reviews for: listing #34755 - Flamingo Beach, Costa Rica House rental

Bella Vista del Mar
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Villas Catalinas
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $300 - $350 /nt
    $1,500 - $3,500 /wk
    $4,500 - $6,000 /mth

sort by:

Beautiful Condo & Location

Review submitted: February 4, 2009   Date of arrival: January 17, 2009

We stayed in this condo (2 couples) for 8 nights and each day was better than the one before. Everything about the property is is fantastic. The kitchen is amazing. We love to cook and it was fully equipped with everything you might need. The bedrooms and bathrooms are large and beautifully done. The view from the patio is stunning. It's close to the beach.
The only drawback is for people either elderly or have mobility problems. The property is set on a hillside and there is a lot of up and down.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay! We appreciate that you took the time to submit a review. Just wanted to clarify to those looking at our reviews that our home is not a condo but a stand alone townhome.

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Wonderful digs in the best location in Costa Rica

Review submitted: February 16, 2014   Date of arrival: January 28, 2014

This was our 2nd time to Potrero--the area simply cannot be beat. We spent 2 weeks 5 years ago in the same neighborhood. This year we were lucky enough to find this wonderful town house which suited all of our needs--amazing views, a clean, well stocked kitchen with island, a large deck for listening to the howler monkeys and dining under the stars (we never used the lovely dining room), great a/c when needed--all around very clean, and well loved--and the pool! A very short walk up the driveway delivers you to an infinity pool with one of the best views in the area. We watched 2 whales playing in the bay from the edge of the pool. If you're into exotic bird spotting, they're easy to identify -- bright yellow fly catchers, falcons, sparrows and parrots are actually flying underneath you because of the altitude. The gate guard was always happy to hop out and lift the gate for us (not necessary, but the gesture and his smile helped brighten our already magical mornings as we walked to the beach for a swim and to spot monkeys).
The house was equipped with plenty of beach needs--towels, chairs and thermal bags (in case you want a cerveza at the beach)--which we made good use of.

If we were to change anything about the house is was that the dining area on the deck got bright sun all day,so for shade purposes that was easily remedied by moving the porch furniture to the other side of the deck.
Restaurants in the area are plentiful--from fine dining to a plastic table in the sand--and the seafood and BBQ are world class no matter where you dine. Other villages, including Brasilito (with our favorite "hang-outs"--the casual beach restaurant Camaron Dorado and the colorful and fun to get to Conchal Beach) and Flamingo (with it's world-class Flamingo Beach and it's "Coco Loco" beach bar& restaurant) are a short drive away. Our neighbor Kathie told us where to find the freshest seafood around (a little house less than 10 minutes away) as well as nearby food to grab when we didn't feel like grilling (Marco Polo Pizza and the very fun "Beach House", less than 5 minutes away).

This town house, and the area in which it's located, will guarantee you one of the best vacations of your life--whether it's your 1st time to Costa Rica or your 15th. BTW, check out the house "guest book". We made a great recommendation for an amazing tour guide (named Dee) who took us to places not too far from home that we would never have discovered on our own.
~ Tom & Ali

Owners response: We are so happy you guys had such a wonderful time! We would love to have you come back. Thank you for such a nice review and commenting on the local area

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

a delightful oasis, quiet with beautiful views

Review submitted: February 3, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

Five of us stayed in this lovely , very spacious, clean townhome for Xmas week. This airy, nicely furnished condo is well constructed with large rooms, elegant baths, and an unusually well equipped kitchen. There is excellent sound proofing throughout, very comfortable beds and great views of the sea. The pool which is located a few minutes walk up the hill in a quiet spot is very special since it has a 180 degree plus view of the sea and its small islands. There are chaise lounges there and bathroom facilities. You can walk easily in five minutes to two beaches which are right in front of you or drive to other beaches within a few minutes. Playa Grande, home of the sea turtles is only about thirty minutes away by car. There is also a new, large upscale supermarket about fifteen minutes or less away. We had no trouble finding local restaurants for dinner. The agency in charge of maintaining the condo and helping guests is very efficient and the staff is very nice and will go out of its way to be helpful. This is a well attended gated community where we felt very safe . We were very happy with our choice and felt that the pictures and owners description were quite accurate. I would highly recommend this property.

Owners response: Thank you so much for the review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our home and your stay in Costa Rica.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This was our second time....it's perfect

Review submitted: January 16, 2014   Date of arrival: December 31, 2013

Great location... great views....quick walk to the ocean...spacious.....I could go on.... Highly recommended!

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay again...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Holidays in This beatuful home!

Review submitted: January 10, 2013   Date of arrival: December 26, 2012

We had the privilege to rent this beautiful home during the New Years Holidays. The house was fully equipped, spacious and with wonderful views! It was the perfect place to relax, the fact that the house is walking distance to Prieta Beach made it super comfortable and this beach is very nice. Inside the Villa Catalina Community, steps away from the house is a very nice swimming pool, great for kids and for relaxation, you will be stunned by the views!
The Staff was also very supportive and made our stay a very pleasant. We had a great stay and we look forward to stay again!!!

