reviews for: listing #35115 - Tucson, Arizona House rental

*As seen in Home and Garden Magazine*March Special $100 Off
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Downtown
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,495 - $2,995 /wk
    $4,200 - $6,595 /mth

sort by:

JUST GO FOR IT - you will not be disappointed.

Review submitted: August 12, 2014   Date of arrival: May 14, 2014

Craig has done a great job to make you feel special in a special place. We were a large group with differing demands and no one was disappointed. The house is a cross between a church and a Game of Thrones set and it is AWESOME. Our group consisted of a regular churchgoer (she went to mass around the corner) and teenagers (who did not rise before noon) and there was room for all to sleep, eat and have fun. The kitchen is well equipped and the neighborhood quiet. Craig has done all the important things right - comfy beds, nice linen, quality appliances. If I had to find something to improve, I would say "needs more dust control and a bigger TV would be nice during the NBA playoffs". But, who worries about that when the birds in the trees above sing to you each morning? The house is central to everything and the location took away the worry about kids driving after being out. Take a chance - stay some place where you will never forget your surroundings-its that different.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Relaxing Vacation

Review submitted: June 16, 2014   Date of arrival: May 31, 2014

The property was lovely, particularly the patio & pool. We certainly enjoyed sitting around the patio/pool area in early morning, coffee in hand, watching the birds & soaking up the lovely sunshine. In hot afternoons, frequent swims were taken. The kitchen contains high quality equipment and the MBR walk-in shower with rain-type shower head was lovely. The property is only a 10-15 minute drive to/from the airport. Craig was very friendly and we enjoyed meeting him.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Historic Home in Convenient Location

Review submitted: May 24, 2014   Date of arrival: May 1, 2014

Craig was great. He made himself available to answer all questions and provide restaurant recommendations in the local area. The convenient location is walking distance from the convention center and other downtown attractions. It was safe, quiet and comfortable. The best feature is the shower in the back of the house. Definitely AWESOME! We will definitely consider the Convent House for our next stay in Tucson.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

a wonderful sanctuary...

Review submitted: May 4, 2014   Date of arrival: March 11, 2014

The Convent is not just a place to stay but is a destination in itself...a wonderful sanctuary in a rather unexpectedly wonderful location.
The house anchors a prominent corner in the Viejo Barrio, capturing the flavor and history of southern Arizona and allowing an up-close taste of the Tucson of old and the city's slow emergence, perhaps siesta-paced, emergence into the present.
We loved the convenience of being able to walk to the downtown area, to the nearby restaurants/shops/bars, and to enjoy greeting neighbors as we strolled the historic area. It was a bonus that we were able to utilize our Y membership and workout at the downtown Lohse Family Y and stop at the bagel store on the walk home...just like locals.
The Convent, in keeping with it's "austere" title is unassuming on the exterior but opens from the street to a lovely, unique compound...high-ceilinged and fascinatingly decorated with religious artifacts, curiosities, and architectural features that give an almost museum-like feel to the place. With a nice indoor-outdoor balance of livable space we all gravitated to the covered patio, the pool and hot tub for most of the time.
Ever the gracious host, Craig was eager to respond to any query. We took advantage of his list of local restaurants...just ran out of time to get to them all!
What a treat to enjoy Casa Vicente, just at the end of the street, for our last night in Tucson...a lovely dinner and an authentic flamenco show.
We were so glad to have opted to book for three weeks rather than a briefer stay...a delightfully memorable place to host friends and family.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

A beautiful property, full of surprises

Review submitted: January 13, 2014   Date of arrival: November 22, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at this property. It was like living in another world for a bit. We would stay again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Coolest Tucson Rental

Review submitted: December 26, 2013   Date of arrival: December 19, 2013

What a cool place. We absolutely loved this historic beautiful home and will definitely stay here again. The bathrooms and kitchen were amazing and modern. Plenty of areas to sit and visit outdoors or inside. We walked to many amazing restaurants and to the charming Fox Theatre one night. My favorite restaurant was the Downtown Kitchen & Cocktails, but they were all good. Craig and Israel were very easygoing and helpful. See you next time!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Perfect relaxing family get away!

Review submitted: July 26, 2013   Date of arrival: July 7, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this beautiful home! Our children were constantly entertained with the use of the nice swimming pool, the kitchen had everything we could possibly need, and the beds were super comfortable! We were looking for a relaxing vacation home while we visited family members in the Tucson area...this place was perfect! Every detail has been thought of, Craig and Israel made themselves available to us at all times, and we loved the uniqueness of this very special home! Thanks for a wonderful week!

Helpful votes: 13 / 14

 

your superb and unusual vacation home

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

Convent House and your personal tour was just as we had hoped from previous reviwers, so we were delighted from the get go and continued to feel that way throughout our all too short stay . Everything was to our liking and you attended to the pool/AC questions promptly. Pool use and AC written instructions would be helpful for those of us who are more used to handling heating sytems!

We would heartliy recommed this house and this area of Arizona to anyone who is looking for a memorable trip, on their own terms as opposed to resort living. Too many great things to list and we will return. Hope for more downtime at the house next time as we enjoyed being there so much.

