reviews for: listing #3528 - Kailua-Kona, Hawaii Condo rental

Truly an Ocean Front Retreat just 25' from the shore line!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Banyan Tree Condos
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $178 - $208 /nt
    $1,246 - $1,450 /wk
    $4,900 - $5,200 /mth

sort by:

The Best

Review submitted: March 24, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

This is a great place to stay in Kona. The owner has provided you with all you'll need for a wonderful vacation. If you're looking for a home away from home right on top of the Ocean this is it. We would recommend to one and all. We will stay again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words.
This is my home away from home as well. This is where I find peace and tranquility whenever I get a chance to leave my busy Bed and Breakfast in Captain Cook, the Rainbow Plantation.
The view and the sound of the ocean right from your living room, bedroom, kitchen and of course from your private lanai will make all worries and stress go away.

Warmest Aloha

Marianna

Helpful votes: 16 / 17

 

fantastic view

Review submitted: April 23, 2014   Date of arrival: April 13, 2014

The view from the condo is unbelievable, just like in the pictures. It is a beautiful condo which takes advantage of the ocean view.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing view!

Review submitted: February 9, 2014   Date of arrival: January 31, 2014

The location of the condo was perfect and the view was spectacular. Marianna was very accommodating and responsive. I would love to return to the condo the next time we go to the big island. Highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Kristen.
Thank you for your kind respond. I feel very proud of my condo and my guests.
Warm Aloha

Marianna Rainbow

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful views, convenient location!

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: June 20, 2013

The views were amazing--we saw surfers and/or paddle-boarders every day and you can't get any closer to the water without being in it! (The 2nd bdr faces the opposite of the ocean and so doesn't have a view but you can step onto the lanai from the mstr bdr.) You will love the full length windows in the living room. The location is very convenient: right behind the complex, there is a convenience store with drinks, snacks, sundries, and even groceries (including some fresh fruit). Additionally, it is located just a few minutes away from where there is much shopping, restaurants, etc. on Alii Dr. (e.g. Lava Java) The place was pretty clean but the floor seemed a bit gritty; the linens weren't of the highest quality; and no shampoo/conditioner/soap were provided (unlike many of the rentals we'd been to). Also, the dryer didn't seem to dry so well. However, for this price, I don't know that you'd get better. We would definitely consider staying at this place again. The owner is VERY nice!

Owners response: Dear Jeanie.

Thank you for your commends
I am happy that you enjoyed the condo and its location.
Since I live here on the island I spend a lot of time improving and updating my condo, still I cant seem to make every guest as happy as I thrive to

I do not supply shampoos and conditioners because each guest seem to have their own preference for their hair.
Liquid Soap is provided in each bathroom
I just installed a new dryer after realizing that the old one was not working well any more. I do not use the washer and dryer at the condo because I take all laundry home to my commercial machines

Wishing you and your family a lovely summer and rest of the year

Warm Aloha

Maarianna

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

VERY DISAPPOINTED.

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

Let me start by saying the only good thing about this condo was the view & pool. It was very hard to find at night, and the directions we were given weren't very clear to us. We arrived to find that many lights and switches (ceiling fans) did not work. We were unable to reach the owner that night, so it was a very uncomfortable night. I would have never booked this condo if the description had not said has A/C.( The next morning I looked up on VRBO to double check what it had said) When looking for towels under the bathroom sink, I also found an inch of standing water. When the owner called back the next A.M.. & we were telling her our problems, her reply was "what are you doing, inspecting the place?" When our only intention was to have these issues corrected. We then asked about A/C & her reply was that it was not supposed to be on the VRBO site any longer & portable A/C was available at an extra cost. She also knew that there were electrical issues, but had made no effort to warn us ahead of time that there was a problem. She did come over that day to address these things & brought out the portable A/C, so it was tolerable to sleep at night. (there was no mention then of extra charges) She also had electrical repairs made the next day, but not all of them were fixed & a bucket was put under the sink to for the leak. At that point we had no further contact with her. I feel that the description was misleading b/c we booked in January & the A/C is still on the site. The pictures make it look much better than it is. Many things are very rusty, like outlet plates, plugs of appliances like the blow dryer, plate of the coffee pot, the clothes hangers, the front screen door, even the Trivia Pursuit game box. There is a very damp musty smell especially in the 2nd bdrm area. I could go on, but I think you get my point. I understand this is the tropics & it is damp, but things should be in clean, working order. For our 1st trip to Hawaii, the condo is the only disappointing thing we have encountered. My point is, after a long day of sight seeing or being at the beach, returning to a cool, comfortable environment is really important. So, my advice would be to find another place, & I would NOT recommend this condo to any of my friends or family.

