reviews for: listing #34912 - Bahamas, Caribbean House rental

The Beachfront house at Casuarina bay
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $420 - $600 /nt
    $2,950 - $3,950 /wk

sort by:

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 30, 2004   Date of arrival: July 1, 2004

All I have to say is I'm Looking Forward to next summer!
(in a good way)

Helpful votes: 4 / 10

 

Correct sans plus

Review submitted: July 21, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

L'endroit est magnifique mais partout sur l'île les plages sont sublimes . Le confort est trés moyen , le chemin d'accés épouvantable , nous avons eu du vent et il était impossible de dormir à l'étage . Le vent passait sous le toit avec violence , le bruit était incroyable . La salle de bain est trés quelconque , la baignoire est à changer en urgence . Nous sommes partis 3 jours avant la date prévue !
Décevant !!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beachfront house

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: April 23, 2009

Casuarina Bay offers a true glimpse of the "real" Bahamas. A perfect setting for our family get away. There is a television, but it was refreshing to see my 3 boys opting to be OUTSIDE (day and evenings) on the perfect beach doing what kids don't do enough of these days. It's always difficult to pull ourselves away from Eleuthera.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beachfront house

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 6, 2010

My five longtime friends from highschool and I,
spent six wonderful days at this captivating place in
paradise !! the house had everything we needed,
very nicely decorated and the views breathtaking!
The beach is just stepps from the house, no need to
even wear shoes, and the house very private which
is just what we wanted. The snorkling was great
too.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beachfront house

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: December 2, 2009

I grew up on Hog Island (now Paradise Island) near Nassau and watched the place slowly deteriorate over the years. Our stay at Casuarina Bay was like coming home again, the way I remembered it from the fifties and sixties...even better in some ways. It is truly a magical unspoiled spot.
On the practical side, we loved the informal, cozy design of the wooden house especially the upstairs southern bedroom open to the breezes and getting both the rising sun in the morning and the setting sun at night. We had brought several books but ended up browsing the fantastic house library instead. Everything worked perfectly, and Edgar the caretaker was very helpful. Can't wait to go back.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beachfront house

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 8, 2009

My husband and I stayed at The Beach House on Casaurina Bay while on our honeymoon in May,2009. We were not disappointed.
The location is perfect. We felt very secluded, yet Governor's Harbour is only a short drive away. We loved being beach front and used the cabana often. We cooked many of our meals at the house and found the kitchen to be well equipped. Many evenings were spent on the porch enjoying the breeze.
We found the Beach House to be very charming.
Taja was very helpful in answering any questions we had before our stay, and was quick to follow up afterwards to make sure everything went well. Edgar, the caretaker, was also very helpful. We would definitely recommend to others!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beachfront house

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 6, 2009

Serenity! We had a wonderful stay at the Beachfront House. Perfect weather. There was no need to explore the Island or look for other beaches. The beach was stunning and virtually deserted. The old Club Med beach is equally impressive—we strolled along its entire length without meeting a soul! The swimming was perfect; we enjoyed snorkeling among the coral reefs just off the beach. We walked to Governor’s Harbour for supplies; the fresh lobster bought on the dock was a special treat. The House was very comfortable; the soothing breezes were superior to air conditioning! Alas, we could only read a handful of the books in the remarkable library.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

beachfront house

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: April 14, 2009

We just returned from our third visit (15 days) at Casuarina Bay; the weather was warm with south-easterlies so there was lots of great surf sounds, swimming and simple beach-time. The house is beautiful in its yellow and white attire; a true Bahamian beach-house, with comfortable deck furniture appropriately matching the house; and, as before, nothing tops having a shower at the cabana before walking the 63 steps to the porch for a pina colada. We were able to buy a lot of fish at the dock in Governor’s Harbour so we had some excellent grouper, conch, crayfish and snapper dinners on the porch. Governor’s Harbour also continues to have its Friday Night Fish Fry – a great informal time for eating, drinking rum bubbas and dancing. We also thoroughly enjoyed the new Beachhouse restaurant, which has great views, fair prices, welcoming staff and interesting/ tasty tapas. We dined there four times; including one evening when we walked home, wading along in the warm breeze under a full moon. Casuarina Bay is truly one of the earth's most magic places! Thanks from all six of us; it was totally delightful.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beachfront house

