reviews for: listing #35010 - Sedona, Arizona Cottage rental

Great Views & Reviews in Sedona. Hot tub/Pets O.K
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $3,880 - $4,380 /mth

sort by:

My Sedona Home

Review submitted: May 22, 2009   Date of arrival: May 2, 2009

From the moment I crossed the threshold into the amazing cottage, I knew that I had made a wonderful choice. It was all that I had dared to expect -and more. It is open and inviting and seems to be an extension of the red rocks that surround it ( and are visable from every room.) It is the perfect place for a retreat or romantic getaway. Jerry has anticipated every need and provides as much orientation and info as you require. I noted that in my journal I always returned "home" after my area adventures.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 32 / 33

 

Wonderful stay in Sedona

Review submitted: April 8, 2014   Date of arrival: March 22, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Jerry's Sedona Guest Cottage. It was exactly as described and depicted and was very clean, well furnished and extremely comfortable for our stay. Our dog accompanied us and enjoyed the short hikes in the nearby hiking area. Sedona, itself, was fabulous and we can't recommend either the town or the cottage too highly!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderful stay in Sedona for 2

Review submitted: November 26, 2013   Date of arrival: November 2, 2013

It has been all said in previous reviews, but the cottage is very well located in a nice neighborhood with enjoyable walks, hikes, shops and restaurants nearby. The interior is comfortable. Jerry the owner is very helpful when needed. We hope to return to Sedona and stay here again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

We just loved it.

Review submitted: October 20, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2013

Nicer than the pictures. Way nicer. So cozy and immaculate. We stayed a week and felt right at home immediately. A perfect layout for a couple for a week. Great location - everything is just down the street. And it's not smack in the middle of the touristy section of town. And let's not forget the views from all windows. OMG. Ate in most nights, grilling and chilling after first rate hiking. But if you DO go out, don't miss the local spot The Hideaway. Best pizza ever!!!! Not fancy at all. Fantastic. Jerry was the perfect host. Responded ASAP to any questions and/or requests. We had never been to Sedona and we can't wait to go back. And the first person we'll contact when we head back is Jerry.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Quiet, comfortable and affordable. Great location

Review submitted: October 14, 2013   Date of arrival: October 5, 2013

The Sedona Guest cottage is very relaxing, quiet, and comfortable. Great location. Everything you would expect in a 5 star rated accommodation. Looking forward to going back next year. Thanks, Jerry. We would recommend Pages Spring vineyard for lunch next to Oak Creek, The Cowboy Bar, Rene's for lunch or dinner, The Secret Garden Café, Empire Nails and Kaelyn's ladies consignment store in Bashas Plaza on Coffee Pot Dr., also Bashas market. Great fresh meat and vegetables as well as discounts on wine. Just tell them you're visitors and you get the discount. Chapel of the Holy Cross, our favorite.. beautiful, peaceful, serene. Sughrues Restaurant in the Hillside Plaza good jazz on Friday and Saturday night. Great vacation.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Break We Needed ...

Review submitted: August 20, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

Our time at the Sedona Guest Cottage was exactly what we needed--to reconnect with nature, relax, and take in the beauty. The well-equipped cottage kitchen allowed us to cook some of our breakfasts and pack picnic lunches for our hikes. The cottage's close proximity to multiple hiking trails allowed us to take spontaneous hikes and get to know a wonderful neighborhood. We also ate at several excellent Sedona restaurants (we had outstanding Mexican food at Elote and, surprisingly, perhaps the best Margarita we've ever had at the Italian restaurant, Dahl & Di Luca). We loved visiting Red Rock Crossing and swimming under Midgley Bridge. We caught an incredible monsoon view from the Sedona community college parking lot. We'll definitely visit again as soon as possible ...

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Loved Our Stay

Review submitted: August 4, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

The cottage was a great home base for our recent hiking vacation in Sedona. It has all the comforts of home, it is well maintained and feels very welcoming. Jerry (the owner) is available whenever needed, but doesn't interfere with your privacy. (Perfect! Thank you, Jerry.)

