reviews for: listing #3503 - Kaneohe, Hawaii Studio rental

Hawaii Hale - Hawaii Home
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  yes
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $120 - $120 /nt
    $840 - $840 /wk

sort by:

Perfect

Review submitted: March 5, 2014   Date of arrival: May 9, 2013

First off, I will say that the location was perfect. The studio is located on the back side of our host's home, facing the mountain. It was quiet and beautiful. The weather was nice and cool, raining most of the time. But we loved it because it gave us a break from the heat and crowds of Waikiki and Honolulu.
We were greeted warmly, and throughout our needs were sincerely met...and there was a nice basket of Hawaiian goodies waiting for us too. The studio is was roomy, clean, and spacious, and with the windows open the breeze was wonderful. The price was within our budget, money well spent.
The town of Kaneohe is crowded and busy but there are plenty of good places to eat. It is also a great place to return to after touring the island.
If you are planning to come to Oahu, look no further for the ideal Hawaiian experience...This place is for you.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Unimaginably awesome! Home away from home!

Review submitted: February 1, 2013   Date of arrival: January 24, 2013

Lee was a wonderful host! I had ever used VRBO before and was very skeptical. I called around several rental properties and was very wary when they asked me to send them full payment up front, but as soon as I started talking to Lee I knew I would be renting his place. A very kind man who made me feel comfortable right from the start. Turns out he and his wife have been renting this place for years! And let me tell you they definitely know what they're doing! Anything you could think of needing - they have it. We wanted to bring fresh cut pineapple with us to the beach - a pineapple that Lee had left us in our welcome basket! - and as soon as opened the cupboard - Tupper ware! They had boogie boards, beach towels, a cooler with ice packs, shampoo, soap, Reynolds wrap!, all sorts of kitchen electronics, a sturdy cutting knife, dish detergent and rack to dry your real cups and dishes - these little touches made me feel as if I was in my very own home. The place was extremely clean and comfortable! It was a luxury to stay there - compared to the hotels in Waikiki, away from the general, usual hotel room and tourist spot, this place was a pleasure to stay in. The bed was super comfortable, sheets a soft satin and pillows magnificently soft. The studio had windows on every wall and when you sleep with the windows open you almost feel like you're in a tree house! Air conditioner, fans, timer night lights, everything! There was a private pool too - the bottom was awaiting a cleaning but for a night of fun, it was great. The deck and its view were magnificent! You do spend a lot of time driving back and forth from the house to main attraction spots in town but that's the spectacular part of Hawaii - driving with the windows down enjoying the breeze and scenery! I will always ask to stay here when I come back to Hawaii! P.S. The host, Lee, left us a basket filled with sweet bread, pineapple, bananas, chocolate, coffee and a welcome note! They even had listings of local restaurants to check out - delicious! Oh yea! They even has a washer/dryer available for our use!!!! Could it of been any better?!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Hawaii Hale in Kanaohe, Oahu

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: May 22, 2011

While not fancy, this very clean studio-condo is perfect for two people on a budget. The condo is very quiet and secluded, away from the heavy traffic on the leeward side (Honolulu/Waikiki) of the island. The owner lives on the property and is available with excellent help and advice. The queen size bed is very comfortable. The kitchen had everything we needed to prepare meals. There is a small BBQ right outside on the deck. Grocery stores, restaurants and malls are a short drive. Beach towels, mats, chairs and boogie boards are supplied. There was even sunscreen in the bathroom. Kanaohe is on the windward side of the island so the trade winds blow in gently all day and night. We never found it necessary to turn on the A/C. TIP #1: Take a GPS, but you may hear "Recalculating" often since the satellite maps are not up to date. Have a good map with you. TIP #2 Go to Wiamea Park on the North Shore and go swimming in the large waterfall pond. Take water shoes as the rocks are hard on bare feet when getting in and out of the pond. TIP #3: Stop for a meal at Mike's Huli Huli Chicken (or Shrimp) (look for two, big yellow catering trucks) located at 47-525 Kamehameha Hwy, Kaneohe, HI 96744, on the bay side of the street, north of the Windward Mall.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Review submitted: April 22, 2007   Date of arrival: April 22, 2007

We were looking for an alternative to staying at a high-rise hotel in Waikiki, and we found the perfect place! The studio is clean, roomy and well equipped. It has a comfortable bed and large bathroom. It is conveniently located to anywhere on the island for day trips. The sound of the waterfall next door and the cool breezes put us right to sleep at night. Sitting on the deck enjoying the beautiful mountain views made a perfect beginning and end to every day.
But the best part of staying here was our hosts. They are very knowledgeable about all the islands, since they were born and raised here. We tried Hawaiian, Vietnamese, Thailand, and Japanese food at local restaurants they recommended, and evey one was great! They are friendly and helpful with everything we asked them about...beaches, flowers, birds, culture, history...you name it! We really enjoyed the personal touch, something you can never have at a big resort.
Next time we come to Oahu, we will certainly stay here, it will be like coming home!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: February 24, 2007   Date of arrival: February 24, 2007

Comment Text: My daughter Eva and I traveled to Oahu for her senior
trip. Finding a beautiful and private haven to stay in was a big part of
the wonder of it all. Our hosts were great from the start... and all through our vacation they provided suggestions, maps and items
we needed to make our day trips successful. We would stay with them
again in a heartbeat! Don't forget to have them show you their prize
koi....they are amazing. Their dog is one of the sweetest we've ever met.
Gracious thanks to our hosts, for all you gifted us with during our stay with you! Raku Ho 'olaule' is definitely part of future vacation plans!
Mahalo! Kathleen and Eva

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 9, 2006   Date of arrival: November 9, 2006

Dates blocked out in "Calendar" may still be available. Guests may stay through these dates if checked in prior. Please check with calendar on Host's website -- vacationrentalhawaiihale

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review