Owners response: Thank you so much for the nice review. We are so happy that you had such a nice stay. We look forward to having you return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

AMAZING - better than the pictures

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 10, 2012

Recent website review:
Everything in the listing is accurate. However the pictures do not do it justice. The property was spotless inside and out. The gated community in which it's located is well maintained. Everyone from the security, to the maid, to the maintenance crew were so warm, welcoming and above all helpful. The staff of Special Places of Guanacaste were very friendly as well. Jill was wonderful in answering any questions and prompt in answer all of my emails and calls. The house also has everything you're used to as far as home appliances. The house is surrounded by beautiful forests and only a 5 minute walk to the beach. The living room, kitchen, dining room and outdoor patio have an amazing view of the beach. You can even hear the waves crashing on the beach at night. The infinity edge pool has breathtaking views. There is so much to do and see and after a long eventful day it's nice to come home to a place like this. This house is also perfectly located near some of Costa Rica's most beautiful beaches and resorts but not too close that you find yourself among a crowd of tourists. I definitely would recommend this place to a friend or relative. If I ever return to Costa Rica I will definitely stay in this wonderful home again. If you're considering traveling to Costa Rica and don't know where to stay you've found the perfect vacation home. You will not be disappointed.

Marquez family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

AMAZING. Better than in pictures.

Review submitted: July 27, 2012   Date of arrival: July 10, 2012

Everything in the listing is accurate. However the pictures do not do it justice. The property was spotless inside and out. The gated community in which it's located is well maintained. Everyone from the security, to the maid, to the maintenance crew were so warm, welcoming and above all helpful. The staff of Special Places of Guanacaste were very friendly as well. Jill was wonderful in answering any questions and prompt in answer all of my emails and calls. The house also has everything you're used to as far as home appliances. The house is surrounded by beautiful forests and only a 5 minute walk to the beach. The living room, kitchen, dining room and outdoor patio have an amazing view of the beach. You can even hear the waves crashing on the beach at night. The infinity edge pool has breathtaking views.

There is so much to do and see and after a long eventful day it's nice to come home to a place like this.

This house is also perfectly located near some of Costa Rica's most beautiful beaches and resorts but not too close that you find yourself among a crowd of tourists. I definitely would recommend this place to a friend or relative. If I ever return to Costa Rica I will definitely stay in this wonderful home again.

If you're considering traveling to Costa Rica and don't know where to stay you've found the perfect vacation home. You will not be disappointed.

Owners response: Well thank you so much for the kind review. We are so happy that you had such a marvelous time in our home. Costa Rica is a beautiful country. We look forward to your return visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great location !

Review submitted: April 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 5, 2012

Ok, I was a bit nervous when we first arrived and I thought it would be a bummer to be right on the main road. Turns out there is very little traffic so it was not a big deal. After exploring all the way to Tamarindo and back we were very grateful of this location. The two beaches must be know only to locals. Often we were the only people on the "white" beach so the kids had the beach and the tide pools all to themselves.

The house is lovely and well equiped. We had issues with the air conditioners in 2 rooms. One they fixed late the night we arrived, one they never fixed and I was a bit disappointed in the follow through of the management company on this point. However, it was Easter weekend so we made do with fans and did not press the issue.

Playa Potrero is small, low key and not full of tourists like some of the larger beach towns. It made for a very relaxing time.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great location!

Review submitted: April 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 5, 2012

Ok, I was a bit nervous when we first arrived and I thought it would be a bummer to be right on the main road. Turns out there is very little traffic so it was not a big deal. After exploring all the way to Tamarindo and back we were very grateful of this location. The two beaches must be know only to locals. Often we were the only people on the "white" beach so the kids had the beach and the tide pools all to themselves.

The house is lovely and well equiped. We had issues with the air conditioners in 2 rooms. One they fixed late the night we arrived, one they never fixed and I was a bit disappointed in the follow through of the management company on this point. However, it was Easter weekend so we made do with fans and did not press the issue.

Playa Potrero is small, low key and not full of tourists like some of the larger beach towns. It made for a very relaxing time.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Pictures can't do it justice

Review submitted: January 27, 2012   Date of arrival: January 16, 2012

First off we were greeted by Jimmy who was the warmest most attentive guy you could ask for. He would set us up on the most fantastic adventures and was always right on the money when we needed a suggestion for a romantic dinner or a great beach at sunset. He was always there but never intrusive. He always answered the phone and ended every conversation by saying he was always there for anything we needed or if we somehow got lost while driving.

Now to the villa itself. You cannot believe the views from this place and the whole vibe of being in a great house but at the same time you are living among the locals or Ticos as they refer to themselves. Each morning was spent on the veranda enjoying the great tropical fruit available everywhere. We were usually greeted by some birds or some other wildlife that was curious. We could see some howlers monkeys in the distant tree tops as well. At night we would enjoy a spectacular sunset while we prepared our dinners in the gourmet kitchen so well equipped it made our homes seem lacking. Every kitchen tool for cooking or smoothies was there and the peninsula was so awesome to prepare food on or just to sit and write emails from. The bedrooms were spacious and very well appointed and the bed we slept in was so comfortable I almost forgot I have a herniated disc and a ton of arthritis. Truthfully I cannot say enough good about this place and it had some major competition from the place we left earlier in Manuel Antonio. It was however superior to Manuel and it didn't take us long to forget Manuel :-). As far as proximity to things it was perfect. You are a 15 minute drive to the surf, dining and shopping hot spot Tamarindo and less than two kilometers to a totally secluded little beach called Dantita where a Tico told me he lived in Guanacaste his whole life and never knew about this place. There is also a restaurant called Lola's that has the freshest food and a view second to none. I have to admit that writing this is bittersweet because I don't want to see this place get spoiled and overrun with tourists, but out of fairness to the owners and the people that took care of us at Special Places I owe this review to them. I plan on returning soon and am thankful for the priviledge of experiencing Cost Rica in it's fullness. Five stars are not enough! I can honestly say that I understand the real meaning behind the words "Pura Vida" Sam

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Pictures can't do it justice!