When traveling I often have trouble sleeping if the bed isn't comfortable enough, if things don't "feel" right, but here I slept like a baby. Wonderful! We'll definitely be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect, private getaway

Review submitted: June 30, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

Our stay at the Guest Cottage was even better than we expected. The cottage is very clean and cozy. The location is perfect for exploring the Sedona area and surrounding towns. We enjoyed hiking the trails right behind the neighborhood. Jerry is the perfect host, providing privacy and yet available if needed. We would highly recommend for your vacation getaway.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

time in Sedona

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

Jerry was a fabulous host. wish we lived there year round.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Sedona Guest Cottage

Review submitted: May 6, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

An exceptional property. Excellent location, well equipped, very clean and spacious. If we go back to Sedona this is where we will stay. Owner was very helpful in suggesting good hiking trails and local eateries. We prefer local businesses over national while traveling in a new area. The cottage is located in a residential neighborhood. One of our best ever trips.

Rick and Barb Reid

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Restful Sedona

Review submitted: April 24, 2013   Date of arrival: April 13, 2013

We were greeted with a welcome basket and note from Jerry. The view from the guest cottage is of Sugar Loaf mountain and the area around Coffeepot. A short walk away is the trailhead to several beautiful hikes and we hiked every day that we were there , even when it ended up snowing on us for a short time!
The accomodations are comfortable and our little dog enjoyed the sunshine on the patio every day! Ideally situated to enjoy the views of the Red Rocks and the quiet of being in a neighborhood. We will be back next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Comfort with a view.

Review submitted: March 27, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

The Sedona Guest Cottage is very comfortable. It is beautifully decorated and has a lovely view. We enjoyed the fireplace, hot tub and gas grill. We enjoyed hiking only two blocks away. The neighborhood is quiet and close to everything you want to do in Sedona. Jerry, the owner, will answer any question you may have about the Sedona area. Sedona Guest cottage and Sedona are a piece of heaven.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous Location!

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

Feb 16 - 23, 2013
Location was a bonus; five minutes to town, ten minutes to activities including hiking trails. Great to have a trail down the street. We enjoyed starting our mornings with a hike, back to the house for a hearty breakfast. The home had everything we needed to be comfortable and cosy. Enjoyed the snow day in front of the fire, reading books, and watching the mountain cover with snow! Movie theatre was minutes away, as well as many good restaurants.

Tourist Information Centre is a must in Sedona. The volunteers are very knowledgeable, providing us with plenty of activities. Grand Canyon was a two hour drive, where we spent an enjoyable day.

Great to have a bbq. to use. Jerry was only a phone call away and answered any questions we had with the home. The home is directly in front of his home, with the backyard and hot tub facing it. Not alot of privacy; the lovely front yard faces the street.

Great location, and close to everything. Only suggestion would be for proper bbq accessories, and wine glasses. Everything else was top notch. Thanks alot Jerry!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks for your stay and suggestions. New bbq accessories and additional wine glasses have been added to the property. I am sorry that you had to depart prior to the end of your rental period. Hopefully you will be able to return to Sedona soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great couple of weeks in the desert!

Review submitted: February 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

We had a great time in Sedona and at the cottage. Jerry was a great host and his cottage is wonderful place to spend a couple of weeks. The cottage is clean and well stocked and we hope to return next winter.The cottage is located close to everthing we were interested in doing. The first morning we walked to a trail head for our first of many hikes in the area.
Terrific!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Pefect Sedona Rental

Review submitted: February 11, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Sedona guest house. The house was immaculate and very comfortable just as depicted in the online photos. The attractive southwest decor got us into Sedona vacation mode right away. Having internet access was a nice feature that was not available in past rentals where we stayed. Jerry checked in with us right away to see if there was anything that we needed and gave us a few helpful hints for finding things in the area. There was a beautiful gift basket waiting for us when we arrived that included items to use during our stay which was a thoughtful and appreciated touch. We do a lot of hiking while in Sedona and found that this house was in a perfect central location for heading out on our dayhikes. We would highly recommend this rental.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our Oasis

Review submitted: December 10, 2012   Date of arrival: December 1, 2012

The Sedona guest cottage was our home away from home. The neighborhood is nice, the views are classic Sedona with coffee pot mountain greeting us each morning. and the big dipper bidding us sweet dreams very night. The stars come alive in the desert! The We felt "conveniently secluded," meaning we were close enough to every amenity imaginable but far enough not to be confronted by them. Every hike you can imagine is a a few minutes drive away. And 10 minutes to the crowds of shopping in uptown Sedona.

The cottage is very tastefully decorated and the bed is very comfortable. The landscaping is soothing as well. The owner, Jerry, lives close by and graciously greeted us on arrival. He was willing to suggest or help any any way we wanted or needed.

