reviews for: listing #34930 - La Jolla, California House rental

Vista Del Mar - Gorgeous Ocean Views
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $365 - $500 /nt
    $2,200 - $3,000 /wk
    $6,000 - $10,000 /mth

sort by:

Loved our La Jolla visit!

Review submitted: May 26, 2014   Date of arrival: May 19, 2014

We absolutely loved Karl's condo in the Windansea Community! It was just as depicted in the pictures … beautifully furnished, very clean, & comfy beds! So close to the beach & all the village of La Jolla has to offer with great ocean views as well. Karl & his property manager Mike were super accommodating & even had a bottle of wine & some candies upon our arrival … we will definitely return! We would highly recommend this property!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Stay at Vista Del Mar!

Review submitted: April 14, 2014   Date of arrival: March 26, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Vista Del Mar. It was super clean, comfy beds, nice linens, contemporary, sleek, with great views, and was only a house away from the best beach! Loved using the boogie boards. It has everything you need for a comfortable and fun stay. Great neighborhood - pretty quiet. Enjoyed many sunsets from the upper deck, and on the beach. Just really a lovely place. Can't wait to go back!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ocean Views, Ideal location, Great Decor

Review submitted: October 11, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

What a great condo, exactly as described. Awsome ocean views from the large front balcony - yes you are set back with 1 house between you and the ocean but you look directly over the house with easy. We enjoyed a beautiful sunset while BBQ on the balcony and enjoyed the sounds of the crashing waves all night long. The condo was very clean and spacious and the kitchen was ideally stocked, although a kettle would be one suggestion I would make. Would highly recommend this property - keep in mind that it is on the second floor with stair access only.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wolffpack

Review submitted: November 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

Listing and photos were accurate. Owner, Karl, and property manager, Michael, both extremely helpful and made evrything easy. I would definitely recommend to friends and family. The sound of the ocean 24/7 is so soothing and watching the dolphins play each morning from the deck was a treat for our entire family. We had a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday here and would definitely return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

When a Month Isn't Long Enough

Review submitted: September 2, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

Sadly, my four weeks in La Jolla ended last night. I had a fabulous trip due, in large part, to Karl's wonderful condo. The location is superb - one short block to the dramatic Windansea beach. The photos on the site don't do justice to the water crashing against the rocks or let you hear the sound of the surf in your bedroom at night.

The condo is clean, well designed, attractive and well accessorized. It's also comfortable, with a large cushy leather sofa and good beds and mattresses. A local friend of Karl's manages the place and he operates on the principal that "your wish is my command." Both guys are really want you to enjoy yourself and both take great pride in the property.

In short, you will love it. But I want first dibs when I return next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful condo; fabulous location

Review submitted: May 8, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

My sister and I stayed in this sweet spot for a long weekend. It's really perfect. Lovely, clean, stylish accommodations. The beds are super-comfy and the bathrooms spa-like. Kitchen has everything you need, and the availability of bikes and beach chairs is really great. But the BEST part of this beautiful condo is its location and view. Sitting on the balcony, overlooking the beach, hearing the surf was heaven. The beach is just across the street, and is great for walking, playing, and watching the antics of crazy surfers. La Jolla is a darling town with loads of great places to eat, shop, and walk. Totally recommend this for fun and relaxing vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Superb!

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

My husband, son and I stayed at this lovely apartment in La Jolla last month. It was everything the owner advertised and more. Well equipped kitchen for preparing all meals. The balcony was fantastic for lounging. We were lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves. Very clean and tidy. Have already recommended the place to friends. No reason to stay anywhere else n the San Diego area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Experience for family reunion

Review submitted: April 18, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

Was a great place for a 4-person family reunion. Little things like a bottle of wine and coffee/tea stocked showed owner wanted customers to truly feel welcome. View was spectacular and unobstructed, and parking in the neighborhood was surprisingly easy. Property itself was clean and kid-friendly (minimal glass around), and was furnished to offer a cozy, welcoming feel for visitors.

We definitely plan to rent again for ourselves.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location, beautiful condo

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

Since we used to live in La Jolla for almost 7 years we knew before that's the place and location we (Family with 3 children 7,11,15) wanted to spend our 2 week vacation. It's located right at our favorite beach, just a one story home between the condo and the ocean. Everything you need for a day at the beach is provided (towels, cooler, beach chairs, umbrellas, sand toys, 6 boggieboards) even 6 different sizes of bikes.Our kids loved the high waves (not safe for small children) and the tidepools. For small children we recommand to go to La Jolla Shores Beach, about a 10 minute drive further north. The condo is close to shops and good restaurants in La Jolla and very central to other attractions such as Sea World, Zoo, Balboa Park, Legoland, Wild Animal Park, Downtown San Diego, Fashion Valley shopping mall and two outlets in Carlsbad and at the Mexican border. To Disneyland it was an 1 1/2 hour drive. The condo is very clean, well maintained and furnished with a lot of taste, just as seen on the pictures, maybe even nicer since we were not aware of the high ceiling. The 2. bedroom was big enough to put a small airmatress for our youngest child.The view is incredible from the padio and the living room and it's perfect to watch the sunset and the surfers. The big sofa was great to accomodate the 5 of us in front of the flat screen TV.The owner and his property manager are easy to work with and they responded directly to your needs. Next time we come back for a visit we strongly consider renting this place again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A gorgeous apartment at an outstanding location

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 15, 2011

What a place! The apartment look very nice from the photos but the property is even better in real life. The apartment is very modern and extremely comfortable with high ceilings and very nice beds and bathrooms. The living room also has a magnificant ocean view that one just can't get enough of. The neighboorhood is nice too and we had very nice walks and bike trips along the beaches both in the mornings and at night. In total the place is spotless and we can very much recommend it to anyone and we will for sure stay here the next time around too.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm delighted that Dan and his family enjoyed staying at my place. They were from Sweden and stayed over a month.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Time in La Jolla/San Diego.

