reviews for: listing #35224 - Durango, Colorado House rental

Vallecito Lake Hideaway
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Vallecito Lake
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $200 - $300 /nt

sort by:

Peaceful and beautiful

Review submitted: August 16, 2014   Date of arrival: August 9, 2014

The house is just as described. It was clean and comfortable. We spent much of our time on the deck overlooking the lake and the mountains. I would definitely recommend the house to a friend. It would provide a good retreat for a writer, musician, or artist looking for solitude to work on a project or (as was our case) a small family reunion.

Owners response: So glad you loved it. Yes, a perfect retreat for solitude and inspiration!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Texans escaping the heat.

Review submitted: August 18, 2012   Date of arrival: July 30, 2012

We were looking for a quiet place to relax and enjoy nature in the cool Colorado Mountains. This home was ideally situated at the end of the road overlooking the pretty side of the lake (no buildings, docks, or obstructions). Neighbors are not far down the road, but hidden by the trees. Not like in a subdivision where they are litterally beside you. No traffic passing the house to disturb you. The deck is where you spend your time, overlooking the lake, horse meadow, and beautiful mountain Vistas. The deck has gates to keep your pets and children contained. Nothing to bother you but the occasional barking of a dog at the horse stables in the valley below. Lots of deck furniture, kitchen well stocked with necessities, and an easy to use gas grill for cookouts. Everything is on one level, so no stairs to deal with once you step onto the deck/porch, which was great for our disabled son. Our children loved it and did not want to leave. My youngest wanted to stay. Said the only reason to go home was to see his cat. He is ready to move to the mountains. The only complaints the teenagers had were that they missed their memory foam mattress toppers (they are spoiled) and the taller height toilets in our house back home. The home has a huge living/dining area where the family can gather for activities, which you will only want to do if the occasional storm is passing through; otherwise, you will be on the large deck enjoying nature. Met the owners on our last day there. Wish we had spoken to him on the first. He knows all of the great spots on the lake and other activities. Make sure you get with him upon arrival, especially if you plan on renting a boat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Getaway!!

Review submitted: October 1, 2011   Date of arrival: September 26, 2011

Three retired couples had a wonderful visit to your Lake Vallecito Hideaway. The home was very comfortable and well stocked. We could have spent all our time on the beautiful deck but we had a short excursion to Durango and hiked a few trails outside the cabin door and at the Vallecito campground. We also had a wonderful steak dinner at Virginia's Steakhouse just up the road. The colors were just beginning to change so that made our visit even more enjoyable. The owners are most accomodating and friendly. We hope to visit again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Excellent

Review submitted: March 18, 2011   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

We have found renting vacation homes to be the best, most affordable option for our annual escape, but have always been wary-it's a big decision and you can't always be sure what you're getting.
Vallecito has been our favorite for years. The previous summer we rented a cabin right on the lake. The pictures and description looked great, but we were disappointed to find other cabins in close proximity not shown in the photos. This turned out to be pretty much the norm for lakefront properties here. We were not very happy campers!
So when we saw the "Hideaway" online we called the owner, Kari. She was so nice and allayed all our fears, answering all our questions and assuring us that what we saw was what we'd get! She even offered to greet us on arrival and show us where everything was and answer last minute questions. That made us feel so welcome!
We were rewarded for our "leap of faith" with an adorable home with complete privacy, all the amenities, and awesome views of the lake AND mountains! We really didn't even need to go anywhere, it was so relaxing, but of course we did plenty of playing around, the area has so much to offer. We really like the trail right up from the house into the Wilderness Area.
This place is just perfect for us. No more searching, we will be back year after year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Howdy Folks!
We're so happy you love our Hideaway. Everyone does and wishes they had found us earlier! It was great meeting you all and we look forward to seeing you again this June. Hopefully you'll pull in even more and bigger Rainbows out of our lake than last year! Now that you're spending even more time this visit we can show you a few more special spots. We'll put aside the mints for your pillows!

Your Friends,

Mike and Kari

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Finally Paradise

Review submitted: March 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

I finally got a great vacation with no tricks (invalid photos), complete privacy and awsome views. The hosts were extremely attentive to our needs. Home was very clean and well maintained. Great fishing and conveniently located to the wilderness area and local amenitites such as the "General Store", resturant and horse back riding. Watching the fireworks over the lake at eye level was unimaginable. Great deal for family vacation or to get together and explore the outdoors.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review