Review submitted: January 26, 2012   Date of arrival: January 16, 2012

First of we were greeted by Jimmy who was the warmest most attentive guy you could ask for. He would aer set us up on the most fantastic adventures and was always right on the money when we needed a suggestion for a romantic dinner or a great beach at sunset. He was always there but never intrusive. He always answered the phone and ended every conversation by saying he was always there for anything we needed or if w somehow got lost while driving. Now to the villa itself. You cannot believe the viws from this place and the whole vibe of being in it all but at the same time you are living among the Locals or Ticos as they refer to themselves. Each morning was spent on the veranda enjoying the great tropical fruit avilable everywhere. We were usually greeted by some birds or some other wildlifethat was curious. We could see some howlers monkeys in the distant tree tops as well. At night we would enjoy a spectacular sunset while we prepared our dinners in the gourmet kitchen so well equipped it made our homes seem lacking.Evry kitchen tool for cookingor smoothies was there and the penninsula was so awesome to prepare food on or just to nsit and write emails from. The bedrooms were spacious and very well appointed and the bed we slept in was so comfortable I almost forgot I have a herniated disc and a ton of arthritis. Truthfull I cannot say enough good about this place and it had somemajor competition from the place we left earlier in Manuel Antonio however it was superior to Manuel and it didn't take us long to forget Manuel :-). As far as proximity to things it was perfect. You are a 15 minute drive to the surf,dining and shopping hot spot Tamarindo and less than two kilometers to a totally secluded little beach called Dantita where a Tico told me he lived in Guanacaste his whole life and never new about this place. There is also a restaurant called Lola's that has the freshest food and a view second to none. I have to admit that writing this is bittersweet because I don't want to see this place get spoiled and overrun with tourists but out of fairness to the owner Jill Walsh and the people that took care of us at Special places I owe this review to them. I plan on returning soon and I thank you for the privledge of experiencing Cost Rica in it's fullness. Five stars are not enough. I can honestly say that I understand the real mening behing the words "Pura Vida"

Sam

Owners response: Thank you so much for the very kind review. We are so happy that you had such a wonderful time. Our goal is that our guests have a "vacation of a lifetime" while staying in our home. Special Places does a wonderful job making our guests feel welcome, tending to their needs and ensuring that you get a real taste of what Costa Rica has to offer. I do believe that one of the things that makes our home special is that you are staying in a home that has all the luxuries of living in the United States while living among the locals, so that you have an authentic Costa Rica experience. We hope to have you back very soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful place in a tropical Paradise

Review submitted: January 19, 2012   Date of arrival: December 19, 2011

We had a great time in Costa Rica in December. The house has everything you need - The view, pool, walking distance to local beaches, and all the modern amenity and appliances you have in the us and more. The house is secluded and nested up on a hill, which gives it a priceless view, specially from the swiming pool area. It is, however, also quite close to the local beach. Every day we walked to the beach to play with water/sand, and fly kites. We rented a car, so some days we drove to other beaches for lunch, and on our way home, we would pick up local fruit and vegetables to cook for dinner. Eating out and driving around is very convenient around there with a few folks speaking or understanding English. We had a really good time and will definitely go back to the beautiful house or recommend to others.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful place in a tropical paradise

Review submitted: January 19, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2011

We had a great time in Costa Rica in December. The house has everything you need - The view, pool, walking distance to local beaches, and all the modern amenity and appliances you have in the us and more. The house is secluded and nested up on a hill, which gives it a priceless view, specially from the swiming pool area. It is, however, also quite close to the local beach. Every day we walked to the beach to play with water/sand, and fly kites. We rented a car, so some days we drove to other beaches for lunch, and on our way home, we would pick up local fruit and vegetables to cook for dinner. Eating out and driving around is very convenient around there with a few folks speaking or understanding English. We had a really good time and will definitely go back to the beautiful house or recommend to others.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beyond Our Expectations

Review submitted: December 8, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

When we first looked at the pictures and read the description of Bella Vista del Mar at Playa Potrero, we had high expectations and ,happily, those expectations were exceeded! The location of the town-home is perfect. It sits up on a hill overlooking a beautiful bay with islands in the distance. The terrace is a wonderful place to watch the sunset, but then so is the infinity pool that looks out over the bay. What a peaceful place. The home is not far from the beach so it's just a short walk to the water. The path to the water splits about half way there and you can go to a pretty bay with great tide-pooling opportunities or a smooth-sand beach which was fun for body surfing. On one of our walks to the beach we were greeted by a family of howler monkeys with three babies in the trees above our heads. We went to the beach everyday to swim, body surf and fish. We often stayed until sunset because we couldn't tear ourselves away from the pink, orange and golden skies. The home itself is also lovely. The kitchen is truly equipped for cooking and we had several dinners at home eating the fish we caught. The rooms are lovely, too, but we spent most of our time on the balcony staring at the view. We were also impressed with the staff and management team of Special Places which manages the town-homes. From security, to the housekeeping service, to the concierge, everyone did their best to make sure we had all we needed. The folks at Special Places made reservations for us for several our excursions, including sport fishing, zip-lining, a birding safari and a sunset cruise. Their recommendations for which tours to take and which to skip were right on. (By the way, don't miss the sunset/snorkeling cruise on the Hibiscus!! It was the perfect finale for our week-long stay.) We're already plotting our return to Bella Vista del Mar.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy that you had such a wonderful vacation and enjoyed your stay in our home. We would love to have you return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beyond Our Expectations

