open (while we were at the condo, of course), and the condo temperature probably never dropped below about 79-82 degrees the whole time we were there, even at night (and humid too!). If this is an issue, perhaps Gene & Charlie could recommend a different time of the year for you to go that maybe would not be quite as warm. Mahalo, Gene & Charlie -- can't wait to return to rent either the one- or two-bedroom again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your comments. The current temperature today is a high of 81° with a low of 72° (general average is 80°) with 65-68% humidity (humidity level in Los Angeles today is 65-79% today). Many of our guests prefer the winter season, but it books quickly, the seasonal rates are higher, car rentals are higher and there are more visitors in the winter months. We stay in the condo mostly in August and September and normally have only a few days where we have used the fans. Many days, we never turn the fans on at all. The trade winds, ocean breezes and ceiling fans in all rooms normally keep the condo very comfortable. This is the tropics...complete with humidity, insects and rain. (Kona is the dry side of the island, however, averaging only 10-20" of rain per year.) We take great care to minimize the effects of the tropics on our guests. The weather is changing all over the country, so we can never be sure of what to expect. Since Hawaii has the highest electrical rates in the nation, we do what we can to maximize the comfort of our guests without a/c, yet maintain our rates at a reasonable level. We often have specials in the off season and short windows between guests, so if you want to have an affordable vacation in any locale, travel during off-peak seasons.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dolphins, Whales, Manta's Oh My!!

Review submitted: September 24, 2012   Date of arrival: September 4, 2012

This was one of the most fantastic vacations we have had. The condo is beyond words, everything you need is there and the place is so comfortable that you really don't want to leave. We were able to enjoy the sites of the island but were always looking forward to coming "home". We had family card games on the lanai while watching the dolphins, manta's and were lucky enough to see the first whale of the season.
Our extended family members who joined us could not believe the accommodations and to say you knocked our flip flops off is an understatement. This condo is is 1st class all the way.
We look forward to a return trip!!!
Thank you Gene and Charlie for being so accommodating to our schedule.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much! We are overwhelmed by the guest's responses to our condos. Our goal is that each guest have a great time, a relaxing vacation and to welcome you back for a return visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Life is Soooo Sweet.....

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: August 29, 2012

This is our second time to stay and the accomodations get better every time we visit. Close enough to town for convenience, yet far enough from town to hear the ocean 24/7. Fantastic view, top quality "everything". We couldn't ask for anything more. When I stay,I consider this my home away from home. We will be back next year for the Queen Lilio' Outrigger Canoe Race. Can't wait to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We feel fortunate to have so many return guests. We look forward to your return and we will do our best to keep making it better.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 24, 2012

Our family of 4 had a fantastic time! Comfortable accommodations for our 2 teens, my husband and I.
State of the art appliances, beautiful kitchen with everything you need, and a SPECTACULAR view from the lanai. Convenient location: beaches and downtown Kona within walking distance. Courteous, professional staff at the complex.
Host/owners are great communicators with attention to detail.
Great place to stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Paradise!

Review submitted: June 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 10, 2012

We stayed in this lovely condo last week...and I'm still suffering from post vacation blues!! It was wonderful--and blew our 'flip flops off', as promised. Having rented lots of vacation properties over the years (and very picky), I was amazed at the attention to detail and beautiful decorating this condo provided. The lanai was spectacular--we enjoyed our Kona coffee there every morning while watching the free spinner dolphin show right outside our building. Everything was perfect--and hope we can visit again. Fabulous, fabulous.....look no farther for a wonderful place to stay. Thanks Gene and Charlie!! Can I come again soon?????