Mexican food was great at small, cheap restaurants as were the Mexican supermarkets for home cooking in great kitchen . More cutlery, cups, plates and dishes would be very helpful as we were a party of 7 liking to eat in.

We have been home nearly 3 weeks and have many fond memories of the house and the area and we plan on returning to this charming and highly photogenic location.

Helpful votes: 13 / 14

 

A piece of history with modern amenities

Review submitted: March 28, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

This home was wonderful for our group. Every inch of the property shows loving care and attention to details...historical and modern updates. It is in easy walking distance of many wonderful downtown places to eat and museums to visit, while having a huge private courtyard where you feel miles away from others.
We will be back.

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

Perfection in the Old Pueblo!

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 3, 2012

This house is more than just a house. It's a sanctuary, a magical and wonderful place. My wife and I enjoyed a perfect vacation in Tucson thanks to the comforts of the Convent house. This was the first time we've ever done a vacation rental. We looked into the local resorts, but we were not thrilled about losing all of the comforts, conveniences, and the independence that being in a home afford us. We took a first time chance in Craig and we are SO glad that we did. The pictures on this site, as lovely as they are, do not do the house justice. We walked in, our jaws dropped at the beauty of the house, and we walked around dumbfounded for days. The house is clean beyond reproach and filled with every amenity imaginable. Love to cook? This is the house for you. I cooked daily in the kitchen and loved it. Everything was there: the fancy stove, fridge and freezer, ice maker, superior pots and pans, even a high-end citrus juicer! Full laundry services, unique showers, beautiful decor. Beds and couches are comfortable. The pool, the spa, the backyard, the fountain...I could go on and on. It broke my heart to leave and we will be sure to enjoy Craig's hospitality year after year from now on. Do yourself a favor and rent here. You will not regret it!

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

Serenity and seclusion in a harmonious atmosphere

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 28, 2012

One would never imagine that this jewel was hidden here! The front of the home is simple and unassuming. It opens up into a lovely corridor, that then opens up into an airy vestibule/foyer, where directly outside, one can see a hint of the grandeur of the backyard. From the foyer the home spreads into a split floor plan with an abundance of space and privacy. Immediately off of the foyer is a up-to-date bathroom with a unique yet classic step-in shower. To the left is a lovely vintage kitchen, modified with the amenities of now. Attached to the kitchen, a formal dining area that boasts elegance and an antiquarian appeal. Off of the dining area is a well-appointed bathroom which houses a vintage clawfoot tub; this attaches to a comfy bedroom. One would almost think the other side of the home was a separate quarters. From the foyer, through a large doorway and with a step down, there is a sitting area graced with a couch, chairs, a desk, and a flat-screen tv. This room then splits--to one side is a huge, heavy-duty, double door that leads into another bedroom, overlooking the street. To the other side, though another set of doors, is a large area, furnished with chairs, a decorative fountain, a daybed and a Murphy bed. Behind the Murphy bed, through a corridor, there is a step up into a gorgeous, well-appointed bathroom with an overhead, rainfall shower that looks out over the serene back yard. The home is thoroughly, yet tastefully decorated with hints of history throughout. To say the least, the back yard is an oasis, filled with natural growth of desert landscape, as well as colorful hints of annuals and perennials. Stepping outside from the house, the fountain is welcoming and soothing. The yard is well-appointed, not overdone, not barren. The pool sits just off of the outside sitting area. It is perfectly situated in the backyard so that the sun dances on the water at the right times. The home is close and conveniently located to everything, but due to it's impeccable privacy and charm, a guest would not know it. Do not hesitate--stay here.

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

The house is nothing short of amazing. Located in the Barrio Viejo, the house is well situated for those who want to experience the character of a neighborhood rich in history and architecture. Definitely get out on foot and explore. Two small parks, El Tiradito and Teatro Carmen are noteworthy sites, and La Pilita, a small museum devoted to the history and culture of the barrio, is well worth a visit, as is the Jewish History Museum. All are just a short walk away. Friendly neighbors throughout the district, good restaurants within walking distance (don’t miss El Minuto), and a home filled with great amenities like a beautiful courtyard with a pool and fountain made my stay a pleasure. The comfortable and immaculate rooms are filled with rich architectural details and wonderful pieces of art reminiscent of old Sonora and the Mexican heritage of the neighborhood. Craig and Israel were the perfect hosts - considerate and quick to respond to all questions. Craig took time on my arrival to make sure that I was familiar with the layout of the house as well as all its features, and he thoughtfully provided information on nearby attractions, restaurants and grocery stores. Their respect for the home’s past is evident, and I very much appreciate the opportunity to have enjoyed it. I will be looking forward to staying again in the future!

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Unique Property

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: May 29, 2012

Great place to stay and close to everything whether you are driving,biking,or walking. Good restaurants very close to the home. We will return for our next stay in Tucson.

