reviews for: listing #3510103ha - Bermuda, Caribbean rental

LOCATION! LOCATION! at Cross Bay Estate and Private Beach
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • rates (USD)  $ 200 / night
  • sleeps  2
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Beautiful Location; Beautiful Hosts; Loved it!!

Review submitted: March 5, 2014   Date of arrival: January 6, 2014

From the moment that Wendell and Xinia picked us up at the airport until the moment we left, we were treated like family. My wife and I had a wonderful time relaxing and taking in Bermuda. Wendell and Xinia treated us like family and took wonderful care of us. The apartment is clean and well appointed and had everything we needed. They gave us great tips on transportation, food, and their favorite grocery store. We were there for a mini vacation and a field hockey tournament for our daughter. They were gracious enough to attend one of the games and even helped introduce us to many other wonderful people of Bermuda. Even though we enjoyed their company (especially the soup, drinks, and dessert at one of their favorite places), they gave us the utmost privacy and were never intrusive...just always there when we needed them. What a joy this couple is. I've already recommended this place to a co-worker who is thinking about Bermuda. The bus stop is right outside the door and the private beach is just down the steps. There is a million dollar view from the deck. When we come back to Bermuda...we will Definitely be staying with Wendell and Xinia.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Rest and Relaxation Goal Accomplished!

Review submitted: March 1, 2014   Date of arrival: February 17, 2014

My husband wanted to plan a wonderful Valentine's Day getaway this year and chose Bermuda as our destination. He found the perfect studio apartment and booked it for a week. Little did we know that our travel plans would be thwarted by winter storm systems on either side.
The wonderful care that Wendell and his lovely wife, Xinia, provided us both before and during our stay was exceptional. Wendell worked with us to delay our arrival in order to accommodate our new travel schedule. He picked us up at the airport, stopped on the way in to allow us to obtain bus passes and a few grocery items and then on to the apt .
The view from the deck and hot tub was magnificent and our weather was lovely all week until our departure date when a bit of rain set in but no worries--we had an amazing and relaxing time enjoying the ease of the bus stop practically outside our door and the semi private beach.
All in all a trip that will be remembered for a lifetime as well as new friends in Wendell and Xinia that we will have for a lifetime, also. Thanks for the memories!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Incredible Romantic Get Away!!

Review submitted: September 10, 2013   Date of arrival: September 3, 2013

My wife and I had an incredibly romantic get away for our anniversay at Wispering Waves!! Wendell and his wife, Xinia were so warm and gracious throughout our entire stay. Their experience in the hospitality business was so evident, and their knowlegde of the island was so helpful our entire stay.

We were picked up at the airport on time even though our plane was a little late, and we were able to stop by for groceries and bus passes on the way to their property. The unit itself is very clean and all set up with everything you could ever need for a comfortable stay. The apartment is set on top of a magnificent hill overlooking the southshore ocean which provided a "million dollar" view. A short walk away was a set of stone steps leading down to a very private beach. Just outside our door was a bus stop which provided a gateway to the entire island. There are a number of excellent restaurants within walking distance. We fell in love with our dinners up on Gibb's Lighthouse overlooking the island lights. Great food and service at a reasonable price. Thanks for the tip Wendell!! We spent many of our evenings laying in the provided lounge chairs staring at the millions of stars. Wow!! What a way to set a wonderful mood of romance with my wife of 20+ years. It was simply magical. Wendell even dropped off an anniversay gift for us to enjoy! Five Star service!:)

We fell in love with Wendell, Xinia and their family, and we certainly fell in love with Whispering Waves! Our five nights went way to quick, and we hope to return again next year. Don't hesitate to book Whispering Waves! You won't be sorry!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Paradise Found!

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

Whispering Waves is a little piece of paradise. It’s a place to retreat, relax, and rejuvenate. Last month we spent a week at this remarkable hideaway, and there was only one regret: Why didn’t we stay longer?
We felt the magic of Whispering Waves as soon as we arrived in Bermuda. Wendell Simons and his family extended warm hospitality right from the start, and their concern for our comfort extended throughout the week. We were met at the airport, given a tour of Bermuda, and shown how to get around the island. The Simons’ property above Cross Bay was breathtaking with its deck overlooking the brilliant turquoise blue waters of the ocean. We spent hours and hours in our lounge chairs taking it all in, and even slept out there under the stars until after midnight before heading inside. Close to the Simons’ property was a charming set of stone stairs leading down to a private beach where we spent hours enjoying the sand, sun and water. Generally we had this beautiful beach to ourselves, and only occasionally did we see anyone else in the area.
As award-winning hosts, Wendell and his wife know how to make guests feel comfortable – ensuring privacy while at the same time making themselves available as needed. Whenever we met up with either of them, they lit up with smiles and showed an exhilarating joie de vivre.
After we returned home completely refreshed from the time spent at Whispering Waves, not even a day went by before we were planning for a return visit next year.
Wendell loaned us a book which was about sharing joy and giving gifts of kindness; he and Xenia were great examples of people who do exactly that! In that book was a quote from Mark Twain who once said that he didn't have to go to heaven - he only needed to go to Bermuda. That's how we felt about Whispering Waves.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect for us!