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 9, 2008

This was my first time back in a few years and all I can say is "WOW". The natural beauty of Casuarina Bay never ceases to take my breath away, but it was really nice to see how the houses have been kept up so well. Each house has a new, beautifully "Caribbean" paint job. The colors compliment the sand, sea, and the gorgeous hibiscus and various flowers. I love the new signs!
As always we loved eating our lunches under the Cabana on the beach. It's a great way to please the whole family because there's shade and sun and you don't have to eat in the sand...but you're 15 steps from the crystal clear water! I will always remember fondly hunting for Mangoes, kayaking, and the bonfires on the beach. It's the only place I've been on vacation where you basically have a private beach. The beach at Casuarina Bay is so quiet and secluded, it's hard not to feel like a V.I.P. This place is truly magical and it's so great to see that it is constantly being nourished. Each time I think it can't get better...then I come back and they've improved upon what I thought was already perfection. I look forward to coming back again and again! Thanks for an unforgettable vacation!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: May 6, 2010

My five longtime friends from highschool and I, spent six wonderful days at this captivating place in paradise !! the house had everything we needed, very nicely decorated and the views breathtaking! The beach is just stepps from the house, no need to even wear shoes, and the house very private which is just what we wanted. The snorkling was great too.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 23, 2010   Date of arrival: April 23, 2010

My wife and I spend 8 days (not enough) at the end of March/beginning of April 2010. I wish I could wake up in that bed and see the ocean like that everyday. The house is top notch in every way, much to big for a couple, but we enjoyed the space! Furnishings and fixtures were perfect. The beach is right there across the track of a road that eventually leads you to paradise. We enjoyed the jungle bush out back and the feeling of total isolation. Lots of birds, lizards and the occasional potcake to keep us company though. The beach is gorgeous; wished it had been warmer to enjoy it more.Interesting stairway to the upstairs; we developed many new muscles! We loved the place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 2, 2009   Date of arrival: December 2, 2009

I grew up on Hog Island (now Paradise Island) near Nassau and watched the place slowly deteriorate over the years. Our stay at Casuarina Bay was like coming home again, the way I remembered it from the fifties and sixties...even better in some ways. It is truly a magical unspoiled spot.
On the practical side, we loved the informal, cozy design of the wooden house especially the upstairs southern bedroom open to the breezes and getting both the rising sun in the morning and the setting sun at night. We had brought several books but ended up browsing the fantastic house library instead. Everything worked perfectly, and Edgar the caretaker was very helpful. Can't wait to go back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: December 1, 2009   Date of arrival: December 1, 2009

Dear Taja and Family,
BLISS is not something easily found, but Chris and I found Cassurina Bay to be a rare find, a gem. This is what we were seeking in terms of bailing out of the maddening crowds, a true spot of paradise. The Bahamian people could not be more delightful. We felt like 2 children contiually enchanted by each experience...the food, beaches, snorkeling or just hanging at the Beach House was a treat. I preferred the wild Atlantic side and Chris the calm waters of the Carribbean. There is a yin and yang energy in Eleuthera. Oh yes, and the Hog Fish at Coco Di Mamma's was sublime as was the service. We will be back! A week did not seem long enough, so next time we will plan a longer stay. Thank you for sharing your bit of paradise.
Pattie and Chris

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 8, 2009   Date of arrival: June 8, 2009

My husband and I stayed at The Beach House on Casaurina Bay while on our honeymoon in May,2009. We were not disappointed.
The location is perfect. We felt very secluded, yet Governor's Harbour is only a short drive away. We loved being beach front and used the cabana often. We cooked many of our meals at the house and found the kitchen to be well equipped. Many evenings were spent on the porch enjoying the breeze.
We found the Beach House to be very charming.
Taja was very helpful in answering any questions we had before our stay, and was quick to follow up afterwards to make sure everything went well. Edgar, the caretaker, was also very helpful. We would definitely recommend to others!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 22, 2009   Date of arrival: May 22, 2009

