reviews for: listing #35095 - Blue Mountain Beach, Florida House rental

Life's a Beach! Spring/Summer Specials - $1100/$1500 week
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  The Village
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $130 - $275 /nt
    $750 - $1,600 /wk
    $1,600 - $1,600 /mth

sort by:

Great Location, Great condo

Review submitted: March 24, 2009   Date of arrival: March 16, 2009

I really enjoyed my stay at the house. The place was well decorated and clean. Many accomodations were provided. I like that the house is located near a beautiful beach and only minutes away from resturants and other activities. I would definitely recommend it to anyone, who is looking for a rent a place around the Destin area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for confirming all the things we love about this special place. The house and beach truly are amazing.

Walter

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Best trip ever!!

Review submitted: March 14, 2014   Date of arrival: February 13, 2014

Had an amazing time with my wife and two nieces (ages 18 and 20) in February. First off Walter was incredibly easy to contact and very helpful in answering all of our questions. He even sent along a list of great places to eat and rent equipment. Even though we arrived late in the evening, the rental agency let us know how and where to get the keys and gate remote opener. The office was close to the house so after the long drive it was nice to finally get out of the car. Whew! And what a beautiful home it is. The pictures give an idea of it but the house was so warm and comfortable, Great windows and lighting throughout.Wood floors, tile showers, etc. The girls were texting pictures of the house to family back home to make them all jealous! Really clean and cozy. Having the Master bedroom on the bottom floor and the girls on the top floor made for great privacy for my wife and I (and for the girls as well). Of course with a beach this amazing, we went there every day. Softest sand we have ever felt! Grocery stores were close and easy to find and the kitchen had everything you need for making meals at the house (but breakfast at "Another Broken Egg" was nice as well). Lots and lots of fun things to do from sight seeing to hitting the exercise room in the complex. We didn't visit the swimming pool (again, February) but it looked nice. And so much shopping! With our group, we set time limits on how long we could shop, just so we wouldn't miss anything.The funnest meal we had was at "Nick's" just down the road a block. Got to meet Nick himself, apparently a top ranked arm wrestler! Go figure. All in all, way too much laughing and smiles on this trip. The only negative was having to head home to sub-zero temperatures and piles of snow. Thanks again to Walter for a trip that all of us will remember forever. We look forward to coming down again soon!

Owners response: Thanks for your kind words about our beach house and your visit. It gives us greet joy to share this special place with others, and we're so glad you took it all in! We look forward to having you back again in the future!

Walter

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Cute, cozy cottage in a quiet, tranquil spot!

Review submitted: June 23, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

Our family thought whoa 'what a skinny, tall cottage...' Very different from east coast beach houses. But it was more awesome than we thought inside. The way the sun came in the home through all of its windows reminded us it was vacation each day. You can hear the pitter patter of people on the second and third floors but it worked fine for our family (children all under 8). The house stays cool and the kitchen has all the gadgets you could need to cook for the week (mixer, muffin pan, coffee maker, etc.). The ice cream shop is directly up the road 3/10 a mile and the beach 1/2 mile or less. Th family can easily bike to the beach or drive 1 min and park, we never had issues parking. We didn't rent bikes but Walter was great at giving us the information for the local shop. Prices for restaurants are very reasonable. Enjoyed restaurants: local catch, Marie's table. There is a publix 1 mile away on US 98. And a Wal-mart just a little more down the road. Also enjoyed the trail just outside the cottage that ran along 30a, routes could vary from as short as 1 mile to 20+ for running/walking/biking! Would love to stay again this summer but its booked. ;( Walter thanks for a great stay we loved our beach week, that was just 51 weeks too short! You were exceptionally responsive and helpful.

Owners response: Thanks for your very, very kind words.

We love everything about this beach - the restaurants, nature, community and of course the house.

You are always welcome back to our humble abode. Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Warm Regards,

Walter

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great week at the beach!