Review submitted: December 8, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

When we first looked at the pictures and read the description of Bella Vista del Mar at Playa Potrero, we had high expectations and ,happily, those expectations were exceeded! The location of the town-home is perfect. It sits up on a hill overlooking a beautiful bay with islands in the distance. The terrace is a wonderful place to watch the sunset, but then so is the infinity pool that looks out over the bay. What a peaceful place. The home is not far from the beach so it's just a short walk to the water. The path to the water splits about half way there and you can go to a pretty bay with great tide-pooling opportunities or a smooth-sand beach which was fun for body surfing. On one of our walks to the beach we were greeted by a family of howler monkeys with three babies in the trees above our heads. We went to the beach everyday to swim, body surf and fish. We often stayed until sunset because we couldn't tear ourselves away from the pink, orange and golden skies. The home itself is also lovely. The kitchen is truly equipped for cooking and we had several dinners at home eating the fish we caught. The rooms are lovely, too, but we spent most of our time on the balcony staring at the view. We were also impressed with the staff and management team of Special Places which manages the town-homes. From security, to the housekeeping service, to the concierge, everyone did their best to make sure we had all we needed. The folks at Special Places made reservations for us for several our excursions, including sport fishing, zip-lining, a birding safari and a sunset cruise. Their recommendations for which tours to take and which to skip were right on. (By the way, don't miss the sunset/snorkeling cruise on the Hibiscus!! It was the perfect finale for our week-long stay.) We're already plotting our return to Bella Vista del Mar.

Owners response: We are so very happy that you had such a wonderful vacation and that you enjoyed our home. We would love for you to return!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful Costa Rican Holiday

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: November 10, 2010

My family had the opportunity to stay in this lovely home on our first holiday in Costa Rica. We decided to have a family reunion in Costa Rica, so we rented two homes in this beautiful complex. It was fantastic to be able to have several homes close together but have our own space. We all visited back and forth between both homes which was a perfect setup. I highly recommend this home for family reunions. This particular house was just perfect for us. Most of my siblings are 70+ so we weren't up for a lot of adventure. We spent a great deal of time visiting on the large patio that looked out on Flamingo Bay. It was a great spot to watch the spectacular sunsets. We walked to the beach most days for a swim. The water was so refreshing and we had the beach to ourselves. We saw lots of different birds and occasionally caught a glimpse of the monkeys. The house itself has all the comforts of home and has a very nicely stocked kitchen. Maid service twice a week was included which was a nice treat. We felt very pampered! The bedrooms were spacious and nicely done. I shared the upstairs bedroom with one of my siblings and slept in one of the bunk beds. I have to admit I wasn't too thrilled with the idea of sleeping in a bunk bed (thought I was done with that years ago), but it turned out to be very comfortable and roomy. We opened the windows at night and it was great to be lulled to sleep by the sound of the ocean. The pool was gorgeous with a view that can't be beat! The house is situated on a hill so it would be a bit difficult for someone with physical disabilities to easily get around. There were several very nice restaurants close by that served delicious seafood. To my surprise, all the restaurants are open-air. We took several sight seeing tours which were wonderful. If you get a chance, go to Lola's in Playa Avellanas. That was beautiful! Overall we had a fantastic stay in this lovely home. It was so wonderful to get away and relax. We would love to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad that you and your family had such a nice time. Our complex is a nice location to have a family reunion as you can rent several homes that are in close proximity to each other. I would agree that our complex is not very well suited to people who have physical limitations due to the hilly nature of our complex. Lola's is one of my favorite places to visit as well but it is a bit of a drive to get to Playa Avellanas. The good news is that there is a new Lola's (Lola's Norte) that just opened right down the road which is gorgeous and just a five minute drive.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Lovely holiday in Costa Rica

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: November 10, 2010

My family had the opportunity to stay in this lovely home on our first holiday in Costa Rica. We decided to have a family reunion in Costa Rica, so we rented two homes in this beautiful complex. It was fantastic to be able to have several homes close together but have our own space. We all visited back and forth between both homes which was a perfect setup. I highly recommend this home for family reunions. This particular house was just perfect for us. Most of my siblings are 70+ so we weren't up for a lot of adventure. We spent a great deal of time visiting on the large patio that looked out over Flamingo Bay. It was a great spot to watch the spectacular sunsets. We walked to the beach most days for a swim. The water was so refreshing and we had the beach to ourselves. We saw lots of different birds and occasionally caught a glimpse of the monkeys. The house itself has all the comforts of home and has a very nicely stocked kitchen. Maid service twice a week was included which was a nice treat. We felt very pampered! The bedrooms were spacious and nicely done. I shared the upstairs bedroom with one of my siblings and slept in one of the bunk beds. I have to admit I wasn't too thrilled with the idea of sleeping in a bunk bed (thought I was done with that years ago), but it turned out to be very comfortable and roomy. We opened the windows at night and it was great to be lulled to sleep by the sound of the ocean. The pool was gorgeous with a view that can't be beat! The house is situated on a hill so it would be a bit difficult for someone with physical disabilities to easily get around. There were several very nice restaurants close by that served delicious seafood. To my surprise, all the restaurants are open-air. We took several sight seeing tours which were wonderful. If you get a chance, go to Lola's in Playa Avellanas. That was beautiful! Overall we had a fantastic stay in this lovely home. It was so wonderful to get away and relax. We would love to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are happy that you and your family had such a nice time. I would agree that our complex is nice for family reunions as there are multiple homes so close together that can be rented. I am glad that worked out for you. I would agree with you that our complex is not great for someone who has significant physical limitations or disabilities.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely holiday in Costa Rica

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: November 10, 2010

My family had the opportunity to stay in this lovely home on our first holiday in Costa Rica. We decided to have a family reunion in Costa Rica, so we rented two homes in this beautiful complex. It was fantastic to be able to have several homes close together but have our own space. We all visited back and forth between both homes which was a perfect setup. I highly recommend this home for family reunions.

