reviews for: listing #35032 - Parksville, British Columbia Cottage rental

Morning-Glory Guest House - pet friendly vacation rental
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (CAD) $115 - $210 /nt
    $580 - $1,400 /wk
    $1,400 - $5,900 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Second stay as great as the first

Review submitted: July 5, 2014   Date of arrival: May 9, 2014

My second stay and it is just as great as the first. Love the special touches with the dog treats, blanket and toys ....Sadie loved playing with the toys. Thanks for another great stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Second time and already booked for Third stay

Review submitted: July 5, 2014   Date of arrival: April 15, 2014

This is our second time here and we have already booked a third stay later this year. Great place with lots of touches to make you feel at home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

4th Visit - What can we say but AWESOME!

Review submitted: April 21, 2014   Date of arrival: March 24, 2014

4th visit here - what can we say but Awesome!! Well equipped and excellent accommodations, great value. Our dog enjoyed herself again - as much as we did. Thank You.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Stay!

Review submitted: April 21, 2014   Date of arrival: February 7, 2014

Great stay in this cozy cabin! Lovely get away from home. We ate in, much appreciated the fully stocked kitchen!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Impeccably Immaculate!

Review submitted: April 21, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

Beautiful and relaxing - lovely cottage setting. Comfy bed. The wine was such a nice touch!! Impeccably immaculate! Puppy Maggie says thank you for the treats, blanket and toys!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

PERFECT WEEKEND RETREAT!

Review submitted: April 21, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

Perfect weekend retreat for our "baby moon"! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay at Morning Glory Guest House

Review submitted: April 17, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

It was a very cute cabin perfect for our small family! It was a great spot, and so great that we could bring our dog. The kitchen had everything we needed, as we stayed for 7 nights and did lots of cooking. The pool was great and the beach was about 15 min walk away but we brought our bikes and could get there really fast. The only problem was the mattress in the master bedroom was really uncomfortable so I had a lot of back aches every morning, also the duvet cover did not appear to washed as it had blood stains on it when we arrived. Overall, the rest of the cabin was clean and it was so nice to have the week to enjoy it :)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review – we appreciate it. This is the first time anyone has complained about the mattress – I also suffer back-pain at times so we chose a mattress which had lots of support and of a better quality. We have had several reviews from people who said they loved the comfy beds and we are fortunate to have many guests who love to return to the Guest House year after year. However, mattress choice is very personal and that is why there are so many different models. I hope that your back has improved.

Our cleaner has been with us for 3 years and we appreciate all the extra work that she does – she goes out of her way to make sure that everything is clean and working properly for our guests. However everyone makes mistakes and if you encountered a problem with the duvet, I wish you would have called us immediately so we could have rectified it for you. The duvets are stored in the closet because not everyone appreciates the extra warmth they provide. Protocol is that these duvets be unrolled after each stay to check that they have not been used or stained. Although we have asked guests to leave soiled linens out when they leave, not everyone admits to having had an accident such as a nose bleed or a child coloring with felt pens which caused a problem. Many times they have carefully rolled up the duvets and it appeared they were not used. It would be easy to miss if pushed for time. We have extra duvet covers in the cottage and could have changed it out for you if you had called us as per the instruction sheet on the table.

We appreciate your comments and will review the procedures with our cleaner to make sure that this doesn’t happen again. I have also included the review you had left in our guest book in fairness to all who read this review.

“Walked to Rathtrevor Beach and had a fire and played in the park. Pool was great. Very clean cabin with everything we needed. Thanks for the dog treats and bottle of wine. Can’t wait to come back next year.”

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great month stay

Review submitted: April 8, 2014   Date of arrival: December 13, 2013

My husband and rented this cottage for a month (mid Dec - mid Jan). When we arrived the cottage was spotless and so very well equipmented that you only need to bring your clothes. We had no problem with anything but if we did we were sure the owners would have addressed it right away. We enjoyed the indoor pool in the complex and the location near Rathtrevor Park. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are happy that you had a great vacation and we look forward to seeing you again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beyond Expectations

Review submitted: October 29, 2013   Date of arrival: October 22, 2013

We had a great stay at your cottage, it was beyond our expectations and we will definitely be returning! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We will be delighted to return

Review submitted: October 29, 2013   Date of arrival: October 14, 2013

We will be delighted to return and rent this wonderful little cottage. All the little details really enhance the home away from home feeling, allowing relaxation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This is simply the best

Review submitted: October 29, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

We have stayed at a lot of different cottages in the country - this is simply the best, cleanest and we loved it the most.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very glad to return to Morning-Glory

