reviews for: listing #35225 - Ocean City, Maryland Studio rental

*Direct Ocean Front* Tiki Bar & Grill, Saunas & 3 Pools
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  yes
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Golden Sands
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $300 - $1,350 /wk

sort by:

Absolutely perfect!

Review submitted: June 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 14, 2013

This condo was absolutely perfect for our 4 day romantic getaway! The view is stunning and the condo was very clean/well maintained. The kitchen was stocked with pots, pans, etc. so we could make meals there which was a huge plus for us. We enjoyed the easy beach access and convenience of nearby entertainment, but also had a great time on property at the tiki bar. The owner was proactive in providing all of the information needed to make check in very smooth; she was a delight to deal with! We look forward to renting with her again.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent location and a great unit!!

Review submitted: December 19, 2012   Date of arrival: November 30, 2012

It was my birthday weekend and my wife and I really enjoyed this unit. It had a great view of the ocean and beach. We simply loved it! It has everything in it short of a Hot tub. Really lovely place on the 15th floor with plenty of parking and carts to move your belonging to and from the car and a lovely indoor pool area and game room etc..... It was worth ever dime spent. Thank you!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

very satisfied!

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: August 20, 2012

We absoulutely loved our stay at Golden Sands. We loved the view and all the amenities. We used them all. We shopped around while there and no other place offers as much as Golden Sands does! We loved the locations since we like to go to Bethany and Rehobath Beaches and shop in Delaware (tax free shopping) and we like visiting OC Boardwalk but are away from all the crowds, along with Assateague Island. Having a washer and dryer was a huge plus, having 2 small kids. Since we knew that the elevators where going to be congested from reading other reviews we didn't mind them so much. Darlene was very pleasant to deal with answering any questions very clearly and quickly. I would definately return and recommend this condo to others. Thank you so much for helping us have a fun, comfortable and affordable vacation. Also, keep your eyes open for dolphins while on the balcony we saw them twice! Can't beat the easy beach access! As we mentioned we visit several beaches during our stay and the Golden Sands beach was the most kid friendly - wasn't overcrowded, the break was far enough out that the kids could play in the waves. Best restaurant: Dogfish Head in Rehobath Beach 30 minutes North. Thanks again for everything! Larisa Cleveland OH

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

very satisfied with our stay!

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: August 20, 2012

We just returned from our vacation at Golden Sands and absolutely loved it! It suited our needs perfectly. We loved the view and all the amenities. We have 2 small children and the sleeping arrangements worked great (they were on the sleeper sofa, us on the bed) Having a washer and dryer was a big plus! We really like the location since we like to visit Bethany and Rehobath beaches and shop in Delaware (tax free shopping)and go to the OC Boardwalk and Assateague Island. We liked being away from the boardwalk crowds yet convienant to still visit them. We liked the availablility of having the mini-week, making our vacation more affordable. The condo was well kept and very clean upon arrival and had everything we needed to cook meals when we wanted to. Thanks for helping us have such a great stay on our vacation. We have a 9 hour drive and it was well worth it!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect romantic getaway

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I have stayed at this Condo two times and have had a great experience each time! The owner is wonderful and helpful and the condo is always in pristine condition upon arrival. The condo provides countless amentities and private beach access. The view from the condo is AMAZING. The space is perfect for a couple or a small family. We definitely highly recommend!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Week

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2012

My 8 year old son and I loved your place. We usually stay on the boardwalk, but this year I wanted a change and I'm glad I found your place online. We had a great view of the sunrise every morning;loved hearing the waves during the night;both pools were open til 10pm (my son loved that)and we were able to eat in and enjoy the view. We had a pleasant stay and can't wait to return next year. Statement from my 8year old "Mom, this is a great place you can see everything. Can we come here next year?". Thanks Again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 22, 2012

We just returned from our trip to Ocean City. We stayed at Darlene's condo at the Golden Sands. It was great! We had the best view! We loved that we had a full kitchen (for leftovers and breakfast!) and there was just enough room for us! We were very pleased with everything and would stay there again if we return to Ocean City! I am so glad we chose this condo!
Thank you!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Amazing Getaway :)

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 11, 2012

My boyfriend decided to take me on a beach getaway as my college graduation gift. We found this condo online and thought it looked just lovely. Lovely is a total understatement! This condo was VERY clean, and the view is breathtaking. Each night we fell asleep to the sound othe waves crashing and the next morning woke up to a beautiful sunrise. I couldn't have asked for a better vacation. I can say with complete honesty that I would stay at this condo again in a heartbeat. Also, Darlene was so kind and always made sure that my boyfriend and I were having a pleasant stay, and that was very greatly appreciated. I could go on for days about my lovely experience, but I think you should see this for yourself :)

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

very nice!