Review submitted: May 11, 2013   Date of arrival: May 4, 2013

We spent a week in this house and it was great overall! (Of course, the beach is fantastic itself and it's a nice bike ride away!) Family of 6 (4 teens)... the master bedroom is perfect... other two bedrooms are tiny for two people each, but who goes to the beach to spend time in the children's bedrooms?!
The house was clean and well appointed. Beware - there are lots of steps!
Owner is easy to work with and very helpful. The only down side is that the noise of people on the middle floor is very loud downstairs in the master bedroom, and when the a/c unit for the 3rd floor runs it's VERY loud.
Great community. Clean home. Nice owner. BEAUTIFUL beach! Highly recommend renting bikes!

Owners response: Thanks for your great review.

We too love this house, community and the beach. Hard to go wrong with that combination.

Thanks especially for your comments on the third floor "kids suite" a common feature for a carriage house design. Parents absolutely love the "privacy" effect of a little distance.

We're glad you liked the hardwood floors throughout rather than carpet, which makes it abit less quiet on the second floor, but hopefully more cozy.

Thanks again for staying with us. We hope to see you again next season!

Walter

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Spring Break Ever! We LOVE "In the Clouds"

Review submitted: March 28, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

From the moment we arrived at our "tower" vacation house we were in heaven! We had read the previous reviews but honestly, not even the reviews could do justice to this adorable and nicely appointed beach home! What's better is the location. Our children are 6, 8, and 9. The kids and my hubby brought their bikes -- I rented from Big Daddy's just a short ride away. Literally less than five minutes. We were able to ride all over "The Village" where the home is located, not to mention all over town. We rode to the beach, La Lobos bakery (to DIE for), For the Health of It health food store, down scenic 30A, to Blue Mountain Creamery where we went every day to have delicious home made ice cream, sorbet, and yogurt. It was handy not being right "on the beach" as we were able to let our kids out in the great neighborhood to ride around or take walks without worry. There is a great neighborhood pool (one block away), outdoor shuffle board, even a workout room! There is a forest across the street where you can hike for miles...or bike! Everything was wonderful, we were even able to extend our stay. The town is amazing. Was exactly our style. Everything within bike reach...and everything the other reviews stated is dead-on. Thank you so much Walter -- if don't actually move to Blue Mountain Beach this Summer, we will be back to "In the Clouds"!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: So glad you loved our little beach retreat. I couldn't agree more with you about Blue Mountain Beach - just like heaven. Again, thanks for your kind words and we look forward to having you back soon!

Walter

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Stayed an extra week!

Review submitted: March 1, 2012   Date of arrival: February 13, 2012

This house has it all. Beautiful hardwood floors, two flat screens, nice open floor plan, and a wonderful kitchen. Short walk to the beach, restaurants, and hiking/riding trails. When we were driving up the street I saw the cutest tall house and remarked how much I liked it and it turned out to be "ours". We had a little trouble learning the Dish TV, but one phone call to the owner's management company took care of that. Thanks, Donald. We got so comfortable we decided instead of moving to another place we would just stay where we were for an extra week. The owner, Walter, made everything just too easy! This house would be fun for a long term stay or a weekend getaway. We hope to be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Kathleen,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay "in the clouds." It's guests like you that make us appreciate just how special this place really is.

We look forward to having you back soon!

Walter

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

June 2010 Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 8, 2011   Date of arrival: June 21, 2011

Our family of 6 stayed in the Blue Mountain Beach house in June 2010, and we absolutely loved it! The community is now on our list for future vacations and even possible retirement, which says a lot because although we visit Florida often, this was the first place that we would consider living. The community is nestled between Destin and Panama City Beach, but feels worlds away from the hectic, crowded vibes in those towns. Quiet, natural-looking, friendly, artsy - it really has it all if you are looking for a little peace, and the beach is as beautiful as any I've seen, and easy to get to, being literally straight down the street (by car or bike trail) from the house. There was a Publix and a Walmart within a few minutes to the North, and numerous cute beach communities with shops, including Blue Mountain, plus several others just to the East and West. FYI - bike riding is big here, with great trails connecting the communities, and there are a couple of bike rental shops within maybe 3-4 blocks of the home (with delivery and pick-up available at your home). If doing bikes or street-ready golf carts, it's a good idea to book in advance of your stay.

