reviews for: listing #3519710ha - Tamarindo, Costa Rica rental

3-Bedroom Ocean View Villa in Private Community
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 314 - $ 642 / night
    $ 2,500 - $ 4,499 / week
  • sleeps  8
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Voted Our Number One

Review submitted: May 20, 2014   Date of arrival: April 20, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Las Mareas was beautiful, quiet, and organized. The cleaning staff and the security staff (at the gate, and also outside the villa at night) were very friendly. Everything that was needed inside the villa was provided for. It was very well thought out. Thanks to Las Mareas management both before we arrived and during our stay (with their help in organzing our activities) we had a most wonderful time. We have visited a few tropical places in the past across the world. We put it to the vote on our way to the airport. It was unanimous that Costa Rica (especially Tamarindo) has got to be our number one! Muchas gracias!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Almost perfect!

Review submitted: March 17, 2014   Date of arrival: February 8, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The villas are just as beautiful as the pictures show and well-equipped (except for hair-dryers). The road up is quite steep and could be a problem. The beautiful beach and all restaurants are down the hill. Taxi back up is $5.00. The pool is very nice, but has only 5 lounge chairs. Wasn't an issue for us because only 2 of the villas were rented. However, if all 6 are occupied, this could be a problem, especially if there are young children.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic couples surf trip

Review submitted: March 17, 2014   Date of arrival: February 1, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Couldn't ask for a more relaxing location. The villas were perfect, the town was great !

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Super luxurious condo in awesome location!

Review submitted: February 11, 2014   Date of arrival: February 6, 2014

We were in absolute awe from the moment we set foot inside this condo. It was the nicest place we've ever stayed through TripAdvisor or VRBO. Brand new, totally modern, impeccably clean, and with gorgeous views. There are only 6 units in this complex, and the buildings are set into a big tree-covered hill overlooking the ocean, so it feels really private (a rarity in a bustling tourist town like Tamarindo). There is a garage with a washer & dryer on the ground level, then the first floor has a big family room with a huge balcony, a kitchen that looks like it's straight out of a design magazine, and one bedroom. The top floor has the master suite and the 3rd bedroom. Each bedroom has its own luxury bath, and there's a half-bath off the kitchen. The water pressure is awesome! Each room, as well as the living room, has its own digital AC unit (I don't think I'd want to stay in Tamarindo without AC). Everything, from the kitchen appliances to the flat-screen TVs, to the sheets and shower heads, is top-of-the-line. I still can't believe we could afford this place! The booking process was really easy (they speak English), and they even had a pack-n-play set up for our baby when we arrived. We loved laying out by the pool in the breezy gazebo. We also enjoyed the hotel-type conveniences, such as being able to order drinks at the Beach Club down the hill and charge them to the room, and I've never had regular housekeeping services included in a VRBO rental before! My husband appreciates that there was a selection of surf boards in the garage he could try out. And having codes instead of keys allowed our the members of our group to split up and not have to coordinate schedules.

Tips: it's a pretty good walk up and down the long steep driveway. We found that we took the rental car and parked it at the base of the driveway (across from the Beach Club) when going to the beach or town, just to ferry us up and down the hill. You could certainly live without a rental car, since town is right there, but why waste precious vacation minutes that way?
My only other tip is to try the food at Green Papaya (other end of town, behind the hostel) for a delicious and healthy and affordable lunch.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wish we'd stayed longer!

Review submitted: February 7, 2014   Date of arrival: January 23, 2014

Las Mareas was everything we could have asked for in a vacation rental, our only regret is that we didn't stay a couple extra nights! The view is breathtaking, the surroundings peaceful and serene, the interior was tasteful, clean, brand new and had everything we needed. The pool is relaxing and lovely and while we were friendly with other guests it never felt like we were on top of each other. We felt completely secure our entire stay thanks to the guards at the gate and Humberto, who added a little extra light to our hike up the steep hill on the way home each night. Suzanna was a complete pleasure to work from our initial booking through making all of our activity reservations through staying late when our flight was delayed to greet us. Pangas Beach Club was also picturesque and delicious -- we could have eaten there every night and not tired of it! Overall, Las Mareas was the perfect blend of the beachy surfer vibe of Tamarindo with the modern luxuries of a resort.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The view!