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 4, 2012

i just returned from my stay at Darlene's condo and i could not have been more happy with my stay! everything went very smoothly, from my initial contact with Darlene, through my arrival...everything was problem free. Darlene was always quick to respond with any questions and the details about the trip she provided were exactly how everything went. the view from the balcony of the unit is simply incredible! the unit was extremely clean and comfortable, the building was well maintained and convenient, there really is nothing negative to say. i plan on returning again in the future. the only regret is that my week went by so fast! thanks for everything Darlene!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect for family with small child

Review submitted: May 31, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

We have an infant and chose Darlene and Terry's unit based on its location, reasonable price, layout of the unit, and amenities offered by the building. We very much enjoyed our stay. The transactions and communication with Darlene was very smooth and timely, and the unit was in perfect condition when we arrived. There were no surprises whatsoever; the advertisement very clearly reflects what you are getting. The view is beautiful! We had a wonderful time sleeping without AC and with the glass door open to the sounds of the waves. The building offers wonderful amenities that will make life very convenient for those with children -- there are numerous indoor and outdoor pools, a gym, included parking, and an outdoor bar and grill. . . in addition to beachfront access. The boardwalk is about a ten minute drive down the road, and its proximity is convenient enough to get to, but far enough away that the loud action is a comfortable enough distance away.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for a couple with a small child

Review submitted: May 31, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

We have an infant and chose Darlene and Terry's unit based on its location, reasonable price, layout of the unit, and amenities offered by the building. We very much enjoyed our stay. The transactions and communication with Darlene was very smooth and timely, and the unit was in perfect condition when we arrived. There were no surprises whatsoever; the advertisement very clearly reflects what you are getting. The view is beautiful! We had a wonderful time sleeping without AC and with the glass door open to the sounds of the waves.

The building offers wonderful amenities that will make life very convenient for those with children -- there are numerous indoor and outdoor pools, a gym, included parking, and an outdoor bar and grill. . . in addition to beachfront access. The boardwalk is about a ten minute drive down the road, and its proximity is convenient enough to get to, but far enough away that the loud action is a comfortable enough distance away.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our End of the Summer Season Getaway

Review submitted: September 25, 2011   Date of arrival: September 5, 2011

We have been renting this property from Darlene for many years. We absolutely love coming here and there are so many reasons for this. Morning walks on the beach are the best way to start my day while my husband surf fishes. The view from the balcony is breathtaking. My husband is always hoping to see a lightening storm but so far no such luck. The best way to end the day is having the balcony door open and listening to the ocean waves. You are asleep before you know it.
Since the kids are back in school, this time of year in Ocean City is very quiet. There is never a wait in restaurants. We like the Crabcake Factory. Also, this year we went to Harpoon Hanna's in Delaware. We really enjoyed our meal. Another favorite is Smoker's BBQ Pit (611 on the way to Assateague). There is a new Assateague Island Visitor Center before crossing the bridge into Assateague and that is a must see.
Even though the weather wasn't the greatest, there were still things to do. My husband likes to go clamming. After steaming them, we enjoyed dipping them in butter and adding a dab of Texas Pete's hot sauce. Both of us went crabbing. It was lots of fun. We brought some back to PA and made Maryland Crab Soup. It was delicious.
Someplace new to go this year was the Ocean Downs Casino. It was very nice, spacious, and clean.
We are already looking forward to next year's stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We cannot say how much we appreciate your comments. We have the best guests and to hear about your stay and others is so very important to us. There is a reason why we open our home to our guests and that is because we have such wonderful ones like yourselves and all that stay in our litte home away from home at the beach.

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Beautiful and Efficient

Review submitted: September 7, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

First I want to say what a pleasure it was to deal with Darlene, the owner. She is a very good communicator and truly wants her guests to feel welcome and comfortable.

We expected to find a glorified hotel room, but really, this little gem was so much more. Similar to a studio apartment, it has an open layout, so feels larger than it is and lacks for nothing. The kitchen is well equipped with a full oven, full sized refrigerator and real dinnerware and eating utensils. Washer and dryer. The decor will appeal to nearly everyone. But let's talk about the real attraction: the view and proximity to the beach! On our first night there, we walked out the sliding glass doors to our own little private balcony and watched the most awesome lightning storm over the ocean in the distance. Wow! The next morning we watched as dolphins did their thing. The beach is fabulous and the lifeguards are laid back but attentive. One lifeguard saved a girl when we were there. There are not enough elevators for this building during the high season, that is FOR sure. But that is no reflection on this condo unit itself. It is not near the boardwalk, but there is plenty to see and do right outside the beachside entry below. Lots of activities scheduled for the area of the tiki bar, plenty of room to spread out and relax, swimming pools, and a short path to the beach. There is also an indoor pool and game room on the top floor that I visited, but did not use. If the weather had not been very good, though, it would be a decent alternative. There are nearby grocery stores as well as many other typical tourist shops and restaurants that you can visit for the whole "beach town" experience. You really can't beat it!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A place to relax