This particular house was just perfect for us. Most of my siblings are 70+ so we weren't up for a lot of adventure. We spent a great deal of time visiting on the large patio that looked out on Flamingo Bay. It was a great spot to watch the spectacular sunsets. We walked to the beach most days for a swim. The water was so refreshing and we had the beach to ourselves. We saw lots of different birds and occasionally caught a glimpse of the monkeys. The house itself has all the comforts of home and has a very nicely stocked kitchen. Maid service twice a week was included which was a nice treat. We felt very pampered! The bedrooms were spacious and nicely done. I shared the upstairs bedroom with one of my siblings and slept in one of the bunk beds. I have to admit I wasn't too thrilled with the idea of sleeping in a bunk bed (thought I was done with that years ago), but it turned out to be very comfortable and roomy. We opened the windows at night and it was great to be lulled to sleep by the sound of the ocean. The pool was gorgeous with a view that can't be beat! The house is situated on a hill so it would be a bit difficult for someone with physical disabilities to easily get around.

There were several very nice restaurants close by that served delicious seafood. To my surprise, all the restaurants are open-air. We took several sight seeing tours which were wonderful. If you get a chance, go to Lola's in Playa Avellanas. That was beautiful!

Overall we had a fantastic stay in this lovely home. It was so wonderful to get away and relax. We would love to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Most relaxing vacation we have ever had !

Review submitted: June 10, 2011   Date of arrival: November 5, 2009

My husband and I are busy self-employed professionals who really needed some down time and found it in this little corner of paradise. After a long flight from California, we found our way from Liberia airport in a four wheel drive vehicle by way of a mostly two lane highway/road, until the last five miles or so over a gravel and dirt road, to a small gated community with a gorgeously decorated and well-appointed air conditioned hacienda in the little town of Potrero. We quickly settled in to a routine of having our morning pot of Costa Rican coffee on the covered veranda overlooking the bay and across to the town of Flamingo, listening to birds of all types and the elusive howler monkeys, and watching flocks of green parrots streak from one tree to another. We usually took a long morning swim at the black sand beach only a few minute walk from the house and then found lunch a short drive away. Our favorite being a little taco stand right on the beach in Potrero where we had the freshest fish tacos. Venturing out from the house, we made our way to Flamingo and Brasalito for shopping and sightseeing and a chance to practice our broken Spanish, although all of the Ticos (native Costa Ricans) we met spoke English very well. An afternoon siesta was a must, as was watching the sunset from the infinity pool and hot tub above the house. We had dinner out most nights and enjoyed wonderful seafood everywhere, usually fresh snapper caught just that afternoon by local fishermen. Gelato from the Italian Village was our evening treat before we retired for a long and restful night’s sleep to be awakened in the morning by neighbor rooster greeting the day. After only a few days we were on Costa Rica time and came home refreshed with memories to last a life time. This is our second trip to this little corner of paradise and we plan to come back to this house again next fall.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the kind review. We are so happy that you enjoy our home. We appreciate that you and your husband have chosen our home each year for your vacation. May your stay in November be as relaxing and peaceful as your previous stays! You will be suprised to find that they have paved the road to our house, but the rest is still the same. The parrots and monkeys will be there to greet you.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Amazing Vacation in Paradise

Review submitted: June 9, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

I went to Costa Rica for the first time this February with my girlfriends. We walked into this beautiful home and immediately knew that we were going to have the time of our lives. The house was really nice and had everythng you could possibly want. We sunbathed almost every day at the beach which was an easy walk through the canopy of trees in front of the house. The pool was awesome with an amazing view of the coastline and the ocean.... Cocktails by the pool or on the patio quickly became our daily ritual. We spent our mornings hanging out on the veranda and then took off for the beach or our adventure of the day. There are beautiful flocks of bright green parrots that fill the tree in front of the house. We could also hear the howler monkeys that hung out in the trees below the house and occasionally caught a glimpse of them. There are alot of great little places to eat close by - Sol y Mar was our favorite right down the street. Had to go for cocktails and tacos at Las Brisas, this cute little hole in the wall bar on the beach near their home. We did quite a few little adventures that were close by including horseback riding, zip lining through the jungle and snorkeling. Honestly we couldn't have had a more amazing stay. The house was perfect, it was in a beautiful gated complex and there was so much to do nearby. You got such a wonderful taste of the authentic Costa Rica. We had no problem with the roads. Many are two lane with the occasional potholes but overall in good shape...it just added to our fun adventure. We cannot wait to go back again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy that you had such a nice time in our home. Thank you for the review.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Vacation in Paradise