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much! By all means, we would love to have your return visit. Our guests take care of our places like it was their own. This gives us time to keep making it better instead of regular maintenance issues.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Heaven in paradise

Review submitted: May 26, 2012   Date of arrival: May 8, 2012

We just got back from a two week stay, that was way too short. Gene was wonderful to deal with, he went out of his way to make sure we would have a great vacation. He recommended several of his favorite restaurants and also Michelle from Kona Concierge ( 808 635-0765). We ordered a wine, cheese and fruit platter, from Michelle, to be waiting for us in the condo when we arrived, which was great after traveling all day. The condo was everything and more that was advertised. Spending time on the relaxing lani was one of our favorite things. We were treated to a pod of dolphins, beautiful sunsets, and the sounds of the ocean and birds. While on the island we met a few other couples and when we described the condo you could see shock on their faces. The places they were staying could not even compare. One couple was even surprised when they asked if we had bugs and we told them not a one. Some great restaurants Gene recommended, and we enjoyed were the Fish Hopper, Sam Choys and our favorite Jackie Reys( I know that is where I gained the 5 lbs ) Two weeks in the condo was definately not enough time. We felt so pampered staying there, and can't wait to go back, but only if we are staying in Gene and Charlie's condo. Thank you for two wonderful weeks in paradise!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind comments. You are welcome any time. We would be delighted to share our home with you again in the future. Thank you also for taking such good care of our home. Mahalo, Gene and Charlie

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Absolutely Amazing!

Review submitted: April 26, 2012   Date of arrival: April 9, 2012

This condo is magnificent! From the decor to the comfort of the beds to the beautiful and relaxing lanai, it couldn't have been better. This was our first trip to the Big Island and we fell in love with it. Your tips on where to go, where to eat, what to see, and activities to try were right on point. We snorkeled almost daily at the state park a few miles to the south of the condo. It was amazing. While a little challenging to get in (you have to float from the shoreline) the fish were astounding. The water is crystal clear and not very deep so you see everything extremely close up. Fish were literally swimming right up to our masks. Had a great lunch at the Country Club (open to everyone to eat... and very affordable prices) with a great view. Saw pods of dolphins from the lanai and enjoyed beautiful sunsets. Cannot thank you enough for letting us share your home away from home. Luxury at a very reasonable price. Can't beat the view!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to respond to your experience. You are welcome to return any time.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

STAY HERE!

Review submitted: February 23, 2012   Date of arrival: June 10, 2010

Just realized I never wrote review...and my stay was a year and a half ago :P

But I can still remember how amazing it was! Everything was perfect, and such a wonderful owner, he was so accommodating. I recommend this place to anyone who is going to Hawaii. Definitely going back sometime!!!!

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

FANTASTIC!

Review submitted: January 18, 2012   Date of arrival: December 28, 2011

We stayed in this condo from December 28th/11 to the 11th of January, 2012. It is very hard to put into words what a wonderful stay we had. Gene and Charlie have done a fabulous job with not only the decorating of their condo but also ensuring that guests will never be lacking for the comforts of home. The residents of this complex were all very friendly especially the lovely lady who lives below this unit. We are hoping to make our holiday to the Alii Villas an annual event BUT only if we can stay in either this unit or Gene and Charlies 1 bedroom unit. Mahalo, Dean & Jean

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Million Dollar Lanai

Review submitted: December 16, 2011   Date of arrival: November 1, 2011

Just enjoyed the month of November in Gene & Charlie's condo!!! It was a dream paradise! The lanai is really the biggest asset of this condo -- watching cruise ships, snorkelers, divers, spinner dolphins, & all! Most of our time in the condo was spent on the lanai. Definitely deserves serious consideration if you want to stay in an excellent furnished 2 bdrm condo in Kona. We were fortunate to get in on the coffee festival activities, as well as all the hula shows at the Sheraton in celebration of the King's birthday. It was a wonderful month!.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

STUNNING!!!!