Review submitted: October 29, 2013   Date of arrival: October 1, 2013

We mainly came for a week of rest and relaxation. Appreciate that the kitchen is so well equipped. Very glad to return to Morning-Glory for our second visit. Thanks for thinking of all the little details. We hope to come again - your guest cabin is a lovely retreat!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great cabin to rent our 3rd time

Review submitted: October 29, 2013   Date of arrival: September 14, 2013

Great cabin to rent our 3rd time and always loved our holiday here. Colleen and Marty very accommodating and really enjoyed our bottle of wine they left for us to enjoy. Our dog Lexus loves coming to stay at Oceanside and loved the treats awaiting her arrival.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Most relaxing and fun vacation

Review submitted: October 29, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

This was one of the most relaxing and fun vacations we have taken in recent years. Thanks for such a comforting and convenient hub for our adventures!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very relaxing atmosphere to spend with family

Review submitted: October 29, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

Had a very enjoyable stay. A very relaxing atmosphere to spend with family. Thanks for making it so homey. We would love to return for more holidays.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved your accommodations once again!

Review submitted: October 29, 2013   Date of arrival: September 3, 2013

Loved your accommodations once again! Thanks Colleen and Marty! Boomer says thanks as well.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Kitchen is so well equipped it was wonderful

Review submitted: October 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

Kitchen is so well equipped it was wonderful to cook in. Thank you for sharing your cottage with us, we had a wonderful stay. You had so many touches that amazed us and made our stay so enjoyable. We will definitely be returning. Thank you for the wine, it was much appreciated.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Clean, well equipped and very central

Review submitted: October 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 8, 2013

Great place to stay, we had a great time with family. Thank you for welcoming our dog, Auggie. Your place was clean, well equipped with supplies and very central. Our week flew by and we cannot wait to come back again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: October 29, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

This is our second stay at Morning-Glory and again your hospitality has been great. Hailey says thank you for the milk bones and use of the doggie toys! I'm sure we will be back again next year. A perfect getaway!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautifully appointed cottage

Review submitted: October 29, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

We had a lovely stay. Beautifully appointed cottage that made the kids and I feel comfortable and at home. Kids loved the beach toys.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very comfortable and clean

Review submitted: October 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

We really loved the cabin. Very comfortable, clean and with many thoughtful touches.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great vacation home!

Review submitted: October 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

Thank you once again for a great vacation home! Very comfortable and you add a lot of personal touches. Jazz thanks you for the treats too!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We enjoyed a lovely time here

Review submitted: May 17, 2013   Date of arrival: April 10, 2013

Come in the summer! There is so much to see and do, one of a kind shops, beautiful walks - we enjoyed a lovely time here!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Stay!

Review submitted: May 17, 2013   Date of arrival: April 19, 2013

I had a wonderful stay - thank you very much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very Comfortable Stay

Review submitted: May 17, 2013   Date of arrival: April 21, 2013

We had a very comfortable stay in your cabin! Thank you and we hope to be back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ideal for Our Stay

Review submitted: May 17, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

The cottage has been ideal for our stay and we have felt very much at home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Christmas Vacation - 1st VRBO experience

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

Location - Great ... walking distance (with dogs) to Rathtrevor Beach , quick in & out for highway access, not "busy" in and around unit.

Cottage description was totally accurate - completely stocked kitchen - down to spice rack ! Set-up was great - bedrooms, living & dining areas and bathroom all clean, comfortable and well-stocked (linens, etc). Amazing to have washer & dryer on site

Pleasantly surprised at reasonable rate over "busy" Christmas period - having worked in hotels, usually rates spike over Christmas & New Years.
Communication before, during and after was good - expectations were clearly laid out.

Was above & beyond our expectation ..little details that were unexpected: Christmas Tree, welcome package and treats for both us and our dog !, selection of movies, games and for summer guests beach chairs/toys and towels.

We took a couple cards and have recommended this as an option for friends who may be looking for rental options on Vancouver Island.

Sadly with family and visiting we "underutilized" a lot of the options ... even to watch a couple movies, rad a book or use the pool !

Woudl definitely recommend this cottage for a "quiet" getaway of any type ! We'll have to try it again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to seeing you again - all returning guests receive a 10% discount. Thank you for giving us a review and for passing our cards on to your friends!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We'll return to this Treasure!

Review submitted: January 23, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

Hi! This place is wonderful!
We love it very much!
Thank you for the Christmas Tree
What a lovely touch!

We came here for some rest,
relaxation and some fun!
This cottage was the perfect place,
We've dubbed it #1!