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

A Spanish Marvel

Review submitted: February 1, 2012   Date of arrival: November 26, 2011

Well, everything was just perfect!
- Coming from Washington state where it rains more often than not, the weather was divine. We noticed everyone else in sweaters and hoodies, but we sported summer gear!
- Just enduring the craziness of Thanksgiving holiday, it was sweet to relax without the expectations of entertaining. We had the music blaring, splashed in the pool, and soaked in the sun.
- Vacationing with a toddler and another one on the way, it was one of the least stressful and most enjoyable vacations I've had. (And we travel quite a bit!)
-Just fabulous.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Old Tucson Charmer Lives Up to It's image

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: December 3, 2011

The pictures tell a thousand tales of the old neighborhood (Barrio Viejo) and the house lived up to every one of them. Every room has its own identity and charm. But the charm would only have gone so far if the home was not outfitted to accommodate every need. Comfortable beds, check. Bathrooms and showers, check. Fully equipped kitchen, check. Laundry room, check. Beautiful pool and hot tub, check. Put all of this in a perfect location within walking distance to many restaurants and within 15 minutes driving of everything else in town and you have a complete package for a Tucson home base that will make you feel like a local. It is not a generic rental but part of the Tucson experience and one not to miss.

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Convent House

Review submitted: December 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

This property definetly lived up to our expectations. Our family of 9 spent the week of Thanksgiving. We enjoyed the downtown location with easy walking distance to some great attractions and fine dinning. The house is an experience in southwest history. The pool area with fireplace was an extra bonus for lounging on a sunny Arizona day. We rented a car from Enterprise (just a few blocks)to travel to the amazing Desert Museum and to Mt. Lemmon. We had a family picture taken by a local photographer using the colorful back drop of buildings up and down the streets nearby.

Mr. C was very accomodating for our early arrival and responded immediatly to any questions or concerns. If you want an experience and not just a place to stay, I would reccommend this historic house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

What a neat place to stay!!!

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: October 27, 2011

HI Craig,
Thank you so much for letting us stay in your home. Our family had a wonderful vacation exploring your spanish colonial home. It was really great that each couple had their own wing of the house with lots of space. We spent most of our time sitting outside and in the pool/hot tub admiring the landscaping and interesting archiatecture. We would definitely come and stay there again. Everything was perfect! I would recommend this property to anyone visiting the Tucson area. It is in a great location to get to shopping, restaurants, and the mountains.
See you again soon - the Canadian Contingency :)

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Wonderful place to stay!

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: August 24, 2011

Everything about this home is awesome! The atmosphere is fantastic - the home itself, the courtyard, the pool. We stayed a week with our daughter, son-in-law, and new grandbaby, and it was a great place to just hang out and visit - plenty of room for everyone.

I spent every morning enjoying my coffee and ipad in the courtyard. Very peaceful setting with plenty of privacy, comfortable furniture, and beautiful potted plants everywhere. Our afternoons were spent in the pool. The lights around the pool and fountain at night make the perfect setting for unwinding with a glass of wine.

I felt comfortable to jog in the mornings - plenty to see in the area, including the downtown area only a few blocks away. We walked to the nearby Mexican Food restaurant (El Minuto) in the evenings. The restaurant was great - very accomodating to us with the baby and stroller - and excellent food and Margarita's, very reasonably priced.

My husband - an avid golfer - loved the convenience of Starr Pass Golf Resort.

The kitchen is wonderful - fantastic appliances, and well stocked with everything needed for cooking, baking, etc. Outdoor grill was great.

We were extremely impressed with how well stocked the house was with all the basics - towels, soaps, shampoos, linens, sunscreen, etc. I highly recommend checking in before heading to the store - you'll be surprised at how little you'll need to purchase for your stay.

The owners were extremely friendly, and helpful, and quick to reply to any concerns or questions we had.

I highly recommend this home. We loved it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Living in a Museum

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

My first impression of this home when we walked in was WOW!!!! The home is lovely, spacious, and decorated to the nth degree with religious artifacts. But it's not only the 300 year old crucifix and the 50 candle grotto, it's the amazing chandeliers and the decked out kitchen! The attention to detail is spectacular. The pool, hot tub and patio area were awesome. There are chaise lounges, a super comfortable seating area where we played cards and just enjoyed eachother's company, there's also a dining table and chairs....the outside is as beautifully decorated as the inside AND it was decked out with speakers for our iPods (big hit with the kids). We spent the majority of our time enjoying the pool area. It's perfect for coffee in the morning and wine in the evening. The kids (two 17 year olds and a 10 year old) never tired of the pool amenties once. It was simply beatiful.

If you are in Tucson attending an event at the Convention Center, you'd be CRAZY not to stay here. It is literally one block away. We were in Tucson for the USA Volleyball HP Competition. It was so convenient being so close. We could come and go as we pleased.

The University of Arizona is a short drive down the road (or a long walk). There are lots of shops and restaurants right near University Boulevard and 6th Street. Our teenagers had a lot of fun checking that out! The Chocolate Iguana has amazing muffins..just sayin'. We also drove to the top of Mount Lemmon which has breathtaking views. Tucson also has some really good restaurants. The mexican restaurant a block away from the house, El Minuto, had great food, great prices and is super friendly. Jax Kitchen about 15 minutes drive on North Oracle had outstanding food. Definitely worth the drive!