Review submitted: February 4, 2014   Date of arrival: December 26, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We had a wonderful week staying in Las Mareas.
Everything was new and spotless.
The house was just perfect for our group of 7 and it felt like home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: February 2, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

We just got back from a ten day stay and it could not have been more perfect. We booked online so we weren't sure what to expect. The property is actually even more spectacular than in the photos. The view of Tanarindo bay never gets old. Waking up to that view every morning was so peaceful and amazing.

Everything was new, clean and beautiful. The owner Bruce was so nice and accommodating. He made us feel so welcome and helped us out with anything we needed.

I'm a huge foodie so food is really important. The food in Tamarindo is Amazing!!!! Pagas the restaurant a the bottom of the hill is a great place to go for breakfast lunch and dinner. We also used the BBQ at the villa which was great. The grocery store is a two minute walk and a two minute walk into town.

The town of Tamarindo is a cool little surfing town. Tons of restaurants and shopping and lots to do at night. My sister and I are in our thirties and we walked into town every night and walked home and felt extremely safe.

The beaches are beautiful you can walk for miles and miles.

I have done a lot of travelling and I would say that Tamarindo is one of my favourite places.

The villas are perfectly located close to town and the beach and there is great security there at all times. They are also gorgeous!!!

The villas also had Netflix which we loved on those down days to feel more at home.

I would highly recommend to anyone.

We had a great stay and will definitely be back.

Thanks Bruce for everything! We hope to see you soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome views

Review submitted: January 28, 2014   Date of arrival: January 21, 2014

Stayed here 1 night before our larger group arrived for a bigger house close by. This is an incredible place.. the views have to be some of the best in Tamarindo. The pool/BBQ area is nice and its a short 10 minute walk down the hill into town. The walk back is a workout.. very steep but nice road. The good thing is a cab is only a few bucks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceptional accommodations at Las Mareas

Review submitted: January 22, 2014   Date of arrival: December 26, 2013

An exquisite venue. Ideally situated to provide privacy within a home style feel. Walking distance to town and the beaches provides the best of both worlds.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our stay in Las Mareas Villas was excellemnt

Review submitted: January 16, 2014   Date of arrival: January 2, 2014

The personnel at Las Mareas helped us in every way possible to make our stay perfect.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: December 13, 2013   Date of arrival: November 25, 2013

This property is absolutely gorgeous! The villas are designed with everything in mind, and they are the perfect layout to live in long term or for a peaceful vacation. The 3 bedrooms all have private bathrooms, making it a great layout for up to 3 families! Most importantly the view... from every level you have a breathtaking view of the Tamarindo Bay that NEVER gets old.

One of the great features of this villa is location. Located just up the hill from the river mouth, you can surf within minutes. It's a hike up the hill, but it's really only about 5 minutes and good exercise! You could rent a car and leave it in the garage for each villa or walk easily up and down to the beach and town.

Pangas Beach Club was the best food we ate in town and we bought fish a few times from their fish market to grill at the villa (poolside). It was so fresh and delicious. The service was exceptional and the beachside location is unparalleled.

If you want an amazing place to stay, just outside the hustle and bustle of downtown Tamarindo, this is the spot! We will definitely stay here again and recommend it with 5 stars!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing accommodations and friendly staff!

Review submitted: December 2, 2013   Date of arrival: November 12, 2013

We had a great time staying at Las Mareas! The property was exactly as described. We had all the amenities that we needed. Nice and quiet area, with just a short walk to town.The staff was helpful and friendly! I felt very comfortable and safe. Suzanna was amazing with helping us book all our tours and was helpful with answering all our questions regarding the property. We highly recommend staging here!!!
We recommend the Bueno Vista mega tour, catamaran tour, estuary tour, Conchel and Flamingo beach.
Our favorite restaurants where Seasons, Pangus, and Dragonfly.