Review submitted: June 8, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

I went to Costa Rica for the first time this February with my girlfriends. We walked into this beautiful home and immediately knew that we were going to have the time of our lives. The house was really nice and had everythng you could possibly want. We sunbathed almost every day at the beach which was an easy walk through the canopy of trees in front of the house. The pool was awesome with an amazing view of the coastline and the ocean.... Cocktails by the pool or on the patio quickly became our daily ritual. We spent our mornings hanging out on the veranda and then took off for the beach or our adventure of the day. There are beautiful flocks of bright green parrots that fill the tree in front of the house. We could also hear the howler monkeys that hung out in the trees below the house and occasionally caught a glimpse of them. There are alot of great little places to eat close by - Sol y Mar was our favorite right down the street. Had to go for cocktails and tacos at Las Brisas, this cute little hole in the wall bar on the beach near their home. We did quite a few little adventures that were close by including horseback riding, zip lining through the jungle and snorkeling. Honestly we couldn't have had a more amazing stay. The house was perfect, it was in a beautiful gated complex and there was so much to do nearby. You got such a wonderful taste of the authentic Costa Rica. We had no problem with the roads. Many are two lane with the occasional potholes but overall in good shape...it just added to our fun adventure. We cannot wait to go back again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the review. We are so happy that you had such a wonderful time at our home and were able to enjoy such an amazing country. We hope you consider staying again in our home in the near future!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The most relaxing vacation we have ever taken!

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 9, 2010

My husband and I are busy self-employed professionals who really needed some "down" time and found it in this little corner of paradise. After a long flight from California, we found our way from Liberia airport in a four wheel drive vehicle by way of a mostly two lane highway/road, until the last five miles or so over a gravel and dirt road, to a small gated community with a gorgeously decorated and well-appointed air conditioned hacienda in the little town of Potrero. We quickly settled in to a routine of having our morning pot of Costa Rican coffee on the covered veranda overlooking the bay and across to the town of Flamingo, listening to birds of all types and the elusive howler monkeys, and watching flocks of green parrots streak from one tree to another. We usually took a log morning swim at the black sand beach only a few minute's walk from the house, and then found lunch a short drive away, our favorite being a little taco stand right on the beach in Potrero where we had the freshest fish tacos. Venturing out from the house, we made our way to Flamingo and Brasalito for shopping and sight seeing and a chance to practice our broken Spanish, although all of the Ticos (native Costa Ricans) we met spoke English very well and were most patient with our efforts at Spanish. An afternoon siesta was a must, as was watching the sunset from the infinity pool and hot tub above the house. We had dinner out most nights and enjoyed wonderful seafood everywhere, usually fresh snapper caught just that afternoon by local fishermen. Gelato from the Italian Village was our evening treat before we retired for a long and restful night's sleep, to be awakened in the morning by neighbor's rooster greeting the day. After only a few days we were on Costa Rica time and came home refreshed with memories to last a life time. This is our second trip to this little corner of paradise and we plan to visit again next fall.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Vacation Ever !!

Review submitted: May 9, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

We had the best time at your retreat in Costa Rica! – Best vacation ever. We loved your accommodations – it was perfect for us and our three teenage daughters. Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home. We had absolutely everything we needed. The people were so nice, we loved being right in the culture…Potrero was perfect. Great balance of adventure, beach, culture, restaurants, eating in your lovely kitchen, meeting people from all over the world, and cherished family time…not to mention the pool- talk about a view! We were also very impressed with the security you have. The guys working the gate and making the security rounds at night provided an added measure of comfort being in a foreign country. It was truly the best vacation we have ever been on as a family! Your home was the focal point of our stay- perfect. It is cold, snowy and busy here in Minnesota…..We want to go back!!!!!
Thanks so much,
Daniel and Family

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Trip

Review submitted: May 9, 2011   Date of arrival: March 23, 2011

What a wonderful trip..full of adventure! As soon as we arrived at our beautiful rental home in Flamingo Bay, our boys disappeared…go figure. Found them at the beach. We spent four days at this wonderful rental home overlooking the coastline. We had two almost private beaches right next to the house. One beach had bigger waves so the boys never left that beach. The rental home had everything for an infinity pool, a first class kitchen…actually the entire house was fantastic – as good as any 5 star! We heard a strange barking noise the first night…turns out there was a group of howler monkeys right outside the house. We saw them the next day. We weren’t sure that we ever wanted to leave this place! Did I mention that the food was AMAZING! And you can drink the water! Can’t wait to go back! Jim G

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome Family Vacation

Review submitted: May 9, 2011   Date of arrival: March 23, 2011

What a wonderful trip..full of adventure! As soon as we arrived at our beautiful rental home in Flamingo Bay, our boys disappeared…go figure. Found them at the beach. We spent four days at this wonderful rental home overlooking the coastline. We had two almost private beaches right next to the house. One beach had bigger waves so the boys never left that beach. The rental home had everything for an infinity pool, a first class kitchen…actually the entire house was fantastic – as good as any 5 star! We heard a strange barking noise the first night…turns out there was a group of howler monkeys right outside the house. We saw them the next day. We weren’t sure that we ever wanted to leave this place! Did I mention that the food was AMAZING! And you can drink the water! Can’t wait to go back!
Jim G

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Family Vacation Ever

Review submitted: May 9, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

We had THE BEST TIME at your retreat in Costa Rica! – Best vacation ever. We loved your accommodations – it was perfect for us and our three teenage daughters. Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home. We had absolutely everything we needed. The people were so nice, we loved being right in the culture…Potrero was perfect. Great balance of adventure, beach, culture, restaurants, eating in your lovely kitchen, meeting people from all over the world, and cherished family time…not to mention the pool- talk about a view! We were also very impressed with the security you have. The guys working the gate and making the security rounds at night provided an added measure of comfort being in a foreign country. It was truly the best vacation we have ever been on as a family! Your home was the focal point of our stay- perfect. It is COLD, SNOWY and BUSY here in Minnesota…..WE WANT TO GO BACK!!!!!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

great house in an interesting location

Review submitted: January 24, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