Review submitted: August 2, 2013   Date of arrival: July 22, 2013

My wife "dragged" me along to Bermuda since she was having a conference at the Fairmont Southhampton hotel. Instead of staying at the posh resort, we decided to look for a nearby VRBO and ended up choosing this property to stay at for 5 days. Boy, are we glad we did!!! We ended up saving money and having a much more meaningful experience. We made new friends -- Wendell and his family -- and got to experience the Island less as a tourist and more as a very welcomed guest.

The room is small but well appointed and was all that we needed. Other reviews have detailed the amenities well and are accurate. The property is very well located, with easy 5-10 minute walks to good restaurants, a convenience store, a great dive shop, and the Fairmont where my wife's meeting was. Public beaches are nearby but the semi-private beach that you have access to (Cross Bay Beach) is a real gem and we never felt the need to go anywhere else. Sunrises were absolutely spectacular from the beach or from the chaise lounges on the property. Even though the sun sets more on the north side of the island, sunsets were nice as well and the evenings, with the moon rising in the southern sky, were really romantic.

It's hard to overstate the value of having a gracious host who is knowledgable and helpful and makes you feel like an old friend. Wendell was all of that for us, and I'm quite sure he is that way for everyone -- it's simply the way he is.

We like to do things our own way and to avoid travel that is too "packaged". Staying here for her meeting allowed us to experience Bermuda our way, but have access to more organized activities through the Fairmont as well. The best of both worlds.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect for us!

Review submitted: August 2, 2013   Date of arrival: July 22, 2013

My wife "dragged" me along to Bermuda since she was having a conference at the Fairmont Southhampton hotel. Instead of staying at the posh resort, we decided to look for a nearby VRBO and ended up choosing this property to stay at for 5 days. Boy, are we glad we did!!! We ended up saving money and having a much more meaningful experience. We made new friends -- Wendell and his family -- and got to experience the Island less as a tourist and more as a very welcomed guest.

The room is small but well appointed and was all that we needed. Other reviews have detailed the amenities well and are accurate. The property is very well located, with easy 5-10 minute walks to good restaurants, a convenience store, a great dive shop, and the Fairmont where my wife's meeting was. Public beaches are nearby but the semi-private beach that you have access to (Cross Bay Beach) is a real gem and we never felt the need to go anywhere else. Sunrises were absolutely spectacular from the beach or from the chaise lounges on the property. Even though the sun sets more on the north side of the island, sunsets were nice as well and the evenings, with the moon rising in the southern sky, were really romantic.

It's hard to overstate the value of having a gracious host who is knowledgable and helpful and makes you feel like an old friend. Wendell was all of that for us, and I'm quite sure he is that way for everyone -- it's simply the way he is.

We like to do things our own way and to avoid travel that is too "packaged". Staying here for her meeting allowed us to experience Bermuda our way, but have access to more organized activities through the Fairmont as well. The best of both worlds.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Little Piece of Heaven

Review submitted: August 1, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

We had an amazing time in Bermuda thanks largely to Wendall and our great accomodations! My husband and I arrived in Bermuda not knowing what to expect and were warmly greeted by Wendall. He immediately took us around and even waited for us to do a little grocery shopping. Our accomodations were clean and very nice and the highlight was the million dollar view from the house overlooking the ocean. The private beach was breathtaking with only a few people on the beach at any given time. We couldn't get enough! The location of the property is ideal and close to everything, including the bus stop. We were easily able to tour the whole island and were close enough to the major beaches and attactions. Every night we were able to sit back and enjoy our amazing view of the ocean. We also enjoyed talking to Wendall's wife who is equally as lovely and knowledgeable as her husband. We had a FABULOUS time in Bermuda and would definately come back! We highly recommend staying here, you won't be disappointed! :)

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Honeymoon Getaway

Review submitted: July 21, 2013   Date of arrival: July 4, 2013

I just spent half an hour writing a 2200 word review and it got erased!!

I'll say that Wendell was a wonderful, warm and generous host (as was the whole family!), the room is great (very clean, comfortable and well-appointed) and the location on the south shore couldn't be better (the beaches from Warwick Long Bay to Cross Bay along the south shore were our favorite).

We loved our 10-day honeymoon in Bermuda but know it wouldn't have been as good without Wendell's helpful tips and advice of the best places to see and eat at on the island. I couldn't more highly recommend staying at this location - you won't be disappointed!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Easily the best location on Bermuda!

