reviews for: listing #3483814ha - Santa Barbara, California rental

Ablitt House - Art Meets Architecture in Downtown Santa Barbara
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 300 - $ 425 / night
    $ 1,699 - $ 2,399 / week
    $ 5,100 - $ 8,600 / month
  • sleeps  4
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Patio on Roof is Spectacular

Review submitted: May 7, 2014   Date of arrival: April 21, 2014

(Transcribed from guestbook at the property)

We came to this lovely home for our son's graduation from Brooks. The art and style of the Ablitt house fit right in with our guests and celebration. So peaceful and breezy with the windows open. Best sleep ever. Thanks to my sister and her husband for joining me and sharing this special occasion. The seagulls, the patio on the roof at night is spectacular!

We love love love this place. It was so special. Everywhere we looked a new surprise. Best place to celebrate our Brookie and his success!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Marvelous

Review submitted: April 21, 2014   Date of arrival: April 13, 2014

(Transcribed from guestbook at the property)

What an amazing structure! We smiled all the way through! - A house of joy! - I want to move in! Marvelous.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Soaring Creativity

Review submitted: April 21, 2014   Date of arrival: April 7, 2014

(Transcribed from guestbook at the property)

As an artist being surrounded by creativity is an everyday adventure. But being inside all these creative minds was the best ever. Thank you for allowing creativity to soar.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely Magical

Review submitted: April 7, 2014   Date of arrival: April 2, 2014

(Transcribed from guestbook at the property)

An absolutely magical place. You know how much I love it and how finding this little paradise has changed me. I think I'll get one too!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazed

Review submitted: January 14, 2014   Date of arrival: December 30, 2013

(Transcribed from the guestbook at the home)

When we saw the home online we were amazed, but being here in person is better than we could have imagined!! There is so much character and such unique details making it a place we will come back to. I especially love the 'faces' in the walls and the hand blown glass lighting in the kitchen. I could go on and on about everything great about the house... Thank you very much for sharing your home with others to enjoy. We would love the opportunity to stay here again!!
P.S. We felt like Celebrities from the many people viewing the house on tours and lots of people taking pictures of the house!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely Home

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: October 20, 2013

(Transcribed from the guestbook at the property)

Thank you for sharing your lovely home. Knocked the Granny out of Santa Barbara.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our 10th Wedding Anniversary

Review submitted: September 15, 2013   Date of arrival: September 2, 2013

(Transcribed from the guestbook at the property)

Thank you for sharing your treasure with us. We couldn't have celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary in a more special place.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect combinations of art and class

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

(Transcribed from the guestbook at the property)

Our family spent the entire week in the kitchen! Awesome room. Perfect Table. Games, drawing, laughing, music, views, breeze, noise, wine, cooking, planning. Its the kitchen of a perfect home. Love the windows, no screens, just open air, seagulls flying by.
The lighting is very nice. The details in the ceilings, has an old world charm. Love the solid wood doors with an arch. Curved windows.
Perfect combinations of art and class, yet still so comfortable. Wish I could bring this home and to every city we travel to. Thank you for sharing!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Falling in Love

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 22, 2013

(Transcribed from the guestbook at the property)

Magical! Lovely! Falling in love with Cindy over and over again. One of the most romantic trips we have ever made. Stars, Music, Dinners, Friends, Rooftop dances. Not enough words to describe the depth of the romance this wonderful work of art can bring to two people.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Simply Lovely

Review submitted: July 27, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2013

(Transcribed from the guestbook at the property)

Simply lovely. We enjoyed our time at Ablitt House and Santa Barbara so much! It was a perfect and charming backdrop for family, friends, wine and food. Doesn't get better than that!
Going back to Texas with lots of great ideas. #1 houses can be fun and colorful #2 Tile is King!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

ablitt house

Review submitted: July 18, 2013   Date of arrival: May 23, 2013

The house is absolutely as pictured, a genuine work of artistic beauty.
I suspect would be perfect for family gatherings, small weddings, parties.

Sleeping is another story.
I wondered why the owners chose to rent out such a beautiful home, rather than live there.
Then I stayed there for 4 nights.
The noise level from the bars next door is extraordinary.
It wouldn't be a problem if you go to sleep after 2 a.m.
Other than that, a wonderful place.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Tantalizing joy

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2013

(Transcribed from the guestbook at the property)

The day I entered this home was the day I came alive. Colors, textures, patterns, light, shadows, smiles, sounds, curves, shapes create an experience of simple yet tantalizing joy.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very Inspiring

Review submitted: May 26, 2013   Date of arrival: May 22, 2013

(Transcribed from the guestbook at the house)

We had a wonderful time being "right in the action" in such a beautiful and amazing piece of work. Very inspiring!!
Saul at SB glass Co is so nice, we are thinking of ways to incorporate his artistry into our own home! Our favorite part was the roof top. Thank you so much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Like living in a piece of art

Review submitted: April 11, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

(Transcribed from the guestbook at the property)