This was our 4th trip and we would never consider a hotel again after such a wonderful experience. Until we buy a place of our own the Sedona guest cottage will be our oasis in the desert.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Elegant Comfort

Review submitted: November 13, 2012   Date of arrival: November 3, 2012

The online photos do not adequately portray the elegance of Jerry Gilden's "guest cottage". My wife and I were surprised and delighted by its design and decor at first, and then enjoyed its comfortable layout and Jerry's attentiveness. As avid hikers, we appreciated our proximity to the Sugarloaf trailhead, which connects to many miles of beautiful trails. Grocery shopping and restaurant dining are also close by. We look forward to future vacations at Jerry's place.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Superiorly decorated, elegantly furnished, impeccably clean, convenient, quiet

Review submitted: November 3, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

Looks like it was decorated like a decorating magazine. All of the furniture in the living room is high-quality leather. The size of the furniture was tailor-made for the size of the rooms. Travertine shower is beautiful and sized for two. There is a spacious walk-in closet the size of a small bedroom with plenty of shelves for toiletries and racks for hanging clothes. A u-shaped kitchen provides all the dishes and utensils you can need. The location is a private, residential neighborhood, yet it is close to everything you want to be close to in Sedona, trails, restaurants, grocery stores. Owner includes a Red Rock parking pass for guests. Description is accurate, appearance is accurate, clean and well-maintained, would highly recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect Sedona Stay for Two

Review submitted: October 16, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

The cottage is a perfect Sedona stay for two. It is ideally situated near shopping, restaurants, and hikes and is comfortably and tastefully furnished. The property is very pretty, and the patio is delightful. The neighborhood is friendly and quiet with virtually no traffic. The coyotes provide a brief concert, different each night, adding to the allure of the setting. We highly recommend this property!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Sedona Guest Cottage

Review submitted: October 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

The Sedona Guest Cottage was everything it was advertised to be and more. It was easy to find and conveniently located, but also in a very quiet and serene neighborhood. Everyone was so friendly and said hello when we were taking our dogs for a walk. We felt so welcomed like we were in a small town. Jerry was out of town while we visited, but Glenn was a wonderful host in his absence. He was very friendly and helpful and recommended trails for us to hike. The cottage was very warm and inviting and comfortable.The kitchen was very well stocked with everything you could possibly need. The bedroom was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The shower was great and the closet off the bathroom was huge. The front enclosed patio had great views as did everywhere in Sedona. Everything was clean and well maintained. There were many restaurants nearby. our favorite was Ken's Creekside. I would recommend this property to anyone and everyone, and have already told one of my friends how much she and her family would love it. We will definitely be back next year. Thanks for everything Jerry and Glenn!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Elaine and Jay...and a special thank you to Glenn who watched the property while I was visited Europe (staying at Homeaway properties). While still in Europe I heard from Elaine and Jay who have booked again with me for October 2013. I am forever grateful to my guests, especially return visitors, who inspire me to continue to improve my services. Europe taught me a lot and I plan to bring a number of new and innovative ideas to my properties when I return. Keep an eye out for new premium eco-friendly toiletry kits which are coming to my properties soon.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sedona Guest Cottage

Review submitted: September 24, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Guest Cottage in Sedona.It was wonderful. The cottage was clean, very private and equipped with everything you could possibly need or want. Jerry was very kind and helpful and always available.The location was fantastic, allowing for a good base to explore the many sights around Sedona. In a nut shell, this rental was perfect.We hope to return again someday.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sedona Perfection

Review submitted: September 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

We experienced so much while we were here for the week.

Perfectly located in a very quiet residential neighborhood, the cottage is the ideal spot for day trips all around Northern Arizona. We flew into Phoenix late and got to the cottage at 11:30 pm. Needless to say, when we woke up in the morning to the amazing sight of the red rocks surrounding us we were very impressed. The cottage was very comfortable and includes every amenity you can think of.

We experienced so much in our stay in the cottage from nature – javalina’s down the road, a tarantula at the Safeway, and red rocks everywhere. We saw a Condor at the Grand Canyon, and visited the Petrified Forest, Painted Desert, Meteor Crater, and Sunset Volcano. We swam in Oak Creek at the end of one hot day - nice! We also had time to the experience the ruins of Palutki and Wapatki. The quaint towns of Jerome, Cottonwood and Clarkdale to the southwest of West Sedona are a nice break from the awesome vistas. If you love cactus be sure to visit the fine cactus nursery (Arizona Botanical Gardens) on the incline road to Jerome.