Girls trip 2013....but would recommend for family trip as well!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

5 Star Stay

Review submitted: November 26, 2013   Date of arrival: November 9, 2013

My wife and I recently finished our stay at Las Mareas. We both have nothing but great things to say about everything down to the smallest detail. The condo itself was extremely clean and everything was new. The views are amazing. Town and the beach are just minutes away.If you wanted you could stay and use the pool area which has a pool house and barbecue. Without hesitation we would recommend staying at Las Mareas.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Villa in Tamarindo

Review submitted: November 26, 2013   Date of arrival: November 7, 2013

Our family stayed at Las Mareas for a week in November. We loved it.

The view from both decks is incredible. To wake up every morning to that view and the sound of the waves and birds (and occasional monkeys) was amazing.

The entire villa was spotless. The beds are very comfortable, as are the couches. The kitchen was excellent. We cooked about half of our meals during the trip. The fish we bought from Pangas was excellent and their cooking advice was great.

The villa was an ideal distance from the town of Tamarindo. Only about a 5-10 minute walk into town and about 15-20 back up the hill. The awesome infinity pool was the perfect reward for the trek back up. However; the hill could be a challenge (car recommended) for children, disabled, or unfit people. We took a taxi back up during a downpour for about $4.

We would not hesitate to recommend Las Mareas to anybody looking for a vacation rental in Tamarindo.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful views-Incredible amenities!

Review submitted: November 26, 2013   Date of arrival: November 10, 2013

We had another great vacation in Tamarindo thanks to the friendly people, great surfing, and of course the Villa Las Mareas. The views from the balcony are stunning. The brand new property with all of the amenities was truly wonderful. The property management team was very accommodating and made our stay worry free. The hill up to the property is just steep enough to work off some of the wonderful calories that we consumed at Pangas beach club. I have already recommended this property to friends and relatives.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Tropical Getaway

Review submitted: November 25, 2013   Date of arrival: November 16, 2013

This has got to be the best place to stay in all of Costa Rica. Spacious, well-designed and with a breathtaking tropical view--from way up the hill--of pristine and palm-studded Playa Grande (a surfer's paradise), this villa with three large and air-conditioned bedrooms was a perfect base from which to explore Tamarindo and surrounding towns. Everyone we met was smiling. From the managers of the property to the night watchman, every single person at Las Mareas was friendly and helpful. Arriving at the gate and heading up the steep and flower-lined drive to the villas was dramatic. The floors and cabinets and appliances--the entire decor was done perfectly - The highest quality. The La Cantina bi-folding doors, shipped from California, on the upstairs bedroom and the living room were solid and stunning. We could use the many overhead fans or shut the doors and go for the soft cool purr of air-conditioning. We sat out on the veranda with our coffee in the cool jasmine-scented mornings and retreated to the closed in-doors when we returned from exploring the beaches in mid-day. We can't recommend this place enough. And what clinched the deal was the fantastic food and ambiance at Pangas Beach Club at the bottom of the hill on the beach across the street right on north Tamarindo Beach bordering the Tamarindo Estuary. Surfers coming and going, palms blowing in the constant ocean breeze and the sound of the surf softly in our ears as we ate some of the best food we've ever tasted in the world. (Try the grilled octopus. Incredible). Five stars for a five-star vacation.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A wonderful vacation retreat

Review submitted: August 29, 2013   Date of arrival: August 15, 2013

We recently visited Las Mareas for my husband's 40th birthday celebration. We were joined by my brother-in-law and his wife and spent five days being spoiled by the stunning views, luxurious accommodations, and top notch service provided by Suzanna, and the staff at Pangas Beach Club. Suzanna saw to our every need down to stocking the fridge before we arrived. She arranged excursions and put us in touch with Dervin and his staff who drove us to and from the airport and around Tamarindo. They were knowledgable and gave us lots of information about the area, restaurants, and activities. One of the highlights of the trip was the in-house meal prepared by Jean Luc and attended to by Elizabeth from Pangas. That morning, we enjoyed a half-day fishing trip (where we spotted sea turtles and whales!) and caught several dorado, which ended up being the main course of our delicious three course meal. Talk about fresh! Jean Luc put his expertise to work and prepared the fish two ways. Add to that the fresh tuna appetizer served in a coconut half, the decadent chocolate dessert, and Elizabeth's unrivaled hospitality; it was a meal we will not soon forget.