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: October 25, 2011

Gene and Charlie-Thank You so very much for sharing your absolutely beautiful home with us. Your customer service is beyond exceptional and the condo is stunning! We couldn't believe how well appointed your condo is....everything you could possibly need is there. We felt very comfortable and relaxed and certainly didn't want to leave when it was time to go home. The location of the condo was fantastic and we loved walking to Green Flash Coffee in the mornings. The grounds are also impeccable and our son loved the pool (as did his parents)! The dolphins put on quite a show for us several times and we saw some really great sunsets. We hope to return soon! Thank You, Thank You, Thank You!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Week

Review submitted: October 29, 2011   Date of arrival: October 2, 2011

We came to the Big Island to cheer on our Ironman friend and Gene and Charlies's condo was the perfect choice. We were so close to town that we could walk to the start/finish and also see her on Alii Drive. The condo was very nicely appointed. We appreciated the attention to detail and the high end towels, linens, etc. that were provided. The ocean breezes and crashing waves were exactly what we were looking for in a VRBO and we were not disappointed. We loved spending time on the lanai--so much so that we didn't venture too far from it.
Mahalo, Gene and Charlie

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kona Paradise

Review submitted: October 29, 2011   Date of arrival: October 10, 2011

We had a marvelous time at Gene & Charlies 2BDR condo because of the view and sound of the ocean, and the entertainment of the spinner dolphins, the interior beautiful decor and furnishings, fully stocked modern kitchen (did not find anything that was not there), the cleanliness, awesome glass block showers, (nice to have two baths with two couples). Great location. Will tell our friends and hope we can return as well. Thank you for your "special" touch to everything....we were the benefactors.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Place for Sunset!

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 17, 2011

Mahalo Gene and Charlie for a beautiful home away from home for our visit to the Big Island! We opened the door and it was like walking right into your photos on VRBO. Everything was perfect and so well stocked with all of the basic needs and more. We had so many places to go and explore but each morning we found it harder and harder to take ourselves away from the gorgeous view and the sound of crashing waves. We always made it back "home" to relax with a glass of wine and watch the sun disappear right off the lanai....except for one night when we were at Mauna Kea for sunset and stargazing which everyone should do. The grounds and pool were lovely as well. We could not have asked for anything more!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you! We hope that you will be able to return to Kona again in the future. You are always welcome!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful location and accommodations

Review submitted: August 15, 2011   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

This place is a true gem! We really don't want to give this a good review-- because we don't want this place to be booked all of the time for purely selfish reasons (We want to be able to book it all the time). Gene and Charlie have not overlooked any detail. This is a great location right on the ocean and very close to town and very comfortable. It is easy to be mesmerized by the ocean and stay in the unit all day because of the views and the comfortable accommodations-- not that we did that, but there were some late mornings...
What a wonderful place-- we can't wait to re-book for next year! We've been booking on VRBO for 12 years and this is the first place that we WILL return to.
Thank You again, Charlie and Gene!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just a million? Underrated.

Review submitted: August 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

My 2 bffs and I spent a wonderful week in Gene & Charlie's condo. We'd never been to this property and hoped it would be as nice as the photos/reviews suggested. Turns out, it was even better. Breathtakingly lovely condo, stunning views from the lanai (spinner dolphins danced for us every morning), entire Alii Villas property beautifully maintained, crystal clear water in the swimming pool, gracious and attentive hosts. Believe the photos and reviews.
If you go (and you really should go), do at least these two things during your stay: 1) have no less than one unplanned day so you can simply lounge at the pool all afternoon then grill something in the spiffy barbecue area in the evening; and 2) make the effort to unlock the gate at the end of the parking lot to access the shoreline. Once there, you can gather your own beautifully white Hawaiian flake sea salt left from evaporating seawater caught in small pools on the lava rock. Use it while you're there, take some home and impress your friends with your hunter/gather skills.
Book it - you'll feel like you won the Hawaii condo lottery.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful vacation spot

Review submitted: July 9, 2011   Date of arrival: June 21, 2011

My wife and I have traveled to the Kona area each year for the last dozen or so. This year my sister and her husband wanted to join us. We found this tantalizing listing and decided to book it. And are we glad we did! Wonderful condo with great owners who have made this into a very special place.

The view of "Kona harbor" is outstanding. Most mornings we were entertained by large pods of dolphins doing spins, leaps and other acrobatic undertakings. The parasails, outrigger canoe clubs, weekly cruise ship and lots more kept the view interesting and active throughout the day.