Craig and Isreal, the owners, were so easy to do business with, starting from my first email asking about location to the Convention Center. They stopped by when we arrived to go over any questions about the house. Trust me, you'll appreciate the tour! This house has so many intricacies, the tour is a must! They were so friendly and helpful!! I know this is crazy, but I really liked paying through Paypal. It's so much easier than the whole check in the mail exchange. So thank you, Craig and Isreal, for making our stay so pleasant from start to finish!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Relaxing Desert Oasis in Downtown Tucson

Review submitted: July 25, 2011   Date of arrival: July 5, 2011

I would like to say thank you for letting us stay in your house. It is a great location for day trips in southern Arizona and it is great to come home to such a relaxing pool after a long day of sightseeing. It's central location in Tucson gave us so many options to eat out at night. It is only 8 minutes from U of A and 10 minutes from the cusinos. I would recommend this house to anyone who has kids, pets or couples who just want to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Thank you once again

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Awesome!!!

Review submitted: July 5, 2011   Date of arrival: June 20, 2011

I just have to say that we had the best time staying at this house. My friend and I got there early in the week and enjoyed everything about it, the pool the kitchen which I loved and all the space. We had seven other girls join us later in the week and I have to say there was still enough space for all of us and we all had a blast! Every girl was so excited to check the place out and the pictures don't even do it justice. I have to say thank you to the owners because you can see the care that they put into there home. I know if I'm heading back down to Tucson I'm giving them a call! Thank you again to the owners and the home is beautiful.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Best vacation ever!

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 16, 2011

We had a group of mid singles that stayed there and everyone LOVED this place! I have rented many homes and this one was by far one of the cleanest and well stocked places. The place is amazing with neat decorations everywhere and I love the ambiance. We spent most of our time in the pool and just enjoying our getaway. For dinner we went to a fun 4th st resturant Lindy's diner where we had there mac and cheese burger (yummy)
We would recommend this place to anyone who wants a unique place to stay. We will be back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

The Best Spring Break Ever!

Review submitted: May 19, 2011   Date of arrival: April 15, 2011

We stayed in this wonderful home for a week in April with our teenage daughter and a friend, and younger son. There was plenty of room for everyone, and the pool and jacuzzi were daily hits. The home is centrally located to everything. We walked every morning and often, to dinner.If you are an adventurer, there is Seguaro National Park, Copper Mines, Kartchner Caverns, Tombstone, and the airplane Boneyard, all a reasonable drive away. The owners and kind and accomodating, even offering to bring groceries for breakfast when we wouldn't arrive til late.This is a trip that will please all ages and you can't compete with the gorgeous setting and constant sunshine!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Unique Rental!

Review submitted: April 17, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

This property was great! There were 6 of us staying here for a course we were taking in town. The house is within walking distance (less than a half mile) from downtown Tucson. There is one offsite parking spot and then plenty of street parking as well. The pool and jacuzzi were a nice way to hang out and relax - you can control the temperatures and make it however you like. There is a ton of room, and the decorations of the place make it a unique and one of a kind place to stay. There is a large outdoor area that is great for eating dinner, and we had a bbq one night and the ipod hook up for the outdoor speakers is a great way to create a nice atmosphere for you and your guests. There is also a large outdoor heater in case its chilly at night. The kitchen is equipped with anything you would need and the most modern appliances. There is only 1 TV in the living room, but we spent all our time at our course, sightseeing that at night we just wanted to hang out in the pool or outside anyways. There is even a working fountain in one of the bedrooms! It was truly a great experience, and a lot of our fellow residents were jealous of the amazing place we got for such a great deal!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

A peaceful retreat in the middle of everything!

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 17, 2011

Do you ever ask yourself: "I wonder if it will look like the pictures?" Looking for a home (not just a house) to rent for my grandmothers (yes!) wedding I thought I could go conventional, which is nice, plain and simple, or I could go totally unconventional, I chose the later, and I am SO happy I did!

This house is just like the photos, if not better! My whole family came by to see the house during our visit. Everyone had to take pictures...Of the house... My family from Tucson said that this was the greatest house they had seen!

Enough about us....

The owners are gracious and always available if you need them. They gave a wonderful tour of the property and were very open with suggestions.

The house itself is a wonderful blend of modern and historical features. The appliances are fabulous (I wish they could have fit in my suitcase!) The beds are comfy. There are wonderful photos and memorabilia throughout the home.

There are plenty of extras: towels, dishes, spices, detergent, shower products, oh my! :)

The house is located in a wonderful area close to lots of things, we drove some places and walked to others.

When you step outside the home at night there are lights surrounding the pool and if you like music available that sets the stage for a wonderful romantic and/or family gathering.

I will always remember our stay at the Convent House with fondness and awe of the work that went into the actual building of the property, some 100+ years ago and the thoughtfulness of the owners to make our stay in 2010 simply wonderful.

This was one of the best times of my life, thank you for adding to the Tucson experience :)

J.H.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

A Space for Peace and Joy!