Suzanna also connected my husband with a surf instructor/guide and enjoyed two days out in the surf catching waves. He was in heaven! There was certainly no shortage of activities to suit everyone's wants and needs.

Without a doubt we will return to Las Mareas. It's perfect location on the north end of Tamarindo, put us close enough to walk into the center of town, and just far enough to enjoy the serenity of the natural surroundings. I look forward to bringing our teen girls the next time we return to enjoy some of the more active excursions. I know they will love it as much as we did.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Tamarindo villa-ideal location/chic accommodation

Review submitted: August 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 4, 2013

No other rental property in Tamarindo offers the most panoramic views of Baula National Reserve, estuary, and two surf breaks. My son would grab his board at Pangas Resturant/club (owned and operated by Las Mareas) and I could hang out on the veranda of the villa and through my binoculars watch him catch waves. It was difficult to leave the villa with all the fabulous locations to simply sit and take in the breathtaking setting. The food, friendliness, and atmosphere of Pangas would lure down the hill where I would spend my afternoons lying in the hammock, playing cards and taking a paddleboard to play in the water. My entire family looks forward to a return visit to Las Mareas.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great property -- excellent amenities and service

Review submitted: August 8, 2013   Date of arrival: July 18, 2013

This wonderful property was opened in July 2013 and we were one of the first guests to enjoy the chic, yet comfortable decor of the unit. Two bedrooms upstairs, one bedroom on main floor with well-appointed kitchen and great room, and spacious garage with washer/dryer below. The infinity edge pool adjacent to the property is a really nice touch, with comfortable seating, water features and gas grill.

Service was excellent, and the location of the unit is perfect... close enough to walk into Tamarindo, yet out of the melee of town. And the balconies overlook the water, including views up the nearby river that feeds into the ocean...sunset views from the decks are spectacular! We enjoyed our short (@5-minute) walk down the hill to the beach and having access to the beach club, Pangas, where you can stop in to store your beach gear or grab a snack or meal, and hopefully catch a glimpse on the monkeys in the trees overhead. The service there is great as well ... try the ceviche and craft beers on tap! And if you don't like the idea of a walk up the hill to return to the property after a day on the beach, there is car service available (although we always walked the hill without issue, and even occasionally grabbed a few mangoes on our walk up the hill from a tree lining the driveway).

We evaluated several properties in Tamarindo and Langosta and strongly recommend the Tamarindo area for the amenities and feeling that Tamarindo has more to offer. Las Mareas is a can’t miss option for a wonderful ‘Pura Vida’ getaway.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

AMAZING!! A must stay for anyone visiting CR!

Review submitted: July 27, 2013   Date of arrival: July 10, 2013

This was my first time visiting Costa Rica and I have to say that after traveling many places in the world, this was one of my favorites. The villas are AMAZING! The amenities are all top notch and the view is to die for. It's perfect for couples traveling together in that each bed room is an on suite with it's own bath room. Each also has a king bed but the master has an stunning balcony overlooking the ocean/forest.

They are an easy walk to the beach, at most 3 minutes downhill and maybe a 5 minute walk to all the shops/restaurants/bars in town. Granted you will probably want to take a $3 taxi ride home because the hill is steep coming back up after a night out.

The villa management was also awesome! They made reservations for our group for several things and also gave us recommendations on surf spots and paddle boarding. They are all super friendly and helpful with anything you would want or any questions you have.