There is no shortage of great food in Sedona. We planned on having at least some dinners at the cottage - but we never got to use the grill. In Sedona there is great food of every kind. We had breakfast twice at the Coffee Pot Café (great!), and dinners at the Mesa Grill Airport (nice views), Barking Frog, Thai Palace and the Cowboy club.

Nothing but great memories of a great place. Thank you for use of the guest cottage. Everything was perfect!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful and comfortable cottage in the Red Rock country, glory all around!.

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

A friend and I stayed a week in this property and couldn't have been happier there. The listing was accurate. The driving directions to the property were perfect - it's secluded and very quiet but easy to find. The place was immaculate; I've stayed at none better kept, inside and out. The furnishings and decorating items we lovely. Kitchen equipment was generous. Owner Jerry was as helpful and kind as you'd wish for making our visit enjoyable.

We enjoyed the nearby (less than a mile away) hiking trail. Not too difficult but with supurb views. There are so many good restaurants but the one we enjoyed the most was Ken's Creekside. We enjoy cooking so ate in most of the time.

One early morning we glimpsed several Javelina in the front yard. They quickly dissappeared when our dogs raised a fuss from inside.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Hope to come back again!

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

It's our 10th summer visiting the Sedona area and we're excited to have discovered a new place to stay. You were a thoughtful, warm, and gracious host and the guest cottage was comfortable and private like a "home away from home". Loved the patio in the early mornings, relaxing inthe cottage after hiking and the location is close to everything. "Henry" (our dog) liked it here too and loved the dog treats! Hope to come back again. Thanks again.

Steve, Devra and "Henry"

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Clean + Charming = Great Stay

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2012

The Sedona Guest Cottage is a charming stand-alone condo. Everything was spotless when I arrived and the Euro sleeper sofa was made up and ready for my friend (who said it was very comfortable). Jerry has decorated beautifully with nice furniture and lovely artwork; it looks just like the photos. It was nice to sit on the enclosed patio and see the top of Coffee Pot Rock. The location is fantastic, with the Sugarloaf Mountain trailhead just two blocks away. My dog and I hiked the trails each morning and walked through the nice neighborhood each night. Very friendly people. Jerry met me when I checked in and stopped back to say goodbye when I left; he was very professional and great to work with. I liked that the Cottage is off of 89A in a quiet neighborhood, away from the touristy section, but close enough to great restaurants, shops, etc. Went to the Hot Yoga studio for a great class, ate at Picazzo's and shopped Tlaquepaque. I'd definitely stay here again. Thanks for a nice stay!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lovely guest house

Review submitted: June 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 6, 2012

This guest house almost got 5 stars from us. We travel a lot and kt takes a lot to get 5 stars.
But we had two problems the master bed was hard as a rock and the WiFi kept logging us out. While I understand some people like firm beds I think a more middle ground is appropriate plus it groaned when you turn over and I'm not heavy.
Other than that the house is very tastefully decorated with all the little extras you could want in a guset house as well as a gift basket of goodies.
The owner introduced himself, helped with parking and restaurant referrals.Super nice guy.
If the bed ever gets upgraded we'd happily return for our next vacation.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We offer a high quality medium-firm king mattress. Also, available upon request, is a tempurpedic mattress topper which converts the mattress from medium-firm to soft-medium.

When greeting our guests, we ask them to contact us should they need anything during their stay, or if there is anything we can do to improve their stay. Sadly, we did not hear from this guest until her departure. Had she advised us that a softer bed would enhance her stay, we would have provided the mattress topper.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Sedona guest cottage

Review submitted: December 5, 2011   Date of arrival: November 5, 2011

We enjoyed our stay in Sedona. The guest cottage was perfect. Our daughter from San Diego stayed with us and slept on one of the futons. She thought it was very comfortable. The cottage had everything we needed to make our vacation one of the best we've ever had. We loved Sedona and hope to get back again some day.
Sandy and Gene Coulombe, Windham NH.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

luc is relaxed

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

This was our 2nd visit. The cottage is such a great place to stay in Sedona. My dog Luc thinks this is the best vacation place ever....
There are hiking trails within walking distance and a wonderful hot tub to enjoy at night(me not Luc) Jerry is a great host. I would recommend the cottage to anyone who needs a relaxing and beautiful place to be.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

.........we'll be back

Review submitted: July 30, 2011   Date of arrival: July 13, 2011

A fabulous and perfect time evidenced by us extending our stay by an extra week (and still wanted more).

