reviews for: listing #34868 - Playa del Carmen, Yucatan Studio rental

Luxury 3 Bdr Villa with Private pool Oceanview
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Studio
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Playacar
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $350 - $375 /nt
    $1,800 - $2,200 /wk

sort by:

Beautiful vacation house

Review submitted: April 3, 2014   Date of arrival: February 27, 2014

Our stay was fantastic. We were two couples with 3 children. Did not feel crowded. The house was beautiful, comfortable and very clean. The balconies were spacious. The service was very attentive to our needs. Anything we required, we received immediately. The area was very safe. The beach was perfect. It is just about 1 minute walk to the beach. With the beach so near, we did not use the pool. The start of 5th avenue is just about a 5 minute walk away. I would definitely go back or recommend this place.

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to place your great review. We hope that you will make Casa Palmas your second home when visiting Playa!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We loved it!!! Will return in a second!

Review submitted: February 9, 2014   Date of arrival: December 17, 2013

We decided to skip presents and take a family trip with our in-laws and this house and area didn't disappoint any of us. We left so happy and satisfied we have decided to make this our family trip destination. The house is great and the location is amazing!. Pauline and Sergio made sure we had everything we needed. Pauline kept excellent communication and Sergio checked in on us daily to see if we had any needs. Be sure to have Laura (Sergios mom) cook for you on arrival to settle you in. The driver will offer to take you to either Walmart or Mega. Go to Mega. Its cheaper, nicer, less wait in lines (Walmart is over 45 minute wait in lines) and they have a better selection.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hola Rodney, we appreciate you taking the time to comment on our Casa! People always tell us that our location is perfect. Our home is close to everything and yet is a very peaceful place to relax and have lots of privacy. We are always so happy when guests enjoy our home and the Playa Del Carmen area as much as we do! We really hope you can come back! We always offer discounts for repeat guests.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect location, beautiful home

Review submitted: January 5, 2013   Date of arrival: December 26, 2012

Our family of 7 adults just returned from a wonderful 8 days at Casa Palmas. From our first steps through the front door we were enchanted! This is a beautiful and comfortable home in a lovely and safe neighborhood just a block from the beach and 3 blocks to town. Everything was ready on our arrival with Sergio checking in daily to see if there was anything we needed. His warm and friendly presence added to our enjoyable stay and we especially appreciated his advice (when we asked for it) for restaurants (don't miss El Fogon) and snorkeling spots. We arranged for his mom to cook dinner for us one evening - a delicious meal!

This was our first trip to Playa and all of us agreed it's a perfect vacation spot. We enjoyed relaxing at the beach, visiting Mayan sites (we rented cars and easily drove to Chichen Itza, Coba and Tulum), snorkeling off Cozumel, exploring the more deserted beaches south of Tulum, walking around town and visiting an Ecopark. We always felt safe - even walking back to Casa Palmas after dark from an evening in town.

Thank you Pauline for allowing us to share your home! We'd love to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great visit in April 2012

Review submitted: April 12, 2012   Date of arrival: April 5, 2012

We had a very enjoyable stay with 4 adults and 3 kids stay for 1 week. Our favorite things were: Kids loved the small pool, very close walk to the beach, hanging out on the top deck. I don't have any complaints.

Chris from San Francisco

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

From Honeymooners to Proud Parents

Review submitted: December 16, 2011   Date of arrival: December 4, 2010

We rented this fabulous villa for our honeymoon in 2007 and we fell in love with it so much we came back twice and the second time with our 5 month old son !
We wanted a peaceful honeymoon so we decided against an all inclusive resort, it met and exceeded our expectations from the arrival at the airport where our personal driver Johnny awaited to bring us to our villa of paradise. Upon our arrival at Casa Palmas we were greeted by Sergio whom we are now so fond of. He took such great care of us I wish we could bring him back home and not to mention sweet Myra (maid). We were truly pampered :) The home was always clean and anything we needed was at our disposal. The main activity we did at the time was visit Xcaret. A must see !! we swam with the dolphines, went on a underwater sea trek, snorkling and saw an awesome live show at night, it was a great experience.
In Dec 2009 I was 3 months pregnant and needed some downtime and we couldnt think of a better place to go but back to our little piece of paradise.We rented Casa Palmas for a month. I had a few complications when I was there and that's when we met Dr Bernardo. He does housecalls and we thought that was amazing. He was so helpfull and caring checking up on me until we left. The location of the villa was a major plus this time, the beach is steps away and 5th Avenue where all the amazing shops and restaurants are is a 5 minute walk away that was a blessing for my swollen feet !!!! If I could have, I would have stayed there the remainder of my pregnancy but sadly that month flew by. In December 2010 we came back this time with our 5 month old boy in tow. What an amazing experience all over again, this time we had our very own POOL !!! and whats better no chlorine for my newborn's skin :) we also loved the fact that you have a water filter in the house now so we felt safe bathing our son without any fear of him swallowing contaminated water. Casa Palmas also provided us with a carseat in the pick up van, highchair, playpen to sleep in and an activity center ! Talk about being pampered !! Pauline & Alfred you have thought of it all. Everything else we needed we were able to purchase at the local walmart ! You have made a client for life and we will contiinue to share your villa with our growing family and we have recommended this property to all our friends and family. Thank you for sharing this spectacular home with us ! :)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

HOME AWAY FROM HOME

Review submitted: December 14, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

I went to Casa Palmas August 2011. It was the best vacation I have ever had. The privacy of this gated community and the of the private beach was one of my favourite aspects of my vacation. The staff that work at Casa Palmas are remarkable, and Sergio was VERY helpful, friendly and caring. The house is literally a minute walk to the beach and a 5 minute walk to fifth avenue (stores, and restaurants). The house was always clean and impeccable. The view from the terrace is magnificent, and it is a must see! I adored the pool, it was nice to sit back on the lawn-chair and just lounge around the pool. Pauline and Alfred were so kind and helpful. They always had our best interest at hand. I will definitely be vacationing at Casa Palmas in the near future. I give it 6 stars out of 5!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nena's Graduation Present