Owners response: Thanks god for the guest who understand what oceanfront living is about. This is a constant fight with salty ocean spray.
The Plumbing under the sink was fixed the day after you left because I needed to wait for a plumber.
All that I can say is that I care very much and address each commend and complaint.
Aloha

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

The Perfect Escape

Review submitted: April 28, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

Marianna,

We loved our stay at your place! Perfect location, close enough to downtown Kailua Kona but far enough away from all the hustle and bustle. The privacy of this location is superb! The amenities were great and the sound of the ocean was spectacular! We live on the beach in San Diego and although we hear the ocean, we also hear lots street noise, so needless to say, we were very happy to not hear any sounds from the street and only hear the ocean. We also appreciated the overall welcoming feeling of your condo, it was the ideal setting to relax and unwind and appreciate your surroundings.

The property was well-maintained and clean. I would highly recommend this place and we will definitely be back. Thank you Marianna for accommodating our request to extend our stay once we arrived on The Big Island, it was a relief to know we didn't have to scramble for a hotel.

On a side note for recommendations: if you are looking to save money on groceries, shop at the open market near St. Michael's Church on Alii Dr, it's much cheaper and fresher than the grocery stores. We also shopped at local Farmers Markets. For restaurants, Huggo's is kind of a tourist trap and over-priced. We enjoyed Humpy's, which is right across the street from Huggo's, (happy hour Mon-Fri 3-6). If you are looking to rent Scuba gear, Jack's diving locker is great, $6.00 a day and they provide you with detailed maps and directions for snorkeling spots on the island.

If you choose to book your stay at Banyan Tree 404, you will not regret your choice! We have been to The Big Island many times are so glad we found this location.

The Mehrings

Owners response: Dearest Monica

Thank you for your lovely commend.
It is much appreciated

Sunny Aloha

Marianna

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Banyan Tree Condo Kona

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

We loved staying in this condo. It was an open, relaxed space with beautiful views of the shore and the ocean; great whale and dolphin watching. It was out of the busyness of downtown Kona but very accessible to anything we wanted to do. I would recommend it to anyone interested in a quiet, beautiful Hawaii vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My favorite Kona lodging

Review submitted: March 3, 2013   Date of arrival: February 19, 2013

Thanks Marianna for another great stay in your condo. The tall chairs on the lanai are the perfect place to have morning coffee, enjoy the view and watch all the activity on the water. That is where I spent most of my time. Had everything we needed to enjoy candlelight dinners on the lanai every night and watch the sun set beyond the surfers. Can't beat it, and can't wait until we can make a return visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing view

Review submitted: January 28, 2013   Date of arrival: January 12, 2013

We loved watching the surfers and whales in the distance. You do need to be an advanced surfer to join them though. Very good snorkeling spot a couple miles down the shore line. The town of Kona was also stunning. Huggos was excellent and had someone for everyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

four rejuvenated nurses

Review submitted: December 30, 2012   Date of arrival: October 31, 2012

boy did we need a rest from caregiving and we got it! we just had the greatest ohana extened to us by marianna, she came over a couple times to make sure our needs were met. very peaceful, watched young surfers from dawn to dusk, used a relaxing pool

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place

Review submitted: November 25, 2012   Date of arrival: November 18, 2012

We stayed here witruler 12 year old daughter. It is very conveniently located. We went to Magic Sands beach each day, a mile south, to go boogie boarding. Snorkeling was great ther also. The condo is very clean, right over the ocean and feels secluded. The ocean is very loud at night when everything is open. Feels secluded because you can't see the other units. Would definitely recommend!

Owners response: Thank you for your kind commends.
I am just having the guest bedroom done with koa flooring and also new tile put into the hallways, kitchen and Guest bathroom.
This will complete the inside project .
I hope that you tried out the pool because it has a salt water treatment instead of other harsh chemicals which makes the skin feel wonderfully soft.
Sunny Aloha

Marianna

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our stay

Review submitted: September 22, 2012   Date of arrival: September 11, 2012

My mother and 2 sisters and I loved this condo. It was extremely clean. The condo had covered parking, an elevator (with a code which was nice), a pool that also had a code to get in, and air conditioning. While we didn't need the air all the tilme, my mother is elderly and is not used to the humidity so we wanted it for her comfort if needed. 2 days before we were to arrive, I recieved an email from the owner that the air conditioning unit had broken, and the part would not be in for 2 weeks! WIth that, she purchased a portable unti for our comfort. NOW THAT IS SERVICE!

It was very comfortable and could not have asked for a better view. It was so fun to watch the surfers from our unit. And we even so a turtle feeding the water was so clear. I would recommend this unit!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome water views!