As for the house, it was adorable. We didn't know quite what to expect from the pictures, but they really don't do it justice. It was the most unique home we've stayed in, and the neighborhood was full of others just as unique. Our kids loved the three-floor architecture and the funky feel of the place, and we were very pleased with the cleanliness, furnishings, and extras like games, magazines, books, etc. If there was one issue, it would be that the downstairs (master) bedroom can get very cold when keeping the rest of the home pleasantly cool, but there were extra blankets and it worked out fine for us.

We will definitely be back to Blue Mountain Beach for regular visits. Thanks, Walter! (btw, Walter was very responsive and easy to work with, and readily accommodated us for a short-stay at the tail end of our vacation.)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay in our "little slice of heaven." Your sentiments express exactly the way we feel about Blue Mountain Beach and our beach cottage. You will always be warmly welcomed back as our guest.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Ocean.... Perfect Beach House!

Review submitted: June 11, 2011   Date of arrival: May 26, 2011

We had an incredible time at In the Clouds! The Village at Blue Mountain was a quaint little area with a wonderful pool. Just a little way by bike or foot is the gorgeous Gulf of Mexico. The house was perfect for our family. The house is decorated so cute! The Master bedroom is on the bottom floor. The bed was so comfortable and there is a laundry room right there with a full sized front load washer and dryer. Up one flight of stairs was the kitchen/great room with a flat screened TV. The thing I loved the most was that the kids area was upstairs with a bunk room and a daybed w/ pull out trundle in the other bedroom. The kitchen was equipped with everything we needed. Walter was excellent to work with and super fast at responding to any questions we had prior to our visit. Loved this area... not overpopulated at all. Just a short distance to Grayton Beach and Seaside. We will definitely be staying here again in the future! Thanks again Walter!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Susie,

We are so happy you and your family enjoyed your stay at our little slice of "beach" heaven. You are always welcome at "In the Clouds" - looking forward to having you back next year!

Walter

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Winter Vacation was great

Review submitted: March 3, 2010   Date of arrival: January 1, 2004

My sister and I rented this home for January and February. We did have some nice days on the beach (walking and sunning), but also found plenty to do when the weather was cooler. Their is so much shopping in the area - (the largest outlet Mall in the US). We also spent a day in Panama Beach on the pier and shopping. Plenty of antique shops and restaurants. The local Publix supermarket was nearby and the local library was a good place to check e-mails. We loved Seaside and the activities they offered. Had a good time with the locals at the World Famous Red Bar where the food was excellent and the furnishings eclectic. A little place around the corner has a singing bartender called "Red" who is loads of fun to listen and watch.

The place was clean, sunny, and in a quiet neighborhood just two blocks from the beach.

We did miss the our two months without NBC, CBS, or ABC television. The home had Direct TV which I would not recommend to anyone.
In the summer I suppose you would not miss TV as you would be on the beach all the time.

You will need a car to get around the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We appreciate such great feedback and have changed our cable provider as suggested. We are glad that the local TV options didn't hinder a top rating! The home, location and world-class beach really is something to behold :)

Walter

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Honeymoon Heaven

Review submitted: November 21, 2008   Date of arrival: September 21, 2008

Dear Walter,

We loved staying at your house. It was decorated with style and flair. It was so comfortable and close to everything we wanted to do. We enjoyed the beach, Seaside, riding bikes and kayaking. We found a lovely little restaurant called the Gravel Road Cafe. The food and music were great. We could not have enjoyed our honeymoon any more.

Thanks for sharing your lovely place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind and generous words. We love our beach house, and hope others love it too.

Walter

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review