reviews for: listing #35270 - South Lake Tahoe, California Cabin rental

Carol's Cozy Cabin
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Sky Meadows
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $100 - $125 /nt
    $650 - $750 /wk
    $1,250 - $2,000 /mth

sort by:

Excellent cabin

Review submitted: January 30, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

The cabin was perfect for our 3-night vacation in Tahoe. The cozy place was spacious and well-designed, and the layout was great with the kitchen, dining room, and living room serving as the center of the home. For such a great price, I would recommend this to anyone interested in staying at Tahoe!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

This is a DUPLEX with a strange owner

Review submitted: September 26, 2013   Date of arrival: February 8, 2013

Okay so we booked this cabin and were totally surprised to discover--because it is NOT mentioned anywhere--this cabin is attached to another. I felt a bit mislead. I will say the cabin or duplex was very clean. However, my family and I had our schedules open up and called the owner to see if we could extend our stay one night--the husband seemed to say it was okay and the wife was a bit strange and said no. Very weird conversation and attitude--not at all accommodating. According to the online calendar, it was free. Weirder still, a few days afterwards I received an email from the owner that she was missing a small mixing cup. I was shocked and asked the other couple that went with us. Needless to say, we tracked it down in a box of pancake mix and I had to mail it back to the owner. It probably cost more to ship it than for the owner to dock our security deposit 2 bucks. We didn't receive our deposit until it was shipped. Although the duplex was clean, beware of the owner, and by God make sure you don't extend your stay or accidentally keep a mixing cup! We rent a cabin annually in Tahoe and we will not be returning.

Owners response: Hi Sara, I do not under stand this review since you saw our site with pictures of our cabin inside and the outside showing what style our cabin is. You did not rent our cabin Feb. 8th. you rented our cabin from Feb.16th.thru the 18th checking out on the 19th. When you called me on the 18th.evening and wanted to stay another day I explained to you someone else had rented the 19th. and the cabin was not available. You checked out on the 19th. and I mailed you your full refund on the 23rd. I did ask you if you had the missing item if you could please return it, and you did, I received it the end of Feb. I wish you would have let me know of any issues you had in Feb. so we could have resolved them instead of waiting 7 months later. You emailed me on Feb.21st. And said you all had a great time. I keep all emails so if you would like me to forward it to you or the site I can. We have rented our cabin over 8 years and our guest have been extremely happy with our cabin and us. Sorry we could not do the same for you. Sincerely, Carol

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Nice Cabin; Woodsy Setting

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

Carol's Cozy Cabin is a great place to unwind in the woods near Lake Tahoe. The place was clean and welcoming when we walked in, and made a great headquarters for exploring the area. Carol is a very responsible and responsive landlady; couldn't ask for any more in that department. Unfortunately, we had to cut our stay short, due to altitude sickness; however, if your lungs are in good shape, you'll get plenty of opportunity to fill them with the clean Tahoe air!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Cabin!

Review submitted: November 29, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

I highly recommend every family to visit this cabin. We had a lovely time. The cabin was clean with so much to offer. The rooms were cozy and the kitchen offered everything we needed. It is well located and has lots of walking trails. We will come back every year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

June in paradise

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

Cabin was exactly as advertised. Everything was in working order and nice and clean. We had plenty of linens and made use of the kitchen every day. It is conveniently located to everything. We had an excellent week. Enjoyed the porch very much. Received our security deposit back very quickly. Excellent owners to deal with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great stay, good for groups

Review submitted: February 5, 2012   Date of arrival: January 27, 2012

I was very happy with my stay here. The cabin housed my group of 8 quite nicely, with comfortable furniture and beds. The kitchen was well-stocked and had all the utensils and equipment we needed (we cooked all our food for the weekend). Clean-up and checkout procedures were easy and I had my security deposit returned to me within a week. Carol was also great in booking me on short notice (1 week before), which I had to do after a different cabin I booked cancelled my reservation because "someone else's check arrived first" :(

I would definitely stay here again if coming up with a group for the weekend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great vacation rental

Review submitted: February 14, 2011   Date of arrival: February 9, 2011

Stayed here with my husband and 2 kids for a few days of snowboarding. The house was immaculate. Everything we needed was there and it was super cozy. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen well stocked, tons of bath towels, and plenty of space for all of us. And the best part was how easy the owner made the whole rental process. We will definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We treat our guest as family and work with them to make their stay an enjoyable and fun vacation. Our cabin is very cozy and comfortable with every thing one would need. It is in a ideal location close to ski resorts, shopping, casinos and Lake Tahoe. In the summer the lawns and flowers look so nice. We truly enjoy sharing our cabin. Sincerely, Carol

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

would stay again

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: December 27, 2010

This cabin was very cozy. We loved the crapps table they had. Everything worked great except the dishwasher wouldn't clean everything so I had to do alot by hand which I hate. The cabin wasn't old or musty smelling. I was quite surprised at all the decor in the cabin, very homey feeling. I would recommend this cabin to anyone and we plan on staying again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: I was not aware that the dish washer was not working properly. I had full intent to fix or buy a new one, but when I went up the dish washer was working fine. It cleaned the dishes and pot and pans. I guess it was not turned on to the right cycle. I always rince my dishes first so the food does not get the filter dirty. I am so sorry you had a problem with it. I will keep a eye on it to make sure it is working right. Thank you for bring it to my attention. Sincerely, Carol

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A wonderful place to stay

Review submitted: August 11, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

Dear Carol Thank you so much for letting us stay in your cabin and for making it such a wonderful place to stay. I loved all the little decorations and art work. My kids enjoyed playing table games that are here. Thanks for letting us book this cabin at the last minute. We hope to come here again. We also complement you on keeping this place so immaculately clean. Thank you, Marilyn and family

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank You

Review submitted: August 11, 2010   Date of arrival: February 18, 2010

Thank you for sharing your cozy cabin with us. it was just what we needed. We will definetly come back. Angeline

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Like a home away from home!

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: August 6, 2010

My husband and I rented the cabin for my birthday weekend. It was SO charming! It had everything we needed, and then some. I loved the home-y atmosphere. It also was very clean (passing my anal retentive standards with flying colors)! The kitchen had everything we needed (pots/pans/colander/coffee machine....everything!). There were fun magazines on the coffee table that appealed to just about everyone in our group. There was even a washer and dryer!
The beds were comfortable and the closets were spacious. There was a television in every room, even though we did not really use them that much.
The cabin, itself, was very conveniently located. It was central to all the Lake Tahoe amenities. It was nestled in a quiet, cabin community; a far cry from the overcrowded camping sites we drove past.
The only complaints I have (and they are very minor ones, indeed) are as follows: the downstairs bathroom door was the folding type that afforded visual privacy, but not really any other sort of privacy (perhaps a loud bathroom fan would help?), the floors were a bit creaky (but would alert us if, heaven forbid, someone broke into the house), and the water pressure in the shower suffered when the automatic sprinklers turned on. Otherwise, the cabin was absolutely ideal. Both my husband and I look forward to many more vacations in this fabulous rental. We were so pleased!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed your beautiful cabin, will be returning

Review submitted: February 13, 2010   Date of arrival: February 5, 2010

We had a wonderful time in your cabin. It was so quiet and clean. You have furnished every thing one would need. It is a home away from home. We are looking forward to our next vacation in your cabin. Thank you, Mae

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review