This town house is lovely and luxurious, beautiful ocean views from the terrace, and very quiet and private despite being a town house. This unit is one of the only ones in the neighborhood with such a big terrace that is sunny and private. Quiet at night (except New Year's day and Eve of course). Lots of activities right near by, once you get used to the area and the country.. Several incredibly beautiful beaches walking distance from the house. Runners will love to go for a morning jog along the several miles of Playa Portero over to Flamingo. Boogie boarders and surfers will love Playa Azucar when the swell comes in!
Neighborhood feels very safe. Town is walking distance with several supermarkets, bars and restaurants. Many locals, not a lot of foreign tourists in this specific area. You will really feel you have discovered the real Costa Rica out here.
Overall great price-quality ratio. Full USA comfort in a typical local village with great beaches and nice activities close by.

A few things that surprised us and might be worth mentioning:

- You will be much better off with a 4 wheel drive jeep: to get to this village there is 10 minutes of dirt track from the main road. Getting around would have been much more fun with a jeep (which we reserved and guaranteed with our credit card but did not get because not enough to go around at Xmas high season).

- During Christmas- New Year's high season, many locals are on holiday and the (drop dead gorgeous) communal pool in this neighborhood is often being used by large family groups having barbecues and taking up the full space. Not a huge problem because the people are very kind and respectful, and the terrace at the house is so nice but would be better off season with less people around. Having said that everyone was very respectful and there were no parties or noise at night.

Overall had a great time, only wish we could time our holidays outside of school holidays so we could avoid the crowds a little.

This home was already quiet compared to most other places at New Years, would be amazingly peaceful at any other time of the year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the review. The Christmas holidays are indeed a very popular time to vacation in our part of Costa Rica and it can be quite busy! This past Christmas it was very busy however the prior Christmas our complex was fairly quiet and we had the pool to ourselves except for one occasion. We do have a policy that only those staying in the homes are allowed on the property during the Christmas season. Other than the Christmas-New Years week, our complex is very quiet and peaceful. Honestly, most of the year we never have to share our pool with anyone! It is a shared with only 11 homes within the Villa Catalinas complex.

I think one of the unique aspects of our home is that it is in a small complex in a small town so that you get a real taste of the real Costa Rica. To get to our home, you do have to travel on a dirt road through the towns of Surfside and Potrero. That is a pretty common thing in Costa Rica. To get to many amazing places you will need to travel on a dirt road. It adds to the adventure of visiting such a beautiful country! We always recommend a four wheel drive although honestly you don't need one.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Vacation Ever

Review submitted: September 15, 2010   Date of arrival: July 15, 2010

This was our 1st vacation to Costa Rica. When we walked into this beautiful townhome, we couldn't believe it was even more stunning than the pictures portrayed. It was perfect for us and our 3 daughters (ages 21,17,16). I enjoyed my coffee and breakfast on the veranda every morning listening to the waves, monkeys and birds. It truly is a paradise. The management company couldn't have been nicer. They recommended a tour guide (Alex) who spent 4 different days with us. Our plan was to spend 9 days in CR...we alternated between an adventure day and a beach day...we always had a day of R and R and sun before our next adventure. We had maid service twice while there. She even unexpectedly did our laundry. We felt very safe in this lovely gated community and in the town of Portrero. I highly recommend this property. Thank you Jill and Jim for sharing your lovely home with us.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Vacation Ever.....

Review submitted: September 14, 2010   Date of arrival: July 15, 2010

This was our 1st vacation to Costa Rica. When we walked into this beautiful townhome, we couldn't believe it was even more stunning than the pictures portrayed. It was perfect for us and our 3 daughters (ages 21,17,16). I enjoyed my coffee and breakfast on the veranda every morning listening to the waves, monkeys and birds. It truly is a paradise. The management company couldn't have been nicer. They recommended a tour guide (Alex) who spent 4 different days with us. Our plan was to spend 9 days in CR...we alternated between an adventure day and a beach day...we always had a day of R and R and sun before our next adventure. We had maid service twice while there. She even unexpectedly did our laundry. We felt very safe in this lovely gated community and in the town of Portrero. I highly recommend this property. Thank you Jill and Jim for sharing your lovely home with us.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Such a great time

Review submitted: January 31, 2010   Date of arrival: November 5, 2009

We had such a wonderful time in your home. You have thought of everything to make your home so comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed sitting on the patio, hanging out by the pool, taking walks on the beach. It was such a relaxing vacation...I think I read two books in a week! Thak you for sharing your beautiful home. We will definitely be back! Al and Tami

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A piece of Paradise

Review submitted: January 31, 2010   Date of arrival: May 3, 2009

What can I say....this is my third time staying in this fabulous home!! Every time I leave, I have to plan my next stay. This home is fantastic. The owners have thought of everything to make my stay perfect. It is very nicely decorated, the kitchen has absolutely EVERYTHING you could want. The ocean views are incredible. I have spent so many evenings watching the sunset from the patio, cocktail in hand. I never grow tired of it! It is so peaceful here. The beds are so comfortable, even the bunk beds (which nicely fit a large adult by the way). Thanks for the fabulous memories! Wayne

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a vacation!!