The beach is close, our dog's delight,
The fresh salt air, the breeze!
Then back to snuggle by the fire,
Our books in hand, so pleased!

Thanks so much for hosting us
"Biscuit" loved it too!
Our holiday was the very best,
Happy New Year to you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Above and Beyond what we expected

Review submitted: January 23, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

Above and beyond what we expected - decorated Christmas tree, amenities in the kitchen - would love to return! Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Place to Stay

Review submitted: January 23, 2013   Date of arrival: October 28, 2012

Perfect place to stay, comfortable, everything I could have needed. Would definatley recommend to others. Thanks for making it feel like home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing

Review submitted: January 23, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2012

We found it very relaxing, loved the fact that you made it feel like home with everything we needed. Nice touch with the wine - looking forward to enjoying it tonight. We will definitely recommend your place to people we know!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ocean Walks, Good Friends - Life is Good

Review submitted: January 23, 2013   Date of arrival: September 10, 2012

This is home away from home with the perks - thisis our 4th visit

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Time here was fun and relaxing!

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 21, 2012

Thank you for providing all the amenities of home. Our time here was fun and relaxing. Best of all the accommodation made it all easy! We look forward to coming back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cottage was very nice!

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

Cottage was very nice, kitchen was well equipped with all we needed. The beach chairs and toys were nice to have use of as well as the small cooler.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

One of the nicest places we ever stayed in!

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: July 26, 2012

We come every year and this is one of the nicest places we have ever stayed in! Thanks for everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another great holiday at the cottage!

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

Another great holiday at the cottage. thanks for the wine and the use of your wonderful cottage!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the cottage as always

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 11, 2012

Loved the cottage as always and thanks for the wine. So nice to have the use of the washer and dryer when travelling on a motor bile. We will be back again as we love Morning-Glory Guest House. Glad we could get the extra day.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very tranquil

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

Very tranquil and peaceful location. Close to pool. Home away from home. Thank you so much for your hospitality - wine was much appreciated. Will definitely return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Does it get any better than this?

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 22, 2012

Does it get any better than this? This was like a home for our entire stay - with all the comforts. Thanks so much. By giving as you do you engender greater care is taken - way to go.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved coming "home"

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 9, 2012

Having the pool so close was great for winding down at the end of a busy day. Loved coming "home" and relaxing in great beds.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect accommodation

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: March 19, 2012

Perfect accommodation - clean and well taken care of. Fabulous for our family of 6!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great cabin with tasteful decor!

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at morning glory for two days and it was such a great palce to stay. Clean and well organized with all the amenties of home. Unfortunately we had no time to enjoy this cabin as we were invovlved in a weekend wedding. Coming back with my dog as he would love it here in Parksville.
Thanks for the wine and the great experience.
Sherry & Dean

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Sherry and Dean - we look forward to your return visit with your dog. Please remember that all our returning guests receive a 10% discount! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay.

Cheers
Colleen and Marty

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing week!

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

Thank you for this amazing week for my family. We arrived home yesterday and I already wish I was back at your cabin!
You thought of everything. So many extra touches. We will be back soon!
The wine, the beach toys, the beach towels, and more. Thank you!

Also.... the pull out couch was as comfortable as a bed!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy that you had a wonderful time. Yes the sofa bed has a special mattress to make it more comfortable. We hope to see you again soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

"Staying here is almost as comfortable as home - enjoyed the picture puzzles provded for rainy days - the wine was a nice touch - thank you. We certainly recommend either of your cottages to anyone wanting to visit out here!."

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: January 1, 2010

"Enjoyed our stay very much - thank you for the wine. Great cottage, great location for visiting Victoria to Campbell River. We hope to return!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: November 25, 2009

"Thanks for the wine and other thoughtful touches!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2009

"Wonderful weekend retreat - you thought of everything."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: October 9, 2009

Had a wonderful relaxing Thanksgiving. Will come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: September 28, 2009

"Great Cottage - well equipped! Thanks for the great wine!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: September 19, 2009

"The house is modern, clean with a comfy bed - you thought of everything! Wonderful week! Many thanks we will be back again!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: September 6, 2009

"The place is very well equipped and comfortable. You certainly seemed to have thought of everything. Thanks"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

We had an amazing time here! What a relaxing and comfortable place - Thank You. We'd love to come back one day soon! The extra touches (CD'S, magazines, videos, games, flashlights for the caves and binoculars) were a nice touch - thanks!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

"Thank you for providing such a great place to stay - you have thought of everything!!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

We had a great time - it was perfect for our family of four!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review