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I traveled to Bermuda for a post-college graduation celebration and had an amazing time thanks to this awesome house and its location! The bus stop is conveniently located in front of the house and we were able to purchase breakfast and lunch foods that we were able to store in the fridge. We also cooked on the grill 2 nights as well! The owners are the sweetest and we're very helpful! The best part about the house was easily the location! I was told prior to traveling to Bermuda that I had to stay on the south shore side of the island by all the beaches and the location of this house made it possible! There's a private beach AND in just a 10 minute walk away, you'll find yourself at Horseshoe Bay Beach which extends for miles towards more of Bermuda's beautiful beaches. Overall, great vacation! And I highly recommend eating at The Pearl (downtown Hamilton) if you're a sushi lover, as well as the Pickled Onion and the Royal Bermuda Yacht Club!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

An amazing place, an amazing host.

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: May 15, 2013

I couldn't be more grateful to Wendell and his family for providing such a fantastic place and being all around awesome hosts. He was always around and helpful when I needed him, but was never overbearing. The perfect balance. He's a native, so he knew everything about the island and its secrets. But also an all-around great guy. The views from the lawn of the place are incredible and the beach down the steps across the street was beautiful and generally deserted. You're also close to the best beaches on the island. Hope to come back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful location and great hosts.

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 19, 2013

Great location with an unobstructed beautiful view of the ocean from the front lawn. It's incredibly serene at night with the moon and starts shining above and faint reflections in the ocean. There aren't many street lights here so you can soak it all in without distractions. There's a small private beach that's about a minute away from the property that's only shared by few local residents so we rarely saw anyone there. Beautiful and quiet. Although there are some steps going down, it shouldn't be an issue if you are relatively fit. If you want to mingle with other tourists there's the famous Horse Shoe Bay beach nearby. About 5 to 10 minutes walk. Not our cup of tea but it's an option. Though we did go there once late in the afternoon and it was nice and quiet.

What I also liked about is that there are no tall commercial buildings in sight. So if you want peace and quiet and a lot of greenery this is it.

There's a bus stop right off the property. It takes about 30 minutes to reach the central bus terminal in the City of Hamilton where you can switch to many bus routes on the island. Be sure to try the only KFC (I know, I know) on the island in Hamilton. I think it's better tasting than the ones here in the U.S. Maybe they are using the wild chickens running around the island in their recipe heheh.

Lastly, the owners. They are kind and hospitable. Wendell worked in the hotel business for many years so he knows how to take care of his guests. They are very helpful and willing to help even when it was late at night. We were picked up from the airport for free and Wendell even gave us a little tour of the neighborhood. He's also very knowledgeable so if you have questions about the island ask away.

We had a great time in Bermuda. It's filled with beautiful sights and great people.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful Island Wonderful People

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 3, 2013

The owners were very courteous and picked us up from the airport. They were very helpful with answering all of our questions and even stopped by a convenient store for us. The room is great for two, equipped with a flat screen TV, satellite, blu ray player with an assortment of dvds, microwave, refrigerator, spacious bathroom, and dishes. Also there is an amazing private beach a few steps away from the property. On the property is a personal Jacuzzi with picnic table which overlooks the ocean.

The location is amazing and is very close to the prime south shore beaches and is close to various hotels and eateries.

The owners are incredible, hospitable people and were a great addition to have on our trip. Hope you enjoy your trip!

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Best place in Bermuda!

Review submitted: April 10, 2013   Date of arrival: April 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited Bermuda on a last minute trip and had the pleasure of staying on this rental property. The owner and his family, along with the entire island, have to be some of the kindest people I have ever come across. We decided to come only a few days out, and the owner was extremely accommodating, answering all our questions and concerns and setting us up as quickly as possible.

The payment was a easy transfer through Western Union, which was safe and efficient. Once we arrived there, the owner personally picked us up from the airport and gave a great island tour as we drove to your rental. The rental itself is a cozy room with a large bathroom, perfect for 2 people. It is a private extension of the owner's house, which makes it very convenient to get a hold of him with any questions you may have. The most beautiful part is the location. Nestled in the middle of the Southshore Beaches, it has to be the best area on the island to vacation in. You not only have access to all the best beaches just within walking distance, but also have access to Cross Bay private beach, an intimate, breathtaking beach.

Other conveniences are: scooter rental (Oleander Wheels) 5 min walk; The Reef and Fairmont Southhampton Resorts 5 min walk; popular restaurants, Lighthouse Dining Room, Henry VII, Tio Pepe all walking distance; Golf Academy, Fairmont's famous golf courses all walking distance. Getting to Hamilton, Somerset, St. George's is very convenient with buses (bus stop is right outside the house) or if you decide to make the scenic scooter rides.

We had one of the best vacations here on this heavenly and safe island and this rental property made it even better with the friendliest owners and amazing location!

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review