Review submitted: November 1, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

I was so blessed to find this incredibly decorated home. Not only is every room so creatively put, but the beds and pillows are extremely comfortable. A great night sleep every time. The kitchen and bathrooms were filled with all the right ameninties too. The backyard is beautifully landscaped with set timers for all the lighting and water fountain:) Such a nice sound to wake up to! We had wonderful family barbeques every night in the back. The home has lots of votive candles, making the ambiance even more spectacular. Honestly, this home is perfect! I felt very comfortable, happy, relaxed and safe the minute we arrived until the day we left:( I must confess I really didn't want to leave. I was ready to call it "home". But, I realize, there are many others, like yourself, that deserve the same wonderful experience. In Spirit, Nadine Thank you so much for creating this "Gem"

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Great stay!

Review submitted: September 22, 2010   Date of arrival: August 27, 2010

My stay was amazing. The home is very clean and well stocked with everything we needed. We enjoyed the home so much that we didn't want to leave! Can't wait until next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

The HOME made our vacation even better!

Review submitted: September 22, 2010   Date of arrival: August 27, 2010

Every detail was amazing. The home was very clean and well stocked with everything we needed. We can't wait to stay again next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Greatest vacation home ever.

Review submitted: July 30, 2010   Date of arrival: July 11, 2010

My wife found this house to rent online, and we decided for our anniversary to rent it for a week in July. After reading the reviews and seeing the pictures, we felt pretty good about our decision. After arriving at the home, we lost that good feeling. And replaced it with an incredible, uplifting, wonderful feeling that lasted all week long. I've never felt so relaxed on a vacation. The owners made us feel at home as soon as we arrived, and were incredibly gracious. They were accommodating and great with our dogs, and left all of their details in case we needed anything. They walked through the house with me, showing me everything I needed to know to operate all the amenities in the house. The pool and spa were perfect, and the kitchen was more than ample. I was surprised to see the high quality Calphalon pots/pans, and the amount and quality of appliances available (including a Kitchen Aid mixer, meat grinder, and more). There is a dvd player, sound system, LCD TV, and Wi-Fi internet access, all of which were top notch. The house was immaculate in terms of cleanliness, and nearby we found all the stores we needed (a farmers market, Whole Foods, Trader Joes, along with many others). There is golfing nearby, and a tennis and racquetball court, among other activities. In all, the house was phenomenal, and we will most definitely be taking a trip down there again. If you get a chance to stay here, you'd be crazy not to take it. Even after we left, the owners contacted me to ask about some things we accidentally left behind, and were kind enough ship them to my address. Thank you for the wonderful experience, we hope to come back soon.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing!

Review submitted: July 11, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2009

We loved, loved, loved ths place! Perfect getaway for rest and relaxation. The backyard was great as well. We pluggued in the iPod every monring and left t on until dark. We loved the spacious house and the little luxuries which were all throughout the home. The location was great. Close to everything. Our dogs really enjoyed it, too. We will definitly go back.
Recommended for: Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

THE place to stay in TUcson

Review submitted: July 11, 2010   Date of arrival: October 10, 2009

This is THE place to stay if you visit Tucson. What a unique property! An amazing space with the all the creature comforts. Close to all the things to do in downtown, 4th Ave, and University. The owner is great to work with and the experience was outstanding. Would recomment 100%. Thanks for everything!!

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best spot in Tucson!

Review submitted: July 11, 2010   Date of arrival: October 3, 2009

This might be the most believable rental I have ever stayed at, would not consider any other property if you are visiting Tucson. Comfortable, convenient, and not to mention the architecture will knock your socks off. You truly feel at home here!

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Warm, Sexy and Relaxing

Review submitted: July 11, 2010   Date of arrival: December 18, 2009

We rented this downtown historic home over New Year's and boy was it a treat! This place is part folk art, part historic adobe, part relaxing spa and a wonderful layout for entertaining. Our dogs loved it too -- especially the walks around the friendly neighborhood!

We had a great time using the well-equipped kitchen. The living room was perfect for watching movies. We liked the layout with the split bedrooms. We didn't tire of just hanging out at the house.

There are a number of really good restaurants nearby. There is also a Whole Foods near the University if you want to cook. Our hosts were very accomodating of our questions, even on a holiday weekend.

The only problem with this place was that we didn't have more time to stay!
John & Heather

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Time of our lives

Review submitted: July 11, 2010   Date of arrival: April 16, 2010

I found this home an oasis! It was everything I was looking for and more! It made my stay in Tucson a historical event, for me as well as my family. I hope to return again and again!
The description of the house was accurate, all the amenities were provided. It was clean and the customer service was excellent

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Barrio Historico Gem

Review submitted: July 11, 2010   Date of arrival: March 5, 2010

We rented this authentic adobe home during spring 2010. The home has been updated with several amenities including a relaxing courtyard with pool and hot tub. While outside you can listen to your ipod from the multiple speakers hung around the patio, which is major plus. Inside you will find a nicely appointed kitchen with professional grade oven and fridge. Also the owners have done a great job of decorating the home in traditional southwestern style. The home is located in the “Barrio Historico” and is very close to downtown Tucson. While the location is ideal for reaching several of the local attractions we woke a few times in the early AM. Unfortunately the local freight train yard is a few miles away and the sound definitely carries! Aside from that minor drawback, the home was truly a unique experience and we had a great time. The property owners will strive to make your stay memorable and take great care of this historic property.