My Own Private ParadiseWhen I vacation I seek to step off the grid and momentarily passthrough life without the data-driven, electronically-dominatedaccoutrements of modern existence. At Casuarina Bay on Eleuthera, Ifound a unique vacation home that affords privacy, relativeconvenience, and remarkable natural beauty. It is the perfect placeto be without your blackberry, cell phone or any of the otherday-to-day intrusions.My wife and I, along with two other couples stayed at the Beachfronthouse the week after Easter. The time was special. The house issituated on the Eastern side of the island off a hidden unpaved access road that leads directly to the house. To the left of the house,is one of only two other structures built along the quarter-milestretch of beach on which it sits– it’s a small, one bedroom cottage,whose occupants were the only other people we saw on the beach duringour one week stay.The house itself has an expansive deck upon which we ate a few meals,drank many a bottle of Bahamian Rum and generally enjoyed views of thesparkling turquoise ocean through the palm trees. The home’s finishings and furniture are comfortable, but not extravagant. It is tastefully decorated in a manner that is entirely consistent with the simple natural beauty of the place. I happily took several naps on living room couch and seating six for dinner in the dining areas was no problem at all.No more than fifteen meters off the beach's shore are coral headswhere you can snorkel and see a variety of fish. One of our friendsis an experienced spear fisherman, and he actually caught a couple ofGrouper which we grilled for dinner one night. There are also acouple of ocean kayaks on the property which we were also able to takeout to sea.By day we sunbathed, played and ate by the highly convenient andfunctional Cabana built at the property’s base above the high waterline. Nightly, we fell asleep to a gentle but persistent breeze rustling through the palm trees and the echo of ocean waves crashingalong the beach.When we chose to introduce a bit of civilization into our lives, wetook a quick trip into town for groceries, internet and even fine dining. Dolce Vita has really special Conch Spring Rolls that shouldn’t be missed, and the food at Tippy’s is generally excellent. On Friday night, we were smart enough to leave th

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: May 6, 2009   Date of arrival: May 6, 2009

Serenity! We had a wonderful stay at the Beachfront House. Perfect weather. There was no need to explore the Island or look for other beaches. The beach was stunning and virtually deserted. The old Club Med beach is equally impressive—we strolled along its entire length without meeting a soul! The swimming was perfect; we enjoyed snorkeling among the coral reefs just off the beach. We walked to Governor’s Harbour for supplies; the fresh lobster bought on the dock was a special treat. The House was very comfortable; the soothing breezes were superior to air conditioning! Alas, we could only read a handful of the books in the remarkable library.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 3, 2009   Date of arrival: May 2, 2009

I was a bit skeptical at first, but we LOVED the simplicity of Casuarina Bay. We have stayed in both houses on separate visits. Sorry we never wrote a review before, but I worry that this divine location will become too much of a HOT spot and you won't have our date any longer. A bit selfish, but WE LOVE IT here. Your Website is great and very honest and straight forward.Every visit has been a fairy tale....great weather, amazing beaches, friendly Bahamians, quiet and wonderfully rustic. I look forward to reading and playing games with my family. Your DVD player provided us entertainment on occasion, but we brought most of our dvd's back home without watching them. Who need's TV in paradise when you can snorkel, swim, kayak, fish and so much more? We absolutely love the restaurants Dolce Vita, Coco di Mama, The new Beach restaurant (great band on Thursday night), Sunset Inn and Tippy's. Of course we also LOVED the friday night fish fries in town. What a wonderful place. I could go on and on. Thanks for letting us come here. We'll be back!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 23, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