Review submitted: September 10, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

What a fantastic week we had at Banyan Tree 404. You can be confident that the pictures on this site tell the story well, in particular that view!
The warm welcome we received from Marianna began a very relaxing week. The condo had everything wee needed and also included some special touches to give it a lovely homely feel.The location is perfect if you want to be away from the busier parts of Kona, but still an easy drive to the shops and restaurants and an easy walk to a delightful sandy beach where turtles are often seen amongst the swimmers. As the block is relatively small, there is no feeling of being crowded, in fact we rarely saw any of the other guests, although the site manager, Daina, was very helpful with advice about the area and always with a smile.
If the recliner mentioned in a previous review is the one there now, it was so comfortable to sit back with a good book and a cool drink that it should surely stay.

If you are looking for somewhere nice for dinner, we can recommend Huggo's on the Rocks for another magnificent view, good food and nightly entertainment.

We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Oh, thank you for taking the time and writing such a lovely commend.
Yes, this is the old recliner with the heart patch in memory of a dear friend.
As long as most guests like this chair it will stay there.
Sunny and warm Aloha
Marianna

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great view and location!

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2012

The view and location of the condo is terrific. The pictures on VRBO needs to be refreshed along with some items in the condo. Marianna is very friendly and nice. However, the interior needs some TLC and updating as the condo is well used. (Condo was dusty upon our arrival and the kitchen sink had a leak.) We paid extra for air-conditioning but didn't really need it. Over-all was a comfortable stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Dear Mimi.
Thank you for your commends. You might have noticed that we just finished installing the granite counter tops in the kitchen and also a new sink the day before your arrival.
When you called me about the leak I drove right over to check on this . Having a leak could be a major problem to the condo and below.
I also had new granite counters put in both bathrooms that day.
If you refer to my old comfy recliner with the heart on it , you are right, it should go. It belonged to a dear friend and neighbor at the Banyan Tree who just died on cancer and I have not had the heart to remove this chair which he had given to me.
The rest of the furniture is no more than 2 or 3 years old, clean and comfortable. I am sorry if you found dust because I let you check in 2 hours early and had no more time to go over the furniture at the time of your arrival.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Banyon Tree Condo at Kona

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

My family and I had a wonderful time on the Big Island and our Banyon Tree condo was super. It was on the most beautiful part of the island with access to the best restaurants and shopping. It was a terrific location, near so many nice beaches and snorkeling spots. The 4th floor views were tremendous, a daily show of some terrific surfers, and the constant sound of the surf - we could throw a stone and hit the pacific - you can't get much closer than that. Nicely appointed with all the amenities one would need - we were very happy. Nicely maintained both inside and around the pool area. We'd recommend this place!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Loved our stay!!

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: May 22, 2012

Amazinggg, beautiful and lovely.. Completely loved your condo. This surely was our home away from home. Beautiful view of the ocean, we literally felt as if we were in the sea. It was so serene to wake up to the sound of waves right outside your home. The place is so well equipped and very well kept. We would surely recommend anyone visiting the big island to stay here. Its very close to Kona downtown and everything is so easily accessible. Thanks for a wonderful experience. Mahalo :):)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Kona Condo

Review submitted: February 16, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

WOW! WOW! This condo is beautiful, comfortable and clean; and it was very difficult to leave and come back home! Pretty much everything you need is there. I can't think of one negative about this rental, except that we had to leave! Rent this condo, then pack your bags and feel confident that what you rented online is what you will see when you arrive. We did not take the additional AC, and it really wasn't necessary...opened all the doors and windows and there was a wonderful breeze throughout all the rooms. THANK YOU, Marianna, for letting us enjoy your condo; especially liked that it was clean! Wished we could have visited longer on Saturday but you were busy and we were off to enjoy our last day on the island. If ever we return to Kona, we will be sure to contact you for a rental. Again, Mahalo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your wonderful commends.
As I said before, my guests welfare and comfort is most important to me.

Wishing that you will return soon

Sunny Aloha
Marianna

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Stay!

Review submitted: January 31, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed here 1/14/12-1/18/12. This condo is beautiful! The view is unbelievable! The sound of the waves crashing right below is one of my favorite memories from the trip. Marianna is kind enough to stock the condo with beach towels, sunscreen, chairs, etc. and it is so nice to feel right at home while away. I hope we can come back and visit again soon,
Jen

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

No interference

Review submitted: September 14, 2010   Date of arrival: September 9, 2010

If you are the type of person that wants to see people only when you want and do not want drama when reserving Marianna's condo then this is the place for you! You are at the ocean on the top floor with no people in sight except for a few surfers. The ocean can be seen from the kitchen AND from the soaking tub. My husband and I had breakfast on the lanai every morning and enjoyed a cocktail every night watching the sunset. Location is near to everything. Home away from home. Thank you kindly, Marianna!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Nothing is more satisfying for me than the total contentment of my guests.
Aloha nui loa

Marianna

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Paradies

Review submitted: June 29, 2010   Date of arrival: June 18, 2008

2 years ago we stayed at this stunning apartment (june 2008 max and birgit from germany) and we loved it so much. it really was a fantastic time. Marianna, you are special - so friendly and understanding, thanks again and looking forward to seeing you and your apartment again some day.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind review.
I sincerely hope that you will return to this peaceful retreat.
It is completely renovated now and the sunsets sea turtles, dolphins and surfers are so much fun to watch from there

mahalo nui loa
Marianna

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The title was fine.

