reviews for: listing #346932ha - Holualoa, Hawaii rental

Best Deal in Kona! Ocean View Private Home with Private Pool.
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 360 - $ 475 / night
    $ 3,010 / week
    $ 8,400 / month
  • sleeps  10
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

The home we rented was very nice & comfortable.

Review submitted: June 13, 2014   Date of arrival: June 3, 2014

The property was a lot like being @ home the owners tried to provide for anything you might want or need. Our children enjoyed the pool. We uses some of the beach accessories the chairs and umbrella were much appreciated. The home was the perfert size for our family. The owner's typically respond to emails promptly. I had some questions in our final days and that email went unanswered. The only other problem we had was with the freezer it seemed no matter what you did it iced over fortunately we didn't need it for much. All in all great house awesome stay beautiful island. Also the neighborhood is great, the roads are steep.

Owners response: Thank you for your review, Loren. I searched and reviewed all of my emails and do not see one to which I failed to respond. My guess is that it failed to deliver to my inbox. Jackie and I were at the house shortly before your stay and didn't notice the freezer problems. We will look into it immediately. Thanks so much for choosing our house and providing feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful and inviting

Review submitted: May 10, 2014   Date of arrival: April 29, 2014

From the moment we parked our rental car, we were excited and amazed at our good fortune in finding this house! It is beautiful, inside and out, and has everything one needs for a fabulous vacation! The pictures are very accurate, but they still don't capture the beauty of the property and surroundings. The lanai was my favorite place..whether drinking coffee, planning the day, eating dinner, napping, or watching the sunset. It was easy to get to the water, shops and highway. We used their beach towels, snorkels and water shoes. We also cooked breakfast a couple of times, finding everything we needed. It was very clean and in good taste. The owners take much care in ensuring a great stay. We did not want for anything. Well, except more time to enjoy this wonderful place. Thank you so much for a great place to relax and enjoy our vacation!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Best House in Kona

Review submitted: March 21, 2014   Date of arrival: March 9, 2014

This is our second stay at Jon's house and it gets more wonderful every time (we booked for next year before we even left)!

The house has everything you could possibly need on your stay, the furnishings are tasteful and modern and the view and pool are amazing. Our kids love to see the geckos in their familiar spots every day:-)

We've stayed with our entire family of 9 and our immediate family of 5 and the house works perfectly in either scenario. Jon is a pleasure to deal with and always super attentive and helpful with any questions we have. Highly, highly recommended as a perfect base if you are visiting the Big Island:-)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Property

Review submitted: March 5, 2014   Date of arrival: February 6, 2014

We spent 10 days in the house with our adult children and 2 granddaughters. It worked out perfect! The pool was definitely a big bonus for the kids and gave the adults someplace to hang out as well. The house is exactly as shown in the photos and had everything we needed. The owners were super to work with and we really appreciated their consideration. Hope we can come back some day so.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

I agree - 5 Stars

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: December 22, 2013

Read everyone's 5 star reviews and multiply them by 10. We spent Christmas week at this house and it was perfect. My wife and I, our two adult kids and her dad - all totally enjoyed staying here. The only problem we had was that it was so comfortable and the views so great that we didn't want to go anywhere else. We had to kind of force ourselves to go out and be tourists. And the pool is just a super bonus. Owners = very concerned you have a great time. It's just all great.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much Jerry! It has been a pleasure conversing with you. I am so glad you enjoyed your vacation. Aloha, Jon

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderfull!!

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

I have seen pictures and read the reviews, when searching for a house. The pictures are accurate but the house is so much more in person!! The Ocean view from the Lanai, or really any spot in the house, is absolutely AMAZING!!!

When I come back( because I definitely plan on coming back) I will definitely be staying here again.

My family and I, travel a lot. We have rented our fair share of houses. Jon by far is the best landlord that I have ever rented from. He answers emails punctually and efficiently. He went above and beyond my expectations.

Thank you Jon, for the use of your beautiful house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Evette. The pleasure was all mine!
Aloha, Jon

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic!

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: April 15, 2013

A perfect vacation! We rented this home last week and can't stop talking about it. The views are just stunning and the house had everything you could possibly need. They had all the beach supplies like boogie boards, snorkel equipment, beach towles, and beach chairs. The house was immaculate and in a great neighborhood. It was fantastic to wake up every morning and sit out on the lanai with a cup of coffee and look out over the ocean and feel the breeze. Paradise. I would highly recommend this home to anyone.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

More than we hoped for!

Review submitted: March 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

The house is even better than the pictures! Lots of space, amenities, and perfect location. The large deck offers amazing views of the city & ocean. Despite the fact that it is in a neighborhood, the peaceful silence at night would make you believe you're in the middle of nowhere. Would definitely stay here again!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Phenomenal getaway!