Review submitted: May 10, 2011   Date of arrival: March 6, 2011

We had a great time staying at the condo. I was staying with my wife and one-year old son, so the two bedrooms were perfect. The condo was exceptionally clean and welcoming. Had everything we needed. They provided a high chair and pack-n-play for our son which was much appreciated. The view to the ocean and beach was just like on the website, if not better. We hung out on the balcony most of the time. Very good location. Was less than one block to the beach. Downtown La Jolla was 1 mile away and easily walkable. I had a conference in downtown San Diego at the convention center and it took me 20-30 minutes depending on traffic. We visited family up in Oceanside and that was about 30-40 minutes. We would stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exceeds expectations.

Review submitted: April 20, 2011   Date of arrival: March 8, 2011

The location is superb: one one-story home between the ocean and the condo. The condo itself is intelligently laid out, lean (without being minimalist) and comfortably furnished with a particularly spacious feel to the spaces. Everything needed for relaxed and effective living is provided (and everything works – the place is clean and very well maintained). Owner listens and is responsive. He has responsive assistance from an attentive and local property manager. I have recommended this property to friends. My wife and I have hopes of returning there ourselves. The daily comings and goings of surfers are fun to watch as are the occasional pods of dolphins. The center of Lo Jolla village is a mile’s walk which can be accomplished via a variety of routes through fascinating highly varied often beautiful coast neighborhoods.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great experience!

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: December 24, 2010

We had a wonderful time visiting San Diego over Christmas and most of it is contributed by staying at this well appointed modern and comfortable condo located just a stone throw from the beautiful Windansea beach. The place is spotless and the beds and linens are those of a 5 star hotel. A perfect place to wake up with a cup of coffee on the balcony watching the waves and enjoying a romantic dinner while the sunset.

The owner is very accommodating and great work with! I would highly recommend this rental for a great getaway trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place!

Review submitted: September 22, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

Staying at this property was a wonderful experience. From the beginning of our communication with the owner to reserve, through the reservation process, and the preparednesss of the condo when we arrived was all exceptional. The website accurately reflects this property; attractive, comfortable, and an ideal location. The condo was clean and well organized. The sunsets, while sitting on the balcony, were breathtaking. We highly recommend this property to others. Windnsea beach in La Jolla is the best and this property is right there!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

"Million Dollar" View

Review submitted: September 19, 2010   Date of arrival: September 6, 2010

We had a very comfortable stay in this condo, the layout was perfect. This condo was spotless!! The location in La Jolla was terrific, you are steps away from the beach. Wind and Sea Beach is just a block away, The view of the Pacific Ocean was truly a "million dollar" view. The owners were attentive to our needs and just went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect for us. If you are looking for a place to stay in La Jolla, put this condo at the top of your list!!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location & Great for Families

Review submitted: October 27, 2009   Date of arrival: September 4, 2009

There were 4 adults and one child in our party and we all had a great time.

Location, Location, Location! ... you can't beat it ... two small blocks from a great sunbathing and kid-friendly beach.
If you plan to vist San Diego, this coastal community is the best ... away from the crowds in a nice, quiet residential area. It is easy access to the supermarket and many restaurant options. La Jolla Village is a short drive away or a nice walk passing through a beautiful neighborhood with nice homes.

If you happen to have two or more families, consider renting both the bottom and the top units under the same owner.

Amenties in the condo were great - very clean and well-kept... bbq grill and nice patio overlooking the pacific with a beautiful view of the water, windsurfers and the sunset ... a perfect spot to end your day.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great location, perfect place

Review submitted: September 4, 2009   Date of arrival: August 5, 2009

We spent 5 nights here. From arranging the stay with the owner to communication afterwards, everything was as they said it would be. Great location to the water, dining, bicycling. For two families traveling together this worked perfectly. We simply went to the store on our way in to get essentials and made a few of our own meals at the condo. Great sunset views! Clean, well kept unit. I would highly recommend this rental!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely condo!

Review submitted: August 18, 2009   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

My husband, three young children and I enjoyed staying at this lovely condo for six nights. It was just as described and pictured in the listing description and was very clean and well-maintained. The beds were very comfortable. It was conveniently located to many of the area's attractions. We enjoyed exploring the many nearby beaches, eating at the local restaurants (breakfast at Brockton Villa was a favorite), and visiting San Diego's theme parks. However, my personal favorite activity was sitting on the balcony and watching the sun set over the ocean and the surfers riding the waves. The condo comes equipped with everything needed for a day at the beach, and that definitely made our lives easier. The owner is very pleasant and easy to work with. We would recommend this condo and would definitely consider staying there again if we ever return to San Diego.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review