The condo itself is very well appointed and maintained and had everything we wanted or needed during our visit. We spent most time on the lanai because of the views and its large comfortable space.

What a wonderful spot for a truly relaxing vacation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Perfect Ending to a Wonderful Vacation!

Review submitted: July 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 16, 2011

Having just looked at the pictures of this fabulous property on the website, it brought back happy memories of our time in this incredible condo. We had been in Honolulu for four days and then Hilo for another four before ending our vacation in Kona. What a pleasant surprise to find ourselves in a 5-star, top of the line, beautiful condo! It was everything it was said to be and more. We were fortunate to meet the owners in person and found them to be very helpful, friendly, and gracious. They were attentive to all the details that make a stay away from home comfortable and relaxing. The condo is in the perfect location--close enough to walk or drive to town and the action, yet far enough away from bright lights and roads to be a soothing retreat. What fun to both start the day with breakfast and end the day with wine and a sunset on the lanai before heading into town for a yummy dinner and walk through the shops. Kona has so much to offer and to have this wonderful space to come back to each afternoon and evening was the cherry on top. We absolutely recommend this property to future visitors to the Big Island and we look forward to returning to Kona and staying in this beautiful property again. Mahalo over and over again for the time of our lives!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: What a joy it was to meet you and your party. I will send your painting when we get back to the mainland the end of August.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

GREAT LOCATION, BEAUTIFUL VIEW, WONDERFUL !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Review submitted: June 3, 2011   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

Thank you so much for sharing your condo with us. We spent two weeks there and had a wonderful time. We traveled the Island, North to South,and East to West. It was always delightful to come back to your beautiful home. Everything is so close to the condo. We could go snorkeling up the road and shopping and eating down the road. Loved every minute of it. Thank you again....

Debbie, Sam, and Cindy from Northern Kentucky

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for taking such good care of our home. It was a pleasure meeting you.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome condo with beautiful decor and an amazing view!

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

I was so thankful when we walked into to Gene and Charlie's condo. The condo is such a lovely place. You can tell that Gene and Charlie put a lot of heart in the decor and remodel of this unit. I felt at home, which made my stay very relaxing. We felt lucky to fall asleep every night to the sound of the waves. The sunset views from the very large condo balcony are AMAZINGLY beautiful. We came to the island for a wedding with a large group who were staying at various other condo communities. Our unit was by leaps and bounds the best condo out of the entire group! Gene and Charlie called to checked in on us during our stay to make sure everything was satisfactory. We had no complaints. We were allowed to use anything in the unit, including the snorkel gear and water shoes, that came in handy when we explored the many beaches on the island. I found much needed nail polish remover and some aloe lotion for my burn in the bathroom. The condo community has a really nice bbq area. It is equipped with two large grills and 3 or 4 large tables with lots of chairs. We only ate out once the entire 6 night stay grilling kabobs, shrimp and fresh fish all the other nights. We would absolutely recomment this condo to friends and family, and hope we are able to return again in the future. Cheers to Charlie and Gene for creating such a great place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: You were great tenants as well. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

BEAUTIFUL condo with great amenities!

Review submitted: May 20, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

I was so thankful when we walked into to Gene and Charlie's condo. The condo is such a lovely place. You can tell that Gene and Charlie put a lot of heart in the decor and remodel of this unit. I felt at home, which made my stay very relaxing. We felt lucky to fall asleep every night to the sound of the waves. The sunset views from the very large condo balcony are AMAZINGLY beautiful. We came to the island for a wedding with a large group who were staying at various other condo communities. Our unit was by leaps and bounds the best condo out of the entire group! Gene and Charlie called to checked in on us during our stay to make sure everything was satisfactory. We had no complaints. We were allowed to use anything in the unit, including the snorkel gear and water shoes, that came in handy when we explored the many beaches on the island. I found much needed nail polish remover and some aloe lotion for my burn in the bathroom. The condo community has a really nice bbq area. It is equipped with two large grills and 3 or 4 large tables with lots of chairs. We only ate out once the entire 6 night stay grilling kabobs, shrimp and fresh fish all the other nights. We would absolutely recomment this condo to friends and family, and hope we are able to return again in the future. Cheers to Charlie and Gene for creating such a great place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Fabulous Condo