Review submitted: March 25, 2010   Date of arrival: January 14, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for our 10 year anniversary and I don't think you can get any closer to the water without getting wet!! The view was beautiful and the sounds of the ocean were inviting. The condo provided a good "base camp" for our stay and we really enjoyed the bar style chairs on the lanai to watch the sunsets. Beds were a little hard and unit could use a little updating but overall decent value for the price.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Unbeatable view; very usable kitchen

Review submitted: January 8, 2010   Date of arrival: December 21, 2009

We were very fortunate to ring in 2010 at this condo. We were even more fortunate to have two full weeks there. What a treat! The unit is clean, very well equipped (plenty of towels and sunscreen etc, but even treats like boogie boards and beach umbrellas), and extremely comfortable. On the fourth floor you feel like you are literally on the ocean -- almost like waking up on a cruise each morning with nothing but crashing waves and sparkling surf below. There are sea turtles visible right below, and it is also one of the best surf spots in Kona. It is also a very nicely decorated unit - with indonesian buddha's and a wild assortment of cherubs. But decorated in a very relaxed way - not a terribly "be careful" way. There were two TVs - it was great for my daughter to have a TV in her bedroom since she doesn't get that at home. And the kitchen (I like to cook) was far better equipped than most places I have stayed, with pots and pans that were genuinely usable.
We can't live without broadband internet, so it was great to have DSL available, and have it working well.
The pool was remarkably uncrowded. There were always more chairs than people, and the spa was almost always available as well. There is a gas grill that we used as well in the pool area.
Marianna was also a total pleasure to rent from -- she is very generous of spirit and makes everything easy. She is also very well organized.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Stay for our 25th Wedding Anniversary

Review submitted: May 1, 2009   Date of arrival: April 18, 2009

This was the most relaxing 6 days of my life!! My wife and I stayed here as part of our trip to the islands for our 25th wedding anniversary and could have not been more pleased. It was convenient to Kona town (dining and shopping), to the beach, to golf, but most of all, just sitting on the lanai watching the turtles and surfers and soaking up the warm Hawaii sun. Marianna provided everything we could have possibly wanted or needed. We made the mistake of not reading the comprehensive description of the conmmdo and the property until shortly before we left but we had no problem finding everything we needed. Thanks to Marianna for her hospitality and making this a trip of a lifetime!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Oh, you are so welcome.
When renting my lovely ocean home nothing is more important to me than having the guests happy and comfortable. They show their appreciation by keeping this .this tropical jewel undamaged and clean.
Thank you and please come back some day

Aloha nui loa

Marianna

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Delightful Stay

Review submitted: April 28, 2009   Date of arrival: April 15, 2009

Thank you, Marianna. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The view from the unit is unquestionably magnificent and we hope that others will trust our review. We were not disappointed.

Points of fact. Quiet location, fantastic ocean view, unique/charming condo decor, and spacious layout.

Sincerely,
Alex Sanchez (London, UK)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wonderful place, better than the discription, everything there what you need and really direct at the coast!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 24, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

The nicest condo we Haven't stayed at....This is a note to thank Marianna for the professional treatment we received when after booking a two week stay, she realized that ongoing renovations to the exterior of the building would effect the quality of our stay. She immediately contacted us and assured us whatever we decided would be fine with her. Since the work was going to be so disruptive we decided our only option was to change properties. Because of Marianna's honesty and caring attitude our vacation will still be a great one. Mahalo, Marianna. Gayle and I can't wait for our next chance to visit Kona and we will definetly be staying at your condo in the future. Thanks again, Terry O'Malley

Owners response: Dear Ferry and Gayle.
Thank you for your kind words. The construction is almost completed and the building, pool area and my condo will be absolutely beautiful.Thank you also for your understanding.
Kind regards

Marianna

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 13, 2006   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

Dear Marianna.
You are right. The ocean view, the sounds and the sunsets are awesome. It has been the best vacation that we had in a very long time. We have traveled all over the world and we have stayed in may luxery hotels. This lovely condo is the best.
Thank you for sharing this with us.
We shall be back.
Peter and Jan Altheim
Sarasota, Florida

Owners response: Aloha dear Peter and Jan.
Thank you for your comments. I am glad that you both enjoyed your stay and
I am honored and proud to share this peaceful retreat with my guest.
Mahalo nui loa
Marianna

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review