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

This was an awesome vacation. The condo was great, it was very clean and beautiful. Darlene was very helpful with directions when I couldnt find the condo. I would recommed this to a couple who needs that time to be together and enjoy everything thats out there to do with each other. The activities that were there was, the beach right below your condo, also shops and the outdoor pool as well as the indoor pool. I just wished I wouldve stayed a week because that was a great place and location. I just wanted to say thank you darlene for everthing it was great. See you next year!
Iesha

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

g back next summer

Review submitted: July 25, 2011   Date of arrival: July 11, 2011

The condo was excellent in every way. We plan to go back next summer.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear George,

I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay in my condo. I would love to have you back as guests.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice Weekend

Review submitted: July 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

This resort is fantastic. The unit is great for two people looking for a relaxing and enjoyable stay. The view of the ocean is spectacular, we even saw schools of dolphins. You don't have to leave the resort for anything. The Tiki Bar has just about anything you could possibly want to drink. If they don't have what you want, tell them and they will do their best to duplicate it, even save the recipe in case someone would request that drink in the future. The grill in the Tiki bar is very good. We were amazed at how good and how inexpensive the food was. The only negative thing I have to say is the elevators are slow, especially during check-in and check-out days/times. We will definitely be going back to stay at this resort.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

weekend getaway

Review submitted: May 19, 2011   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

My fiance and i were looking for a nice place for a relaxing weekend getaway before our "big day" in a few weeks. well this was it! cute little studio apt, perfect for a couple looking to get a way from all the normal hustles and bustles of life back home. although the weather wasnt the best, we made the best of our time relaxing, and going to dinner. we also enjoyed the gym on the 22nd floor. it was just what we needed after stuffing ourselves the night out before. the view from the room is simply amazing. it was nice leaving the door open listening to the waves while sitting on the sofa watching television. cant wait for another quiet weekend here!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Just Perfect

Review submitted: May 18, 2011   Date of arrival: May 8, 2011

This was just the perfect condo for 2 people. This was the first time we have stayed in the Golden Sands. This condo was just like home. The private balcony was the best. Nice to sit and watch the sun come up with a cup of coffee. We will definately stay here again. The condo was so "beachy" clean and so comfy! Thanks for the wonderful stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Condo was awesome....

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

The Condo and the views are amazing.... It was wonderful to have your own private balcony...We were there on a full moon night...It was incredible to see the full moon light up the ocean...

The Condo was clean, had a beachy feel and very cute...The owner was very accomedating, answered any questions and was quick to respond...

I can't wait till my next trip to Ocean City and staying at this condo...

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind comments. It is always so nice to know that our guests enjoy their stay. I never get bored of the wonderful view over the ocean when the moon is lighting the waves. I hope you will enjoy our condo in the future and are always welcome.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Worth every penny :)

Review submitted: August 28, 2010   Date of arrival: August 16, 2010

Took my 4 1/2 yr old grandson for his first vacation to the beach. For us it was the perfect place. I had coffee on the balcony every morning and the view was awesome. It rained one day so the inside pool & game room where just the ticket. The boardwalk wasnt that far of a drive . We played minature golf & took the Pirate Ship adventure which he just LOVED...
The place was the right size for us. Most of our time was spent at the beach or the pool. Everyone was so friendly. I also felt very safe here.
Plan on going back again and definetly worth the money...Clean, Cozy & everything u go to the beach for :)

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Hi Kathie,

Thank you so much for your lovely reveiw. We love to know that our guests enjoy our spot on the beach. I look forward to having you as a guest in the future with your grandson.

Fondly,

Darlene

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

August mini-week

Review submitted: August 28, 2010   Date of arrival: August 20, 2010

We had an amazing time!! The pictures don't do it justice, the views are incredible! We could see dolphins from the balcony and the sunrise from bed. We had friends stay in another unit in the same building, and it couldn't compare to this unit. Our unit was beachy and updated with homey touches everywhere you looked. Golden Sands itself has a TON of amenities available to use. The walk to the beach was short and sweet.

I would highly recommend it and would stay there again for sure.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind words about our Golden Sand's condo. We try to keep it as nice as possible for our guests like yourselves. We will enjoy having you again in the future.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Holiday Getaway

Review submitted: July 7, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

The condo was everything I imagined and the view was amazing. We were able to see dolphins every morning! My family and I were there over July 4th and the fireworks were great, it was as if we had our own private showing from the balcony! The property had every amenity that you could imagine and everyone was very friendly and helpful. I can't wait to go back to the condo next summer, I will definately book it for more than a "mini" week next time around.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

holiday condo

Review submitted: June 17, 2010   Date of arrival: May 31, 2010

what a great apt.,even more than was described.
so clean,the view is spectacular!
the entire building was great,shops,bars,etc.,couldn't have been nicer.
and the location,just right,everything one could want is so close.
i really hope to stay here again,soon i hope.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Loved it

Review submitted: May 4, 2010   Date of arrival: April 22, 2010

We really enjoyed staying at this cute condo. The views were GREAT and we enjoyed just sitting on the balcony enjoying the sound of the waves. We would definitely like to stay here again sometime.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review