Review submitted: November 30, 2012   Date of arrival: November 16, 2012

We had an amazing time at this house! It's absolutely gorgeous and had everything we needed and more! Most importantly it was soooo great working with Jon! He was extremely responsive and very easy to work with. Next time we are in the islands, we'll be staying here again!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Beautiful Home Away from Hom

Review submitted: November 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2012

This beautiful house was a real find! Our family of 7, including 3 generations, spent a wonderful week here. The house itself is lovely, and the view amazing! The house is just a few minutes drive to the town of Kona, and far enough away to be out of the evacuation zone—which we were very grateful for during the 2012 tsunami. Although Kona was undamaged, evacuation was called. Because we had chosen this house, we were completely undisturbed.

The house and grounds are beautifully maintained, the furniture inside and out comfortable and very attractive. The house was so spacious that our family had plenty of opportunity to have quiet times, as well as the space to gather on the lanais (upstairs and down) and in the living and dining rooms. It was a pleasure to sit on the lanai with our morning coffee, savor the gorgeous view and enjoy family time.

The pool area is furnished with many chaises and chairs—more than we ever used. The quantity and variety of pool and ocean toys/equipment provided my family with so many good times. The kitchen contained all the dishes/glasses/pans/equipment for our family to enjoy meals together—even water bottles for our excursions. Jon, the owner, was extremely helpful and courteous, and a pleasure to work with. We would absolutely return with our family—and maybe even just the two of us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Beautiful Home Away from Home

Review submitted: November 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2012

This beautiful house was a real find! Our family of 7, including 3 generations, spent a wonderful week here. The house itself is lovely, and the view amazing! The house is just a few minutes drive to the town of Kona, and far enough away to be out of the evacuation zone—which we were very grateful for during the 2012 tsunami. Although Kona was undamaged, evacuation was called. Because we had chosen this house, we were completely undisturbed.

The house and grounds are beautifully maintained, the furniture inside and out comfortable and very attractive. The house was so spacious that our family had plenty of opportunity to have quiet times, as well as the space to gather on the lanais (upstairs and down) and in the living and dining rooms. It was a pleasure to sit on the lanai with our morning coffee, savor the gorgeous view and enjoy family time.

The pool area is furnished with many chaises and chairs—more than we ever used. The quantity and variety of pool and ocean toys/equipment provided my family with so many good times. The kitchen contained all the dishes/glasses/pans/equipment for our family to enjoy meals together—even water bottles for our excursions. Jon, the owner, was extremely helpful and courteous, and a pleasure to work with. We would absolutely return with our family—and maybe even just the two of us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Beautiful Home Away from Home

Review submitted: November 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2012

This beautiful house was a real find! Our family of 7, including 3 generations, spent a wonderful week here. The house itself is lovely, and the view amazing! The house is just a few minutes drive to the town of Kona, and far enough away to be out of the evacuation zone—which we were very grateful for during the 2012 tsunami. Although Kona was undamaged, evacuation was called. Because we had chosen this house, we were completely undisturbed.

The house and grounds are beautifully maintained, the furniture inside and out comfortable and very attractive. The house was so spacious that our family had plenty of opportunity to have quiet times, as well as the space to gather on the lanais (upstairs and down) and in the living and dining rooms. It was a pleasure to sit on the lanai with our morning coffee, savor the gorgeous view and enjoy family time.

The pool area is furnished with many chaises and chairs—more than we ever used. The quantity and variety of pool and ocean toys/equipment provided my family with so many good times. The kitchen contained all the dishes/glasses/pans/equipment for our family to enjoy meals together—even water bottles for our excursions. Jon, the owner, was extremely helpful and courteous, and a pleasure to work with. We would absolutely return with our family—and maybe even just the two of us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

House for our wedding

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: April 9, 2012

We rented this wonderful house for the week we were in Kona for our wedding. My wife and I plus our wedding party stayed up at the house. The house was exactly what we needed. It was very roomy and each room had its privacy from the rest of the house. The location was great, beautiful sunsets very night. Jon was gracious enough to allow us to have a small reception at the house the night of the wedding. I would rent this house again with other couples next time we vacation to the Big Island.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Truly fabulous!!!

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: January 10, 2012

For our winter get-away we packed up the kids (age 3 and 1) and the grandparents (five of them in total) and descended on Kona and this wonderful house! We stayed 3 glorious weeks. The house was perfect for us in every way! Jon was very helpful and responsive to our questions. The upstairs master suite is beautiful. The house is very child friendly (one stair well easily gated) with all the activity on one level with bedrooms, bathroom and pool access on lower level.

The neighbourhood is quiet and friendly, just far enough up the hill to be peaceful, but still 5-8 minutes from the fun of downtown. Stunning views and spectacular sunsets, the lanai was perfect!