Review submitted: April 15, 2011   Date of arrival: February 3, 2011

This is our second stay at casa palmas and once again we had a blast. This was our daughters graduation present. She brought a friend and we also brought another couple along. Our friends stayed downstairs and had their own private area while we had the upper 3 levels. This home is beautiful and everything that the pictures show plus. The maid service was great. Sergio does a fantastic job watching over the house and helping with all your needs. Johnny was our driver. He was a blast and allowed us to take the time we needed on our adventure from the airport. We had that set up ahead of time but well worth it. He also does other tours. We ran out of time. Johnny and Sergio both speak english which helps when you are trying to learn spanish. We so much enjoyed the pool that was new for us. The pool guy was there every morning making sure it was clean. We would recommend Pauline's home. Overall experience both times EXCELLENT Thank you for making us feel at home. You don't need to bring any food with you just go to Wal-mart or Sams!! They have it all. Don't forget to take the time to listen to the live Mexican music on 5th. It is amazing. What beautiful gifts they have. Thank you again.....I don't want to forget about Pauline the owner. She interacts with you every step of the way until you get on the plane. Via email and phone. If you have any type of question ask because if she can, she will answer them for you. She has everything in order for you before you go. We went thru her with our shuttle to and from the airport and it was perfect. The location of Pauline's home and Playa is a safe place for vacation. THANKS AGAIN PAULINE, JOHNNY, SERGIO AND EVERYONE ELSE THAT MADE OUR STAY A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Mexican get away

Review submitted: July 25, 2009   Date of arrival: June 25, 2009

Casa Palmas villas exceeded my expectations. The Villa was gorgeous, well kept, and clean. We had everything we needed to feel at home on our Mexican vacation. The people were very friendly and helpful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Casa Palmas

Review submitted: July 24, 2009   Date of arrival: May 21, 2009

The place was wonderful. From cleaning services to fresh water, everything you could think of needing was included. My friends and I had such a wonderful time, that we are already planning our next trip back. It's so close to the beach and all the shops and eateries that make Playa so special. Pauline was amazing through out the whole process. She gave us tips about cabs, groceries, and even things we would not have thought about. We loved it and would reccomend it to anyone considering traveling to Playa.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Casa Palmas is GREAT!

Review submitted: April 15, 2009   Date of arrival: April 3, 2009

Thanks so much to Pauline for providing my friends and family a wonderful place to relax and soak up the sun during Spring Break. Whether you are looking for a place to relax, sun, snorkel or shop...CasaPalmas is within walking distance to all of those things! It was just a short 5 minute walk into the 5th Ave. of Playa, which offered a variety of restaurants and shops. The beach was also only 3 min. away...perfect! Casa Palmas was very luxurious and comfortable. We felt very safe and enjoyed our stay very much..looking forward to planning our next vacation to Playa and of course Casa Palmas!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Escape to paradise

Review submitted: April 11, 2009   Date of arrival: December 6, 2008

This was our second time renting this beautiful casa in Playacar. Our arrival coincided with Pauline and Alfredo's departure so we had the pleasure of finally meeting them. This time it was a family vacation with our daughters, sons-in-law and grandkids. Everyone loved this gorgeous, spacious casa with all the comforts of home. It is only a few blocks to one of many beaches and a pleasant 10 minute walk to town, where you can enjoy a variety of restaurants, shopping and nitelife along Quinta Avenida (5th Avenue). We spent most of our days at the beach and it was great to come back to a spotless house thanks to the maid, Anna. If we had any problems at all, Sergio the house manager, was only a call away, and responded immediately. Sergio organized transport for our group to Xel-Ha and we were picked up and dropped off at our door after a spectacular day at the eco park. Grocery shopping was only a short cab ride to the Walmart. One of our favorite things to do was enjoy the rooftop palapa where you have wonderful views of the ocean and at night you can see the lights of Cozumel. The kids enjoyed the pool in the front of the house and loved using the outdoor shower after returning from the beach. We usually made brunch and then headed to the beach and in the evening we walked into town to dine at one of the various restaurants. A few of our favorites were, Jaguar's, Karen's and Tropical. Everyone had such a great time, that once we got back after our holiday, we phoned Pauline and booked for Christmas 2009. This time we plan to take advantage of booking a chef to cook for us at the house. It will be a unique experience to spend Christmas without snow, but I don't think anyone is complaining. We have recommended this casa to all of our friends and relatives as the location is truly paradise and a vacation not to be missed.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: March 30, 2009   Date of arrival: March 21, 2009

One never knows what to expect when traveling thousands of miles to spend a holiday in a place where you have never been and in a house that you have never seen other than pictures on the internet (and we know how pictures online can be deceiving). Well, to say that our expectations were exceeded would be an understatement. As both our kids said within moments of dropping their bags in their rooms, "it feels like home." From the amazing deck on the fourth floor with its inviting hammock and sleep inducing breezes, to the open floor plan, the house is beautiful and easy to make your own immediately upon arriving. The house has everything you need (including beach chairs and umbrellas) and is close to the beach, interesting shops and wonderful restaurants on 5th Avenue. The home was meticulously cleaned for us during our stay and, at our request, our caretaker's mother made us the most amazing dinner of our choice. Pauline, the owner, was so warm and caring, that she treated us as if we actually were her family ensuring that all our needs were met before and during our stay. If Playa del Carmen is your location of choice, Casa Palmas is the place you must stay. Jon

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review