Review submitted: January 31, 2010   Date of arrival: June 15, 2008

My girlfriends and I stayed in this awesome home for two weeks this summer. Wow, what a GREAT time!!! The house was amazing. We had so much fun....chillin' by the pool, sipping cocktails and watching beautiful sunsets on the patio..Definitely a trip to remember. We will definitely be coming back!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paradise

Review submitted: January 31, 2010   Date of arrival: February 20, 2008

We stayed at this townhome and had the best time!!! The views are stunning and the view from the pool is breathtaking. The house has all the comforts needed. It's truly feels like a "home away from home." It is perfect for a family or just someone trying to get away and bask in the sun! There are great "must see" beaches within walking distance. The pool is beautiful for those who aren't keen on the beach. We had a fantastic time. Thanks for sharing your home.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best family vacation ever!!

Review submitted: January 31, 2010   Date of arrival: June 10, 2009

Bringing our kids, age 25, 22 and 19 on this action packed vacation full of adventure was a great idea. We did the zip lines, ATV tour, horseback riding, surfing, hiking, swimming and more. The house is beautiful and comfortable with every modern convenience. We ate at fantastic local restaurants. Our favorite was Sol y Mar, a short walk from the house. Luna Rosa is a short drive and Sugar Beach is a wonderful resort just down the road with a restaurant overlooking the ocean. We were able to find itens in the nearby markets to grill on the patio as we watched the sun sink into the Pacific Ocean. Wehn we needed to relax we went to the infinity pool or sat on the patio and gazed at the beauty beneath us. We have never met friendlier people than the tour guides and local merchants. The dollar is excepted everywhere. The house was absolutely fantastic. There is something for everyone. Book this home today and make sure you do two weeks, one is not enough. Wow!! We will be back

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The perfect home away from home....

Review submitted: January 31, 2010   Date of arrival: February 10, 2009

We (two couples celebrating our 40th anniversaries together) spent 4 nights of our three week Costa Rican stay here, and we could not have asked for a more appropriate "grand finale." Early morning coffee on the pation and sunsets from the fabulous pool and beach were real treats. The spacious home has every possible amenity - lots of space, comfortable beds, a fabulous kitchen, security system, and very welcome laundry facilities - that were SO appreciated! We even enjoyed books and games provided. We took full advantage of the notebook of restaurants and suggested activities. A lot of thoughtful effort was but into this. One member of our group really enjoyed visiting (even with limited Spanish) with the local neighbor family accross the road from the townhome. Having our own car was definitely a plus for exploring the area. Thank you for sharing your home! Paul, Barb, Bart and Erika - now back to snowy Pagosa Springs

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Home and Location

Review submitted: January 31, 2010   Date of arrival: January 15, 2009

We stayed in this house (2 couples) for 8 nights and each day was better than the one before. Everything about the property is fantastic. The kitchen is amazing. We love to cook and it was fully equipped with everything you might need. The bedrooms and bathrooms are large and beautifully done. The view from the pation is stunning. It's very close to the beach. The only drawback is for people either elderly or mobibility problems as the home is set on a hillside and has stairs and a few hills.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

The perfect home wawy from home...

Review submitted: February 27, 2009   Date of arrival: February 17, 2009

We (two couples celebrating our 40th anniversaries together) spent the last 4 nights of our three week Costa Rican stay here, and we could not have asked for a more appropriate "grand finale." Early morning coffee on the patio and sunsets from the fabulous pool and the beach were real treats. The spacious home has every possible amenity - lots of space, comfortable beds, security, a fabulous kitchen, very welcome laundry facilities, etc. - that were SO appreciated. We even enjoyed books & games provided. We took full advantage of the notebook of restaurants and suggested activities. A lot of thoughtful effort was put into this. One member of our group really enjoyed visiting (even with limited Spanish!) with the local neighbor family across the road below the townhome. Having our own transportation was definitely a plus for this location.This was perfect spot for us, but someone with a physical handicap would have difficulty here because of all he steps. Thank you for sharing your home! Paul, Barb, Bart & Erika - now back in snowy Pagosa Springs, CO.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Best Family Vacation Ever!

Review submitted: August 1, 2008   Date of arrival: June 28, 2008

Bringing our kids, ages 25, 22 and 19 on this action packed vacation full of adventure was a great idea. We did the zip lines, atv tour, horseback riding, surfing, hiking, swimming and more. The house is beautiful and comfortable with every modern convenience. We ate in fantastic restaurants, Sol y Mar is a short walk from the house, Luna Rosa is a short drive and Sugar Beach is a wonderful resort just down the road with a restaurant overlooking the ocean. We were able to find items in the nearby markets to grill on the patio as we watched the sun sink into the Pacific Ocean. When we needed to relax we went to the infinity pool and gazed at the beauty beneath us. I have never met friendlier people than the tour guides and local merchants. The dollar is accepted everywhere as are most major credit cards. This vacation has something for everyone, book it today and make sure you do 2 weeks, one is not enough! The house has plenty of information regarding tours , restaurants, markets, etc. This makes it very easy to plan your activities. Wow! We will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 11

 

Paradise!!

Review submitted: February 25, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

We stayed at this condo and had the best time! The pool and the view are stunning. The house has all the comforts needed and its truly felt like a "home away from home".
Perfect for a large group or just some one trying to get away and bask in the sun! There are great "must see" beaches nearby, but also who would want to go to the beach with that great pool and view of the Pacific!
Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

What a vacation

Review submitted: January 8, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

My friends and I stayed in this awesome home for two weeks this summer. Wow what a GREAT time! The house was amazing. We had so much fun...drinking, watching beautiful sunsets, chillin' by the pool. Definately a trip to remember. We would love to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review