Casuarina Bay offers a true glimpse of the "real" Bahamas. A perfect setting for our family get away. There is a television, but it was refreshing to see my 3 boys opting to be OUTSIDE (day and evenings) on the perfect beach doing what kids don't do enough of these days. It's always difficult to pull ourselves away from Eleuthera.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: April 14, 2009   Date of arrival: April 14, 2009

We just returned from our third visit (15 days) at Casuarina Bay; the weather was warm with south-easterlies so there was lots of great surf sounds, swimming and simple beach-time. The house is beautiful in its yellow and white attire; a true Bahamian beach-house, with comfortable deck furniture appropriately matching the house; and, as before, nothing tops having a shower at the cabana before walking the 63 steps to the porch for a pina colada. We were able to buy a lot of fish at the dock in Governor’s Harbour so we had some excellent grouper, conch, crayfish and snapper dinners on the porch. Governor’s Harbour also continues to have its Friday Night Fish Fry – a great informal time for eating, drinking rum bubbas and dancing. We also thoroughly enjoyed the new Beachhouse restaurant, which has great views, fair prices, welcoming staff and interesting/ tasty tapas. We dined there four times; including one evening when we walked home, wading along in the warm breeze under a full moon. Casuarina Bay is truly one of the earth's most magic places! Thanks from all six of us; it was totally delightful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 14, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

We just returned from our third visit (15 days) at Casuarina Bay; the weather was warm with south-easterlies so there was lots of great surf sounds, swimming and simple beach-time. The house is beautiful in its yellow and white attire; a true Bahamian beach-house, with comfortable deck furniture appropriately matching the house; and, as before, nothing tops having a shower at the cabana before walking the 63 steps to the porch for a pina colada. We were able to buy a lot of fish at the dock in Governor’s Harbour so we had some excellent grouper, conch, crayfish and snapper dinners on the porch. Governor’s Harbour also continues to have its Friday Night Fish Fry – a great informal time for eating, drinking rum bubbas and dancing. We also thoroughly enjoyed the new Beachhouse restaurant, which has great views, fair prices, welcoming staff and interesting/ tasty tapas. We dined there four times; including one evening when we walked home, wading along in the warm breeze under a full moon. Casuarina Bay is truly one of the earth's most magic places! Thanks from all six of us; it was totally delightful.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 24, 2008   Date of arrival: July 24, 2008

Jeff and I were here in Aug 2007 and we got engaged here then. This time we came back to get married and we brought with us more than 40 loved ones and friends. This place is a little piece of heaven on earth. Truly magnificent and full of such great energy. Every person who came down for the wedding fell in love with both Eleuthera and Casuarina Bay and have all vowed to come back and bring others. Thank you and your family- you have helped bring ours even closer this week.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 16, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

This was my first time back in a few years and all I can say is "WOW". The natural beauty of Casuarina Bay never ceases to take my breath away, but it was really nice to see how the houses have been kept up so well. Each house has a new, beautifully "Caribbean" paint job. The colors compliment the sand, sea, and the gorgeous hibiscus and various flowers. I love the new signs!
As always we loved eating our lunches under the Cabana on the beach. It's a great way to please the whole family because there's shade and sun and you don't have to eat in the sand...but you're 15 steps from the crystal clear water! I will always remember fondly hunting for Mangoes, kayaking, and the bonfires on the beach. It's the only place I've been on vacation where you basically have a private beach. The beach at Casuarina Bay is so quiet and secluded, it's hard not to feel like a V.I.P. This place is truly magical and it's so great to see that it is constantly being nourished. Each time I think it can't get better...then I come back and they've improved upon what I thought was already perfection. I look forward to coming back again and again! Thanks for an unforgettable vacation!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 3, 2007   Date of arrival: April 3, 2007

Next year we will be back to Casuarina Bay for the 5th time. Your home and the island has captured our hearts.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 26, 2006   Date of arrival: February 26, 2006

Casuarina Bay- a truly wonderful location. We have had a surperb time here exploring Eleuthera and enjoying the people and the natural environment of the island. Our stay couldn't have been better.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review