Sedona is superb, but our stay was made infinitely more special and enjoyable by this cottage and the owner. Jerry is a legend; he pitched it perfectly giving us tips on everything from trails to restaurants and supermarkets. All of it spot-on advice and without intrusion. Excellent value/cleanliness and position.
Thank you for a time we will treasure forever - we will be back.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Choice

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

The Sedona Guest Cottage is my favorite vacation place in the U.S.
It is so comfortable and relaxing. The cottage is well equiped with all you need. The hot tub is so relaxing with a view of the night sky. There is a front patio to enjoy morning coffee and late night drinks. The cottage is centrally located to all of Sedona. Our host Jerry is so nice and knowledgable about the area.If you have a dog it is a great place with trails within walking distance of the cottage. I can not say enough about how much we love the cottage and Sedona.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutely Perfect!

Review submitted: May 5, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

This was the second trip to Sedona for myself and my husband, but the first time renting a house - all I can say is we wish we did this the first time around!!!! The house is spotless and has everything you need for everyday living. Entering the house to a beautiful gift basket and soothing music was the cherry on the top.Jerry is a very kind, thoughtful man who gives you your privacy,or if you need him for anything he'll be right there.We highly recommend this little bit of paradise in Sedona, it's clean,it's safe, and it's affordable! We will return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Why stay in a hotel?

Review submitted: April 16, 2011   Date of arrival: April 9, 2011

We absolutely loved our stay in the Sedona Guest Cottage. It's high ceilings make it feel quite spacious. It's filled with interesting art and eclectic pieces. We were greeted by soothing music and a gorgeous gift basket. The owner left us many updated guides and local magazines and gave us excellent recommendations for hiking and dining. The location is perfect, very close to shops and dining, within walking distance of some outstanding hiking, but off of the main streets so it's very quiet and peaceful. It was just the perfect place to come home to after a long day of enjoying beautiful Sedona. Would HIGHLY recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Location in Sedona

Review submitted: April 14, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

Our stay at Jerry's cottage was our first visit to Sedona. It was everything we could have wanted and more. He was a wonderful host and the cottage was a perfect retreat for my wife and I and our dogs. Like most accommodations, it was well furnished and very comfortable. What separates his place from others was the great location as to hiking, restaurants, and shopping. The north-west side of Sedona near the hills was a great place to be. We hope to be back next winter.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Lovely Sedona

Review submitted: March 12, 2011   Date of arrival: February 26, 2011

Chris and I visited the Sedona Guest Cottage in late February 2011 for a week as a getaway from the frigid cold temperatures in Washington State. We woke the first morning in the guest cottage to snow covered trees and red rock. The snow melted by the afternoon and we spent the rest of a glorious week hiking in low to mid 60 degree weather. We had a fabulous massage with Kimberly (Jerry's friend) at the cottage mid week. We cooked all of our meals and enjoyed the hot tub every day. The cottage was perfect for our needs. Jerry's hospitality and respect for our privacy was a perfect combination. We will definitely be back and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. We left Sedona rested, relaxed and deeply inspired to return. A soulful retreat! Thank you Jerry!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great Choice

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the guest cottage. It was comfy and clean.The view I had every morning as I drank my cofee was tremendous and inspiring. Each day I walked to the sugar loaf trail head and hiked.(What a way to start a day).It was ideal to be able to cook dinner at home and just relax. My dog was able to come with us,and after a hike I would lay his bed in front of the fireplace and a more contented dog you will not find.For me a relaxing soak in the hot tub is always a good thing.The neigborhood is nice and quiet.It is a central location. Easy to get to all the attractions in the area. The view of the night sky is tremendous. I would highly recommend this cottage to everyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

A real home away from home

Review submitted: July 16, 2010   Date of arrival: June 29, 2010

It was our third stay in Sedona but the first time at this lovely place. The location is beautiful and quiet. Everything what is listed is accurate and the property ist very clean and well maintained. We missed nothing. We enjoyed to relax in the living room as well as in the hot tub outside. The well maintained kitchen invited us - sometimes - to cook or prepare breakfast at home. Sitting on the patio was wonderful to just enjoy the silence around. We could sleep very well in this most beautiful wood bed. At night you can see the stars and in the morning the red rocks through the window laying in bed.
The owner Jerry is really a wonderful person. He was so careing and provided more than only a "good customer service". He is organizing special ceremonies and is well connected to the community so you can ask him whatever you want to know. He shoes us special trails and places where to go to and he was always available for us whenever we had a quesion.
With a car you are very quick in all directions and locations you want to go to.
We highly recommend to stay there and when we come back zu Sedona we definitely come back to Jerry´s cottage.
Thank you Jerry - Beate & Martin from Germany

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Cute guest house in quiet area of Sedona

Review submitted: June 29, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

This guest house is cute -- however it is not luxurious by any means. The furniture in the living room is worn and uncomfortable. Bedroom drawers are not on guides; they are heavy and could easily fall on your foot and do damage. Bathroom looks great -- however there is only one small towel rack. The kitchen offers approximately 2 Square Feet of work space with a bar that is too high for the average person. Finally it could really use a good thorough cleaning.