Review submitted: May 8, 2011   Date of arrival: April 27, 2011

Just got home yesterday from a 10 night stay at Gene & Charlie's condo. It was wonderful! We seriously did not want to leave. The condo is beautiful and high end. Charlie asked one day if there was anything they could do or get to make our stay better. Honestly we could not think of one thing to suggest and that is coming from four women. If you love to hear the waves crashing on the lava rocks and waking up to a spectacular view from the master bedroom, this condo is for you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much. Your review is appreciated.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Condo, View, Location

Review submitted: April 10, 2011   Date of arrival: March 30, 2011

The condo is exactly as described, and even more lovely in person! This unit has one of the best locations in the complex. It’s spacious, private, and has magnificent sunset views - but is angled just enough that the sun isn’t heating things up during the day. The complex is quiet and well maintained, with beautiful plantings, a nice pool area, and friendly visitors and residents.

Gene was great to rent from – welcoming, organized, quick with communications, and full of ideas and suggestions for places to see/things to do. My mom and I really enjoyed our visit and hope to return again soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much. Our guest's responses to what we have done in the condos are of great satisfaction to us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful place

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 14, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your condo. Our friend who stayed with us is a contractor in the Tahoe area, and he commented on the quality of the construction in your remodel.

We especially appreciated the artistic aspect of even the functional items such as the beautiful fans and ceiling treatments.

Although the pictures on the website look beautiful, the reality is even better. We've stayed in places that implied a view, but yours really has it. It was so nice to have the views of the sunset and a shaded lanai to enjoy it from.

There was always a nice breeze passing through to keep the unit cool after a long day out in the sun.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind comments. In the true spirit of Aloha...We are committed to exceed our visitor's expectations. We continually improve the quality of the condo to enhance our guest's vacation experience. We pride ourselves with attention to detail and a quick response.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

march

Review submitted: March 7, 2011   Date of arrival: March 1, 2011

Absolutely perfect! Everything is exactly as it is described, including the dolphins and turtles. The condo and the surrounding property is so well maintained and beautiful. I could not have asked for anything more. My husband and I and another couple stayed in the condo together and it was great. We will definately be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Sandy. It goes both ways; we appreciate the care you took of our condo and we look forward to being your hosts again in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Magnificent Views, Awesome Location, and The Best Owners to Work With

Review submitted: November 4, 2010   Date of arrival: October 3, 2010

We absolutely loved starting and ending our day in Gene and Charlie's condo. The sound of the ocean and the beautiful sunsets were priceless. The condo had everything we needed to make vacation life easy..from snorkel gear, ice chest, boogie board to washer and dryer, a great assortment of pots and pans/dishes and the double sinks in the master bathroom topped everything off. Perfect locatioin for Ironman spectating too! Even though it is not on the top floor of the complex (2nd of 3 floors), it was ultra quiet, with no disturbances from any neighbors. The car rental was a big bonus as well. Communicated with Gene before, during, and after our stay and you could not ask for a more responsive, caring, and understanding owner. Mahalo!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for taking very good care of the condo. You went above and beyond the call of duty. I am sure the next guest will appreciate it as well.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful place!