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Home-style Resort

Review submitted: July 11, 2010   Date of arrival: June 11, 2010

We rented this lovely home for ourselves and our closest friends to attend our son's wedding. It was the perfect blend of home, with the well-equipped kitchen and resort with the beautiful pool and spa. The spacious layout allowed all of us a sense of privacy, even though members of 4 different families stayed and got ready for a wedding there.

We also hosted a rehearsal lunch, and the home easily accomodated 25 people for buffet style dining. The pool provided a great opportunity for the entire party to relax and get to know each other.

My favorite part of the stay was sitting by the pool in the early morning and listening to the birds. I even saw a passing hummingbird. I never tired of the sounds of the splashing fountain or the sights of cacti and flowers surrounding the pool.

Although we came for the wedding, we stayed for a vacation. The home is close to downtown where we had an amazing breakfast at the historic Hotel Congress, and the University of Arizona where we saw a special exhibit on the film Metropolis at the Museum of Art.

We are already thinking of returning and using the home for a family reunion.

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We hope to return to this charming spot

Review submitted: July 11, 2010   Date of arrival: June 4, 2010

We can only describe our recent stay in this historic home as idyllic, like stepping into one of the Clint Eastwood oaters except with modern kitchen and bathrooms. You need only bring a few clothes as shampoo, laundry soap, complete kitchen equipment and even basic spices were provided. Several family members, who were also in town for an anniversary celebration, found it the perfect place to spend the day. I think half of our vacation pictures were in the house and patio. A memorable BBQ party for 15 guests was a breeze to prepare thanks to the spacious and unique kitchen, courtyard and pool. We did keep an eye on our 90 year old mother as the floors are what one would want to find in such an inspired restoration. After a few days she was right at home. We are planning another visit in the near future and would never consider staying at a hotel after this delightful experience. The owners and even the neighbors were friendly and helpful. Great dining and shopping close by and an easy drive to desert and mountain sight seeing. A big thumbs up from our whole family.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wow!

Review submitted: July 11, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

While seeking out a much needed retreat, I stumbled upon this incredible place. It was more than I truly expected! The attention to decorating detail, captured the true essence of this home away from home. The owners were very hospitable & their customer service, was truly appreciated!!! some choices I made, purely from reviews, I would have done differently. I would have either had a car or a bike to get around, as I needed to get groceries & wanted to explore the area & didn't want to spend to much time away from this Oasis. I almost brought my mother & glad I didn't as there are a lot of step ups & step downs & a cobble stone court yard, surrounding the pool...all of what makes it an amazing place, just a bit of a challenge for the not so sure footed. Thanks again for giving me the feeling, I was home!

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Wow!!!

Review submitted: July 6, 2010   Date of arrival: April 28, 2010

While seeking out a much needed retreat, I stumbled upon this incredible place. It was more than I truly expected! The attention to decorating detail, captured the true essence of this home away from home. The owners were very hospitable & their customer service, was truly appreciated!!! some choices I made, purely from reviews, I would have done differently. I would have either had a car or a bike to get around, as I needed to get groceries & wanted to explore the area & didn't want to spend to much time away from this Oasis. I almost brought my mother & glad I didn't as there are a lot of step ups & step downs & a cobble stone court yard, surrounding the pool...all of what makes it an amazing place, just a bit of a challenge for the not so sure footed. Thanks again for giving me the feeling, I was home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

We hope to return to this charming spot

Review submitted: June 24, 2010   Date of arrival: June 3, 2010

We can only describe our recent stay in this historic home as idyllic, like stepping into one of the Clint Eastwood oaters except with modern kitchen and bathrooms. You need only bring a few clothes as shampoo, laundry soap, complete kitchen equipment and even basic spices were provided. Several family members, who were also in town for an anniversary celebration, found it the perfect place to spend the day. I think half of our vacation pictures were in the house and patio. A memorable BBQ party for 15 guests was a breeze to prepare thanks to the spacious and unique kitchen, courtyard and pool. We did keep an eye on our 90 year old mother as the floors are what one would want to find in such an inspired restoration. After a few days she was right at home. We are planning another visit in the near future and would never consider staying at a hotel after this delightful experience. The owners and even the neighbors were friendly and helpful. Great dining and shopping close by and an easy drive to desert and mountain sight seeing. A big thumbs up from our whole family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Home-style Resort

Review submitted: June 20, 2010   Date of arrival: June 8, 2010

We rented this lovely home for ourselves and our closest friends to attend our son's wedding. It was the perfect blend of home, with the well-equipped kitchen and resort with the beautiful pool and spa. The spacious layout allowed all of us a sense of privacy, even though members of 4 different families stayed and got ready for a wedding there.