Owners response: The Guest Cottage is as described, a cottage with some spaces scaled down from a full sized house. The kitchen area is roughly eight feet by eight feet with a breakfast bar and a standard height work counter. In addition to a towel rack, there are two hooks attached to the backside of the bathroom door for towels or bathrobes. Further, there is a large walk in closet area off the bathroom, which has a generous area for storage and plenty of space to hang up items. The master bedroom features a custom made rustic cabinet with four drawers (none of which has caused concern or injury to any of our guests). The Sedona Guest Cottage employs a professional cleaning crew and we meet and greet our guests to make sure they are satisfied with their accommodations. In many of our posted reviews our guests tell us that the cottage is spotlessly clean, which of course is our goal. These guests traveled with an elderly dog and did not stay for the full rental period because of him.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Hard to leave

Review submitted: May 29, 2010   Date of arrival: May 22, 2010

We were there for a week and have returned home relaxed, refreshed and re-charged! From doing Yoga at sunrise on the patio, to falling into the King sized bed each night, this is THE one and only place to stay in Sedona! Everything you need for your stay has been anticipated by Jerry...laundry soap to wash off the red dust after each tremendous hike, coffee filters ( no need to run out to the store!), books, Music, etc, it is all right there. Jordan, Jerry's dog, even makes you feel welcome! The only negative?...We had to leave! Sitting on the patio at sun up on our last day, with the fragrance of honeysuckle and the buzzing bees and many birds to greet the day...who wants to come back to Chicago? What you see in the description is what you get, and more. Clean, comfortable, well maintained. Walking distance to a trail head for excellent hiking, short drive to shops and restaurants....visit the UFO information store in uptown...so much fun!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Comforts of home in Sedona

Review submitted: March 18, 2010   Date of arrival: March 6, 2010

If you are planning a week in Sedona, THIS is the place to stay. There is nothing like having a little house of your own while you are on vacation, rather that suffering the confines (and expense) of a hotel, say, on a bad weather day. This particular little house is spacious, modern, clean, comfortable, has all the amenities you were looking for, and it is priced just right. The kitchen is complete for preparing your meals, plus there’s an outside grill just for you to use. The bedroom has a king-size bed, the living room a gas fireplace, and hooray -- there’s a washer/dryer next to the bathroom. The location is in a neighborhood on a not-busy road. And there are no street lights to interfere with your contemplating the Big Dipper in the astonishing quiet of an Arizona night.

The bonus is your host, Jerry Gilden. Jerry is a wonderfully nice, kind, generous guy with a welcoming smile on his face. He lives close by, up the incline in back, and is never too busy to answer your where’s-the-best-restaurant, how-long-will-it-take-us-to-get-to-, and which-is-the-switch-for-the-patio-lights questions.

My husband and I are happy to give this little casita -- and its owner -- a perfect score.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Above and Beyond

Review submitted: March 12, 2010   Date of arrival: June 13, 2009

We spent a week at this beautiful cottage and could not have asked for anything more, it was wonderful the views are gorgeous and you are close to everything you could want to see or need. This is such a peaceful and serene location you have a lovely hot tub and the cottage is filled with beautiful decor and wonderful reading. Jerry is your host he gives you your privacy but is there if you need his help in which we did and he went above and beyond for us, he is a Sedona Guru and more than gracious host If you are considering a Sedona getaway this is it.--THE BEST IN SEDONA.
Marsha and Chris

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Honeymoon + This House = Magical!!