Review submitted: October 10, 2010   Date of arrival: September 23, 2010

This was our first visit to Hawaii, but will definitely not be our last! We rented Gene & Charlie's condo and are extremely happy we did. What a magnificent job they have done on this condo - the view from the lanai cannot be explained in words, the amenities were outstanding and the service by Gene & Charlie was outstanding. We are already beginning to look at the calendar for next year's visit. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks. I still owe you a painting.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Satisfied First Timers

Review submitted: August 6, 2010   Date of arrival: June 2, 2010

We had never rented a condo by owner before and were VERY nervous about doing so. Gene put us at ease instantly with his prompt response to our inquiry and his professionalism. Every detail of the rental was in tiptop order including the use of the car, which was the main reason we booked with Gene and Charlie. Everything else was the icing on the cake from Gene picking us up and dropping us off at the airport to his recommendations on the best beaches and bars. The condo was even more exquisite and exotic, and the view from the lanai even more breathtaking in reality than the pictures imply. You are so near the ocean that you can hear it in every corner of the condo. We walked into town frequently to shop at the markets and to enjoy the local food and drink that Kona has to offer. Everything we needed was at our disposal from flashlights and a cooler to boogie boards and snorkelgear. During our stay we viewed another condo in the building that we had originally considered and are SOOOO glad we picked Gene and Charlie's! We still have 2 more continents to travel to before revisiting our favorite places but I without hesitation recommend this condo to anyone who has high standards. And if Gene and Charlie happen to have property in Australia or Africa you can bet we will be staying there too!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Couldn't have asked for more...

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 19, 2010

I have been to Hawaii on five different occasions. I have stayed at two other condos at the Alii Villa complex and none compare to Gene and Charlie's place. They have the best view and location in the complex. The others I've stayed at were not near as nicely furnished. One of the best things about this condo is the ocean breezes and the sounds of the ocean. If they don't lull you to sleep, nothing will!
This is a totally professional setup and Gene and Charlie couldn't be better hosts. I could go on and on, but I worry that so many people will book this condo, it may not be available for my next stay!!! Mary

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Serene and Beautiful!

Review submitted: July 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 11, 2010

This vacation started with the easiest check in ever! The condo is beautifully appointed with all the things you need to make and serve a meal. Gene and Charlie have graciously provided lots of extras, including a cooler which you can take to the store to bring home fresh fish and other goodies. I would highly recommend the farmer's market in town for fresh tropical fruit at great prices.
The view from the lanai was spectacular! We routinely drank our morning coffee there while watching pods of spinner dolphins. They are able to come quite close to shore because of the way the rock beach drops off. You can also watch canoes and sailboats in the distance, or watch the paragliders. On the beach, you can see patterns that were formed when the lava cooled, along with some very quick black crabs.
There is so much to do on the Big Island! Gene and Charlie helped by sending a list of suggestions with pictures before we got there. One of the places we especially enjoyed was Pu'uhonua National Historical Park. We saw a very hungry turtle who entertained us, and enjoyed the beauty and history of the park. There looked to be some great snorkeling at the beach to the right of the park. It is a little more than a two hour drive to Volcanoes National Park, but the time is worth it if you like to hike. There are lots of short trails, or you can take a longer walk. They have a lighted walk through a lava tube. Walking on the hardened lava flow is indescribable. A bit like walking on ceramic and sand. Definitely the closest I will ever come to walking on the moon.
The condo is just as clean and tastefully decorated as it appears in the photos. It was by far the best value of anyplace we've stayed anywhere. One of the things we loved was how quiet it was at night. All of the neighbors were super courteous. Also, the grounds were meticulously well kept.
If you are looking for a beautiful, safe, clean place to stay that is quiet at night, yet close to town, this is the place!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Getaway Place

Review submitted: July 14, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2010

We loved the condo, how it was furnished and how it has been kept up. The kitchen was extremely convenient, the living room, bedroom and lanai furniture very comfy. We didn't miss having A/C, there was always either a great breeze or the ceiling fans keeping us cool.

The location is really great, too. It's close enough to all the stores and restaurants, yet not in the very center of all the action. The owner provides lots of good suggestions and recommendations for sites and beaches to visit, which is very helpful.

The only drawback we experienced was how sound seemed to carry right up to the condo. Some mornings, it was just birds singing. But there were a couple of mornings when workers started fumigating a neighboring complex at 6:00am and we could hear everything.