We also hosted a rehearsal lunch, and the home easily accomodated 25 people for buffet style dining. The pool provided a great opportunity for the entire party to relax and get to know each other.

My favorite part of the stay was sitting by the pool in the early morning and listening to the birds. I even saw a passing hummingbird. I never tired of the sounds of the splashing fountain or the sights of cacti and flowers surrounding the pool.

Although we came for the wedding, we stayed for a vacation. The home is close to downtown where we had an amazing breakfast at the historic Hotel Congress, and the University of Arizona where we saw a special exhibit on the film Metropolis at the Museum of Art.

We are already thinking of returning and using the home for a family reunion.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Barrio Historico Gem

Review submitted: May 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 31, 2010

We rented this authentic adobe home during spring 2010. The home has been updated with several amenities including a relaxing courtyard with pool and hot tub. While outside you can listen to your ipod from the multiple speakers hung around the patio, which is major plus. Inside you will find a nicely appointed kitchen with professional grade oven and fridge. Also the owners have done a great job of decorating the home in traditional southwestern style. The home is located in the “Barrio Historico” and is very close to downtown Tucson. While the location is ideal for reaching several of the local attractions we woke a few times in the early AM. Unfortunately the local freight train yard is a few miles away and the sound definitely carries! Aside from that minor drawback, the home was truly a unique experience and we had a great time. The property owners will strive to make your stay memorable and take great care of this historic property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

The Time of our lives

Review submitted: April 25, 2010   Date of arrival: April 11, 2010

I found this home an oasis! It was everything I was looking for and more! It made my stay in Tucson a historical event, for me as well as my family. I hope to return again and again!
The description of the house was accurate, all the amenities were provided. It was clean and the customer service was excellent!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Warm, Sexy and Relaxing

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: December 31, 2009

We rented this downtown historic home over New Year's and boy was it a treat! This place is part folk art, part historic adobe, part relaxing spa and a wonderful layout for entertaining. Our dogs loved it too -- especially the walks around the friendly neighborhood!

We had a great time using the well-equipped kitchen. The living room was perfect for watching movies. We liked the layout with the split bedrooms. We didn't tire of just hanging out at the house.

There are a number of really good restaurants nearby. There is also a Whole Foods near the University if you want to cook. Our hosts were very accomodating of our questions, even on a holiday weekend.

The only problem with this place was that we didn't have more time to stay!
John & Heather

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous!

Review submitted: December 15, 2009   Date of arrival: November 7, 2009

Craig and Israel,
The home is "FABULOUS." We are here for a family reunion and we have invited many family members and local friends over and they have all fallen in love with this amazing home. Today, I had my morning coffee in the Jaccuzi, the temp outside was a bit on the crisp side so that mixed with the warm water made for a memerable morning! Everday is like a treasure hunt. I look and find yet another of your hidden little treasures. We keep bring our friends and family over for the "tour" of the house. This is the type of a house where you don't want to take anything with you, you just want to leave something-so, on the couch in the entryway, we have left you and old antique mirror for your home. It is a gift from my sister Connie. She is a local here and deals in estates. She is also a custom jewler and owns Green Valley Jewlers. She loved the home too. Thank you for your home.

Helpful votes: 20 / 20

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Special Sancuary

Review submitted: December 15, 2009   Date of arrival: May 8, 2009

You've created an extremely sprirtual sancuary-everyone should discover such a place on their travels. With great appreciation!

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Grandkids

Review submitted: December 15, 2009   Date of arrival: March 21, 2009

Our visit with our children and grandchildren was greatly enhanced by your wonderful home. It was like living in a Spanish Palace. The decor was facinating as was the beautiful pool and courtyard. Thank you so much for the experience.

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cool Place

Review submitted: December 15, 2009   Date of arrival: March 21, 2009

Dear Israel and Craig,
We loved our week here! The pool and spa were great, surrounded by so much cool stuff to look at. Fun shower and tub and furniture-just an excellent time all around!!

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peaceful stay

Review submitted: December 15, 2009   Date of arrival: February 20, 2009

Dear Israel and Craig,
I haven't met you, but can only love you and thank you for such a house. I loved even the smallest object!! It felt great to come home after a stay at work to enter peace and comfort.

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Dreams

Review submitted: December 15, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

Dear Craig and Israel,
Thank you so much for designing such a beautiful space. Everyone who sees your home is in love and I had the most beaufiful dreams here-awake and asleep! So, hope to come again soon! Your home is as lovely as your are!

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Best spot in Tucson!

Review submitted: November 10, 2009   Date of arrival: October 15, 2009

This might be the most believable rental I have ever stayed at, would not consider any other property if you are visiting Tucson. Comfortable, convenient, and not to mention the architecture will knock your socks off. You truly feel at home here!

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 

THE place to stay in TUcson

Review submitted: November 1, 2009   Date of arrival: October 13, 2009

This is THE place to stay if you visit Tucson. What a unique property! An amazing space with the all the creature comforts. Close to all the things to do in downtown, 4th Ave, and University. The owner is great to work with and the experience was outstanding. Would recomment 100%. Thanks for everything!!