Review submitted: March 12, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

This place was absolutely wonderful! My wife and I had our honeymoon here and had an unbelievable experience. Jerry was fantastic and a wonderful help. The house has great character and is clean, cozy, and comfortable. It truly felt like a home away from home. We loved the books that had some suggestions for things to see and do. Overall, this place was fantastic, and we can't wait to make another trip back!!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

No way to describe this without going yourself

Review submitted: March 12, 2010   Date of arrival: May 16, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Sedona Guess Cottage for our anniversary. This house is just great. Perfect location for anything you want to do. Jerry is such a great host. I can't think of a single thing that we did not like about our visit. We are going to be back for sure.
Thanks Jerry for a wonderful week!
Dave & Lynn

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

So glad we chose this guest cottage!

Review submitted: March 12, 2010   Date of arrival: September 26, 2009

This was so much better than staying at a hotel. Very clean, very comfortable, and a great location - couldn't have been more perfect! The Red Rocks parking pass came in quite handy - we used it almost every day of our week long visit. Great hiking trail just blocks away - a definite must do at sunrise or sunset. We would absolutely book again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great place/Awesome city

Review submitted: March 12, 2010   Date of arrival: October 10, 2009

Jerry's guest house is well named. He makes you feel like a guest in his house. No matter what the need, he was right there with the solution. The house is clean, well furnished and in just the right location, close to everything we wanted to do. If you are going to spend a week in Sedona, Jerry's guest house is the place to stay!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Marcita1

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: May 22, 2009

From the moment I crossed the threshold into the amazing cottage, I knew that I had made a wonderful choice. It was all that I had dared to expect -and more. It is open and inviting and seems to be an extension of the red rocks that surround it ( and are visible from every room.) It is the perfect place for a retreat or romantic getaway. Jerry has anticipated every need and provides as much orientation and info as you require. I noted that in my journal I always returned "home" after my area adventures.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place/Awesome city

Review submitted: October 11, 2009   Date of arrival: October 3, 2009

Jerry's guest house is well named. He makes you feel like a guest in his house. No matter what the need, he was right there with the solution. The house is clean, well furnished and in just the right location, close to everything we wanted to do. If you are going to spend a week in Sedona, Jerry's guest house is the place to stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

So glad we chose this guest cottage!

Review submitted: October 5, 2009   Date of arrival: September 26, 2009

This was so much better than staying at a hotel. Very clean, very comfortable, and a great location - couldn't have been more perfect! The Red Rocks parking pass came in quite handy - we used it almost every day of our week long visit. Great hiking trail just blocks away - a definate must do at sunrise or sunset. We would absolutely book again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

No way to describe this without going yourself

Review submitted: August 24, 2009   Date of arrival: May 30, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Sedona Guess Cottage for our anniversary. This house is just great. Perfect location for anything you want to do. Jerry is such a great host. I can't think of a single thing that we did not like about our visit. We are going to be back for sure.
Thanks Jerry for a wonderful week!
Dave & Lynn

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Honeymoon + This House = Magical!!

Review submitted: August 20, 2009   Date of arrival: August 2, 2009

This place was absolutely wonderful! My wife and I had our honeymoon here (8/2-8/8/09), and had an unbelievable experience. Jerry was fantastic and a wonderful help. The house has great character and is clean, cozy, and comfortable. It truely felt like a home away from home. We loved the books that had some suggestions for things to see and do. Overall, this place was fantastic, and we can't wait to make another trip back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Above and Beyond

Review submitted: July 5, 2009   Date of arrival: June 27, 2009

We spent a week at this beautiful cottage and could not have asked for anything more, it was wonderful the views are gorgeous and you are close to everything you could want to see or need. This is such a peaceful and serene location you have a lovely hot tub and the cottage is filled with beautiful decor and wonderful reading. Jerry is your host he gives you your privacy but is there if you need his help in which we did and he went above and beyond for us, he is a Sedona Guru and more than gracious host If you are considering a Sedona getaway this is it.--THE BEST IN SEDONA.
Marsha and Chris

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Wonderful pre-wedding honeymoon

Review submitted: June 24, 2009   Date of arrival: June 13, 2009

My fiance and I had a fanastic week at the Sedona guest cottage June 13th-20th. I'm hesitant to write such a great review because I'd prefer to keep it our secret, that way we won't have any trouble getting a reservation when we come back! The cottage is convenient to everything but in a neighborhood away from the touristy area of Uptown Sedona. Jerry the owner was warm and welcoming and provides all the amenties in his guest house that you'd need. The hot tub was awesome to relax in with a glass of wine after a day of hiking the beautiful trails of Sedona. Comfy bed with soft linens, good shower, flat screen tv, quiet, serene neighborhood...we couldn't have asked for more!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

A great place to stay in Sedona

Review submitted: April 8, 2009   Date of arrival: March 28, 2009

The Sedona Guest Cottage is a great place to stay while enjoying the sights of Sedona. Jerry is a great host! We are hoping to come back again!