My husband and I were there on our honeymoon, and we would definitely try to book it for a 2nd honeymoon if we have the chance someday!

Stephani and Ken
Indiana, U.S.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Kona Fishing Vacation

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

We loved this direct oceanfront condo which has been totally and tastefully remodeled. Huge oceanfront lanai with dining for 8 and 2 chaise lounges. New flat panel TV with DVD, and stereo system. Lots of Hawaiian artifacts and tasteful decorative features throughout. Although it did not have air conditioning, the multiple ceiling fans and air flow through the front screen door kept the unit cool enough. The landscaping in the project was exceptional and the BBQ area with new Weber gas BBQ's and comfortable seating for 24 was first rate.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing Vacation Destination, Amazing Condo

Review submitted: June 10, 2010   Date of arrival: May 21, 2010

We stayed at this condo 05/21/2010 for 8 days. The location is perfect, the views are amazing and the overall condition of the condo is unbelievable. Gene and Charlie have ensured the condo has everything you can imagine needing - down to the board games for those nice relaxing evenings on the lanai! The pictures are accurate, the remodel is fantastic! Thanks Gene and Charlie you made this one of the best, most relaxing vacations we have ever had!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Just perfect

Review submitted: April 26, 2010   Date of arrival: April 6, 2010

The condo is everything and more than what the pictures show. The attention to detail and the little things they have thought of makes the condo a perfect place to stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Stayed March 12-21 and LOVED IT!!!!!

Review submitted: April 11, 2010   Date of arrival: March 12, 2010

This condo is just wonderful! It has everything you could possibly need or want and more. The view from the lanai each morning is magnificent. Everything in it is top notch. Close to everything Kona has to offer. You will absolutely love it! We will be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: March 18, 2010   Date of arrival: March 18, 2010

Just back from a wonderful 10 day vacation at Alii Villas #229. The four of us were tatally thrilled with the beautiful views from the lanai, the great furnishings in the villa and the unusually complete supply of every piece of equipment, paper clip or whatever one may need to make your stay comfortable. The total complex is well maintained and the lanscaping is beautiful. Centrally located for all Big Island fun. Book it, go, and be as pleasantly surprised as we were.Joan, Jack, Judy and Shelly in Savannah.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Vacation to remember...

Review submitted: February 19, 2010   Date of arrival: November 8, 2009

Thank you Jean and Charlie for sharing your home away from home with us.
Lucky us... it was everything and more. Great location, wonderful weather, terrific view, but most of all your hospitality and thoughtfulness made this a most enjoyable vacation. You did a wonderful job of your recent reno, the decor is in excellent taste, as well as every special detail you have done to make this a quality home. The kitchen was a dream, everything you could possibly need at your fingertips. You left nothing out. It was like stepping into ones own home, it was so comfortable to be in. We enjoyed it so much we hated to leave each day to go sightseeing or shopping. Morning coffee on the lani watching the dolphins, watching boats and happenings on the Ocean, and seeing the night lights of Kona. From the moment we walked through the door till we sadly had to leave we enjoyed being there. Hate to spread the word for fear of not being able to get time in again.... We were also lucky to be able to rent your vehicle which we enjoyed as well. You went beyond the call with information and help to make our stay with you a great one. The staff was great as were the others staying or living there that we met....everyone so friendly... happy hour watching the sunset in the evenings, at the pool or at the great BBQ area. Beautiful well kept grounds, awesome condo, sensational sunsets.... what more could one ask for. We had our daughter and son-in-law with us as a Birthday treat and they were equally impressed. From our correspondence and staying in your Kona home I feel as friends. Thank you and hope to be able to stay again soon. Margaret, Svend, Kathy and Gary.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Review submitted: February 1, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2010