There are even local monkeys that swing in the trees above the beach club every afternoon.

The restaurant Pangas is also the best restaurant in Tamarindo in my opinion. The food was top notch and the vibe was really nice yet still laid back. The lobster special with shrimp risotto was one of the best meals in my life!

Overall my only issue is that we didn't stay enough time in Costa Rica! It is very unique in that there are many active adventures very close such as surfing, paddle boarding, hiking, biking; and yet you could just lay on the balcony or beach all day, or go to a world class spa in 20 minutes to be pampered all day.

I will definitely be back to both Costa Rica, and also the villas!!! .

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Pura Vida Costa Rican Treat!

Review submitted: July 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 2, 2013

Our family of five has had the fortunate opportunity to stay at several vacation rental properties over the years and we would have to say, our stay at Las Mareas on Tamarindo Beach was one of the best and certainly most memorable. From the initial open dialog with Suzanna to the warm welcome greeting after a long 4 hour drive from La Fortuna by both Suzanna and Bruce, we knew we were in for a special treat.

The condo provided numerous upgraded amenities in a ‘surf-chic’ décor that included an artistic use of hardwoods, tile and more. A special touch was the floor to ceiling ‘open air’ folding doors off of both the living area and the master bedroom. This feature enhanced the open living concept and sunset beach views of the estuary and Pacific Ocean.

We awoke each morning to the distant chatter of monkeys and beautiful sounds of exotic birds. The beach, shopping, restaurants and grocery store were just minutes away. A favorite part of our day was sitting by the pool watching the sun disappear from the sky.

One perk that was especially nice was the exclusive use of Panga’s Beach Club. Elizabeth and her staff were phenomenal – treating us like welcome family each time we entered. We really appreciated the 4th of July fireworks, barbecue and imported Budweiser to help us celebrate the US Holiday!! The ability to drop our towels and flip flops at Panga’s while we strolled the beach was a really comforting touch.

Bruce and Suzanna connected us with Wim and Geovanny for three days of surf and stand-up paddleboard lessons. This tip of reputable instructors really helped us avoid the multitude of surf vendors up and down the beach!

The TLC we received during our stay by everyone we came in contact with at Las Mareas made for wonderful memories.

I expect we’ll be back – I know our kids (23, 19 and 16) are already planning it!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Pura Vida Vacation!!!

Review submitted: July 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 2, 2013

Our family of five has had the fortunate opportunity to stay at several vacation rental properties over the years and we would have to say, our stay at Las Mareas on Tamarindo Beach was one of the best and certainly most memorable. From the initial open dialog with Suzanna to the warm welcome greeting after a long 4 hour drive from La Fortuna by both Suzanna and Bruce, we knew we were in for a special treat.

The condo provided numerous upgraded amenities in a ‘surf-chic’ décor that included an artistic use of hardwoods, tile and more. A special touch was the floor to ceiling ‘open air’ folding doors off of both the living area and the master bedroom. This feature enhanced the open living concept and sunset beach views of the estuary and Pacific Ocean.

We awoke each morning to the distant chatter of monkeys and beautiful sounds of exotic birds. The beach, shopping, restaurants and grocery store were just minutes away. A favorite part of our day was sitting by the pool watching the sun disappear from the sky.

One perk that was especially nice was the exclusive use of Panga’s Beach Club. Elizabeth and her staff were phenomenal – treating us like welcome family each time we entered. We really appreciated the 4th of July fireworks, barbecue and imported Budweiser to help us celebrate the US Holiday!! The ability to drop our towels and flip flops at Panga’s while we strolled the beach was a really comforting touch.

Bruce and Suzanna connected us with Wim and Geovanny for three days of surf and stand-up paddleboard lessons. This tip of reputable instructors really helped us avoid the multitude of surf vendors up and down the beach!

The TLC we received during our stay by everyone we came in contact with at Las Mareas made for wonderful memories.

I expect we’ll be back – I know our kids (23, 19 and 16) are already planning it!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review