Your house is amazing and I was so happy here. It's a joyous place and I danced on the roof every night. It is a credit to you and Jeff that this ever got built and it is truly like living in a piece of art. I'll be back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ablitt House Rocks

Review submitted: April 11, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

(Transcribed from the guestbook at the property)

Wow! I feel blessed to have the privilege of spending the night in this magical castle! Spending it surrounded by Mike & Carla - Real Shoe- is the icing on the cake. Ablitt house rocks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Colorful tiles and beautiful view

Review submitted: January 6, 2013   Date of arrival: January 2, 2013

(Transcribed from the guestbook at the home)
What an amazing way to spend the holidays and welcome the New Year!! We loved walking along State Street, eating to our hearts content then arriving back to this lovely retreat. We'll miss waking to the colorful tiles and beautiful view but we look forward to returning. This house was clearly a work of love and determination- congratulations.

P.S. It was fun having an endless stream of people taking pictures of the house, completely fascinated.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Location, Dreamlike Digs

Review submitted: December 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 25, 2012

This is definately one of the most unique vacation rentals we have had the pleasure to appreciate. The architecture and furnishings are so special that they could probably charge money just to have people walk through the house. The upper deck, BBQ and bell area affords a 360 degree view and it is just delightful to sit in any room and enjoy the ambiance and windows. The management company was a bit difficult to work with but ultimately they helped us to change our dates at the last minute when we were faced with a family emergency, and we were quite greatful for this. Staying in the Ablitt House was a fabulous and unique experience which we highly recommend.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Alive With Color!

Review submitted: November 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 18, 2012

(Transcribed from the guest book at the home.)
You must stay in this delightful home !

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying in this beautiful "little house" for three days and it was marvelous.

This Santa Barbara beauty is alive with color! The tilework is artful and very well done. The staircase railing is one long piece of handcrafted art. I loved the marble stairs! There are scores of windows in this home. Light streams in from all directions.

We enjoyed a glass of wine on the top patio and looked at the Pacific Ocean, the mountains and Santa Barbara.

You can sit on the patio and enjoy seeing the sunrise with cup of coffee in the morning or enjoy a glass of wine and watch the sun set in the evening.

It is a short walk to the beach and just a block or two from some great shopping and a variety of fine restaurants

This home is furnished with the finest appliances. The bed is very comfortable and the shower produces lots of hot water in just the right stream.

It is important to remember that this Little House was home to the owners for several years. It is charming and comfortable.

Your friends will enjoy seeing your photographs and marvel at the architecture of this wonderful residence.

My wife and I plan on making a return visit every year.

Wishing you the same wonderful experience that we had !

We look forward to staying at The Little House "Same Time Next Year"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Walking into Art

Review submitted: November 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

(Transcribed from the Guest Book at the home.)

It happens that my wife and I were the first people on
earth to spend a night in the Ablitt House, thanks to
the warmth and friendliness of Neil & Sue Ablitt. We
actually spent a night there BEFORE they did!
Anyway it only appropriate that I be the first to leave a
comment.
If you have ever dreamed that you could stroll through
a Monet painting and wade thru the colors, then here
is your chance. Walking thru the Ablitt House is truly
walking into art. It is magnificent. There is no other
house like it and there is no other experience like it.
Do yourself a favor, spend a few nights here! (Santa
Barbara isn't so bad either! ;)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

An Unforgettable Memory

Review submitted: November 20, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

(Transcirbed from the Guest Book at the home)

Hola,

I'm from Madrid and would rather write
in Spanish, but probably most of you
would appreciate it more if I wrote in
English So here are my comments on our
recent stay:

Unique and beautiful house strategically
located in downtown Santa Barbara a few
blocks away from the marvellous beaches.
Fascinating views to the mountains and
the beach with the line of palms. The
light fills up the inside of the house
through its wide windows that convert
the house in a very special place to
stay and get lost in Santa Barbara's
landscape. The place is full of sorts of
windows, of all sizes and levels without
losing your privacy due to the height of
the house/tower. Unique decoration,
every detail has been taken care of and
you even find yourself discovering new
small details in the house every day.
You have lots of books in the sculpted
shelves and precious details everywhere
like a special wine fridge (that keeps
the wine at its perfect temperature), or
a barbecue on the roof terrace where you
can see and let yourself get absorved by
its amazing views, looking up at the sky
full of stars in the beautiful evenings.
The uniqueness of this house is not only
the location nor the architecture that
makes you feel you are in a museum, but
how it makes you feel it and leave it.
It invites you to want to stay inside
and not want to get out, it invites you
to gather around its wonderful kitchen
equipped with all the amenities with an
exquisite and refined taste. The light
you get during the day is completely
astonishing but also the lightening
inside the house, strategically
positionned, makes it a very comfortable
place to be in. And I don't even need to
mention the original architecture of
this place...

Our host was very nice and attentive, he
has made our stay very comfortable and
he's been always eager to show us around
and go over the region's history and has
made our stay special. This place was
definitely better than we expected and
has made of our trip an unforgettable
memory.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review