We loved this property and would recommend it with no hesitation for families who want a home away from home!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Thanksgiving Getaway

Review submitted: December 3, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

A group of friends rented Jon's beautiful home for the Thanksgiving holiday! We came from Arizona, California, Oregon and Perth, Australia! It is a wonderful place to get together with nice common areas like the kitchen, dining area, living room and lanai. The kitchen was very well stocked with everything a group of cooks would want or need to put on a Thanksgiving feast!

The views from the pool area and lanai are gorgeous! We enjoyed our coffee and tea in the mornings while gathering to plan our days and the sunsets in the evenings from the comfortable chairs on the lanai.

We did not take advantage of the kayak or beach toys but the big garage was very handy for keeping five sets of golf clubs!

We came up with a couple of questions during our stay and emailed Jon who responded quickly and kindly, which made things so much easier.

It is a beautiful place, great bargain and we would recommend it to anyone!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a find!

Review submitted: May 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

This home is just amazing. It is clean, well kept and well stocked. The lanai was our favorite hangout, with its beautiful ocean views and dazzling sunsets. The pool was a favorite with the kids in our party, and we adults just loved some of the fun pool toys available. We made good use of the snorkeling equipment provided by the owner, and the boogie boards were a big hit. The home is in a wonderful neighborhood and on a quiet street, but close to everything on the Kona coast. The home is spacious, the beds are very comfortable, and the furnsihings are all of great quality. We will definitely make this our Big Island stay from now on. The owner is wonderful to work with, and really cares about your having a great time on your vacation. We highly recommend this home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Our new "home away from home"

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: March 1, 2011

My new bride and I had the honor of staying in Jon's ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL" rental house while honeymooning in Kona. From the start we were impressed with the cleanliness, amenities, comfortability, proximity to town and, of course, the private pool :) The view from the upper level was magnificent and coming home after a day of snorkeling and sightseeing was like a great adventure in itself. As long as this place is available, I'm planning an annual pilgrimage to celebrate our anniversaries here. Thank you for the memories, Jon, and your warm hospitality!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Beautiful home, surpassed our expectations

Review submitted: February 12, 2011   Date of arrival: January 23, 2011

We had never rented a home before, so we weren't sure what to expect when we drove up to this home. As we entered the front door, my family of 7 was overwhelmed by the beauty and amenities.

We watched the sunset over the ocean each night from the home's patio, and prepared breakfast and lunch in the kitchen each day. However, we really enjoyed the lemon and orange trees on the property. We drank fresh-squeezed orange juice every morning, and homemade lemonade at lunch.

Our kids were too young (and too many!) to enjoy the kayak in the garage, but we did borrow the boogie boards and swim shoes when hitting the beach.

The residential neighborhood was charming, too. We walked around and laughed at the wild turkeys we encountered. Two plumeria trees next to the driveway gave us fragrant blossoms to enjoy. The home is only a minute or so away from the main highway on the Big Island, so we had an easy route to any destination.

Jon made the rental process smooth and comfortable, and even provided advice on how to enjoy our stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Home away from home, with amazing views!

Review submitted: January 29, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

Our family couldn't have asked for a better suited place for us to spend our two week vacation on the Big Island. The house really did feel like home the minute we walked in, it had everything we needed, the kitchen has everything you need to cook, make blended drinks, bake, there is even basic spices and a few extras that help out not having to buy, plenty of toilette paper, paper towels, bars of hand soap, dish soap, I also was lucky to find zip lock bags, plastic wrap and tin foil.
I looked forward every morning (and now dream of) enjoying my coffee on the front porch watching the sun come up, it was so calming and peaceful, listening to the birds and looking down on Kailua Kona and the coast, a few mornings there was a cruise ship in the bay, our first morning we actually saw a few whales, there's also a telescope that has a good viewing. The best part of the porch by far was the sunset, even on over cast days it would start to clear up by 4 o'clock, and you knew you were guaranteed to have and amazing sunset!
The pool was nice to have on days we didn't venture out, the sun gets very hot...the kids enjoyed playing with the pool noodles, and the pool float chair for myself!
The property has a few fruit trees, that you can enjoy!
Communication between owner Jon and I was only by email, but he was always very quick to answer any questions I had, he checked in while we were there to make sure everything was ok, which was nice! We never had the need to contact him during our stay for any problems, but I'm sure if there was someone would have been there sortly to fix it!
It's in a quiet and safe naibourhood, nice to walk around the blocks and look at all the beautiful homes. Just a 10 minute drive to the charming downtown Kailua Kona and all stores, overall a great location for your visiting of the rest of the Island. So many great things to see and do! But it was always nice to return home at the end of the day and relax in what felt like our home!
Thanks to Jon and his family for a memorable vacation in your home, we have already mentioned your home to friends and family, and we would like to return to the Big Island and stay at your home for sure if were lucky enough!
As most people say in reviews... pictures don't do it justice, same for here!
Thanks again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review