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: September 11, 2009   Date of arrival: September 4, 2009

We loved, loved, loved ths place! Perfect getaway for rest and relaxation. The backyard was great as well. We pluggued in the iPod every monring and left t on until dark. We loved the spacious house and the little luxuries which were all throughout the home. The location was great. Close to everything. Our dogs really enjoyed it, too. We will definitly go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Wonderful Visit

Review submitted: August 26, 2009   Date of arrival: August 14, 2009

My family had a wonderful time at this incredible house. The home is beautifully decorated, yet sturdy enough for my 3 and 1.5 year old kids (although there are a lot of cacti in the courtyard, which the little ones thankfully avoided). They loved exploring the home and we all enjoyed the pool and outdoor courtyard. The home was very clean and well maintained in a historic part of Tucson. We will look forward to returning to the home when we are back in Tucson.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

a week in July!

Review submitted: July 25, 2009   Date of arrival: July 10, 2009

We initially rented this house because it had amenities we wanted: a private pool and spa. We also wanted a home that would be comfortable. This home far exceeded our expectations.

This home is spacious with extraordinarily high ceilings. It was built in 1880--and feels like it. But, all the modern, upscale amenities make it very comfortable. Just plug in your iPod to the stereo system, and you can relax by the pool or under that expansive covered porch and listen to music. Go to Whole Foods and stock up the amazing stainless steel refrigerator. Buy some fresh fish from Uri at the Rincon Market and grill it on the outdoor grill. Or, if you're feeling lazy, take a three-minute walk and have lunch or dinner at El Minuto.

The owners were very accommodating and kind. We will stay in this home again when we visit Tucson--and we'll recommend it to our friends and family.

There are indeed Catholic religious symbols everywhere--including a 300-year old fairly large crucifix. The home naturally lends itself to this motif. As a nonpracticing, non religious Jews, we found this to be very fitting for the home and its architecture.

- David & Ann Marie

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Unique, interesting home in historic district

Review submitted: June 10, 2009   Date of arrival: March 14, 2009

This was a lovely place to stay for a week. The house was large and meticulously appointed (especially a fantastic kitchen). It was a treat to stay in a historic building that had been so thoughtfully renovated. We particularly loved the private courtyard with the swimming pool and hot tub. We could walk to various locations - the neighborhood seemed perfectly safe and it was quiet and pleasant. The owners were extremely nice.

The one thing that took us slightly aback was the intensity of the religious motif in the household decorating - it made sense given the proximity to a former convent but it was certainly noticeable, particularly for NY Jews. There were many, many crucifixes and similar religious artifacts in every room. Still, we were much happier staying there than in the usual sterile condo in some housing development up in the foothills.

It's true that there are little steps and irregularities in the floor surfaces (made of old brick) so the older adults in our party had to be careful. Nonetheless, we all had a very happy time there.

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Perfect Hideaway

Review submitted: May 30, 2009   Date of arrival: January 23, 2009

So relaxing....an escape, I loved every minute of my wonderful stay. The home is amazing!! If you are looking for a clean, comfortable amazing experience, this is it! I can't say enough about this home and the hosts--I highly recommend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Gem Show

Review submitted: April 17, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

My best friend Isha and two other girlfriends all rented this wonderful home for the Gem Show. It is so spacious and comfortable and afforded all of us privacy since it has three bedrooms and three baths that are very well spaced out for total privacy. It feels like a grand home and was wonderful to entertain in. The garden with hot tub and pool was lit beautifully. The owners have decorated this place with such panache. This is the first wonderful place we've found in all the years we've done the gem show. I couldn't help but take photos of the space to show friends how talented these fellows are at decorating. I felt totally at home. The owners took care of things we needed and didn't have. Clean and neat. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Amazing Week

Review submitted: April 10, 2009   Date of arrival: March 21, 2009

We had a wonderful time in this magnificent home. Every detail of the home was impeccably planned out. The home is an artistic pleasure and offers visual delights at every turn. There is so much too admire that it took the entire week to see it all.

The home was clean, welcoming and comfortable. You can really tell that the owners care about the property. They were very accommodating and friendly.

The neighborhood is very friendly and it is reminiscent of an old European burrow. One night we walked down to a quaint Mexican restaurant called El Minuto. The food was authentic, delicious, and relatively inexpensive.

We would definitely come back and stay again and we highly recommend this rental.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: March 8, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

You will never get an experience like this in a hotel. We spent most of our time in the amazing private courtyard, which features a beautiful pool, fireplace and hot tub. The outdoor sound system and gas bar-b-que gave it that extra special touch. We appreciated all the amenities of home including washer and dryer, which came in handy after many days of hiking. The location is absolutely perfect and we were within walking distance of downtown and several great neighborhood restaurants. The owners were excellent hosts and greeted us at the property when we arrived to show us around and how to use the features of the property. There are several steps up and down in the home, so I would not recommend the property to someone in a wheelchair or very frail or elderly. I would stay here again and would recommend it to any traveler who wants to stay in a true piece of Tucson history.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review