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful experience

Review submitted: March 23, 2009   Date of arrival: February 28, 2009

My husband and I spent our first visit to Sedona at the Sedona Guest Cottage, and it would be hard to imagine a better experience. The cottage is located in a quiet neighborhood in Sedona West. Only a couple of blocks away are pristine trails in the Red Rocks. I went for a walk every morning and saw amazing views, wildlife, and felt real serenity. The Cottage is close to great restaurants, and just a few miles from primo galleries and shops. The cottage itself is quiet and beautiful, with lovely art and real privacy. Our host, Jerry Gilden was wonderful. He was entirely gracious, and very generous with recommendations and ideas when we asked. We are looking forward to a return visit next year. Thanks, Jerry!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

The perfect holiday retreat!

Review submitted: January 28, 2009   Date of arrival: January 8, 2009

The cottage is delightful - homely, spotlessly clean and furnished with every convenience. Set in glorious and peaceful surroundings with beautiful views, yet minutes away from a great supermarket and the wonderful Coffee Pot Restaurant!

Jerry, our host, was charming and made us feel so welcome - more like friends than tourists. He really does go that extra mile to ensure that his visitors are happy.

Our first visit to Sedona will not be our last, and we would not dream of staying anywhere else. We would recommend this cottage to anyone, although we would prefer it to remain our secret! Can we give it a 6 case rating?

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

blessings of Sedona

Review submitted: January 11, 2009   Date of arrival: December 27, 2008

It is a blessing to be in Sedona. The Sedona Guest Cottage is, in its location within Sedona, as serene and tranquil as the surrounding red rocks that encircle this breathtaking city. The ambience and the privacy are A++. Please do yourself a favor...visit Sedona and book the guest cottage. It will be one the best trips you could ever take.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

location location location

Review submitted: October 10, 2008   Date of arrival: September 30, 2008

What a perfect place ! Perfectly situated between great Red Rock hiking trails and every convenience down the hill, the cottage is in a quiet neighborhood that makes you feel like you really live in Sedona and are not just a tourist. It is beautifully decorated and so very comfortable you won't want to leave. Jerry, our host, is someone we'd really like to know better - a fascinating spiritual man. We had a wonderful stay and can't wait to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Incredibly delightful

Review submitted: July 2, 2008   Date of arrival: June 20, 2008

This truly is the soul of Sedona. If you are looking for a special, sacred nest for a truly memorable getaway, this is it. The accomodations are so clean and comfortable with great attention to detail, and the owner is just a delightful person. The location, neighborhood, everything just couldn't have been better. One of our favorite things was going outside to the private courtyard and being greeted by the fragrance of honeysuckle--that was just the icing on the cake. One of our favorite places to eat is the Heartline Cafe. We loved the mountain views and being able to walk to the trailhead for hiking. Obviously, I'd go back in a heartbeat and highly recommend it.

Helpful votes: 13 / 14

 

The perfect home away from home

Review submitted: June 9, 2008   Date of arrival: January 8, 2008

I stayed twice at the cottage.
Both time it was a joy. Jerry is a perfect host,his description of the house and the amenities is not only accurate, but probably it is modest.
The cleanliness, the quality of the linnen the decorator touches help to have a perfect vacation.
My Sedona's friends are in love with it , as I am.
I would recommend it to the more sophisticated traveller.
Sedona has a great choice of restaurants and activities.
I am planning to go back in the autumn.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

AMAZING!

Review submitted: June 9, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

The guest house was perfect! Compact yet spacious, beautifully decorated and maintained. The host was perfect; there if we needed him but never intrusive. He provided everything we asked for and offered some things we never thought of. Not only would I recommend this cottage to my pickiest friend, but I can't wait to go back again! A five rating isn't high enough, it was at least a ten!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful!

Review submitted: June 8, 2008   Date of arrival: March 15, 2008

Jerry, your guest cottage is just wonderful! Love the attention to all the details. The art was beautiful, the linens comfy and the whole house perfect!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Your property is a blessing!

Review submitted: June 8, 2008   Date of arrival: May 18, 2008

Sedona has been a blessing. Thanks for allowing us to have out dogs, Katie & Cosby along for the ride. This just made our vacation evber more joyous. Thanks for your hospitality.

Blessings!

Valisia & David

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review