Our flipflops were knocked off!Gene & Charlie were unbelievable accomodating hosts that pay attention to every detail and do go the extra mile to make sure your vacation is the absolute best! Whales, Spinnaker dolphins, sunsets, and the endless waves to calm the soul. The view is breathtaking to say the least, and the condo (our 1st rental experience) was equipped with everything you could think of and more! Hope to be back one day.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 12, 2010   Date of arrival: January 12, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at Gene & Charlie's condo
over Christmas. The condo is superb in every way.
My favorite place was sitting on the lanai watching
the changing water, hearing the sound of the
waves, and feeling the warm Pacific air on my skin.
We even saw a whale and dolphins from the lanai.
Beautiful place with every amenity we needed. Plus,
Gene and Charlie are very easy to work with.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: December 22, 2009   Date of arrival: December 22, 2009

Great Place. Whales, Dolphins, Ocean, Sun, Sunsets,
Breakfast on the lanai, view, concerned and friendly
owners and management, great neighbors. Highly
recommended.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: December 11, 2009   Date of arrival: December 11, 2009

What an amazing place! We have never "rented" a
condo before and this worked out great for us! We
can't wait to do it again! Newly remodeled, very cool,
amazing view! Would recommend it highly!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: November 16, 2009   Date of arrival: November 16, 2009

We just finished a two week stay on 11/2/2009. We actually started the process with this web site and found that everything stated and shown in the information was correct. The facilities were better than anticipated and the ease of working with Gene and Charlie was first class. We have made many trips to the islands, and their condo is rated #1 in our books. We have already booked two weeks again next year. Their mission statement says it all and they mean what what it says.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 26, 2009   Date of arrival: October 25, 2009

We stayed in Charlie and Gene's appartment for two weeks at the start of October 09. We found the place immaculate and it has everything you would ever need to have a very comfortable stay in Kona. We hope go back to Kona real soon and would certainly like to stay in the apartment again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 8, 2009   Date of arrival: October 8, 2009

We stayed here for two weeks at the end of June and it was wonderful! Gene and Charlie went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The condo was located in a great spot and really was quiet. We would definately stay here again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 9, 2008   Date of arrival: November 9, 2008

Our stay at the condo was great. The view is the best. The grounds are the most well kept I have seen on the island. I will never stay in hotel again. Next time I will stay in the condo and use the grounds more. It is so well stocked with everything that you need. Gene and Charlie were so easy to work with and cared whether or not our stay was good. Thank you and I will be back. Gail

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 10, 2008   Date of arrival: April 10, 2008

Our five-week stay in the condo was absolutely wonderful -- the photos on this site say it better than words can. Gene and Charlie have thought of everything that David or I needed or wanted --- from a set of chef's knives to nail polish remover. Needless to say, we were most comfortable at all times. The 'Alii Villas' complex itself is very welcoming, and very well looked-after -- it is quiet and safe -- a perfect place for 'snowbirds'.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 9, 2006   Date of arrival: February 9, 2006

We may never stay in a hotel again! This is a great condo. It is really nicely decorated and stocked with absolutely everything you could want. There are fantastic ocean views and it is even walking distance to the little town of Kona. Our group of four could not have been more comfortable.

Perfection!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 3, 2006   Date of arrival: February 3, 2006

We stayed here for 4 weeks from mid Dec 2005 to mid
Jan 2006. The condo has been completely redecorated
in Tommy Bahama style furniture and accessories.
Charlie and Gene have gone out of their way to ensure
guests feel at home by providing dressing gowns,
beach toys and lovely dishes and glassware. We saw
whales and dolphins almost daily from the lanai.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 17, 2005   Date of arrival: August 17, 2005

This is our 3rd month-long visit to this condo. We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning again year after year. We call this our second home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 22, 2004   Date of arrival: August 22, 2004

This was our first trip to The Big Island and we were able to share it with two of our granddaughters. Your place is beautifully sighted and the evening sunset views are great! As an owner of a ocean view rental in Northern California I found your place exceedingly well supplied and equipped. It was a pleasure to stay here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 26, 2004   Date of arrival: June 26, 2004

We had a fabuolous time! You folks are the best hosts! Your condo is wonderful - a perfect home away from home, and we hope to be able to use it again some time.Thanks for helping us have an incredible vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review